DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-33 are currently pending in the application. Claims 1-14 are original claims to patent US 12,045,931 B2 and claims 15-33 are newly added claims.
Reissue Applications
For reissue applications filed before September 16, 2012, all references to 35 U.S.C. 251 and 37 CFR 1.172, 1.175, and 3.73 are to the law and rules in effect on September 15, 2012. Where specifically designated, these are “pre-AIA ” provisions.
For reissue applications filed on or after September 16, 2012, all references to 35 U.S.C. 251 and 37 CFR 1.172, 1.175, and 3.73 are to the current provisions.
Applicant is reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.178(b), to timely apprise the Office of any prior or concurrent proceeding in which Patent No. 12,045,931 is or was involved. These proceedings would include any trial before the Patent Trial and Appeal Board, interferences, reissues, reexaminations, supplemental examinations, and litigation.
Applicant is further reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.56, to timely apprise the Office of any information which is material to patentability of the claims under consideration in this reissue application.
These obligations rest with each individual associated with the filing and prosecution of this application for reissue. See also MPEP §§ 1404, 1442.01 and 1442.04.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/31/2025 is considered by the examiner in accordance with 37 CFR 1.97, 37 CFR 1.98, MPEP 609, and MPEP 1406, to the fullest extent of the items presented including any concise explanation. Documents not meeting particular criteria are lined through and not considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a region of interest (ROI) selector” in claim 8.
According to the 3-prong analysis for 35 U.S.C. 112(f)/6th paragraph (see MPEP 2181) of the above listed claim limitations(s): (A) the term “selector” is a generic placeholder for performing the claimed function (a substitute for “means”); (B) the term “selector” is modified by functional language using a linking phrase, “configured to” (a substitute for “for”); and (C) the term “selector” is not modified by sufficient structure for performing the claimed function (“region of interest” is a label and offers no structure; and “receive user input for setting a ROI” is a function and offers no structure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claim 33 recites, “[a] non-transitory computer readable recording medium having recorded thereon a computer program for implementing the method of claim 15” (emphasis added). This claim language merely recites a computer program stored on a computer-readable medium and a possible outcome (or non-functional descriptive material). The claim does not describe the meaning or bounds of “implementing”, or how “implementing” is to be accomplished. Ultimately, the claim is to a recording of a non-functional description (steps or programming language) of the method of claim 15. As such, any of the below cited prior art showing a program product on a computer-readable medium (regardless of the product’s particular capabilities) is read upon by the claim language.
Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 251
Claim(s) 15-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 251 as being an improper recapture of broadened claimed subject matter surrendered in the application for the patent upon which the present reissue is based. See In re McDonald, 43 F.4th 1340, 1345, 2022 USPQ2d 745 (Fed. Cir. 2022); Greenliant Systems, Inc. v. Xicor LLC, 692 F.3d 1261, 103 USPQ2d 1951 (Fed. Cir. 2012); In re Youman, 679 F.3d 1335, 102 USPQ2d 1862 (Fed. Cir. 2012); In re Mostafazadeh, 643 F.3d 1353, 98 USPQ2d 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2011); North American Container, Inc. v. Plastipak Packaging, Inc., 415 F.3d 1335, 75 USPQ2d 1545 (Fed. Cir. 2005); Pannu v. Storz Instruments Inc., 258 F.3d 1366, 59 USPQ2d 1597 (Fed. Cir. 2001); Hester Industries, Inc. v. Stein, Inc., 142 F.3d 1472, 46 USPQ2d 1641 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Clement, 131 F.3d 1464, 45 USPQ2d 1161 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Ball Corp. v. United States, 729 F.2d 1429, 1436, 221 USPQ 289, 295 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Wadlinger, 496 F.2d 1200, 181 USPQ 826 (CCPA 1974); In re Richman, 409 F.2d 269, 276, 161 USPQ 359, 363-364 (CCPA 1969); In re Willingham, 282 F.2d 353, 127 USPQ 211 (CCPA 1960). The question as to whether a reissue patent violates the rule against recapture of subject matter surrendered during original prosecution is a question of law. Mostafazadeh, 643 F.3d at 1358, 98 USPQ2d at 1642. See MPEP 1412.02.
Claims directed toward separate inventions/embodiments/species that were disclosed but never covered by the original prosecution claims may be to overlooked aspects. Claims to overlooked aspects are not subject to recapture because the claims are, by definition, unrelated to subject matter that was surrendered during the prosecution of the original application (see MPEP 1412.01 II. and MPEP 1402.02).
The following is the three step test for determining recapture in reissue applications (see: MPEP 1412.02 II.):
“(1) first, we determine whether, and in what respect, the reissue claims are broader in scope than the original patent claims;
(2) next, we determine whether the broader aspects of the reissue claims relate to subject matter surrendered in the original prosecution; and
(3) finally, we determine whether the reissue claims were materially narrowed in other respects, so that the claims may not have been enlarged, and hence avoid the recapture rule.”
A broadening aspect is present in the reissue which was not present in the application for patent. The record of the application for the patent shows that the broadening aspect (in the reissue) relates to claimed subject matter that applicant previously surrendered during the prosecution of the application. Accordingly, the narrow scope of the claims in the patent was not an error within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 251, and the broader scope of claim subject matter surrendered in the application for the patent cannot be recaptured by the filing of the present reissue application.
Step 1 – “Is There Broadening?” (MPEP 1412.02 II.A):
Yes, the instant reissue application of patent 12,045,931, by way of the preliminary amendment of 10/31/2025, does have broadening:
Patent Owner seeks to broaden newly added independent claim 15 (as compared to original independent claim 1) by deleting/omitting the limitations:
“receiving, by the electronic device, a user input for selecting at least one object from among the at least one real world object and the at least one virtual object comprised in the first view”
“setting, by the electronic device, a region of interest (ROI) comprising the selected at least one object based on the received user input”
“a magnified view of the ROI”
Patent Owner seeks to broaden newly added independent claim 24 (as compared to original claim 8) in the same manner as stated for claim 15 (corresponding to claim 1).
Step 2 – “Does Any Broadening Aspect of the Reissue Claim Relate to Surrendered Subject Matter?” (MPEP 1412.02 II.B):
Yes, the broadening relates to surrendered subject matter. Subject matter is previously surrendered during the prosecution of the original application by amendment to define over the art, OR reliance on an argument/statement made by applicant that a limitation of the claim(s) defines over the art. It is noted that a patent owner (reissue applicant) is bound by the amendment and/or argument that applicant relied upon to overcome an art rejection in the original application for the patent to be reissued, regardless of whether the Office adopted the argument in allowing the claims. The record of the prior proceedings from which this reissue application claims priority indicate:
During the prosecution of application 17/864,123 that would result in patent 12,045,931:
The amendment of 01/17/2024 amended independent claim 1 to recite:
“receiving, by the electronic device, a user input for selecting at least one object from among the at least one real world object and the at least one virtual object comprised in the first view”
“setting, by the electronic device, a region of interest (ROI) comprising the selected at least one object based on the received user input”
Displaying … “a magnified view of the ROI by overlaying the magnified view over the first view”
The accompanying remarks of 01/17/2024 expressly argued the cited prior, Jones and Perez, did not teach the added limitations (see pages 10-13).
Similar changes were made to independent claim 8.
Therefore, each of the above limitations 2.a.1.i, 2.a.1.ii, and 2.a.1.iii is surrendered subject matter.
The broadening of the reissue claims (see Step 1) is in the area of the surrendered subject matter.
Step 3 – “Are the Reissue Claims Materially Narrowed in Other Respects, and Hence Avoid the Recapture Rule?” (MPEP 1412.02 II.C):
No, the reissue claims are not materially narrowed in other respects related to the surrendered subject matter. It is noted that if surrendered subject matter has been entirely eliminated from a claim present in the reissue application, then a recapture rejection under 35 U.S.C. 251 is proper and must be made for that claim. Stated another way, if a claim limitation present in the original patent that was added to overcome a rejection or that was argued by applicant to distinguish over the prior art is entirely eliminated from a claim in the reissue application, then a recapture rejection under 35 U.S.C. 251 is proper and must be made for that claim. In the decision of In re Mostafazadeh, 643 F.3d 1353, 98 USPQ2d 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2011), the Federal Circuit stated that to avoid the recapture rule "the claims must be materially narrowed relative to the surrendered subject matter such that the surrendered subject matter is not entirely or substantially recaptured." Id. at 1361, 98 USPQ2d at 1644.
Patent Owner seeks to narrow newly added independent claims 15 and 24 (as compared to original independent claims 1 and 8) by:
Adding the limitation “obtaining, through at least one camera of the electronic device, an image of at least one real-world object by capturing the at least one real-world object included in a real-world space” to claim 15.
A similar addition is made to claim 24.
However, none of these changes is related to surrendered subject previously added (see above Step 2) and now removed (see above Step 1) and the following has been entirely eliminated from the claim language of claim 15 (and similarly for claim 24):
“receiving, by the electronic device, a user input for selecting at least one object from among the at least one real world object and the at least one virtual object comprised in the first view” (Step 2.a.1.i)
“setting, by the electronic device, a region of interest (ROI) comprising the selected at least one object based on the received user input” (Step 2.a.1.ii)
Displaying … “a magnified view of the ROI by overlaying the magnified view over the first view” (Step 2.a.1.iii)
The reissue claims are not materially narrowed in other respects related to the surrendered subject matter. The claims no longer receive user input selecting and setting a region of interest that will be displayed in a magnified view.
Therefore, improper recapture of broadened claimed subject matter surrendered in the application is clearly present in the instant reissue application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-10, 14, and 15-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2022/0084279 A1 to Lindmeier et al. (herein Lindmeier).
Claim 1
Lindmeier discloses a method for selective magnification in a three-dimensional (3D) rendering system (Lindmeier: [0548]-[0550], [0567]-[0568], figures 17A-18K; figures 1-6), the method comprising:
displaying, by an electronic device, a first view comprising at least one real world object and at least one virtual object (Lindmeier: [0549]-[0550], images of the real world physical environment, including objects; [0551], for example a table real object, and a cylinder virtual object; figure 17A, element 1704 shows a first view);
receiving, by the electronic device, a user input for selecting at least one object from among the at least one real world object and the at least one virtual object comprised in the first view (Lindmeier: [0553], figure 17A, selecting a cylinder for manipulation, including a magnifying);
setting, by the electronic device, a region of interest (ROI) comprising the selected at least one object based on the received user input (Lindmeier: [0553], figure 17A, a cylinder for manipulation in region 1714, including a magnifying);
displaying, by the electronic device, a magnified view of the ROI by overlaying the magnified view over the first view as a second view, while displaying the first view (Lindmeier: figure 17A, magnified view 1714 overlayed on view 1704);
receiving, by the electronic device, a user interaction on the second view (Lindmeier: figure 17B; [0556]); and
generating, by the electronic device, interaction on the first view corresponding to the user interaction received on the second view (Lindmeier: figure 17B; [0556]).
Claim 2
Lindmeier discloses the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the 3D rendering system includes at least one from among an extended reality system, an augmented reality system, and a mixed reality system (Lindmeier: [0038], CGR; [0041]; [0042]-[0047]).
Claim 3
Lindmeier discloses the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the user input comprises at least one from among a touch input, a gesture, a voice input, and any type of multi-modality interaction with combination of more than one interaction modality (Lindmeier: figures 4-6A, 17B; [0555]-[0556]).
Claim 5
Lindmeier discloses the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the setting of the ROI further comprises: determining, by the electronic device, a context comprising an object in focus in the first view; and setting, by the electronic device, the ROI from the first view based on the context (Lindmeier: [0034], [0327], [0344], set object by copy, duplicate or replacing).
Claim 6
Lindmeier discloses the method as claimed in claim 5, wherein the displaying of the magnified view of the ROI further comprises: identifying, by the electronic device, a position where the second view is to be overlaid on the first view; determining, by the electronic device, a size of the second view to overlay on the first view; and overlaying, by the electronic device, the second view on the first view based on the identified position and the determined size (Lindmeier: [0554], resize/move view 1714).
Claim 7
Lindmeier discloses the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the user interaction comprises at least one from among a touch interaction, a gesture-based interaction, a voice interaction, and any type of multi-modality interaction with combination of more than one interaction modality (Lindmeier: figures 4-6A, 17B; [0555]-[0556]).
Claims 8-10, and 12-14
The limitations of claims 8-10, and 12-14 correspond to the limitations of claims 1-3, and 5-7 and as such are rejected in a corresponding manner. Further, Lindmeier shows a display (Lindmeier: figures 1-6), a region of interest selector (Lindmeier: figures 2, 4-6B), a memory (Lindmeier: figures 2-3; [0054]), and a processor (Lindmeier: figures 1-6; [0053]).
Claim 15
Lindmeier discloses a method performed by an electronic device (Lindmeier: [0548]-[0549], [0567]-[0568], figures 17A-18K; figures 1-6), the method comprising:
obtaining, through at least one camera of the electronic device, an image of at least one real-world object by capturing the at least one real-world object included in a real-world space (Lindmeier: [0550], captures images of the real world physical environment, including objects; [0549], using sensors facing outward to capture the physical environment, for example cameras; [0551], for example a table real object);
displaying, on a display of the electronic device, a first view by overlaying at least one virtual object over the at least one real-world object in the obtained image (Lindmeier: figure 17A, 1704 shows a first view; [0551], for example a cylinder virtual object);
selectively magnifying at least one of the at least one virtual object or the at least one real-world object included in a predetermined area of an entire area of the first view (Lindmeier: [0553], figure 17A, selecting from predetermined area, all of view 1704, a cylinder for manipulation, including a magnifying);
displaying, on the display of the electronic device, a second view by overlaying the predetermined area including the magnified at least one of the at least one virtual object or the at least one real-world object over the first view (Lindmeier: figure 17A, magnified view 1714 overlayed on view 1704);
receiving a user input for the at least one virtual object in the second view (Lindmeier: figure 17B; [0556]); and
performing an interaction, based on the received user input, on the at least one virtual object in the second view (Lindmeier: figure 17B; [0556]).
Claim 16
Lindmeier discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the selective magnifying of the at least one
of the at least one virtual object or the at least one real-world object included in the
predetermined area comprises: increasing a size of the at least one of the at least one virtual object or the at least one real-world object included in the predetermined area or zooming-in the predetermined area (Lindmeier: figure 17B; [0553]-[0554], magnified view, resize).
Claim 17
Lindmeier discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the selective magnifying of the at least one
of the at least one virtual object or the at least one real-world object included in the
predetermined area comprises:
receiving a user input for increasing a size of the at least one of the at least one virtual object or the at least one real-world object included in the predetermined area or zooming-in the predetermined area (Lindmeier: figure 17B; [0553], user input gesture for magnified view; [0554], magnified view, resize); and
increasing the size of the at least one of the at least one virtual object or the at least one real-world object included in the predetermined area or zooming in the predetermined area based on the received user input (Lindmeier: figure 17B; [0553], user input gesture for magnified view; [0554], magnified view, resize).
Claim 18
Lindmeier discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the predetermined area comprises a region
of interest (ROI) selected by a user input (Lindmeier: figure 17A, the region of interest is what will become displayed in 1714).
Claim 19
Lindmeier discloses the method of claim 15, wherein a position of the predetermined area is at a
central area of the first view (Lindmeier: [0553], figure 17A, from a predetermined area that is all of view 1704 and therefore central; also figure 19A, shows the predetermined area of target objects central to the view).
Claim 20
Lindmeier discloses the method of claim 18 further comprising: changing a position of the ROI based on a change of a view angle of a user by a movement of the user (Lindmeier: figures 17C and 17D show changing the view angle of the user and thus the position of the ROI).
Claim 21
Lindmeier discloses the method of claim 18 further comprising: based on a user input, displaying, through the display of the electronic device, a mark representing a border of the ROI on the first view (Lindmeier: figure 17A, border of 1714 displayed on first view 1704).
Claim 22
Lindmeier discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the performing of the interaction comprises performing an interaction on the at least one virtual object in the first view corresponding to the user input received on the at least one virtual object in the second view (Lindmeier: figure 17B).
Claim 23
Lindmeier discloses the method of claim 15 further comprising: rendering both of the at least one virtual object and a surrounding three-dimensional (3D) environment of the real-world space included in the predetermined area in the second view (Lindmeier: figure 17B, table real object and cylinder virtual object included in second view 1714).
Claims 24-33
The limitations of claims 24-33 correspond to the limitations of claims 15-23 and as such are rejected in a corresponding manner. Further, Lindmeier shows a display (Lindmeier: figures 1-6), a user input interface (Lindmeier: figures 2, 4-6B), a memory (Lindmeier: figures 2-3; [0054]), and a processor (Lindmeier: figures 1-6; [0053]), and a non-transitory computer readable recording medium having stored there a computer program (Lindmeier: [0006]; [0055]; [0567]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0084279 A1 to Lindmeier et al. (herein Lindmeier) in view of US 9,213,405 B2 to Perez et al. (herein Perez).
Claim 4
Lindmeier does not show the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the setting of the ROI further comprises: predicting, by the electronic device, a user intent to select the at least one object from the first view based on a user interaction history; and setting, by the electronic device, the ROI from the first view based on the user intent. Perez demonstrates that it was known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to identify/predict objects/regions of interest based on a user’s intent using user scheduling history (Perez: 25:44-63). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the selection and setting of regions to magnify found in Lindmeier with predicting a user’s intent based on history as suggested by the teachings of Perez. This implementation would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have found: predicting intent would increase the quality of a “user-friendly” experience in the same manner as making distant objects more accessible, especially if there are multiple objects in the viewed distance (Lindmeier: [0552]-[0553]); both references are directed to using head mounted displays to interact with the environment; and the implementation of is an application of a known element and technique yielding a predictable result using an acceptable piece of prior art.
Claim 11
The limitations of claim 11 correspond to the limitations of claim 4 and as such are rejected in a corresponding manner.
Correspondence Information
/William H. Wood/
Reexamination Specialist, Art Unit 3992
Conferees:
/RACHNA S DESAI/Reexamination Specialist, Art Unit 3992
/ALEXANDER J KOSOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3992