DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Final Office action in response to communications received on June 30, 2026. Claims 1-3, 9, 13 and 19-21 are pending and addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments are sufficient to overcome the claim objections set forth in the previous Office Action.
Applicant’s amendments are sufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections set forth in the previous Office Action.
Applicant’s amendments are sufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections set forth in the previous Office Action.
Applicant’s amendments regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. Applicant has amended the claims in such a way that the scope of the claims has been changed. Accordingly, new art is being used to address the newly added claim limitations. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are rendered moot. It is additionally noted that although Applicant states that indicated allowable subject matter has been incorporated into the independent claims, the amendments do not capture the complete original allowable subject matter and nor would the allowable subject matter apply to independent claims 19 and 21, as these claims are of a different scope than the originally indicated allowable claims (i.e. independent claims 1 and 20 are of a different scope than independent claims 19 and 21).
Applicant’s amendments/arguments are not sufficient to overcome the nonstatutory double patenting rejections set forth in the previous Office Action. Applicant states in the Remarks at various places that the patents/applications in the nonstatutory double patenting rejections are drawn to different inventions. However, the current claim limitations are still disclosed by the reference patents/applications in the nonstatutory double patenting rejections. As an example, Applicant’s currently amended claim 1 has every limitation recited in some form by independent claim 1 (and corresponding intendent claim 22) and dependent claim 15. Since all of the limitations are covered by the claims of the reference patents/applications, the nonstatutory double patenting rejections will be maintained and repeated herein below. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 12,489,925. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it is clear that all of the limitations of claims 1-21 are disclosed by claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 12,489,925.
Claims 1-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of copending Application No. 19/097,790 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it is clear that all of the limitations of claims 1-21 are disclosed by claims 1-21 of copending Application No. 19/097,790.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 19/260,274 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it is clear that all of the limitations of claims 1-21 are disclosed by claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 19/260,274.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 19/301,754 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it is clear that all of the limitations of claims 1-21 are disclosed by claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 19/301,754.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 19/301,754 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it is clear that all of the limitations of claims 1-21 are disclosed by claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 19/301,754.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 19/258,560 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it is clear that all of the limitations of claims 1-21 are disclosed by claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 19/258,560.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/382,103 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it is clear that all of the limitations of claims 1-21 are disclosed by claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/382,103.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of copending Application No. 19/097,774 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it is clear that all of the limitations of claims 1-21 are disclosed by claims 1-24 of copending Application No. 19/097,774.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of copending Application No. 19/343,314 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it is clear that all of the limitations of claims 1-21 are disclosed by claims 1-21 of copending Application No. 19/343,314.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 9, 13 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gopalakrishna Rao et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0156997 and hereinafter referred to as Gopalakrishna Rao) in view of Pamucci (U.S. Patent No. 11,770,260).
As to claim 1, Gopalakrishna Rao discloses a decoder for decoding an audio stream from an audio data stream, wherein the decoder comprises one or more processors configured for
decoding, from the audio data stream, a digital signature (paragraphs [0015] and [0028]-[0030], Gopalakrishna Rao teaches a decoder decodes an audio stream and extracts a digital signature) the digital signature by
subjecting a predetermined portion of the audio data stream, or data derived therefrom, to a hash function to acquire a hash value (paragraphs [0015], [0017] and [0028]-[0030], Gopalakrishna Rao teaches generating a hash value from a decodable unit); and
signing the hash value using a private key of an asymmetric cryptography scheme (paragraphs [0015]-[0017] and [0028]-[0030], Gopalakrishna Rao teaches generating a signature from the hash using a private key.). Gopalakrishna Rao does not specifically disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured for deriving an information from the audio data stream, which information comprises a pointer to a location from which a public key of the asymmetric cryptography scheme may be retrieved, or an identifier of the entity having encoded the audio into the audio data stream; and providing the information, the digital signature and the predetermined portion for a check of the audio data stream on trustworthiness as claimed. However, Pamucci does disclose
wherein the one or more processors are configured for deriving an information from the audio data stream, which information comprises a pointer to a location from which a public key of the asymmetric cryptography scheme may be retrieved, or an identifier of the entity having encoded the audio into the audio data stream (21, 40, 43, 50, Pamucci teaches a device receives content containing a recording device identifier and determines the device identifier); and providing the information, the digital signature and the predetermined portion for a check of the audio data stream on trustworthiness (col. 3 lines 37-65, col. 10 lines 7-21, col. 10 lines 48-62, col. 12 line 61 – col. 13 line 22, Pamucci teaches the device that received the content generating an authentication request and including the content, the digital signature and the recording device identifier in the request.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gopalakrishna Rao with the teachings of Pamucci for using an identifier of the entity having encoded the audio into the audio data stream because this would further increase security.
Claim 20 recites substantially similar subject matter to claim 1 and is therefore, rejected for similar reasons to claim 1 above.
As to claim 2, the combination of teachings between Gopalakrishna Rao and Pamucci disclose the decoder according to claim 1, wherein the digital signature is transmitted in a supplemental information message of the audio data stream (paragraphs [0015]-[0017] and [0028]-[0030], Gopalakrishna Rao teaches embedding the digital signature into supplemental enhancement information (SEI).).
As to claim 9, the combination of teachings between Gopalakrishna Rao and Pamucci disclose the decoder according to claim 1, configured for deriving an overview supplemental information message from the audio data stream, the overview supplemental information message indicating one or more substreams of the audio data stream with respect to each of which the checking the audio data stream on trustworthiness is possible based on one or more portions in the respective substream (paragraphs [0015], [0017] and [0028]-[0030], Gopalakrishna Rao teaches generating a hash value from a decodable unit.).
As to claim 13, the combination of teachings between Gopalakrishna Rao and Pamucci disclose the decoder according to claim 1, wherein the digital signature is fitted to by a predetermined value in case of an equality of the predetermined value with a check value acquired by decrypting the digital signature, or a predetermined portion of the check value associated with the predetermined value, or an equality with the check value in a further hashed domain, reached by a further hash function applied onto the predetermined value or a concatenation of value comprising the predetermined value (paragraphs [0015], [0017] and [0028]-[0030], Gopalakrishna Rao teaches generating a signature from the hash and comparing the generated hash to a hash extracted from the audio stream where a received signature may be decrypted.).
As to claim 19, Gopalakrishna Rao discloses an apparatus for rendering an audio data stream having an audio stream encoded thereinto checkable on trustworthiness, wherein the apparatus comprises one or more processors configured for
subjecting a predetermined portion of the audio data stream, or data derived therefrom, to a hash function to acquire a hash value (paragraphs [0015]-[0017] and [0028]-[0030], Gopalakrishna Rao teaches generating a hash for a decodable unit of an audio stream);
computing a digital signature based on the hash value so as to digitally sign the hash function using a private key of an asymmetric cryptography scheme (paragraphs [0015]-[0017] and [0028]-[0030], Gopalakrishna Rao teaches generating a signature from the hash using a private key); and
inserting the digital signature into the audio data stream, thereby allowing determining whether the audio data stream is trustworthy by checking whether the hash value fits to the digital signature (paragraphs [0015]-[0017] and [0028]-[0030], Gopalakrishna Rao teaches inserting the digital signature into the audio stream.). Gopalakrishna Rao does not specifically disclose inserting an information into the audio data stream, which information comprises a pointer to a location from which a public key of the asymmetric cryptography scheme may be retrieved, or an identifier of the entity having encoded the audio into the audio data stream as claimed. However, Pamucci does disclose
inserting an information into the audio data stream, which information comprises a pointer to a location from which a public key of the asymmetric cryptography scheme may be retrieved, or an identifier of the entity having encoded the audio into the audio data stream (col. 3 lines 37-65, col. 10 lines 7-21, col. 10 lines 48-62, col. 12 line 61 – col. 13 line 22, Pamucci teaches inserting a recording device identifier into audio/video data.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gopalakrishna Rao with the teachings of Pamucci for using an identifier of the entity having encoded the audio into the audio data stream because this would further increase security.
Claim 21 recites substantially similar subject matter to claim 19 and is therefore, rejected for similar reasons to claim 19 above. (Note: Claim 21 recites the additional limitation of a non-transitory digital storage medium which is disclosed by Gopalakrishna Rao at, for example, paragraph [0034])
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gopalakrishna Rao and Pamucci as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Baltes et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0111212 and hereinafter referred to as Baltes).
As to claim 3, the combination of teachings between Gopalakrishna Rao and Pamucci disclose the decoder according to claim 1. The combination of teachings between Gopalakrishna Rao and Pamucci does not specifically disclose wherein the check of the audio data stream on trustworthiness comprises decrypting the digital signature to acquire a check value; and checking whether the hash value matches the check value as claimed. However, Baltes does disclose
wherein the check of the audio data stream on trustworthiness comprises decrypting the digital signature to acquire a check value; and checking whether the hash value matches the check value (paragraph [0007], Baltes teaches decrypting digital signatures and comparing hash values.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified invention of Gopalakrishna Rao with the teachings of Baltes for decrypting the digital signature to acquire a check value because this would improve security.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THADDEUS J PLECHA/Examiner, Art Unit 2438