DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “command generating device” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yun et al. (20230203785). Regarding claim 1, Yun et al. discloses a working machine comprising a tank 101, a working device including an actuator 313, an accumulator 508, a recovery path 503 connecting the actuator 313 and the accumulator 508, a return valve 513 installed between the recovery path 503 and the tank 101 to control the flow rate of fluid discharged from the recovery path 503 to the tank 101, a command generating device 109 that generates a command; a control unit 107 that receives the command from the command generating device 109 and controls the return valve 513 so that the return valve 513 has an opening amount corresponding to the command according to a preset relationship, thereby adjusting the operating speed of the actuator 313 and the charging speed of the accumulator 508 (paragraphs [0031], [0039], [0041], [0042], and [0044]).
Regarding claim 2, Yun et al. discloses that the command generating device is a first operator input device 109 that receives a request from an operator for one of the operating speed of the actuator 313, the charging speed of the accumulator 508, and the opening amount of the return valve 513, and wherein the control unit 107 controls the opening amount of the return valve 513 according to the request (paragraphs [0031], [0039], [0041], [0042], and [0044]).
Regarding claim 3, Yun et al. discloses that the first operator input device 109 selectively receives, from the operator, at least a request for a first operating speed and a request for a second operating speed of the actuator 313 and the second operating speed is faster than the first operating speed, and wherein the control unit 107 controls the return valve 513 to have a first opening amount according to the request for the first operating speed and controls the return valve 513 to have a second opening amount according to the request for the second operating speed, wherein the second opening amount is larger than the first opening amount (paragraph [0042] “…boom down speed may be slowed…” implies a first speed less than a second speed dependent upon the opening amount of the return valve).
Regarding claim 4, Yun et al. discloses that as the requested operating speed input to the first operator input device 109 becomes faster, the control unit 107 controls the return valve 513 so that the return valve 513 inherently has a larger opening amount.
Regarding claim 12, Yun et al. discloses that the actuator is a boom actuator 313 (paragraph [0029]), wherein the working machine further includes a second operator input device 105 that receives a request for raising/lowering the boom of the boom actuator from an operator, and wherein the flow of fluid from the boom actuator 313 to the recovery path 503 only occurs when a boom down request to lower the boom is input to the second operator input device 105.
Regarding claim 13, Yun et al. discloses a third operator input device 106 for receiving an energy recovery function activation request from an operator to activate an energy recovery function for recovering energy from fluid discharged from the boom actuator 313, wherein the flow of fluid from the boom actuator 313 to the recovery path 503 only occurs when the energy recovery function activation request is input to the third operator input device 106.
Regarding claim 14, Yun et al. discloses a directional control valve 409 installed between the boom actuator 313 and the tank 101 to selectively discharge fluid from the boom actuator 313 to the tank 101, wherein, when the energy recovery function activation request is input to the third operator input device 106 and the boom down request is input to the second operator input device 105, the directional control valve 409 prevents fluid from being discharged from the boom actuator 313 to the tank 101.
Regarding claim 15, Yun et al. discloses a pump 403 that draws and pressurizes fluid from the tank 101, and a directional control valve 409 installed between the pump 403 and the boom actuator 313 to selectively supply pressurized fluid from the pump 403 to the boom actuator 313, wherein, when the energy recovery function activation request is input to the third operator input device 106 and the boom down request is input to the second operator input device 105, the directional control valve 409 prevents pressurized fluid from being supplied from the pump 403 to the boom actuator 313.
Regarding claim 16, Yun et al. discloses that a directional control valve 409 installed between the boom actuator 313 and the tank 101 to selectively discharge fluid from the boom actuator 313 to the tank 101, wherein, when the boom down request is input to the second operator input device 105 while the energy recovery function activation request is not input to the third operator input device 106, the directional control valve 409 causes fluid to be discharged from the boom actuator 313 to the tank 101.
Regarding claim 17, Yun et al. discloses that a pump 403 that draws and pressurizes fluid from the tank 101, and a directional control valve 409 installed between the pump 403 and the boom actuator 313 to selectively supply pressurized fluid from the pump 403 to the boom actuator 313, wherein, when the boom down request is input to the second operator input device 105 while the energy recovery function activation request is not input to the third operator input device 106, the directional control valve 409 causes pressurized fluid to be supplied from the pump 403 to the boom actuator 313.
Regarding claim 18, Yun et al. discloses that the actuator is a boom actuator 313 (paragraph [0029]) having a bottom chamber 313a and a load chamber 313b, wherein the recovery path 503 is connected to the bottom chamber 313a.
Regarding claim 19, Yun et al. discloses an assist motor 525 connected to the accumulator 508.
Regarding claim 20, Yun et al. discloses that the actuator is a boom actuator 313 (paragraph [0029]), wherein the operating speed of the actuator is the speed at which the boom of the boom actuator 313 is lowered.
Prior Art
Prior art made of record but not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure for showing other working machines with working devices, tanks, pumps, operator input devices, control units, accumulators, recovery paths, and return valves.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The improvement comprises that (claim 5) the command generating device is a sensor that detects the position of a predetermined portion of the working device, and wherein the control unit controls the opening amount of the return valve according to the position of the predetermined portion of the working device detected by the sensor.
Contact Information
/THOMAS E LAZO/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 3745
July 2, 2026