DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Acknowledgment
This action is in response to the Patent Application filed on October 31, 2025. Claims 1-4 are currently pending and have been fully examined.
Claim Objection
With respect to claim 1, the claim recites the limitations "…the transaction including the transfer of a virtual asset …, and the transfer of one or more tokens …" (emphasis added.) The underlined terms are referred to only once in the claims and therefore do not have antecedent basis. In order to avoid a 112(b) rejection for lack of antecedent basis, it is required that definite article “the” is removed from both terms.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1-4 are directed to a system (product). Therefore, these claims fall within the four statutory categories of invention.
Claims 1-4 are directed to the abstract idea of determining a budget, and making a payment based on the payment not exceeding the budget, as explained in detail below. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Analysis
In the following analysis, bolded text indicates abstract idea and the rest of the text indicates additional elements. Independent claims 1 and 3 recite:
a processor and a memory, the memory containing non-transitory computer-readable instructions configured to cause the processor to:
install a wallet application;
establish, based on user input, a budget associated with the wallet;
receive a user request to exchange a quantity of money for one or more tokens;
determine that the quantity of money does not exceed the budget;
trigger a receiving of one or more tokens to the wallet;
trigger, in response to a user action, a transaction associated with a recipe, the transaction including the transfer of a virtual asset comprising an artistic creation to the wallet, and the transfer of one or more tokens from the wallet to a second user.
In addition, claim 3 recites:
determine that the quantity of money exceeds the budget;
withhold from triggering a receiving of one or more tokens to the wallet;
display, to the user, a message indicating that the quantity of money required for the tokens exceeds the budget.
The claim recitation is directed to determining a budget, and making a payment based on the payment not exceeding the budget. Therefore the claims recite a fundamental economic principle or practice grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas in prong one of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See MPEP 2106) because the claims involve a series of steps for determining a budget, and making a payment based on the payment not exceeding the budget. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea (See MPEP 2106).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, when analyzed under prong two of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See MPEP 2106), the additional elements of a processor and a memory containing non-transitory computer-readable instructions, and installing a wallet application, merely use one or more computers as tool to perform the abstract idea. The use of a processor and a memory containing non-transitory computer-readable instructions, and installing a wallet application, does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it requires no more than one or more computing devices performing functions that correspond to acts required to carry out the abstract idea. The additional elements do not involve improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field (MPEP 2106.05(a)), and the claims do not apply or use the abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP 2106.05(e) ). Therefore, the claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of a computer. Nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field. Accordingly, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when analyzed under step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test (See MPEP 2106), the additional elements amount to no more than using computing devices or processors to automate and/or implement the abstract idea.
As discussed above, taking the claim elements separately, these additional elements perform the steps or functions that correspond to the actions required to perform the abstract idea. Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claims merely recite the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 2 recites:
wherein the one or more tokens are associated with a game of chance,
which further describes the abstract idea. The claims do not recite any new additional elements for consideration under Step 2A, prong 2 or Step 2B, and therefore is ineligible.
Dependent claim 4 recites:
present, to the user, an option to override the budget;
receive, from the user, an instruction to override the budget; and
trigger a receiving of one or more tokens to the wallet in exchange for the quantity of money,
which further describes the abstract idea. The claims do not recite any new additional elements for consideration under Step 2A, prong 2 or Step 2B, and therefore is ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurani (US Patent Publication No. 11,423,393) in view of Zorzano Blasco (US Patent Publication No.: 2021/0224759.)
With respect to claims 1 and 3, Kurani teaches:
a processor and a memory, the memory containing non-transitory computer-readable instructions… (Col. 28 l. 58-Col. 29 l. 22)
install a wallet application; (Col. 4 l. 66-Col. 5 l. 18)
establish, based on user input, a budget associated with the wallet; (select a source account based on account balance (i.e. budget): Col. 19 ll. 10-50)
receive a user request to exchange a quantity of money for one or more tokens; (receive payment request from user: Col. 17 ll. 47-49)
determine that the quantity of money does not exceed the budget; (determine if account balance is sufficient: Col. 19 ll. 10-50)
Kurani does not explicitly teach; however, Zorzano Blasco teaches:
trigger a receiving of one or more tokens to the wallet; (acquiring new money (tokens) using fiat money: [0085], the money is kept in a wallet: [0105])
trigger, in response to a user action, a transaction associated with a recipe, (acquiring assets in asset market: [0194], [0198], [0276], exchange platform works according to a set of rules (i.e., recipes): [0193])
the transaction including the transfer of a virtual asset … to the wallet, and the transfer of one or more tokens from the wallet to a second user. (buy asset in exchange for new money (tokens): [0102] purchased assets are added to user account (wallet): [0121], [0146])
determine that the quantity of money exceeds the budget; (notice of insufficient funds is sent to client device: [0130]-[0131], [0135], [0327], [0343], [0354])
withhold from triggering a receiving of one or more tokens to the wallet; (notice of insufficient funds is sent to client device: [0130]-[0131], [0135])
display, to the user, a message indicating that the quantity of money required for the tokens exceeds the budget. ; (notice of insufficient funds is sent to client device: [0130]-[0131], [0135])
In addition, Zorzano Blasco teaches:
determine that the quantity of money does not exceed the budget; (ensure that enough funds are available: [0120], [0134])
Kurani and Zorzano Blasco do not explicitly teach:
a virtual asset comprising an artistic creation.
However, claim recitation “a virtual asset comprising an artistic creation,” indicates non-functional descriptive material and therefore does not further limit the scope of the claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the asset and currency exchange based on fund limits, as taught by Zorzano Blasco, into the mobile wallet account balance management system of Kurani, in order to ensure transaction legitimacy and prevent fraud. (Zorzano Blasco: Abstract, [0005]-[0006])
With respect to claim 2 Kurani and Zorzano Blasco teach the limitations of claim 1.
Kurani and Zorzano Blasco do not explicitly teach:
wherein the one or more tokens are associated with a game of chance.
However, claim recitation indicates non-functional descriptive material that merely describes data and therefore does not further limit the scope of the claim.
With respect to claim 4 Kurani and Zorzano Blasco teach the limitations of claim 3.
Moreover, Zorzano Blasco
present, to the user, an option to override the budget; (sending notification of insufficient balance to client: [0175])
receive, from the user, an instruction to override the budget; (receive communication from client: [0176])
trigger a receiving of one or more tokens to the wallet in exchange for the quantity of money. (perform transaction after receiving affirmative response from the client: [0176]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to incorporate the asset and currency exchange based on fund limits, as taught by Zorzano Blasco, into the mobile wallet account balance management system of Kurani, in order to ensure transaction legitimacy and prevent fraud. (Zorzano Blasco: Abstract, [0005]-[0006])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ehrlich-Quinn (US 2019/0236594 ) teaches cryptocurrency and fiat money exchange based on sufficiency of funds; Knight (US 2019/0299105,) teaches converting digital assets in a gaming platform.
/SIMA ASGARI/Examiner, Art Unit 3698
/PATRICK MCATEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3698