DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 and 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed applications, Application No. 61662702, 61800527, 13924505, 14406707, 15095883, 15157444, 15609334, fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. None of these applications teach the invention of claim 1 of which corresponds to the disclosure of the instant application with respect to Figures 20A-24. Accordingly, the claim is not entitled to the benefit of the prior applications. Claim 1 is therefore awarded the effective filing date of the application 15948013 of which has support for the claimed subject matter, April 9, 2018.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 1, requires a “method of operating a surgical robotic system”, but no steps of operating a surgical robotic system are claimed. As such, the scope sought by the invention is not clear. During examination, the interpretation given is that no robotic operational steps are required by the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) collecting data, determining phases of a breathing cycle based on the collected data, and displaying the patient breathing. The claim requires these functions be performed based on position information of a “tracking device affixed to the patient”. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the collecting data and position tracking have been held by the courts to be abstract ideas (see Thales Visionix Inc. v. US, 850 F. 3d 1343 (Fed. Cir. 2017) with regard to position tracking and Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 119 U.S.P.Q.2d 1739 (Fed. Cir. 2016) with regard to collection, processing, and display of data). The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements of the surgical end-effector and robotic arm are not used for anything in the claim or otherwise integrated with the abstract components (collecting, processing, and display of data). Further, there is no particular machine to carry out the position registration or data collection; the claimed “sensor system remote from the robotic arm” and “tracking device” are generic as claimed and tracking systems in general are well-known, routine and conventional in the surgical arts. Similarly, “display device” is generic and a well-known, routine and conventional component for displaying information. Further, the processing step of “detecting the plurality of phases of the breathing cycle as the tracking device moves due to the patient breathing” is a step that can be readily performed in the mind by observing a graphical representation of the position data. As such, there is nothing in the claim that amounts to significantly more than the abstract components of position data collection, observation, and display.
If a control step of operating the robot to perform a task based on the obtained data was added to the claimed invention, it would likely take the claimed invention out of the abstract idea grouping.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160157887 to Kim in view of US 7182083 to Yanof.
Regarding Claim 1, Kim teaches a method of operating a surgical robotic system including a robotic arm configured to position a surgical end-effector with respect to an anatomical location of a patient (robot arm with surgical interventional tool end effector 3, Figure 1), the method comprising:
receiving position information generated using a sensor system remote from the robotic arm and remote from the patient (camera 30, Figure 1 is separate from the robot 3 and separate from the patient 1, both physically and functionally since it has its own coordinate system), wherein the position information includes information relating to positions of a tracking device affixed to the patient (tracking device 11, Figure 1) and position of the surgical end-effector (tracking device 13, Figure 1) as the tracking device moves due to breathing of the patient (continuously tracking the patient-side optical tool 11 to determine respiration movement, par. 0045);
detecting the plurality of phases of the breathing cycle as the tracking device moves due to the patient breathing (respiration movement implicitly contains phase information of the breathing cycle, par. 0045).
However, Kim does not teach continuously displaying on a display device an indication of the patient breathing corresponding to movement of the tracking device based on the detection. Rather, Kim sounds an alarm when the movement is outside a threshold and/or stops the robot (par. 0044).
Yanof teaches monitoring breathing movements during an interventional medical procedure. Analogous to the body-attached movement sensor of Kim, Yanof teaches placement of a sensor on the patient’s chest and monitoring its relative position in a frame of reference (sensor 204, Figure 11). Yanof displays the breathing position information to the operator in image 46 (Figure 6a, 6b, 6c) which demonstrates the breathing phase (corresponding to the rise and fall of the patient’s chest). The movement is continuously displayed throughout the procedure in a graphical form in order to aid the operator in setting breathing parameters (e.g. breath hold duration, breathing capacity) and confirm if the patient achieved the desired breathing motions (e.g. correctly performed the breath hold, col. 7, lines 12-25).
As such, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to provide the continuous breathing display of Yanof in the system of Kim in order to provide the operator with information on the patient breathing to aid in achieving desired breathing motions like breath holding or minimizing patient movement during the procedure as in Yanof.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11857149 in view of US 7182083 to Yanof.
Claim 1 of the patent teaches the limitations of claim 1 of the instant application except for the continuously displaying on a display device an indication of the patient breathing corresponding to movement of the tracking device based on the detection. While the patent claims continuously display information (e.g. claims 5-7), it is not expressly an indication of the patient breathing.
Yanof teaches monitoring breathing movements during an interventional medical procedure. Analogous to the body-attached movement sensor of the patent, Yanof teaches placement of a sensor on the patient’s chest and monitoring its relative position in a frame of reference (sensor 204, Figure 11). Yanof displays the breathing position information to the operator in image 46 (Figure 6a, 6b, 6c) which demonstrates the breathing phase (corresponding to the rise and fall of the patient’s chest). The movement is continuously displayed throughout the procedure in a graphical form in order to aid the operator in setting breathing parameters (e.g. breath hold duration, breathing capacity) and confirm if the patient achieved the desired breathing motions (e.g. correctly performed the breath hold, col. 7, lines 12-25).
As such, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to provide the continuous breathing display of Yanof in the method of the patent in order to provide the operator with information on the patient breathing to aid in achieving desired breathing motions like breath holding or minimizing patient movement during the procedure as in Yanof.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12458453 in view of US 7182083 to Yanof.
Claim 1 of the patent teaches the limitations of claim 1 of the instant application except for the continuously displaying on a display device an indication of the patient breathing corresponding to movement of the tracking device based on the detection.
Yanof teaches monitoring breathing movements during an interventional medical procedure. Analogous to the body-attached movement sensor of the patent, Yanof teaches placement of a sensor on the patient’s chest and monitoring its relative position in a frame of reference (sensor 204, Figure 11). Yanof displays the breathing position information to the operator in image 46 (Figure 6a, 6b, 6c) which demonstrates the breathing phase (corresponding to the rise and fall of the patient’s chest). The movement is continuously displayed throughout the procedure in a graphical form in order to aid the operator in setting breathing parameters (e.g. breath hold duration, breathing capacity) and confirm if the patient achieved the desired breathing motions (e.g. correctly performed the breath hold, col. 7, lines 12-25).
As such, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to provide the continuous breathing display of Yanof in the method of the patent in order to provide the operator with information on the patient breathing to aid in achieving desired breathing motions like breath holding or minimizing patient movement during the procedure as in Yanof.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20110015521 to Faul teaches breathing sensors and surgical robot for compensating the robotic movements with the breathing movement; US 20050267359 teaches breathing sensors and surgical robot, including robotic controls to synchronize the robot with the breathing.
ANGELA M. HOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3799
/Angela M Hoffa/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799