DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The restriction requirement mailed 1/30/2026 has been withdrawn. Claims 1-28 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 contains the limitations “the cell piece”, “the insulation bar”, “the bus bar”, “the ribbon” and “the cell string” which do not have clear antecedent basis. A plurality of each component have been set forth in the claim and it is unclear which of the plurality is being referred to.
Additionally, claim 1 contains the limitation “a second ribbon is connected to the second cell piece and the bus bar, respectively; and the insulation bar blocks the second ribbon and the first cell piece” and it is unclear how the “a second ribbon” is related to the previously set forth “second ribbon”. Appropriate correction and clarification is required.
Claims 2-6 and 22 are additionally rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim and including all of the limitations thereof.
Claim 2 contains the limitations “the cell piece”, “the insulation bar” and “the bus bar” which do not have clear antecedent basis. A plurality of each component have been set forth in the claim and it is unclear which of the plurality is being referred to.
Claim 3 is rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim and including all of the limitations thereof.
Claim 4 contains the limitation “wherein, when the backlight surface of the first cell piece and a light-receiving surface of the second cell piece are at least partially stacked together, the insulation bar is at least partially connected to a backlight surface of the second cell piece” which is unclear. The claim language uses the limitation “when” which makes it unclear if the limitations following are actually required or are only required if the “when” condition is satisfied. Since the structural requirements of the claim are unclear, claim 4 will not be further treated on the merits.
Claim 5 contains the limitations “the chamfer edge” and “the cutting edge” which do not have antecedent basis in claim 1, from which claim 5 depends.
Claim 6 is additionally rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim and including all of the claim limitations thereof.
Claim 7 contains the limitation “a fifth cell piece and a sixth cell piece” and “second ribbons” and it is unclear if a first, second, third and fourth cell piece and first ribbons are also required. Additionally, the limitations “the first insulation bar” and “the first bus bar” do not have clear antecedent basis in the claim.
Claim 7 additionally contains the limitation “wherein the back contact cell module is suitable for a first condition or a second condition, the first condition comprises: in the first direction, a first widened section and a second widened section, which extend outside an edge of the first bus bar, are provided on two ends of the first insulation bar; the first widened section and the second widened section are provided in sequence in a direction away from the fifth cell piece; and a width of the second widened section is less than a width of the first widened section; the second condition comprises: an protruding segment extending outside the first bus bar is provided on an end of the first insulation bar close to the fifth cell piece, the protruding segment extends outside the sixth cell piece, and in a thickness direction of the sixth cell piece, an orthographic projection of the protruding segment is at least partially overlapped with an orthographic projection of the fifth cell piece”. The limitation “is suitable for” makes the claim requirements unclear. Are the limitations following “is suitable for” structural limitations or simply an intended use of the device? Appropriate claim amendments are required to clearly set forth the structural requirements of the device.
Claims 8-21 are additionally rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim and including all the limitations thereof.
Claims 8, 10-13, 15, 17 and 20 contain the limitation “is suitable for” which makes the claim requirements unclear. Are the limitations following “is suitable for” structural limitations or simply an intended use of the device? Appropriate claim amendments are required to clearly set forth the structural requirements of the device. Since the requirements are unclear any claim limitations of “is suitable for” will not be further treated on the merits.
Claims 9, 14, 16, 18 and 21 are additionally rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim and including all the limitations thereof.
Claim 23 contains the limitations “a third cell piece” and “a fourth cell piece”, “second insulation bars” and “second ribbons” and it its unclear if a first and second cell piece, first insulation bars and first ribbons are required. Additionally, the terms “the intermediate bus bar”, “the cell piece” and “the second insulation bar” do not have clear antecedent basis.
Claims 24-28 are additionally rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim and including all of the limitations thereof.
Claim 28 contains the limitation “the cell string” which has unclear antecedent basis. Appropriate clarification and/or correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukumochi et al. (US 2013/0284232).
Regarding claim 1, Fukumochi discloses a back contact cell module in Figure 4, comprising:
cell strings, comprising a plurality of cell pieces (10) in series connection, wherein the plurality of cell pieces are provided along a first direction (Figure 4 and [38]);
insulation bars (50), provided on a backlight surface of the cell piece along a second direction ([41]),
wherein the first direction intersects the second direction (Figure 4);
bus bars (31), provided on a side of the insulation bar (50) facing away from the cell piece along the second direction, wherein the insulation bar covers a surface of a side of the bus bar close to the cell piece ([39] and [46]); and
ribbons (30 and 33), wherein the ribbons comprise a first ribbon (33) and a second ribbon (30), the first ribbon (33) is configured to connect adjacent cell pieces (10) (Figure 4 and [38]), and the second ribbon (30) is configured to connect the cell piece (10) and the bus bar (31) (Figures 4-5 and [39]);
wherein the cell string comprises a first cell piece and a second cell piece, which are adjacent to each other (Figures 4-5 and [38]-[39]);
the insulation bar (50) is provided on a backlight surface of the first cell piece (Figure 5);
the second ribbon (30) is connected to the second cell piece and the bus bar, respectively (Figures 4-5); and
the insulation bar (50) blocks the second ribbon and the first cell piece (Figures 4-5).
Regarding claim 2, Fukumochi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Fukumochi additionally discloses that the insulation bar (50) covers the bus bar (31) in the second direction, and the insulation bar covers and exceeds the bus bar in the first direction (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 3, Fukumochi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Fukumochi additionally discloses that the second ribbon (30) is provided on a side of the bus bar (31) away from the insulation bar (50) or the second ribbon is provided on a side of the bus bar close to the insulation bar (Figures 4-5 and 9-10).
Regarding claim 5, Fukumochi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Fukumochi additionally discloses that in the first direction, the chamfer edge of one cell piece of two adjacent cell pieces abuts against the chamfer edge of an other cell piece of two adjacent cell piece, and the cutting edge of one cell piece of two adjacent cell pieces abuts against the cutting edge of an other cell piece of two adjacent cell pieces (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 22, Fukumochi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Fukumochi additionally discloses a photovoltaic system, comprising the back contact cell module as set forth above (Figure 11).
Claims 7, 20-21 and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao et al. ((CN115425104A, see English machine translation provided for mapping).
Regarding claim 7, Zhao discloses a back contact cell module in Figures 2-5), comprising:
cell strings (100), comprising cell pieces (110) serially connected to each other ([28]-[29]),
wherein the cell pieces comprise a fifth cell piece and a sixth cell piece, which are provided in a first direction (Figures 3-5);
first insulation bars (40), provided on an end of the sixth cell piece close to the fifth cell piece ([37]);
first bus bars (200), provided on a side of the first insulation bar (40) facing away from the sixth cell piece, wherein the first insulation bar and the first bus bar both extend in a second direction, and the first direction intersects the second direction (Figure 5 and [31]); and
second ribbons (30), configured to electrically connect the first bus bar (200) and the fifth cell piece (110) (Figure 5 and [33]),
wherein the back contact cell module is suitable for a second condition comprising: a protruding segment extending outside the first bus bar is provided on an end of the first insulation bar close to the fifth cell piece, the protruding segment extends outside the sixth cell piece, and in a thickness direction of the sixth cell piece, an orthographic projection of the protruding segment is at least partially overlapped with an orthographic projection of the fifth cell piece (Figures 2-5).
Regarding claim 20, Zhao discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Zhao additionally discloses that the back contact cell module is suitable for the second condition, and a fourth cell piece is provided on an end of each cell string away from the fifth cell piece, and a third cell piece is provided on an end of the fourth cell piece close to the fifth cell piece (Figures 2-5); the cell module comprises parallel-connected cell string groups (10), wherein a same parallel-connected cell string group comprises at least two cell strings (100) that are provided in the first direction and parallelly connected to each other, and the fourth cell pieces in two parallel-connected cell strings are adjacent to each other in the first direction ([28] and Figures 2-3),
and the back contact cell module further comprises: second insulation bars (40) provided on an edge of the third cell piece in one cell string and provided on an end of the third cell piece close to the fourth cell piece (Figures 4-5 and [37]);
intermediate bus bars (200), configured to parallelly connect two cell strings (100), which are adjacent to each other in the first direction, wherein the intermediate bus bar is provided on a side of the second insulation bar (40) facing away from the third cell piece, and the second insulation bar and the intermediate bus bar both extend in the second direction ([28] and [37] and Figures 3-5); and
second ribbons B (30), configured to electrically connect the intermediate bus bar (200), the fourth cell piece (110) in the cell string, and the fourth cell piece in another cell string adjacent to the cell string in the first direction (Figure 5 and [33]).
Regarding claim 21, Zhao discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Zhao additionally discloses that an extended portion extending outside the intermediate bus bar is provided on an end of the second insulation bar close to the fourth cell piece, and extends outside the third cell piece; and in a thickness direction of the third cell piece, an orthographic projection of the extended portion is at least partially overlapped with an orthographic projection of the fourth cell piece in the cell string in which the extended portion is located (Figures 4-5).
Regarding 23, Zhao discloses a back contact cell module in Figure 1, comprising:
parallel-connected cell string groups (10), wherein a same parallel-connected cell string group comprises at least two cell strings (100) that are provided in a first direction and parallelly connected to each other ([28] and Figures 2-3),
each cell string (100) comprises cell pieces (110) serially connected to each other ([28]-[29]), the series-connected cell pieces comprise a third cell piece and a fourth cell piece provided in the first direction (Figures 2-3), and the fourth cell pieces in two parallel-connected cell strings are adjacent to each other in the first direction (Figures 2-3);
second insulation bars (40), provided on an edge of the third cell piece in one cell string and provided on an end of the third cell piece close to the fourth cell piece (Figures 4-5 and [37]);
intermediate bus bars (200), configured to parallelly connect two cell strings (100), which are adjacent to each other in the first direction, wherein the intermediate bus bar is provided on a side of the second insulation bar (40) facing away from the third cell piece, and the second insulation bar (40) and the intermediate bus bar both extend in the second direction ([28] and [37] and Figures 3-5); and
second ribbons B (30), configured to electrically connect the intermediate bus bar (200), the fourth cell piece (110) in the cell string in which the intermediate bus bar is located, and the fourth cell piece in another cell string adjacent to the cell string in the first direction (Figure 5 and [33]),
wherein in the first direction, a first protruding segment and a second protruding segment, which extend outside an edge of the intermediate bus bar, are provided on two ends of the second insulation bar; the first protruding segment and the second protruding segment are provided in sequence in a direction away from the fourth cell piece; and a width of the second protruding segment is less than a width of the first protruding segment (Figures 4-5, it is noted that any portion of the insulation bar not covered by the bus bar can be interpreted as part of the first protruding segment).
Regarding claim 24, Zhao discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Zhao additionally discloses that at least a portion of the first protruding segment extends outside an edge of the third cell piece (Figure 5, it is noted that any portion of the insulation bar not covered by the bus bar can be interpreted as part of the first protruding segment).
Regarding claim 25, Zhao discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Zhao additionally discloses that in the first direction, an orthographic projection of the first protruding segment in a thickness direction of the third cell piece is at least partially overlapped with an orthographic projection of the fourth cell piece in the thickness direction of the third cell piece (As show in Figure 5, the insulation bar 40 overlaps the third and fourth cell piece).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (CN 115425104A, see English machine translation provided for mapping), as applied to claim 23 above.
Regarding claim 26, Zhao discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Zhao does not disclose that in the first direction, the width of the second protruding segment is d2>1 mm; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to change the width of the second protruding segment in the device of Zhao, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size (or dimension) of a component. A change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (CN 115425104A, see English machine translation provided for mapping), as applied to claim 23 above, in view of Fukumochi et al. (US 2013/0284232).
Regarding claim 28, Zhao discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Zhao does not disclose that the back contact cell module further comprises a front sheet, the cell string is provided on the front sheet, the front sheet is provided with a first edge and a second edge in the second direction, and an orthographic projection of the second insulation bar in a thickness direction of the third cell piece falls between the first edge and the second edge.
Fukumochi discloses a back contact cell module in Figures 4-5 and 11 comprising a front sheet (20), a cell string (interconnected cells 10) provided on the front sheet, the front sheet (20) is provided with a first edge and a second edge in a second direction, and an orthographic projection of an insulation bar (50) in a thickness direction of a cell piece falls between the first edge and the second edge (Figures 4-5 and 11 and [47]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add a front sheet, wherein the cell string is provided on the front sheet, the front sheet is provided with a first edge and a second edge in the second direction, and an orthographic projection of the second insulation bar in a thickness direction of the third cell piece falls between the first edge and the second edge to the device of Zhao, as taught by Fukumochi, because it would amount to nothing more than the combination of prior art elements to accomplish an entirely expected result.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 27 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/LINDSEY A BUCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728