DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-46 of U.S. Patent No. 11,918,423. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the present application and claim 18 of the patent are both directed to a system for delivering an elongated medical device along a path to a target location including a catheter procedure system coupled to an imaging system, a bedside system, a controller coupled to the bedside system as well as the steps of generating a mask, tracking the position of a distal portion, determine a remaining path length, the particulars of the remaining path length as well as updating the remaining path length, determining if the distal portion of the elongated medical device is off path, a corrective action (i.e., adjust the position – as stated in the patent) and drive the elongated medical device at a velocity determined by the remaining path length (advance and adjust the velocity – as stated in the patent). Claim 18 of the patent includes additional features including a child vessel and child vessel mask as well as displaying the mask and the child vessel mask and the velocity is proportional to the remaining path length. These are features which are disclosed in claims 2-4 of the present application. Claim 1 of the present application does not actively set forth the imaging system as stated in claim 18 of the patent; however, claim 1 does disclose the catheter procedure system being coupled to an imaging system.
Claim 5 includes all of the particulars of claim 18 of the patent with the exception of a positively recited imaging system, a workstation, a user interface and a display. In view of the recitation of all of the limitations of claim 5 being in claim 18 of the patent, claim 5 of the present application is anticipated by claim 18 of the patent. Claims 6-22 are anticipated by 19-35 of the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 7 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the child vessel mask" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the workstation" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the workstation" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen et al (2015/0282890) in view of Soper et al (2013/0158346) and further in view of Atarot et al (2017/0202624).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Cohen et al disclose a system for delivering an elongated medical device along a path to a target location, the system comprising:
a catheter procedure system configured to be coupled to an imaging system ([0743]), the catheter procedure system comprising:
a bedside system comprising a drive assembly configured to drive an elongated medical device (medical tool, tool, device, probe – [0742]); and
a controller coupled to the bedside system (at least one processor – [0246]), wherein the controller is programmed to
generate a mask, which is applied to an image for clarifying the defined path (applying a mask derived from a road map – [1039]);
track the position of a distal portion of the elongated medical device based on a set of real-time images acquired by an imaging system (the native image stream may be image tracked with respect to the distal tip of the guiding catheter – [0759]; a current image stream of the tool inside the blood vessel is generated – [0921]);
determining a remaining path length based at least on the position of the distal portion of the elongated medical device, the remaining path length being a distance between the distal portion of the elongated medical device and the target location, wherein the remaining path length decreases as the distal portion of the elongated medical device approaches the target location (track the location of device markers relative to a lesion, thereby facilitating the correct deployment of the device – [0980]);
update the remaining path length during movement of the elongated medical device (image tracking with respect to a radiopaque segment or marker of the tool – [0879]; track the location of device markers relative to a lesion – [0980]; the remaining length is updated by virtue of the updated image).
Cohen et al fail to explicitly disclose determine if the distal portion of the elongated medical device is off path and drive the elongated medical device with a corrective action using the drive assembly if the result of the determination indicates that the distal portion of the elongated medical device is off path.
However, Soper et al teach in the same medical field of endeavor, determine in a distal portion of an elongated medical device is off path and drive the elongated medical device with a corrective action using a drive assembly if the result of the determination indicates the distal portion of the elongated medical device is off path (if the distance from the intended destination should continue to increase beyond an accepted limit, the clinician may be directed to back up to a previous one or more bifurcation and take a different path – [0101]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the tracking of the path of the instrument of Cohen et al with determining whether the medical device is off path and drive a corrective action of Soper et al as it would provide correct navigation of the instrument to a target location.
Cohen et al as modified by Soper et al fail to explicitly disclose drive the elongated medical device at a velocity determined based at least on the remaining path length using the drive assembly and wherein the velocity is proportional to the remaining path length.
However, Atarot et al teach in the same medical field of endeavor, drive an elongated medical device at a velocity determined based at least on a remaining path length using a drive assembly and wherein the velocity is proportional to the remaining path length (the velocity of the endoscope’s movement will be adjusted as a function of the distance of the endoscope’s tip from the organ/tissue – [0570]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the velocity and advancement of the elongated medical device of Cohen et al as modified by Soper et al with the adjustment of the velocity as it would optimize the elongated medical device movements as it arrives closer to the target while decreasing the likelihood that it will contact incorrect tissue (Atarot et al – [0569]).
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen et al (2015/0282890) in view of Soper et al (2013/0158346) and further in view of Atarot et al (2017/0202624) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dutta et al (2018/0336676).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Cohen et al as modified by Soper et al and Atarot et al disclose the invention as claimed and discussed above, but fail to explicitly disclose wherein the controller is further programmed to determine whether at least one child vessel is connected to the path and wherein the controller is further programmed to display the mask and the child vessel mask on an image associated with the mask on a display.
However, Dutta et al teach in the same medical field of endeavor, wherein a controller is programmed to determine whether at least one child vessel (kissing vessel – [0032]) is connected to a path (a refined mask by eliminating vessels that are indirectly connected to an aneurysm or parent vessel – claim 1) and wherein the controller is further programmed to display the mask (parent mask) and a child vessel mask on an image associated with the mask on a display (generating a parent vessel mask based on the refined mask and generating a final mask for image segmentation – claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the generating a mask of the path and masking of a given feature of Cohen et al as modified by Soper et al and Atarot et al with determining whether a child vessel is connected to a path and displaying the mask and the child vessel mask on an image associated with the mask of Dutta et al as it would provide isolation of the feature of interest in an image (abstract – Dutta).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-22 are allowable over the prior art; however, the claims are subject to an outstanding Double Patenting Rejection. Claims 7, 19 and 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as well as overcoming the Double Patenting Rejection.
Conclusion
/ROCHELLE D TURCHEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797