Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 2; claim 14 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 15. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the first section" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carmichael (US 5358418) in view of Macrae et al. (US 20130014934).
CLAIM 1: Carmichael discloses a method for performing a wet connection in a downhole environment. The method comprises: placing a second half (male assembly 12) of an arrangement in the downhole environment (see col. 7, lines 49-63); lowering a first half (female assembly 14) of the arrangement in the downhole environment (see col. 7, lines 49-63); aligning at least one pin (40) of at least one of the first half of the arrangement and the second half of the arrangement with an alignment connection; inserting the at least one pin into the alignment connection (sleeve), wherein during the inserting pins from the second half of the arrangement are inserted into the first half of the arrangement and wherein an inner sleeve pin of the first half of the arrangement accepts the pins (see Fig. 1). Activating a control unit such that electrical energy is transferred between the first half of the arrangement and the second half of the arrangement (via electrical connection).
Carmichael fails to disclose activating a motor such that locking dogs connect the first half of the arrangement and the second half of the arrangement, wherein locking dog ends interface with a movable sleeve.
Macrae discloses a downhole logging tool.
Macrae discloses activating dogs (308) with a motor (306) and when the dogs are used to secure a downhole tool by interacting with a movable sleeve (500).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Carmichael to use motorized dogs to secure the tool with a reasonable expectation of success as the use of a known method of secure a downhole tool used in a similar environment.
CLAIMS 2 and 3: The alignment connection is located in the first half of the arrangement and the at least one pin is located in the second half of the arrangement (see Carmichael, Fig. 1).
CLAIM 4: The electrical energy travels from an up-hole environment to the downhole environment (the energy travels both way in the connection).
CLAIM 5: The electrical energy travels from the downhole environment to the up-hole environment (the energy travels both way in the connection).
CLAIM 6: Carmichael-Macrae fails to disclose the electrical energy is supplied by at least one battery located in a wellbore.
Examiner takes official notice that batteries are well known in the art as electrical supplies.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Carmichael to use a well known battery as the energy source with a reasonable expectation of success as a combination of known elements in which the battery would serve the well known function of providing energy in a remote location.
CLAIM 7: The movable sleeve is located in the first section of the arrangement (the sleeve would be in the female section).
CLAIM 8: Carmichael-Macrae fails to disclose the locking dogs are operated by the through a connected screw rod.
Examiner takes official notice that screw rods are well known in the art as a means of force transferring.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the activating means of Macrae to use the well known screw rod with a reasonable expectation of success as a well known means of transferring force from the motor to the dogs to activate them.
CLAIM 9: Macrae discloses sending a signal from the downhole environment to the up-hole environment that a successful connection has been established (“command signals”).
CLAIM 10: Carmichael-Macrae fails to disclose wherein the activating of the control unit is only performed after the signal has been received.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method the combination to only activate the control unit after receiving the signal as a rearrangement of the steps of the method as waiting for the signal before activating the electrical charge to make sure that the power is only sent to the desired locations.
CLAIM 11: Carmichael discloses a method for performing a wet connection in a downhole environment. The method comprises: placing a second half (male assembly 12) of an arrangement in the downhole environment (see col. 7, lines 49-63); lowering a first half (female assembly 14) of the arrangement in the downhole environment (see col. 7, lines 49-63); aligning at least one pin (40) of at least one of the first half of the arrangement and the second half of the arrangement with an alignment connection; inserting the at least one pin into the alignment connection (sleeve), wherein during the inserting pins from the second half of the arrangement are inserted into the first half of the arrangement and wherein an inner sleeve pin of the first half of the arrangement accepts the pins (see Fig. 1). Activating a control unit such that electrical energy is transferred between the first half of the arrangement and the second half of the arrangement (via electrical connection).
Carmichael fails to disclose activating a motor such that locking dogs connect the first half of the arrangement and the second half of the arrangement, wherein locking dog ends interface with a movable sleeve; sending a signal from the downhole environment to the up-hole environment htat a successful connection has been established.
Macrae discloses a downhole logging tool.
Macrae discloses activating dogs (308) with a motor (306) and when the dogs are used to secure a downhole tool by interacting with a movable sleeve (500). A signal from the downhole environment to the up-hole environment that a successful connection has been established (“command signals”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Carmichael to use motorized dogs to secure the tool with a reasonable expectation of success as the use of a known method of secure a downhole tool used in a similar environment.
CLAIM 12: The extending of the locking dogs places at least one tang of the locking dogs into a recess (see Macrae Figs 4A).
CLAIM 13: See claim 6 above.
CLAIMS 14 and 15: See claim 7 above.
CLAIM 16: See claim 8 above.
CLAIMS 17-21: These structures are inherent to the above structures.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited art discloses known connection systems to supply downhole electrical power to downhole systems.
/PATRICK F LAMBE/Examiner, Art Unit 3676
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676