DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-13 are elected.
Claims 14-16 are non-elected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 9, 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EUN et al (US Pub 2023/0169928).
With respect to claim 1, EUN discloses a display device (fig. 1; display device 100) comprising: a display panel including one or more pixels (fig. 1; display panel 110; par 0036; discloses the display panel 110 may also include a plurality of subpixels SP electrically connected to the plurality of data lines DL and the plurality of gate lines GL.); and a display panel driver (fig. 1; data driver circuit 120, gate driver circuit 130) configured to, when performing a scene change from a previous image to a target image, repeatedly write target data, which is for implementing the target image, in a target pixel during a plurality of refresh frames continuously arranged, (par 0115; discloses while the display device 100 is operating at a low speed, the display device 100 may display a first image having a black grayscale (i.e., 0 gray) and then display a second image having a white grayscale (i.e., 255 gray); par 0116; discloses the display device 100 may need about 2 to 3 refresh frames for conversion from the black grayscale (i.e., 0 gray) to the white grayscale i.e., 255 gray)) and then, hold the target data in the target pixel during a plurality of skip frames, (par 0129; discloses the display device 100 according to aspects outputs the first image Image A at the first driving frequency. In addition, at a point in time at which the image displayed by the display device 100 is converted from the first image Image A to the second image Image B, the display device 100 outputs the second image Image B at the second driving frequency; par 0105; discloses When the display device 100 according to aspects operates at a driving frequency of 120 Hz in the high speed driving operation, all 120 frames displayed in the active area for 1 second are refresh frames; par 0106; discloses When the display device operates at a driving frequency of 24 Hz, 24 frames among 120 frames displayed for 1 second are refresh frames and the remaining 96 frames are anode reset frames. That is, after 1 refresh frame is output, 4 anode reset frames may be output consecutively; par 0094; discloses anode reset frame is also referred to as a “skip frame”) wherein, in a first refresh frame immediately after the scene change among the plurality of refresh frames, pre-setting data corresponding to the target data is written in the target pixel a plurality of times before the target data is written in the target pixel (fig. 3; discloses a timing diagram illustrating a refresh frame period; par 0084; discloses A refresh frame may have a first on-bias period OBS1; par 0087; discloses When entering the sampling period, an initialization voltage Vini_L having a low level is applied to the third node N3 of the driving transistor D-TFT. When the third transistor T3 is turned on, the third node N3 and the second node N2 of the driving transistor D-TFT are electrically connected, and a turn-on level voltage is applied to the second node N2 of the driving transistor D-TFT; i.e. On-bias period OBS1 and driving transistor gate initialization occurs before the sampling period i.e. write period).
With respect to claim 3, EUN discloses wherein the first refresh frame comprises: a first pre-setting period where the pre-setting data is written in the target pixel for a first time (fig. 3; discloses a refresh frame includes a first on-bias period OBS1); a second pre-setting period where the pre-setting data is written in the target pixel for a second time (fig. 3; discloses the refresh frame includes second on-bias period OBS2); and a programming period where the target data is written in the target pixel, (fig. 3; data write period “sampling”; par 0088; discloses When the driving transistor D-TFT, the first transistor T1, and the third transistor T3 are turned on in the sampling period, a voltage corresponding to the data voltage Vdata is applied to the second node N2 of the transistor D-TFT. Thus, the voltage corresponding to the data voltage Vdata is applied to one end of the storage capacitor Cstg.) wherein an emission control signal for controlling an emission timing of the target pixel has an off level in the first pre-setting period, the second pre-setting period, the programming period, a first transition period between the first pre-setting period and the second pre-setting period, and a second transition period between the second pre-setting period and the programming period, and wherein an electrical connection between a source electrode of a driving transistor included in the target pixel and a high-level pixel power source is disabled in the first pre-setting period, the second pre-setting period, the programming period, the first transition period, and the second transition period, based on the emission control signal of the off level (fig. 3; discloses the EM signal during OBS1, OBS2, sampling period, and plurality of transition periods between them is high; par 0086; discloses During the sampling period, an emission signal EM[n] having a turn-off level voltage is applied to the second transistor T2 and the fifth transistor T5. A first scan signal Scan1[n] having a turn-on level voltage is applied to the third transistor T3. A second scan signal Scan2[n] having a turn-on level voltage is applied to the first transistor T1. Third scan signals Scan3[n] and Scan3[n+1] having a turn-off level voltage are applied to the fourth transistor T4 and the sixth transistor T6, respectively.).
With respect to claim 9, EUN discloses a display device (fig. 1; display device 100) comprising: a display panel including one or more pixels (fig. 1; display panel 110; par 0036; discloses the display panel 110 may also include a plurality of subpixels SP electrically connected to the plurality of data lines DL and the plurality of gate lines GL.); and a display panel driver (fig. 1; data driver circuit 120, gate driver circuit 130) configured to, when performing a scene change from a previous image to a target image, write target data, which is for implementing the target image, in a target pixel during a refresh frame, and then, hold the target data in the target pixel during a plurality of skip frames, (par 0129; discloses the display device 100 according to aspects outputs the first image Image A at the first driving frequency. In addition, at a point in time at which the image displayed by the display device 100 is converted from the first image Image A to the second image Image B, the display device 100 outputs the second image Image B at the second driving frequency; par 0105; discloses When the display device 100 according to aspects operates at a driving frequency of 120 Hz in the high speed driving operation, all 120 frames displayed in the active area for 1 second are refresh frames; par 0106; discloses When the display device operates at a driving frequency of 24 Hz, 24 frames among 120 frames displayed for 1 second are refresh frames and the remaining 96 frames are anode reset frames. That is, after 1 refresh frame is output, 4 anode reset frames may be output consecutively; par 0094; discloses anode reset frame is also referred to as a “skip frame”) wherein an initialization voltage for a reset operation is applied to the target pixel a plurality of times before the target data is written in the target pixel, in the refresh frame (fig. 3; discloses a timing diagram illustrating a refresh frame period; par 0084; discloses A refresh frame may have a first on-bias period OBS1; par 0087; discloses When entering the sampling period, an initialization voltage Vini_L having a low level is applied to the third node N3 of the driving transistor D-TFT. When the third transistor T3 is turned on, the third node N3 and the second node N2 of the driving transistor D-TFT are electrically connected, and a turn-on level voltage is applied to the second node N2 of the driving transistor D-TFT; i.e. On-bias period OBS1 and driving transistor gate initialization occurs before the sampling period i.e. write period).
With respect to claim 12, EUN discloses a driving method of a display device (par 0007; discloses disclosure is to provide a display device and a data driver circuit in which an after image is not visible in a low power mode) including a display panel including one or more pixels, (fig. 1; display panel 110; par 0036; discloses the display panel 110 may also include a plurality of subpixels SP electrically connected to the plurality of data lines DL and the plurality of gate lines GL.) the driving method comprising: when performing a scene change from a previous image to a target image, repeatedly writing target data, which is for implementing the target image, in a target pixel during a plurality of refresh frames continuously arranged (par 0115; discloses while the display device 100 is operating at a low speed, the display device 100 may display a first image having a black grayscale (i.e., 0 gray) and then display a second image having a white grayscale (i.e., 255 gray); par 0116; discloses the display device 100 may need about 2 to 3 refresh frames for conversion from the black grayscale (i.e., 0 gray) to the white grayscale i.e., 255 gray)); and holding the target data in the target pixel during a plurality of skip frames, (par 0129; discloses the display device 100 according to aspects outputs the first image Image A at the first driving frequency. In addition, at a point in time at which the image displayed by the display device 100 is converted from the first image Image A to the second image Image B, the display device 100 outputs the second image Image B at the second driving frequency; par 0105; discloses When the display device 100 according to aspects operates at a driving frequency of 120 Hz in the high speed driving operation, all 120 frames displayed in the active area for 1 second are refresh frames; par 0106; discloses When the display device operates at a driving frequency of 24 Hz, 24 frames among 120 frames displayed for 1 second are refresh frames and the remaining 96 frames are anode reset frames. That is, after 1 refresh frame is output, 4 anode reset frames may be output consecutively; par 0094; discloses anode reset frame is also referred to as a “skip frame”) wherein, in a first refresh frame immediately after the scene change among the plurality of refresh frames, pre-setting data corresponding to the target data is written in the target pixel a plurality of times before the target data is written in the target pixel (fig. 3; discloses a timing diagram illustrating a refresh frame period; par 0084; discloses A refresh frame may have a first on-bias period OBS1; par 0087; discloses When entering the sampling period, an initialization voltage Vini_L having a low level is applied to the third node N3 of the driving transistor D-TFT. When the third transistor T3 is turned on, the third node N3 and the second node N2 of the driving transistor D-TFT are electrically connected, and a turn-on level voltage is applied to the second node N2 of the driving transistor D-TFT; i.e. On-bias period OBS1 and driving transistor gate initialization occurs before the sampling period i.e. write period)).
With respect to claim 13, EUN discloses a driving method of a display device (par 0007; discloses disclosure is to provide a display device and a data driver circuit in which an after image is not visible in a low power mode) including a display panel including one or more pixels, (fig. 1; display panel 110; par 0036; discloses the display panel 110 may also include a plurality of subpixels SP electrically connected to the plurality of data lines DL and the plurality of gate lines GL.), the driving method comprising: when performing a scene change from a previous image to a target image, writing target data, which is for implementing the target image, in a target pixel during a refresh frame; and holding the target data in the target pixel during a plurality of skip frames, (par 0129; discloses the display device 100 according to aspects outputs the first image Image A at the first driving frequency. In addition, at a point in time at which the image displayed by the display device 100 is converted from the first image Image A to the second image Image B, the display device 100 outputs the second image Image B at the second driving frequency; par 0105; discloses When the display device 100 according to aspects operates at a driving frequency of 120 Hz in the high speed driving operation, all 120 frames displayed in the active area for 1 second are refresh frames; par 0106; discloses When the display device operates at a driving frequency of 24 Hz, 24 frames among 120 frames displayed for 1 second are refresh frames and the remaining 96 frames are anode reset frames. That is, after 1 refresh frame is output, 4 anode reset frames may be output consecutively; par 0094; discloses anode reset frame is also referred to as a “skip frame”) wherein an initialization voltage for a reset operation is applied to the target pixel a plurality of times before the target data is written in the target pixel, in the refresh frame (fig. 3; discloses a timing diagram illustrating a refresh frame period; par 0084; discloses A refresh frame may have a first on-bias period OBS1; par 0087; discloses When entering the sampling period, an initialization voltage Vini_L having a low level is applied to the third node N3 of the driving transistor D-TFT. When the third transistor T3 is turned on, the third node N3 and the second node N2 of the driving transistor D-TFT are electrically connected, and a turn-on level voltage is applied to the second node N2 of the driving transistor D-TFT; i.e. On-bias period OBS1 and driving transistor gate initialization occurs before the sampling period i.e. write period).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EUN et al (US Pub 2023/0169928) in view of Moon et el (US Pub 2022/0157263).
With respect to claim 2, EUN doesn’t expressly disclose wherein the pre-setting data is target data of each of pre-charging pixels driven prior to the target pixel in the first refresh frame;
In the same field of endeavor, Moon discloses display device and driving method (see abstract); Moon disclose wherein the pre-setting data is target data of each of pre-charging pixels driven prior to the target pixel in the first refresh frame (par 0009; discloses , the park data generated from the timing controller during the vertical blank period of the low speed driving mode may be transmitted to the data driving circuit, and the park voltage obtained in the data driving circuit may be applied to the data lines of the display panel, thereby improving image quality in the low speed driving mode; par 0101; discloses the timing controller 130 transmits park data (Vpark value) to the data driving unit 110 during at least one vertical blank period VB in the low speed driving mode. The DAC of the data driving unit 110 converts the park data into a gamma compensation voltage and outputs the park voltage Vpark. In FIG. 7, “Ln−1” and “Ln” are data of the last pixel line and the previous pixel line of the Nth refresh frame period FR(N).);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by EUN to incorporate the teachings of Moon to use the precious pixel data to drive the target pixel during refresh period in the low speed driving method such that image quality in the low speed driving mode is improved.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EUN et al (US Pub 2023/0169928) in view of PARK et el (US Pub 2024/016185).
With respect to claim 10, EUN discloses wherein a gate electrode of a driving transistor included in the target pixel is reset by the initialization voltage in the refresh frame (par 0116; discloses the display device 100 may need about 2 to 3 refresh frames for conversion from the black grayscale (i.e., 0 gray) to the white grayscale i.e., 255 gray); par 0087; discloses When entering the sampling period, an initialization voltage Vini_L having a low level is applied to the third node N3 of the driving transistor D-TFT. When the third transistor T3 is turned on, the third node N3 and the second node N2 of the driving transistor D-TFT are electrically connected, and a turn-on level voltage is applied to the second node N2 of the driving transistor D-TFT;);
EUN doesn’t expressly disclose a gate electrode of a driving transistor included in the target pixel is reset by the initialization voltage a plurality of times;
In the same field of endeavor, PARK discloses display device and driving method for a pixel (see abstract); Park discloses a gate electrode of a driving transistor included in the target pixel is reset by the initialization voltage a plurality of times (par 0064; discloses The fourth transistor T4 (hereinafter also referred to as a G-node initialization transistor) includes a gate electrode connected to a third scan line to which a third scan signal GI(N) is applied, a first electrode receiving a first initialization voltage Vint, and a second electrode connected to the G-node. The fourth transistor T4 serves to initialize the first electrode of the storage capacitor Cst and the gate electrode of the driving transistor T1 to the first initialization voltage Vint. par 0075; discloses n FIG. 2, the initialization period and the compensation period may be alternately included three times);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by EUN to incorporate the teachings of Park to initialize the gate electrode of the driving transistor multiple times during a frame period such that operating characteristics of the driving transistor is improved after every frame period.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EUN et al (US Pub 2023/0169928) in view of Kim et el (US Pub 2022/0208075).
With respect to claim 11, EUN doesn’t expressly disclose wherein the initialization voltage has a first level in the refresh frame and has a second level, which is higher than the first level, in the plurality of skip frames;
In the same field of endeavor, Kim discloses display device and driving method (see abstract); Kim discloses wherein the initialization voltage has a first level in the refresh frame and has a second level, which is higher than the first level, in the plurality of skip frames (fig. 4; discloses voltage level of V2 in refresh period is lower than the voltage level in anode reset frame (i.e. skip frame));
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by EUN to incorporate the teachings of Kim to initialize the gate electrode of the driving transistor during the refresh frame in order to improve the operating characteristic of the driving transistor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 4, EUN alone or in view of other prior art of record fails to disclose wherein the first refresh frame comprises: a first pre-setting period where the pre-setting data is written in the target pixel for a first time; a second pre-setting period where the pre-setting data is written in the target pixel for a second time; and a programming period where the target data is written in the target pixel, wherein an emission control signal for controlling an emission timing of the target pixel has an off level in the first pre-setting period, the second pre-setting period, and the programming period and has an on level in a first transition period between the first pre-setting period and the second pre-setting period and a second transition period between the second pre-setting period and the programming period, and wherein an electrical connection between a source electrode of a driving transistor included in the target pixel and a high-level pixel power source is disabled in the first pre-setting period, the second pre-setting period, and the programming period, based on the emission control signal of the off level, and is enabled in the first transition period and the second transition period, based on the emission control signal of the on level and it would not have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by EUN to arrive at the claimed invention as the final result would have been unpredictable or the modification would have rendered in the invention inoperable. Therefore claim 4 comprises allowable subject matter.
Claims 5-8 are objected to for being directly or indirectly dependent on claim 4.
Conclusion
/SUJIT SHAH/ Examiner, Art Unit 2624