DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the applicant’s filing on October 31, 2025. Claims 1 – 13 are pending and examined below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is
directed to a judicial exception without significantly more. The following rejection is based on the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance. (See 84 Fed. Reg. 50 (Jan. 7, 2019).
Does claim 1 fall into one of four of the statutory categories? Yes. The preamble of claim 1 recites a parking assist apparatus. The body of claim 1 recites at least one physical element that forms part of the claimed device/apparatus. Therefore, claim 1 is directed to an apparatus
Does claim 7 fall into one of the statutory categories? Yes. The preamble of claim 7 recites a parking assist method, and the body of the claim positively recites a series of method steps. Therefore, claim 7 is directed to a process.
Step 2A – Prong 1
Do claims 1 – 12 recite a judicial exception? Yes. The claims recite the limitations of
determining whether an obstacle is present in a space facing a side of the vehicle based on the information, the information being referred to as distance information; and
detecting a parking frame for the automatic parking in the space based on a determination result of the determination circuitry (Claims 1 and 7);
determining that the obstacle is present in a case where the distance information acquired each time the vehicle travels a predetermined distance is within a predetermined range (Claims 2 and 8);
generating coordinate information of the obstacle by using a predetermined distance that the vehicle has traveled and first distance information corresponding to the predetermined distance among all pieces of the distance information, [and]
detecting the parking frame in the space based on the coordinate information (Claims 3 and 9);
generating first coordinate information by using the predetermined distance that the vehicle has traveled and the first distance information corresponding to the predetermined distance among the all pieces of distance information,
generating second coordinate information by using second distance information corresponding to a principle of triangulation among the all pieces of distance information, and
determining whether the obstacle is present by using the first coordinate information in a case where at least some of the second coordinate information is not generated (Claims 4 and 10);
detecting a parking frame for perpendicular parking in a case where it is determined that the obstacle is not present within the predetermined range; and
detecting a parking frame for parallel parking in a case where it is determined that the obstacle is present within the predetermined range (Claims 5 and 11);
selecting at least one of a parking frame for perpendicular parking and/or a parking frame for parallel parking in a case where both the parking frame for perpendicular parking and the parking frame for parallel parking are detected by the detection circuitry (Claims 6 and 12).
The determining, detecting, generating and selecting limitations, as drafted, are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performances of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “determination circuitry”, “detection circuitry”, “coordinate generation circuitry” and “selection circuitry” nothing in the claim precludes the determining, detecting, generating and selecting steps from practically being performed in the human mind and/or visually. For example, but for the “determination circuitry”, “detection circuitry”, “coordinate generation circuitry” and “selection circuitry” language, the claim(s) encompass(es) the user to manually and/or visually perform the aforementioned steps. Accordingly, these limitations are considered mental processes.
Step 2A – Prong 2
Do claims 1 – 12 integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? No. Claims recite one additional element: acquiring information on a distance to a peripheral object from a sensor configured to be mounted on a vehicle by a time of flight (TOF) method during traveling of the vehicle in automatic parking. The determination circuitry in this step is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means of gathering an electronic representation of information on a distance to a peripheral object from a sensor configured to be mounted on a vehicle by a time of flight (TOF) method during traveling of the vehicle in automatic parking), and amount to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
This generic circuitry limitation is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. As such, claims 1 – 12 are directed to the abstract idea.
Step 2B
Do claims 1 – 12 provide an inventive concept? No. As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional element in the claim amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. Claims 1 – 12 are ineligible.
As to claim 13, the same analysis applied to claim 1 is applied to claim 13. Accordingly, claim 13 is also ineligible.
Therefore, claims 1 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 4, 7 – 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0204039 A1 to Kang et al. (herein after “Kang et al. publication") in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0250611 A1 to Matsuda et al. (herein after “Matsuda et al. publication").
Note: Text written in bold typeface is claim language from the instant application.
Texts written in normal typeface are comments made by the Examiner and/or passages from the prior art reference(s).
As to claims 1, 7 and 13,
the Kang et al. publication discloses a parking assist apparatus (see FIG. 1) comprising:
determination circuitry (see generally ¶53 – ¶57), which, in operation,
acquires information on a distance to a peripheral object from a sensor configured to be mounted on a vehicle by a time of flight (TOF) method during traveling of the vehicle in automatic parking (see ¶53 for “a sensor module 100 for sensing a distance from a vehicle to an object using sensing data obtained by scanning the periphery of the vehicle . . . [and] a surround view monitor (SVM) camera 200 for capturing an image around the vehicle to obtain image data capable of detecting a position and a direction of the object”; ¶55, where “sensor module 100 may be composed of various sensors capable of identifying presence or absence of the object around the vehicle, a position of the object, and a distance to the object”; ¶56, where “ultrasonic sensor 100 may receive a time of flight (TOF) and a direction where an ultrasonic wave emitted to the periphery of the vehicle is reflected and returned from objects including a stopped surrounding vehicle and may sense a direction where the object is located with respect to the vehicle and a distance to the object”; and ¶64 for “an object detecting device 320 for detecting presence or absence of the object based on the image data [from camera 200] and classifying a type of the detected object to detect the object in a parking area”), and
determines whether an obstacle is present in a space facing a side of the vehicle based on the information, the information being referred to as distance information (see ¶63, where “a control reference point for avoidance steering of the vehicle may be derived by a position of the object on the image data obtained by the SVM camera 200 and location and distance information of the object on the sensing data obtained by the ultrasonic sensor 100”; and ¶77, where “the object detecting device 320 may detect object 3 Obj 3 located at the left side of the vehicle”)(Emphasis added).
The Kang et al. publication, however, fails to specifically disclose
detection circuitry, which, in operation, detects a parking frame for the automatic parking in the space based on a determination result of the determination circuitry.
Detects a parking frame for automatic parking based on acquired information of the surrounding environment is old and well-known, as demonstrated by the Matsuda et al. publication who discloses “[a] parking assist device capable of parking assistance that ensures high accuracy of a parking location”. (See Abstract.) In particular, the Matsuda et al. publication discloses “[a] parking-allowing location calculation unit 303 [that] determines whether a space with a width, a length, and a height that are equal to or larger than the width, the length, and the height of the vehicle 100 is present around the vehicle 100, with reference to a parking frame line, a parking lot guide sign, and the like. When the above space is present, the parking-allowing location calculation unit 303 detects the space as a parking-allowing location, and transmits the coordinates of the parking-allowing location and a result of analysis of the surrounding environment of the parking-allowing location, to the parking route calculation unit 304, the in-vehicle display device 9, and the vehicle control ECU 11.” (See ¶62.)(Emphasis added.)
Such disclosure suggests detection circuitry, which, in operation, detects a parking frame for the automatic parking in the space based on a determination result of the determination circuitry.
Based on a reasonable expectation of success, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to modify and/or provide the Kang et al. publication with detection circuitry, which, in operation, detects a parking frame for the automatic parking in the space based on a determination result of the determination circuitry, as suggested by the Matsuda et al. publication, in order to provide a parking assist system with robustly identifying target locations for autonomous/automatic parking.
As to claims 2 and 8,
the Kang et al. publication, as modified by ¶62 of the Matsuda et al. publication, is considered to disclose the determination circuitry determining that the obstacle is present in a case where the distance information acquired each time the vehicle travels a predetermined distance is within a predetermined range.
As to claims 3 and 9,
the Kang et al. publication, as modified by ¶58 – ¶61 of the Matsuda et al. publication, is considered to disclose coordinate generation circuitry, which, in operation, generates coordinate information of the obstacle by using a predetermined distance that the vehicle has traveled and first distance information corresponding to the predetermined distance among all pieces of the distance information, wherein, the detection circuitry detects the parking frame in the space based on the coordinate information.
As to claims 4 and 10,
the Kang et al. publication, as modified by ¶58 – ¶61 of the Matsuda et al. publication, is considered to disclose the coordinate generation circuitry generating first coordinate information by using the predetermined distance that the vehicle has traveled and the first distance information corresponding to the predetermined distance among the all pieces of distance information, and generates second coordinate information by using second distance information corresponding to a principle of triangulation among the all pieces of distance information, and the determination circuitry determines whether the obstacle is present by using the first coordinate information in a case where at least some of the second coordinate information is not generated.
Claims 5, 6, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Kang et al. publication in view of the Matsuda et al. publication, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0398825 A1 to Tsujino (herein after “Tsujino” or “Tsujino publication").
Note: Text written in bold typeface is claim language from the instant application.
Texts written in normal typeface are comments made by the Examiner and/or passages from the prior art reference(s).
As to claims 5 and 11,
the modified Kang et al. publication discloses the invention substantially as claimed, except for
the detection circuitry:
detecting a parking frame for perpendicular parking in a case where it is determined that the obstacle is not present within the predetermined range; and
detecting a parking frame for parallel parking in a case where it is determined that the obstacle is present within the predetermined range.
The Tsujino publication discloses a parking assist system comprising an action plan unit 43 that executes an autonomous parking operation. (See ¶1 and ¶70.) “When the action plan unit 43 acquires at least one parking position candidate, the action plan unit 43 makes the touch panel 32 display a frame that indicates the parking position candidate and an icon that corresponds to the frame in at least one of the look-down image and the bird's-eye image (in the look-down image in FIG. 3A) in an overlapping manner.” (See ¶73.)(Emphasis added.)
The Tsujino publication also discloses “[an] external environment recognizing unit 41 [that] determines the type of the parking area 50 based on the detected size (size in plan view) of the parking area 50. The types of the parking area 50 include a perpendicular parking area in which the vehicle can be parked in perpendicular parking, a parallel parking area in which the vehicle can be parked in parallel parking, and an angle parking area in which the vehicle can be parked in angle parking.” (See ¶82.)(Emphasis added.)
According to Tsujino, “the external environment recognizing unit 41 sets a rectangular undelimited parking space 51 (see FIG. 6) . . . The external environment recognizing unit 41 may set the position of the undelimited parking space 51 depending on the position of the detected obstacle(s).” (See ¶83.)(Emphasis added.)
Such disclosures suggest the detection circuitry: detecting a parking frame for perpendicular parking in a case where it is determined that the obstacle is not present within the predetermined range; and detecting a parking frame for parallel parking in a case where it is determined that the obstacle is present within the predetermined range.
Based on a reasonable expectation of success, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further modify the Kang et al. publication so that the detection circuitry: detects a parking frame for perpendicular parking in a case where it is determined that the obstacle is not present within the predetermined range, and detects a parking frame for parallel parking in a case where it is determined that the obstacle is present within the predetermined range, as suggested by the Tsujino publication, in order to provide a parking assist system for robustly identifying target locations for autonomous/automatic parking.
As to claims 6 and 12,
the modified Kang et al. publication discloses the invention substantially as claimed, except for
selection circuitry, which, in operation, selects at least one of a parking frame for perpendicular parking and/or a parking frame for parallel parking in a case where both the parking frame for perpendicular parking and the parking frame for parallel parking are detected by the detection circuitry.
The Tsujino publication discloses a parking assist system comprising an action plan unit 43 that executes an autonomous parking operation. (See ¶1 and ¶70.) “When the action plan unit 43 acquires at least one parking position candidate, the action plan unit 43 makes the touch panel 32 display a frame that indicates the parking position candidate and an icon that corresponds to the frame in at least one of the look-down image and the bird's-eye image (in the look-down image in FIG. 3A) in an overlapping manner.” (See ¶73.)(Emphasis added.)
The Tsujino publication also discloses “[an] external environment recognizing unit 41 [that] determines the type of the parking area 50 based on the detected size (size in plan view) of the parking area 50. The types of the parking area 50 include a perpendicular parking area in which the vehicle can be parked in perpendicular parking, a parallel parking area in which the vehicle can be parked in parallel parking, and an angle parking area in which the vehicle can be parked in angle parking.” (See ¶82.)(Emphasis added.)
According to Tsujino, “the external environment recognizing unit 41 sets a rectangular undelimited parking space 51 (see FIG. 6) . . . The external environment recognizing unit 41 may set the position of the undelimited parking space 51 depending on the position of the detected obstacle(s).” (See ¶83.)(Emphasis added.)
Such disclosures suggest the detection circuitry: detecting a parking frame for perpendicular parking in a case where it is determined that the obstacle is not present within the predetermined range; and detecting a parking frame for parallel parking in a case where it is determined that the obstacle is present within the predetermined range.
Based on a reasonable expectation of success, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to further modify and/or provide the Kang et al. publication with selection circuitry, which, in operation, selects at least one of a parking frame for perpendicular parking and/or a parking frame for parallel parking in a case where both the parking frame for perpendicular parking and the parking frame for parallel parking are detected by the detection circuitry, as suggested by the Tsujino publication, in order to provide a parking assist system for robustly identifying target locations for autonomous/automatic parking.
Conclusion
Examiner's Note(s): The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. SEE MPEP 2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS: A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP §2123.
In addition, disclosures in a reference must be evaluated for what they would fairly teach one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Snow, 471 F.2d 1400, 176 USPQ 328 (CCPA 1973) and In re Boe, 355 F.2d 961, 148 USPQ 507 (CCPA 1966). Specifically, in considering the teachings of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only the specific teachings of the reference, but also the inferences that one skilled in the art would reasonably have been expected to draw from the reference. See In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 159 USPQ 342 (CCPA 1968) and In re Shepard, 319 F.2d 194, 138 USPQ 148 (CCPA 1963). Likewise, it is proper to take into consideration not only the teachings of the prior art, but also the level of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Luck, 476 F.2d 650, 177 USPQ 523 (CCPA 1973). Specifically, those of ordinary skill in the art are presumed to have some knowledge of the art apart from what is expressly disclosed in the references. See In re Jacoby, 309 F.2d 513, 135 USPQ 317 (CCPA 1962).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RODNEY A. BUTLER whose telephone number is (313)446-6513. The examiner can normally be reached on weekdays, Monday through Friday, between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Anne M. Antonucci can be reached on weekdays, Monday through Friday, between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. at (313) 446-6519. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Electronic Communications
Prior to initiating the first e-mail correspondence with any examiner, Applicant is responsible for filing a written statement with the USPTO in accordance with MPEP § 502.03 II. All received e-mail messages including e-mail attachments shall be placed into this application’s record.
/RODNEY A BUTLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666