DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because “the index of refraction” in line 2 should be --an index of refraction--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (U.S. 2018/0034145) in view of Lassalle (U.S. 2018/0048299), and further in view of Ayers et al. (U.S. 5,397,961).
Re claim 1:
Anderson discloses an apparatus (Figs. 1-3) to generate gravitational waves (recitation of intended use in preamble (body of claim 1 recites a structurally complete invention and a recitation of intended use in the preamble of a structurally complete invention is not a claim limitation - MPEP 2111.02 II)) comprising:
a spark-gap assembly (430, 432, first and second spark gasps - Para 35) having a pair of
a
a control system (100, controller - Para 22) that allows for constant or pulsed operation of the device (Paras 6, 7, and 39 - “…a driver circuit operably coupled to the plasma antenna element to selectively provide pulsed current to the plasma antenna element for ionization of plasma in the plasma antenna element, and a controller operably coupled to the driver circuit and the plasma density sensor to provide In control of the plasma density of the plasma antenna element…The duty cycle of pulsed ionization current can be reduced , but also controlled to generate the desired amount of plasma density for a given application or situation…”); and
means (220, interferometer - Para 23) for detecting optical path length changes using interferometry (see Fig. 1, Paras 23 and 29 - “…a plasma density sensor (e.g., an interferometer 220) that is configured to measure plasma density in the plasma antenna element 200… can be operably coupled to the plasma antenna element 200 to measure the plasma density of plasma in the plasma antenna element 200…” (an interferometer inherently detects optical path length changes during operation)).
Anderson fails to disclose a spark-gap assembly having a pair of tungsten tips.
Lassalle teaches a spark-gap assembly (E1, spark gap - Para 45) having a pair of tungsten tips (Para 58 - “…the electrodes of the spark gaps can be tungsten-copper alloy…”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modelled the tips of Anderson after those of Lassalle, thereby making the pair of tips of Anderson tungsten tips as taught by Lassalle, for the advantage of minimizing erosion due to electric arcs (Lassalle; Para 58).
Anderson fails to disclose a transformer providing high-voltage power to generate plasma.
Ayers teaches a driver circuit (Figs. 1-2 at 20-25 and Col. 4, Line 64 - Col. 5, Line 30) comprising a transformer providing high-voltage power (Col. 4, Lines 64 - Col. 5, Line 9 - “…The charging circuit may utilize a step-up transformer with a high voltage…”) to generate plasma (see Fig. 1, Abstract, and Col. 5, Lines 59-63).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the driver circuit of Anderson after that of Ayers, thereby including a transformer in the driver circuit of Anderson in the way taught by Ayers, for the advantage of being able to step up voltages (Ayers; Col. 4, Lines 64 - Col. 5, Line 9 - “…The charging circuit may utilize a step-up transformer with a high voltage…”).
Re claim 3:
Anderson/Lassalle/Ayers teaches the apparatus (Anderson; Figs. 1-3) of claim 1 (as described above).
Anderson further discloses wherein the spark-gap assembly (430, 432) is configured to form plasma (Para 35 - “…the first and second capacitors 420 and 422 are charged in parallel from the DC source 400, but are enabled to discharge in series through a first spark gap 430 and a second spark gap 432 when breakover voltage is reached for the first and second spark gaps 430 and 432. When the breakover voltage is reached, the first and second spark gaps 430 and 432 act as short circuits to enable both the first and second capacitors 420 and 422 to discharge through the plasma antenna element 200 thereby providing the plasma antenna element 200 with a pulse of DC current as the ionizing current…” and Para 6 - “…a driver circuit operably coupled to the plasma antenna element to selectively provide pulsed current to the plasma antenna element for ionization of plasma in the plasma antenna element…”) that results in a measurable change in the index of refraction of a surrounding medium of the spark-gap assembly (430, 432)(see Figs. 1 and 3 and Paras 23 and 29 - “…a plasma density sensor (e.g., an interferometer 220) that is configured to measure plasma density in the plasma antenna element 200… can be operably coupled to the plasma antenna element 200 to measure the plasma density of plasma in the plasma antenna element 200…”).
Re claim 4:
Anderson/Lassalle/Ayers teaches the apparatus (Anderson; Figs. 1-3) of claim 1 (as described above).
Anderson further discloses the apparatus comprising a plurality of spark-gap assemblies (430, 432) arranged in an array (see Fig. 3) to produce customizable spacetime distortions and energy fields (Para 35 - “…the first and second capacitors 420 and 422 are charged in parallel from the DC source 400, but are enabled to discharge in series through a first spark gap 430 and a second spark gap 432 when breakover voltage is reached for the first and second spark gaps 430 and 432. When the breakover voltage is reached, the first and second spark gaps 430 and 432 act as short circuits to enable both the first and second capacitors 420 and 422 to discharge through the plasma antenna element 200 thereby providing the plasma antenna element 200 with a pulse of DC current as the ionizing current…” and Para 6 - “…a driver circuit operably coupled to the plasma antenna element to selectively provide pulsed current to the plasma antenna element for ionization of plasma in the plasma antenna element…” (limitation interpreted as requiring customizable distortions in the group of spacetime distortions and energy fields; to overcome this interpretation the Examiner suggests amending the limitation to require --to produce each of customizable spacetime distortions and customizable energy fields--)).
Claims 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (U.S. 2018/0034145) in view of Lassalle (U.S. 2018/0048299) and Ayers et al. (U.S. 5,397,961), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Klepatsch (DE102010052353A1).
Re claim 2:
Anderson/Lassalle/Ayers teaches the apparatus (Anderson; Figs. 1-3) of claim 1 (as described above).
Anderson further discloses wherein the spark-gap assembly (430, 432) is configured to generate energy densities sufficient to produce
Anderson fails to disclose to produce gravitational waves.
Klepatsch teaches generating energy densities sufficient to produce gravitational waves (see Figs. 1-2 and Paras 56-59 - “…electric generator 14 is connected to the electrodes 8, 9… so that the ions of the working medium 11 in the two vibration towers oscillate synchronously… The anticyclic mass motion of the ions of the plasma-like working medium 11 in the chambers 7 of the two oscillation towers 2 results in a total motion of all participating ions 11 in the manner of a quadrupole oscillation, which is able to emit a gravitational wave.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the generation of energy densities of Anderson after that of Klepatsch, thereby generating energy densities in Anderson sufficient to produce gravitational waves in the way taught by Klepatsch for the advantage of being able to emit a gravitational wave (Anderson; Para 59).
Re claim 6:
Anderson/Lassalle/Ayers teaches the apparatus (Anderson; Figs. 1-3) of claim 1 (as described above).
Anderson further discloses wherein the spark-gap assembly (430, 432) is configured to be driven by a time-varying voltage to produce varying plasma profiles (see Figs. 1-3 and Paras 6 and 36 - “…a driver circuit operably coupled to the plasma antenna element to selectively provide pulsed current to the plasma antenna element for ionization of plasma in the plasma antenna element…The parallel charge, and series discharge, of the first and second capacitors 420 and 422 effectively doubles the voltage of the DC source 400. In particular, for example, if the DC source 400 is a 1000 VDC power supply, then the discharge of the first and second capacitors 420 and 422 through the plasma antenna element 200 could effectively double (or nearly so) the voltage provided to the plasma antenna element 200 to about 2000 VDC…”).
Anderson fails to disclose producing varying spacetime distortion profiles.
Klepatsch teaches using plasma to produce spacetime distortion (See Figs. 1-2 and Paras 56-59 - “…electric generator 14 is connected to the electrodes 8, 9… so that the ions of the working medium 11 in the two vibration towers oscillate synchronously… The anticyclic mass motion of the ions of the plasma-like working medium 11 in the chambers 7 of the two oscillation towers 2 results in a total motion of all participating ions 11 in the manner of a quadrupole oscillation, which is able to emit a gravitational wave.” (gravitational waves are vibrations of spacetime)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the plasma of Anderson as spacetime distortion in the way taught by Klepatsch, to arrive at the claimed limitation of configuring the spark-gap assembly of Anderson to be driven by the time-varying voltage of Anderson to produce varying spacetime distortion profiles, for the advantage of being able to emit a gravitational wave (Anderson; Para 59).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (U.S. 2018/0034145) in view of Lassalle (U.S. 2018/0048299) and Ayers et al. (U.S. 5,397,961), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sonsky (U.S. 2022/0402013).
Re claim 5:
Anderson/Lassalle/Ayers teaches the apparatus (Anderson; Figs. 1-3) of claim 1 (as described above).
Anderson fails to disclose wherein the spark-gap assembly is configured to operate in at least one of air, an inert gas, or a vacuum.
Sonsky teaches wherein a spark-gap assembly (80, 81, spark gap input and spark gap output - Para 47) is configured to operate in at least one of air, an inert gas, or a vacuum (see Fig. 2 and Para 47 - “…air gap between the spark gap input 80 and the spark gap output 81…” (also see Para 38)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeleled the spark-gap assembly of Anderson after that of Sonsky, thereby configuring the spark-gap of Anderson in air in the way taught by Sonsky, for the advantage of allowing the spark gap to function as an automatically operating switch (Sonsky; Para 38).
Conclusion
/LOREN C EDWARDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746 7/31/26