DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The Terminal Disclaimer filed 6/1/2026 has overcome the previously applied double patenting rejections of the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment (canceling of claims 12 and 20) has overcome the 35 USC 112b claim rejections and the art of Thacker.
Applicant's amendment and arguments filed 6/1/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Central to the amended claims is the interpretation of “muscle dysfunction”. As noted in the arguments and the affidavit received 6/1/2026, “muscle function” refers to strength, endurance or motor control and thus “a person having ordinary skill in the art, such as a biomedical engineer or a surgeon, would have understood that muscle dysfunction refers to a compromised function of muscle (e.g. a muscle having compromised strength, endurance or motor control)”, see p. 6 under the Remarks.
The Examiner notes that the muscle on the convex side of the spine of a patient with scoliosis would fall within the broad scope afforded by “a compromised function of muscle”. Applicant’s arguments and affidavit focus on the atrophy of muscles on the concave side versus a more bulked-up muscle on the convex side. However, the articles provided by Applicant point to the convex side having muscle dysfunction, just not as severe nor of the same type as on the concave side. Additionally, while there are different types and degrees of dysfunction associated with each side of the spine in a patient with scoliosis, dysfunction does apply to muscle on both the concave and convex sides. Of particular note, in the article “Comparison of multifidus degeneration between scoliosis and lumbar disc herniation”, while the %FIR was greater on the concave side than the convex, it was still roughly 20% on the convex side and the article notes “there was a negative correlation between back muscle strength and FIR (P<0.01)”, see page 4. This indicates a level of muscle compromise on both side of the curve. The article titled “degenerative characteristics of multifidus at different vertebral levels of scoliosis in patients with degenerative lumbar scoliosis and relationship of these degenerative characteristics with surface electromyography activity” indicates that there is degeneration on both sides of the curve (concave and convex) with the concave side having the greater degeneration, see p. 8 col. 2. The article also highlights the specific types of muscle dysfunction on the convex side, stating “The high load on the convex side leads to compensatory hyperplasia and hypertrophy as well as inhibition of adipocyte differentiation [25], while atrophy and steatosis appear on the concave side.”, see p. 9, col. 2. Therefore, while the convex side may not be prone to a specific type of muscle dysfunction (namely atrophy) it is still a dysfunctional muscle on the convex side, given the scope of the term “muscle dysfunction”. The article titled “Paraspinal muscle fibre type alterations associated with scoliosis: an old problem revisited with new evidence” concludes that there are alterations on both sides of the spinal curvature, but the concave side is the “most” affected side but this does not mean the convex side is not affected. In summary, while the convex side might be hypertrophied, this is not a normal state for the muscles on that side of the spine and there are abnormal fatty deposits on both sides of the spine in patients with scoliosis that cause muscle dysfunctions on both sides, with the greater dysfunction being on the concave side. In light of this evidence, the Examiner maintains the rejection with respect to Friedman since the muscles targeted by Friedman are indeed dysfunctional, just not to the same extent as on the concave side of the spine.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Friedman et al. (4,026,301).
Regarding Claims 1, 2 and 13, Friedman discloses a system 13 comprising a plurality of leads 16 with electrodes 15 implantable within muscle in the back and adjacent the spine (Abstract; Fig. 1), such as the paraspinal muscles (i.e. erector spinae muscles, multifidus, etc.) and a pulse generator 24 that generates electrical stimulation signals that are relayed to the electrodes 15 (col. 4, lines 5-41) via receiver 17. Lastly, Friedman discloses the pulses are created to cause contraction of the muscles adjacent to the spine (col. 3, lines 1-67). These muscles are dysfunctional, to an extent (as noted in the response to arguments section above) in that the convex side of the spinal curvature has muscles that are hypertrophied (their strength, endurance and control are abnormal) and have increased fat deposits (as noted in the article “Comparison of multifidus degeneration between scoliosis and lumbar disc herniation” and discussed in the response to arguments)
With regard to Claims 3-5 and 14-16, Friedman discloses anchors 41 for securing the lead and electrodes to tissue (Fig. 6; col. 6, lines 3-26).
Regarding Claim 6, Friedman discloses the pulse generator 24 is internally powered (col. 7, lines 7-20).
With regard to Claim 7, Friedman discloses an external stimulator 24 configured to wirelessly communicate with electrodes 15 through receiver 17 (Fig. 1).
In regard to Claim 8, Friedman discloses the pulse generation system comprises an implantable component 17 that relays the stimulation to the electrodes and therefore can be considered to comprises an implantable pulse generator (col. 4, lines 5-41).
In regard to Claims 9-11, Applicant is claiming the intended use of the device and is not further limiting any of the structural aspects of the claim. Since Friedman is capable of providing electrical stimuli (which modulates the nerve) to cause contraction of the multifidus, the Examiner maintains Friedman is capable of the claimed function.
Regarding Claims 17-19, Friedman discloses modulating nerve activity (up regulating nerve activity and thus increasing nerve conduction of signals) to cause a muscle to contract, e.g. the multifidus, (see rejection of claim 1) thus strengthening the muscle and thereby improving the muscle.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALLEN PORTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796