DETAILED ACTION
While there is an attorney listed, there is no power of attorney on file.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
There are no reference numerals in the drawings.
Also, BMS in figs. 2-5 is not in the specification
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “remote server” in claim 1; “insulating sections” in claim 2, “a set of trapezoidal screws and a set of synchronized belts”; “cleaning brushes” in claim 3 and “remote control” in claim 5 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Any reference numerals added to the amended drawings must be included in an amended specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
The use of the terms Raspberry Pi, LoRa, and DHS-MPPC which are trade names or marks used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
For claim 1, the limitation “microcomputer” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-5 objected to because of the following informalities:
For claim 1, the limitation “AN AUTONOMOUS TOWER SYSTEM FOR INSECT EXTERMINATION AND MONITORING” should be amended to --An autonomous tower system for insect extermination and monitoring--.
For claim 1, the limitations “a Positive Voltage Network (+) and a Negative Voltage Network (-)” should read – a positive voltage network and a negative voltage network--.
For claims 2-5 limitations “THE AUTONOMOUS TOWER SYSTEM” should be amended to -- The autonomous tower system--.
For claim 3, the limitation “high-voltage grid” should read – high voltage grid--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 contains the trademark/trade names Raspberry Pi and LoRa. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a “microcomputer” and a “wireless network” and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Also, claim 1 comprises of numerous insufficient antecedent basis. For example, claim 1 recites the limitation "the system operation" in lines 7-8; “the species” in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Also, for claim 1, the limitation “them” in claim 1, line 7 is unclear if it is referring to the “insects” that what was stated in claim 1, line 10. For examination purposes, the limitation “them” will be treated as “insects”.
Also, for claim 1, the limitation “a power supply system” in line 17 is unclear because is it referring to a different self-sustaining power system than what was stated in claim 1, line 4? For examination purposes, the limitation will be treated as the same self-sustaining power system and it is recommended that “a power supply system” be amended to --the self-sustaining power system--.
Also, for claim 1, the limitations “a solar panel, solar controller, and battery, ensuring independent operation from an external power source; a LoRa communication module” in lines 17-19 are unclear because is it referring to a different solar panel, a solar charge controller, a storage battery configured to provide continuous power, independent of an external electricity source and a LoRa communication network than what was stated in lines 4-6 and 8-9? For examination purposes, the limitation will be treated as the same solar panel, solar charge controller, storage battery configured to provide continuous power, independent of an external electricity source and LoRa communication network and it is recommended that “a solar panel, solar controller, and battery, ensuring independent operation from an external power source; a LoRa communication module” be amended to – the solar panel, the solar charge controller, and the storage battery, ensuring said independent operation from the external electricity source; the LoRa communication network--.
For claims 1 and 3, the limitation “insects” in claim 1, line 12 and throughout and claim 3, line 7 is unclear because is it referring to different insects than what was stated in claim 1, line 10? For examination purposes, the limitation will be treated as the same insects and it is recommended that “the” be inserted before “insects” in claims 1 and 3.
For claims 1 and 5, the limitations “the slave towers” and “each slave tower” in claim 1, lines 8 and 16 and “the slave towers” in claim 5, line 3 are unclear if more than one slave tower is required as claim 1 line 2 states “at least one slave tower”. For examination purposes, the limitation will be treated as at least one slave tower, and it is recommended that “the slave towers” and “each slave tower” be amended to –the at least one slave tower--.
For claims 1-3 and 5, the limitations managing, collecting, capturing, transmitting, eliminating, ensuring, monitoring, receiving, allowing throughout claims 1-3 and 5 are not positively recited as these limitations are referring to steps while the claims are apparatus claims.
For claim 2, the limitation “the structural stability” and “the electrical connections” in line 3 lacks antecedent basis.
For claim 3, the limitations “the position” in line 6, and “the removal” and “the grid” in line 7 lacks antecedent basis.
Also, for claim 3, the limitation “their” in line 6 is unclear if it is referring to the “brushes”. For examination purposes, the limitation “their” will be treated as “brushes”.
For claim 4, the limitation “each main or slave tower” in line 2 is unclear because is it referring to a different main tower and slave tower than what was stated in claim 1, line 2? For examination purposes, the limitation will be treated as the same main tower and slave tower and it is recommended that “each main or slave tower” be amended to – the main tower or the slave tower— in claim 4.
Also, for claim 4, the limitation “a solar panel” in line 3 is unclear because is it referring to a different solar panel than what was stated in claim 1, line 4? For examination purposes, the limitation will be treated as the same solar panel and it is recommended that “the” be inserted before “solar panel” in claim 4.
Also, for claim 4, the limitation “the electronic components” in line 4 lacks antecedent basis.
Also, claim 4 contains the trademark/trade name DHS-MPPC. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe MPPT and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG (CN 108732175 A) in view of Liu (CN 108739721 A) and Rajasekaran (US 11603970 B1).
Regarding claim 1, ZHANG teaches an autonomous tower system for insect extermination and monitoring (abstract and fig. 1), comprising a main tower (fig. 1 as 6, 7, 20 and 30 make up the main tower) and at least one slave tower (image detection microcomputer and the power grid circuit as the image detection microcomputer), wherein the main tower comprises: a self-sustaining power system (see machine translation “a solar power supply device”) composed of a solar panel (3); a storage battery (see machine translation “solar storage battery”) configured to provide continuous power (the solar panel 3 will provide continuous power from the sun), independent of an external electricity source (see machine translation “the solar power supply device provides power supply; the wireless transmission device and the environmental monitoring device and an image detection system;” as the power is derived from the sun); a centralized control device using a microcomputer (Raspberry Pi) (see machine translation “said wireless transmission device comprises a microcomputer”) managing the system operation and collecting data from the slave towers through a LoRa communication network (see 112b above as the LoRa communication network has been interpreted as a wireless network, and ZHANG teaches a wireless transmission device; and see machine translation “said wireless transmission device comprises a microcomputer, an environmental information storage unit, a 4G transmission module. the wireless transmission device and the environment monitoring device connected with the microcomputer 7 and image detecting system for collecting sensor data to the environment monitoring device 7 from the image detecting system obtains the image of the insect body, environment information storage unit to environment monitoring device for storing sensor data 7 in the 4G transmission module for transmitting the insect insect image and environment monitoring data. a microcomputer for controlling the whole device operation environment information storage unit for the environment information transmission module and 4G for the Polypite image” as the microcomputer will collect data from the image detection microcomputer); a built-in camera (17) for capturing images of eliminated insects (see machine translation “the image collecting chamber after killing the insect”), connected to a 4G module for transmitting the images to a remote server (see machine translation “and realizes remote identification of the insect and the insect data uploaded to the server.” and “the wireless transmission device and the environment monitoring device connected with the microcomputer 7 and image detecting system for collecting sensor data to the environment monitoring device 7 from the image detecting system obtains the image of the insect body, environment information storage unit to environment monitoring device for storing sensor data 7 in the 4G transmission module for transmitting the insect insect image and environment monitoring data. a microcomputer for controlling the whole device operation environment information storage unit for the environment information transmission module and 4G for the Polypite image and the environment information via the 4G network, real-time transmission to the agricultural insects authentication server monitoring centre.”), where an artificial intelligence algorithm processes and identifies the species and quantity of insects (abstract and see machine translation “a remote insect identification and counting device based on machine vision.” as machine vision is a form of artificial intelligence algorithm); a high voltage grid (contact-killing power grid 10 in fig. 2) configured to release an electric discharge upon contact with insects, eliminating them instantly (see machine translation “contact-killing power grid 10”), wherein each slave tower comprises: a power supply system (see machine translation “a solar power supply device”) consisting of a solar panel (3), and battery (see machine translation “solar storage battery”), ensuring independent operation from an external power source (see machine translation “the solar power supply device provides power supply; the wireless transmission device and the environmental monitoring device and an image detection system;” as the power is derived from the sun); a LoRa communication module (see 112b above as the LoRa communication module has been interpreted as a wireless network, and ZHANG teaches a wireless transmission device) configured to connect to the main tower and transmit monitoring data (see machine translation “the insect image detecting microcomputer in real image collecting area insect pest body when detecting insect image storage unit for storing the image of the insect pest” and “the wireless transmission device and the environment monitoring device connected with the microcomputer 7 and image detecting system for collecting sensor data to the environment monitoring device 7 from the image detecting system obtains the image of the insect body, environment information storage unit to environment monitoring device for storing sensor data 7 in the 4G transmission module for transmitting the insect insect image and environment monitoring data.” as the image detection microcomputer would store the insect image and transmit the insect image to the wireless transmission device and image detecting system, which are part of the main tower), in addition to receiving commands (see machine translation “the insect image detecting microcomputer in real image collecting area insect pest body when detecting insect image storage unit for storing the image of the insect pest” and “when the system detects that the continuous n image collecting area is no object, image collecting device to stop working.” as the image detection microcomputer will receive commands to take an image or stop working), allowing for expanded coverage area (see machine translation “see machine translation “the insect image detecting microcomputer in real image collecting area insect pest body when detecting insect image storage unit for storing the image of the insect pest” as the image detection microcomputer assists in detecting and taking the image of an insect) and auxiliary action in insect extermination (see machine translation “the current detection module is connected in series to the contact in the power grid circuit, detecting the current of the circuit, thereby killing the insect to count.”).
However, ZHANG does not explicitly teach a solar charge controller; the high voltage grid composed of a positive voltage network and a negative voltage network; and solar controller.
Liu teaches a solar charge controller (see machine translation “ the first solar panel and the second solar panel via wire connection with a MPPT photovoltaic controller, and output end of the MPPT photovoltaic controller connecting with the storage battery electrically through signal wire” as a MPPT is known to be a solar charge controller); and solar controller (see machine translation “ the first solar panel and the second solar panel via wire connection with a MPPT photovoltaic controller, and output end of the MPPT photovoltaic controller connecting with the storage battery electrically through signal wire” a MPPT is known to be a solar controller).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a solar charge controller and solar controller as taught by Liu into the apparatus of ZHANG in order to improve the performance of the solar panels and prevent the battery from overcharging and undercharging as it is well known in the art.
Rajasekaran teaches the high voltage grid (3 and 5) composed of a positive voltage network and a negative voltage network (Col. 3, lines 3-5 as AC voltage alternates between a positive voltage network and a negative voltage network).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the high voltage grid of ZHANG to include the high voltage grid composed of a positive voltage network and a negative voltage network as taught by Rajasekaran in order to provide an efficient high voltage output as it is well known in the art.
Regarding claim 4, ZHANG as modified by Liu and Rajasekaran teaches the autonomous tower system according to claim 1, and ZHANG as modified by Liu and Rajasekaran further teaches wherein each main or slave tower (see 112b above) comprises a solar panel (3 of ZHANG) for energy collection (see machine translation “see machine translation “a solar power supply device”) and a DHS-MPPC solar controller (see 112b above, and see machine translation “ the first solar panel and the second solar panel via wire connection with a MPPT photovoltaic controller, and output end of the MPPT photovoltaic controller connecting with the storage battery electrically through signal wire” as a MPPT is known to be a solar controller of Liu) for battery charge management (the MPPT of Liu will charge the battery of ZHANG) and power supply to the electronic components and to the high voltage grid (see machine translation “a solar power supply device” of ZHANG).
Regarding claim 5, ZHANG as modified by Liu and Rajasekaran teaches the autonomous tower system according to claim 1, and ZHANG further teaches characterized in that the main tower is configured to establish a communication network with the slave towers, allowing for real-time data transmission and remote control (see machine translation “the wireless transmission device and the environment monitoring device connected with the microcomputer 7 and image detecting system for collecting sensor data to the environment monitoring device 7 from the image detecting system obtains the image of the insect body, environment information storage unit to environment monitoring device for storing sensor data 7 in the 4G transmission module for transmitting the insect insect image and environment monitoring data. a microcomputer for controlling the whole device operation environment information storage unit for the environment information transmission module and 4G for the Polypite image and the environment information via the 4G network, real-time transmission to the agricultural insects authentication server monitoring centre.” As the main tower is capable to establish a communication network with the slave towers, allowing for real-time data transmission and remote control).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG as modified by Liu and Rajasekaran as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yavnieli (US 4490937 A).
Regarding claim 2, ZHANG as modified by Liu and Rajasekaran teaches the autonomous tower system, according to claim 1, and ZHANG further teaches characterized in that the high voltage grid of the main tower is supported by a fixing plate (fig. 2 depicts the high voltage grid to be supported by a secured wall, and so teaches a fixing plate), ensuring the structural stability and safety of the electrical connections (fig. 2 as the walls will ensure the structural stability and safety of the electrical connections).
However, ZHANG as modified by Liu and Rajasekaran is silent about insulating sections.
Yavnieli teaches insulating sections (Col. 1, lines 53-54).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include insulating sections as taught by Yavnieli into the apparatus of ZHANG as modified by Liu and Rajasekaran in order to provide a safety feature to prevent the fingers of the user from engaging with the electrical components (Col. 1, lines 53-56 of Yavnieli).
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG as modified by Liu and Rajasekaran as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of WU (CN 117256584 A), Chen (CN 113514157 A) and EMREM (US 20190321868 A1).
Regarding claim 3, ZHANG as modified by Liu and Rajasekaran teaches the autonomous tower system according to claim 1, but is silent about further comprising an automatic cleaning mechanism including: a set of trapezoidal screws and a set of synchronized belts configured to move cleaning brushes along the high-voltage grid; integrated sensors to detect the position of the brushes and control their movement, ensuring the removal of insects eliminated from the grid.
WU teaches an automatic cleaning mechanism including: a screw (20) configured to move cleaning plate (40) along the high-voltage grid (30; see machine translation “a self-cleaning device is provided, which can clean the mosquito-killing high voltage power grid” and “40. a walking type high voltage electric network cleaning plate and other units, the self-cleaning controller can control the driving motor 10 in the automatic cleaning device, the driving motor 10 can control the rotating screw rod 20 to rotate clockwise or anticlockwise, so as to drive the walking type high voltage electric network cleaning plate to operate up and down in the high voltage electric network, cleaning the device, so it does not need manual frequent maintenance”); ensuring the removal of insects eliminated from the grid (see machine translation “a self-cleaning device is provided, which can clean the mosquito-killing high voltage power grid” and “40. a walking type high voltage electric network cleaning plate and other units, the self-cleaning controller can control the driving motor 10 in the automatic cleaning device, the driving motor 10 can control the rotating screw rod 20 to rotate clockwise or anticlockwise, so as to drive the walking type high voltage electric network cleaning plate to operate up and down in the high voltage electric network, cleaning the device, so it does not need manual frequent maintenance”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an automatic cleaning mechanism including a screw configured to move cleaning plate along the high-voltage grid as taught by WU into the apparatus of ZHANG as modified by Liu and Rajasekaran in order to conveniently clean the high-voltage grid without the need of manual frequent maintenance (see machine translation “so as to drive the walking type high voltage electric network cleaning plate to operate up and down in the high voltage electric network, cleaning the device, so it does not need manual frequent maintenance.” Of WU).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the screw of ZHANG as modified by Liu, Rajasekaran and WU with a trapezoidal screw in order to provide a threaded screw that will further secure the cleaning device to the screw as it is well known in the art, since a simple substitution of one known equivalent element for another would obtain predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1739, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395, 1396 (2007).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of ZHANG as modified by Liu, Rajasekaran and WU to include a set of trapezoidal screws in order to provide an extra trapezoidal screw that will further secure the cleaning device to the screw as it is well known in the art, since it is has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Chen teaches the automatic cleaning mechanism including a set of synchronized belts (541 and fig. 5 depicts more than one belt, and see machine translation “the monitoring plate is connected with the arc plate to synchronously slide in the locating groove, so that the arc plate drives the two cleaning rods and the brush roller on the front side to swing back and forth” as the arc plate drives the two cleaning rods that comprises of the belts to swing back and forth, and so teaches the belts to be synchronized) configured to move cleaning brushes (54 and see machine translation “the monitoring plate is connected with the arc plate to synchronously slide in the locating groove, so that the arc plate drives the two cleaning rods and the brush roller on the front side to swing back and forth”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a set of synchronized belts configured to move cleaning brushes as taught by Chen into the automatic cleaning mechanism ZHANG as modified by Liu, Rajasekaran and WU in order to provide an efficient cleaning system by scrubbing away any impurities off the device while allowing the device to easily move back and forth (see machine translation “the monitoring plate is connected with the arc plate to synchronously slide in the locating groove, so that the arc plate drives the two cleaning rods and the brush roller on the front side to swing back and forth” of Chen).
EMREM teaches integrated sensors to detect the position of the brushes and control their movement ([0079]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include integrated sensors to detect the position of the brushes and control their movement as taught by EMREM into the automatic cleaning mechanism ZHANG as modified by Liu, Rajasekaran, WU and Chen in order to reduce the need of the user from monitoring the position of the brushes ([0079] of EMREM).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xie (US 8875437 B1) teaches an autonomous tower system with insulators.
OKPALA-EZECHUKWU (US 20250194577 A1) teaches an autonomous tower system with high voltage.
Hong (US 20240381864 A1) teaches an autonomous tower system with insulators.
/SAHAR ALMATRAHI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3643
/DAVID J PARSLEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643