DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 have been presented for examination.
Claims 1-10 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Koshizen (US 20130261944 A1), in view of Pfau (US 20200384994 A1), further in view of Tseng (US 20230159029 A1), further in view of Yano (US 20210031768 A1), and further in view of Sato (US 20130325284 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Koshizen discloses a method, the method comprising:
receiving preceding traffic information including a location of the vehicle, a travel route [0025] “The navigation device 13 receives a positioning signal such as a GPS signal and calculates the current position of the vehicle from the positioning signal. The navigation device 13 includes map data and has a function to output the current position of the vehicle, route information to a destination, and traffic congestion information on a displayed map.” (i.e., the location of the vehicle, a travel route). [0036] “The other vehicle detection unit 35 detects at least one other vehicle or more located around the vehicle. The inter-vehicle distance detection unit 36 detects inter-vehicle distances between the vehicle and other vehicles from other vehicle information.” (i.e., preceding traffic information). [0031] “The communication device 19 communicates with another vehicle, a server device. associates a traffic congestion prediction result and position information and receives correspondence information between a traffic congestion prediction result and position information from another vehicle or the like.” (i.e., receiving preceding traffic information including the location of the vehicle).
determining, by a controller, road congestion based on the preceding traffic information [0048] “The traffic congestion prediction unit 41 in FIG. 1 determines whether or not the boundary state of the critical region is present in the correlation map created by the correlation map creation unit 40 and, if the boundary state is present, the traffic congestion prediction unit 41 transmits a control signal including the traffic congestion prediction result.” [0052] “In parallel with the above, in step S11, the inter-vehicle distances between the vehicle and vehicles around the vehicle are detected based on the output signal from the radar device 12” (i.e., determining, by a controller, road congestion based on the preceding traffic information);
outputting, by the controller, a congestion notification in response to the road congestion [0051] “The notification control unit 43 performs notification control using the display 18 and the speaker 17 based on the traffic congestion prediction result. For example, the notification control unit 43 transmits a control signal to display a message ‘slow down and increase the inter-vehicle distance’ on the display 18 or output the message by voice from the speaker 17.” (i.e., outputting, by the controller, a congestion notification in response to the road congestion).;
Koshizen does not expressly teach at least one preceding vehicle speed information, determining, by the controller, whether to deactivate smart cruise control in response to the congestion notification; reducing, by the controller, a speed of the smart cruise control based on that the smart cruise control is not deactivated; increasing, by the controller, an inter-vehicle distance to a preceding vehicle based on the reduced smart cruise control speed; determining, by the controller, whether a distance to the preceding vehicle is equal to or smaller than a predetermined distance; and restoring, by the controller, a predetermined speed and an inter-vehicle distance based on that the distance to the preceding vehicle is equal to or smaller than the predetermined distance.
However, Pfau teaches preceding traffic information including at least one preceding vehicle speed information [0057] “The forward traffic information acquiring unit 57 may acquire the absolute speeds of the plurality of preceding vehicles as forward traffic information” (i.e., preceding traffic information including at least one preceding vehicle speed information). [0058] “The forward traffic information acquiring unit 57 may acquire relative speeds of the plurality of preceding vehicles as forward traffic information.” (i.e., preceding traffic information including at least one preceding vehicle speed information).
Pfau further teaches reducing, by the controller, a speed of the smart cruise control based on that the smart cruise control is not deactivated [0035] “the execution unit 56 prohibits the adaptive cruise operation. Alternatively, the execution unit 56 transmits a signal to the behavior control mechanism 90 such that the motorcycle 100 travels at a corrected traveling speed slower than the traveling speed when the motorcycle 100 travels with the control amount set by the control amount setting unit 53.” (i.e., reduce the speed of the smart cruise control based on that the smart cruise control is not deactivated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Koshizen with the teachings of Pfau to include preceding-vehicle speed information in Koshizen's traffic information and to use such information when controlling smart cruise control, including either deactivating smart cruise control or, when smart cruise control is not deactivated, reducing the smart cruise control speed.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Koshizen and Pfau to improve the combination by increasing safety when operating smart cruise control in dense forward traffic Pfau [0071] “the limitation determining unit 55 determines to provide the limitation on the adaptive cruise operation, so that the safety of the rider in such a situation is improved”
Koshizen and Pfau do not expressly teach a device for preventing a forward collision of a vehicle, determining, by the controller, whether to deactivate smart cruise control in response to the congestion notification; increasing, by the controller, an inter-vehicle distance to a preceding vehicle based on the reduced smart cruise control speed; determining, by the controller, whether a distance to the preceding vehicle is equal to or smaller than a predetermined distance; and restoring, by the controller, a predetermined speed and an inter-vehicle distance based on that the distance to the preceding vehicle is equal to or smaller than the predetermined distance.
However, Tseng teaches a device for preventing a forward collision of a vehicle [0001] “Adaptive cruise control is cruise control that lowers the speed of the vehicle when a slower-moving vehicle is ahead of the vehicle in order to maintain a distance from the slower-moving vehicle.” (i.e., a device for preventing a forward collision of a vehicle),
determining, by the controller, whether to deactivate smart cruise control in response to the congestion notification [0044] “The computer 102 can prompt the operator to deactivate the adaptive cruise control by outputting a message via the user interface 112, e.g., a spoken and/or written message “Deactivate ACC?”” [0047] “For example, the input can specify that the congestion level is high, e.g., if the vehicle 100 has encountered a congested area and the traffic data is out-of-date. The computer 102 can then use the ACC profile for the new identified scenario, which includes the classification for the congestion level as high.” [0056] “The computer 102 determines whether the status of the adaptive cruise control should be set to active or inactive.” (i.e., determine whether to deactivate smart cruise control in response to the congestion notification).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Koshizen and Pfau with the teachings of Tseng to provide, as part of Koshizen's congestion notification, a determination whether smart cruise control should be deactivated, because Koshizen already outputs a congestion notification, Pfau already teaches the alternatives of prohibiting adaptive cruise operation or maintaining adaptive cruise operation at a lower speed, and Tseng expressly teaches prompting the operator to deactivate ACC and thereafter determining whether the ACC status is to be active or inactive.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to prevent unexpected vehicle behavior Tseng [0005] “By prompting the operator and waiting for the operator to activate the adaptive cruise control, the system can prevent vehicle behavior that may be unexpected by the operator.”
The combination of Koshizen, Pfau, and Tseng does not expressly teach increasing, by the controller, an inter-vehicle distance to a preceding vehicle based on the reduced smart cruise control speed; determining, by the controller, whether a distance to the preceding vehicle is equal to or smaller than a predetermined distance; and restoring, by the controller, a predetermined speed and an inter-vehicle distance based on that the distance to the preceding vehicle is equal to or smaller than the predetermined distance.
However, Yano teaches determining, by the controller, whether a distance to the preceding vehicle is equal to or smaller than a predetermined distance and an inter-vehicle distance based on that the distance to the preceding vehicle is equal to or smaller than the predetermined distance [0040] “In S108, whether or not a vehicle-to-vehicle distance IVD from the leading vehicle is equal to or less than a predetermined distance IVDa is determined. When the vehicle-to-vehicle distance IVD is equal to or less than the predetermined distance IVDa, in other words, after the traffic jam is detected, when the host vehicle is coming close to the traffic jam and approaches a vehicle (the leading vehicle) positioned at the end of the traffic jam line within a distance equal to or less than the predetermined distance IVDa.” (i.e., determine whether a distance to the preceding vehicle is equal to or smaller than a predetermined distance).
It would have been obvious to modify the combination with Yano to use a predetermined distance comparison as a condition in the longitudinal control.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Koshizen, Pfau, Tseng, and Yano to improve the combination by providing a controlled transition as the vehicle approaches congestion Yano [0060] states that gradual speed reduction permits the desired control “while an influence of sudden deceleration on a following vehicle is avoided.” The combination of Koshizen, Pfau, Tseng, and Yano does not expressly teach increasing, by the controller, an inter-vehicle distance to a preceding vehicle based on the reduced smart cruise control speed; and restoring, by the controller, a predetermined speed and an inter-vehicle distance.
However, Sato teaches increasing, by the controller, an inter-vehicle distance to a preceding vehicle based on the reduced smart cruise control speed [0067] “The driving assist unit 24 may instruct the inter-vehicle control ECU 13 to control the inter-vehicle distance according to the zone which is determined by the traveling zone determination unit 23 to be the zone where the host vehicle is traveling. FIG. 8A is a diagram illustrating an example of inter-vehicle distance between a host vehicle M.sub.a and a vehicle in front M.sub.b in the tail zone. As shown in FIG. 8A, an inter-vehicle distance d.sub.0 is a target inter-vehicle distance to the vehicle in front M.sub.b when the host vehicle M.sub.a is traveling in normal mode (traveling outside the congestion area). The inter-vehicle distance d.sub.1 is a target inter-vehicle distance to the vehicle in front M.sub.b when the host vehicle M.sub.a is traveling in the tail zone of the congestion area. The host vehicle M.sub.a, which is determined to be traveling in the tail zone of the congestion area, will decelerate. Therefore, a greater inter-vehicle distance d.sub.1 is allowed in the tail zone than the inter-vehicle distance d.sub.0 during normal traveling. The driving assist unit 24 transmits inter-vehicle control information including this inter-vehicle distance d.sub.1 to the inter-vehicle control ECU 13. (i.e., increase an inter-vehicle distance to a preceding vehicle based on the reduced smart cruise control speed).
restoring, by the controller, a predetermined speed and an inter-vehicle distance [0068] “The host vehicle M.sub.a, which is determined to be traveling in the restoration zone of the congestion area, will restore the speed (accelerate). Therefore, a smaller inter-vehicle distance d.sub.2 is allowed in the restoration zone than the inter-vehicle distance d.sub.0 during normal traveling. The driving assist unit 24 transmits inter-vehicle control information including this inter-vehicle distance d.sub.2 to the inter-vehicle control ECU 13.” (i.e., restore a predetermined speed and an inter-vehicle distance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Koshizen, Pfau, Tseng, and Yano with the teachings of Sato to increase the inter-vehicle distance when the smart cruise control speed is reduced during entry into congestion and thereafter restore the speed and select the appropriate inter-vehicle distance upon satisfaction of the criterion indicating transition to the next longitudinal-control condition.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Koshizen, Pfau, Tseng, Yano, and Sato to improve accuracy of the vehicle control in traffic congestion Sato [0006] “The invention provides a traffic congestion detection apparatus and a vehicle control apparatus which make it possible to determine a traveling state of a vehicle in traffic congestion with high accuracy, and to control traveling of the vehicle according to the traveling state of the vehicle in the traffic congestion.”
Regarding Claim 2, The combination of Koshizen, Pfau, Tseng, Yano, and Sato teaches the method of claim 1, Koshizen does not teach wherein the determining of the road congestion based on the preceding traffic information includes: calculating an average speed based on the at least one preceding vehicle speed information; calculating a speed difference between the average speed and a current travel speed of the vehicle; and determining that there is the road congestion based on that the calculated speed difference is equal to or greater than a preset value.
However, Pfau teaches calculating an average speed based on the at least one preceding vehicle speed information [0057] “The forward traffic information acquiring unit 57 may acquire the average value of the absolute speeds of the plurality of preceding vehicles A1_R, A1_L, and A2_L as forward traffic information.” (i.e., calculating an average speed based on the at least one preceding vehicle speed information).
Pfau further teaches calculating a speed difference between the average speed and a current travel speed of the vehicle [0058] “The forward traffic information acquiring unit 57 may acquire relative speeds of the plurality of preceding vehicles A1_R, A1_L, and A2_L traveling in the lanes L1 and L2 with respect to the motorcycle 100 as forward traffic information and may acquire the average value of the relative speeds.” (i.e., calculating a speed difference between the average speed and the current travel speed of the vehicle).
determining that there is the road congestion based on that the calculated speed difference is equal to or greater than a preset value [0062] “the second prescribed condition may be at least one of the condition that the forward traffic information acquired by the forward traffic information acquiring unit 57 is the information indicating a state where the absolute speeds of the plurality of preceding vehicles A1_R, A1_L, A2_L located on the two lanes L1 and L2 (average value of absolute speeds or all of each absolute speed) are slower than the reference absolute speed and the condition that the forward traffic information is the information indicating a state where the relative speeds of the plurality of preceding vehicles A1_R, A1_L, A2_L located on the two lanes L1 and L2 with respect to the motorcycle 100 (average value of relative speeds or all of each relative speed) are slower than the reference relative speed. The reference absolute speed for comparison with the absolute speed and the reference relative speed for comparison with the relative speed are set taking into consideration the standard speed at the time of non-congestion. The determination using the intervals D1 and D2 and the determination using the speed (absolute speed, relative speed) may be combined.” (i.e., determining that there is the road congestion based on the fact that the calculated speed difference is equal to or greater than a preset value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the combination to calculate the speed difference between Pfau's disclosed average preceding-vehicle speed and current host-vehicle speed and compare that difference with a preset value, because Pfau expressly treats average absolute speed and average relative speed as alternative representations of forward traffic behavior.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the speed-difference threshold because Pfau [0076] states that use of relative speeds “makes it possible to accurately cope with a situation where passing-through is difficult.”
Regarding Claim 3, The combination of Koshizen, Pfau, Tseng, Yano, and Sato teach the method of claim 2, Koshizen does not expressly teach wherein the reducing of the smart cruise control speed includes: determining a congestion level based on the calculated speed difference; and reducing a speed of the vehicle in a stepwise manner based on the determined congestion level.
However, Pfau teaches wherein the reducing of the smart cruise control speed includes: determining a congestion level based on the calculated speed difference [0058] “the forward traffic information acquiring unit 57 may acquire relative speeds of the plurality of preceding vehicles A1_R, A1_L, and A2_L traveling in the lanes L1 and L2 with respect to the motorcycle 100 as forward traffic information. For example, the forward traffic information acquiring unit 57 may acquire other physical quantity that can be substantially converted into the relative speed as forward traffic information. In addition, the forward traffic information acquiring unit 57 may acquire the average value of the relative speeds of the plurality of preceding vehicles A1_R, A1_L, and A2_L as forward traffic information, or may acquire each relative speed as forward traffic information. Even with such a configuration, it is possible to estimate the degree of congestion in the lanes L1 and L2.” (i.e., determining a congestion level based on the calculated speed difference).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the system wherein the reducing of the smart cruise control speed includes: determining a congestion level based on the calculated speed difference.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the speed-difference threshold because Pfau [0076] states that use of relative speeds “makes it possible to accurately cope with a situation where passing-through is difficult.”
Pfau does not expressly teach reducing a speed of the vehicle in a stepwise manner based on the determined congestion level.
However, Yano teaches reducing a speed of the vehicle in a stepwise manner based on the determined congestion level [0037] “After the traffic jam is detected, the target vehicle speed VSPt is reduced by a predetermined speed DLTv every time when the host vehicle advances only by a predetermined distance or a unit distance.” (i.e., reducing the speed of the vehicle in a stepwise manner). [0046] “An alternate long and two short dashes line indicates a target vehicle speed VSPt2 when the vehicle speed VSP is reduced stepwise toward the optimum fuel consumption vehicle speed Vbfe” Yano further teaches based on the determined congestion level [0063] “The speed difference DLTv by which the vehicle speed VSP is reduced can be changed in accordance with changes in a road traffic condition after a traffic jam is detected.” (i.e., reducing the speed of the vehicle in a stepwise manner based on the determined congestion level).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Pfau's degree of congestion to select Yano's stepwise speed reduction amount because Yano expressly teaches changing the speed-reduction difference according to changes in road traffic conditions.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the references to improve fuel consumption and prevent sudden deceleration of the vehicle Yano [0060] states that gradually reducing the vehicle speed makes it possible to achieve the desired reduction “since the vehicle speed VSP is gradually reduced from the current vehicle speed VSP (=VSP0) when the vehicle speed VSP is reduced, it is possible to obtain the fuel consumption reduction effect by reduction in the vehicle speed VSP while an influence of sudden deceleration on a following vehicle is avoided.”
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Koshizen, Pfau, Tseng, Yano, and Sato teach the method of claim 3, the combination of Koshizen does not teach wherein the increasing of the inter-vehicle distance based on the reduced smart cruise control speed includes increasing the inter-vehicle distance to the preceding vehicle in a stepwise manner based on the determined congestion level.
However, Pfau teaches based on the determined congestion level [0058] “The forward traffic information acquiring unit 57 may acquire relative speeds of the plurality of preceding vehicles A1_R, A1_L, and A2_L traveling in the lanes L1 and L2 with respect to the motorcycle 100 as forward traffic information. For example, the forward traffic information acquiring unit 57 may acquire other physical quantity that can be substantially converted into the relative speed as forward traffic information. In addition, the forward traffic information acquiring unit 57 may acquire the average value of the relative speeds of the plurality of preceding vehicles A1_R, A1_L, and A2_L as forward traffic information, or may acquire each relative speed as forward traffic information. Even with such a configuration, it is possible to estimate the degree of congestion in the lanes L1 and L2.” (i.e., based on the determined congestion level).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Koshizen with the teachings of Pfau so that the increasing of the inter-vehicle distance is based on the determined congestion level because Pfau expressly teaches estimating the degree of congestion from the relative speeds of the preceding vehicles.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Koshizen and Pfau to improve the combination by providing adaptive cruise control responsive to forward traffic conditions Pfau [0071] teaches that limiting adaptive cruise operation according to the forward traffic information causes “the safety of the rider in such a situation to be improved.”
Koshizen and Pfau do not expressly teach increasing the inter-vehicle distance to the preceding vehicle in a stepwise manner based on the determined congestion level.
However, Tseng teaches increasing the inter-vehicle distance to the preceding vehicle in a stepwise manner based on the determined congestion level [0005] “The current scenario can indicate characteristics of a road on which the vehicle is traveling, e.g., a road type, a speed limit, a congestion level, a proximity to a congested area, etc.” [0005] “The system can also customize operation of the vehicle in a given scenario while the adaptive cruise control is active based on prior operation of the vehicle in the same scenario, e.g., by adjusting an acceleration profile and/or a following distance of the adaptive cruise control away from default values.” [0036] “the classification of the congestion level can be low, medium, or high.” [0045] “the input can indicate adjustment of the following distance, e.g., increasing or decreasing the following distance d.sub.following. The computer 102 can adjust the following distance d.sub.following by applying a multiplier, e.g., increasing or decreasing by 10%.” (i.e., increasing the inter-vehicle distance to the preceding vehicle in a stepwise manner based on the determined congestion level).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Koshizen and Pfau with the teachings of Tseng to increase the inter-vehicle distance to the preceding vehicle in a stepwise manner based on the determined congestion level by using separate following-distance adjustments for the determined congestion level.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Koshizen, Pfau, and Tseng to improve the combination by customizing the following distance according to the determined congestion level Tseng [0005] “The system can also customize operation of the vehicle in a given scenario while the adaptive cruise control is active based on prior operation of the vehicle in the same scenario, e.g., by adjusting an acceleration profile and/or a following distance of the adaptive cruise control away from default values.”
Regarding Claim 5, The combination of Koshizen, Pfau, Tseng, Yano, and Sato teach the method of claim 4, Koshizen does not expressly teach wherein the determining of whether the distance to the preceding vehicle is equal to or smaller than the predetermined distance includes determining whether the distance to the preceding vehicle is the same as the inter-vehicle distance increased in the stepwise manner.
However, Tseng teaches the inter-vehicle distance increased in the stepwise manner [0031] “The computer 102 can be programmed to, according to the adaptive cruise control, vary the speed to maintain a forward distance d from the vehicle 100 to a leading vehicle 116 at a following distance d.sub.following when the leading vehicle 116 is traveling below the target speed v.sub.target.” [0045] “the input can indicate adjustment of the following distance, e.g., increasing or decreasing the following distance d.sub.following. The computer 102 can adjust the following distance d.sub.following by applying a multiplier, e.g., increasing or decreasing by 10%.” (i.e., the inter-vehicle distance increased in a stepwise manner).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Koshizen with the teachings of Tseng so that the predetermined inter-vehicle distance is the inter-vehicle distance increased in the stepwise manner because Tseng expressly teaches maintaining the distance to the preceding vehicle at the selected following distance and increasing the selected following distance by a predetermined amount.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Koshizen and Tseng to improve the combination by maintaining the distance to the preceding vehicle according to the adjusted following distance Tseng [0005] “The system can also customize operation of the vehicle in a given scenario while the adaptive cruise control is active based on prior operation of the vehicle in the same scenario, e.g., by adjusting an acceleration profile and/or a following distance of the adaptive cruise control away from default values.”
Koshizen and Tseng do not expressly teach determining whether the distance to the preceding vehicle is the same as the inter-vehicle distance increased in the stepwise manner.
However, Yano teaches determining whether the distance to the preceding vehicle is equal to or smaller than the predetermined distance [0040] “In S108, whether or not a vehicle-to-vehicle distance IVD from the leading vehicle is equal to or less than a predetermined distance IVDa is determined.” (i.e., determining whether the distance to the preceding vehicle is equal to or smaller than the predetermined distance). Yano further teaches [0049] “When the vehicle-to-vehicle distance IVD from the leading vehicle is equal to or less than the predetermined distance IVDa, in other words, when the host vehicle is coming close to the traffic jam from the position D5 at which the traffic jam is detected and the host vehicle approaches the vehicle positioned at the end of the traffic jam line within a distance equal to or less than the predetermined distance IVDa, the vehicle is decelerated by fuel cut and an operation of the automatic wheel brake device 12 and stops at a position distanced from the leading vehicle by a predetermined vehicle-to-vehicle distance.” (i.e., determining whether the distance to the preceding vehicle is equal to or smaller than the predetermined distance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Koshizen and Tseng with the teachings of Yano so that the predetermined distance used for determining whether the distance to the preceding vehicle is equal to or smaller than the predetermined distance is the inter-vehicle distance increased in the stepwise manner taught by Tseng, thereby determining whether the distance to the preceding vehicle is the same as the inter-vehicle distance increased in the stepwise manner.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Koshizen, Tseng, and Yano to improve the combination by controlling the vehicle according to the predetermined distance to the preceding vehicle Yano [0060] “since the vehicle speed VSP is gradually reduced from the current vehicle speed VSP (=VSP0) when the vehicle speed VSP is reduced, it is possible to obtain the fuel consumption reduction effect by reduction in the vehicle speed VSP while an influence of sudden deceleration on a following vehicle is avoided.”
Regarding Claim 6, Koshizen discloses a device the device comprising:
an Audio Video Navigation (AVN) receiving navigation information including a location of the vehicle and a travel route [0023] “The traffic congestion prediction device 10 includes a vehicle speed sensor 11, a radar device 12, a navigation device 13, a processing device 14, a switch 15, various actuators 16, a speaker 17, a display 18, and a communication device 19.” [0025] “The navigation device 13 receives a positioning signal such as a GPS signal and calculates the current position of the vehicle from the positioning signal. The navigation device 13 includes map data and has a function to output the current position of the vehicle, route information to a destination, and traffic congestion information on a displayed map.” (i.e., an Audio Video Navigation (AVN) receiving navigation information including the location of the vehicle and a travel route);
a communicator receiving preceding traffic information [0031] “The communication device 19 communicates with another vehicle, a server device, or a relay station by wireless communication under control of the communication control unit 44, associates a traffic congestion prediction result and position information, which are outputted from the traffic congestion prediction unit 41, with each other and transmits them, and receives correspondence information between a traffic congestion prediction result and position information from another vehicle or the like.” (i.e., a communicator receiving preceding traffic information);
a cluster outputting at least one notification [0030] “The display 18 notifies a driver of an alarm by displaying predetermined alarm information or lighting/blinking a predetermined alarm lamp according to a control signal from the notification control unit 43. The speaker 17 notifies a driver of an alarm by outputting a predetermined alarm sound or voice according to a control signal from the notification control unit 43.” (i.e., a cluster outputting at least one notification);
a driver controlling at least one of a speed and a braking of the vehicle [0029] “The various actuators 16 are used as a generic name of a plurality of actuators and include, for example, a throttle actuator, a brake actuator, a steering actuator, and the like.” (i.e., a driver controlling at least one of a speed and a braking of the vehicle); and
a controller operatively connected to the AVN, the communicator, the cluster, and the driver and controlling at least one of the AVN, the communicator, the cluster, and the driver [0023] “The traffic congestion prediction device 10 includes a vehicle speed sensor 11, a radar device 12, a navigation device 13, a processing device 14, a switch 15, various actuators 16, a speaker 17, a display 18, and a communication device 19.” [0026] “The processing device 14 includes a frequency analysis unit 31, a simple linear regression calculation unit 32, a maximum gradient calculation unit 33, a reflection point detection unit 34, an other vehicle detection unit 35, an inter-vehicle distance detection unit 36, an inter-vehicle distance distribution estimation unit 37, a minimum covariance calculation unit 38, a correlation map creation unit 40, a traffic congestion prediction unit 41, a driving control unit 42, a notification control unit 43, and a communication control unit 44. The functions of each block are realized by a computer (CPU) included in the processing unit 14.” (i.e., a controller operatively connected to the AVN, the communicator, the cluster, and the driver and controlling at least one of the AVN, the communicator, the cluster, and the driver),
wherein the controller controls the driver to: determine road congestion based on the preceding traffic information [0048] “The traffic congestion prediction unit 41 in FIG. 1 determines whether or not the boundary state of the critical region is present in the correlation map created by the correlation map creation unit 40 and, if the boundary state is present, the traffic congestion prediction unit 41 transmits a control signal including the traffic congestion prediction result to the driving control unit 42, the notification control unit 43, and the communication control unit 44 in order to prevent the transition to the traffic congestion.” (i.e., determine road congestion based on the preceding traffic information); output a congestion notification via the cluster in response to the road congestion [0051] “The notification control unit 43 performs notification control using the display 18 and the speaker 17 based on the traffic congestion prediction result. For example, the notification control unit 43 transmits a control signal to display a message ‘slow down and increase the inter-vehicle distance’ on the display 18 or output the message by voice from the speaker 17.” (i.e., output a congestion notification via the cluster in response to the road congestion).
Koshizen does not expressly teach information including at least one preceding vehicle speed information; determine whether to deactivate smart cruise control in response to the congestion notification; reduce a speed of the smart cruise control based on that the smart cruise control is not deactivated; increase an inter-vehicle distance to a preceding vehicle based on the reduced smart cruise control speed; determine whether a distance to the preceding vehicle is equal to or smaller than a predetermined distance; and restore a predetermined speed and an inter-vehicle distance based on that the distance to the preceding vehicle is equal to or smaller than the predetermined distance.
However, Pfau teaches preceding traffic information including at least one preceding vehicle speed information [0057] “The forward traffic information acquiring unit 57 may acquire the absolute speeds of the plurality of preceding vehicles A1_R, A1_L, and A2_L traveling on the lanes L1 and L2 as forward traffic information.” [0058] “The forward traffic information acquiring unit 57 may acquire relative speeds of the plurality of preceding vehicles A1_R, A1_L, and A2_L traveling in the lanes L1 and L2 with respect to the motorcycle 100 as forward traffic information.” (i.e., preceding traffic information including at least one preceding vehicle speed information).
Pfau further teaches reduce a speed of the smart cruise control based on that the smart cruise control is not deactivated [0035] “In a case where it is determined to provide the limitation by the limitation determining unit 55 the execution unit 56 prohibits the adaptive cruise operation. Alternatively, the execution unit 56 transmits a signal to the behavior control mechanism 90 such that the motorcycle 100 travels at a corrected traveling speed slower than the traveling speed when the motorcycle 100 travels with the control amount set by the control amount setting unit 53.” (i.e., reduce the speed of the smart cruise control based on that the smart cruise control is not deactivated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Koshizen with the teachings of Pfau to include preceding traffic information including at least one preceding vehicle speed information and, when smart cruise control is not deactivated, reduce the speed of the smart cruise control.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Koshizen and Pfau to improve the combination by increasing safety when operating smart cruise control in dense forward traffic Pfau [0071] “the limitation determining unit 55 determines to provide the limitation on the adaptive cruise operation, so that the safety of the rider in such a situation is improved.”
Koshizen and Pfau do not expressly teach a device for preventing a forward collision of a vehicle, determine whether to deactivate smart cruise control in response to the congestion notification; increase an inter-vehicle distance to a preceding vehicle based on the reduced smart cruise control speed; determine whether a distance to the preceding vehicle is equal to or smaller than a predetermined distance; and restore a predetermined speed and an inter-vehicle distance based on that the distance to the preceding vehicle is equal to or smaller than the predetermined distance.
However, Tseng teaches a device for preventing a forward collision of a vehicle [0001] “Adaptive cruise control is cruise control that lowers the speed of the vehicle when a slower-moving vehicle is ahead of the vehicle in order to maintain a distance from the slower-moving vehicle.” (i.e., a device for preventing a forward collision of a vehicle). Tseng further teaches determine whether to deactivate smart cruise control in response to the congestion notification [0044] “The computer 102 can be programmed to prompt the operator to deactivate the adaptive cruise control in response to the preference score for the identified scenario being below the preference-score threshold and the adaptive cruise control being active. The computer 102 can prompt the operator to deactivate the adaptive cruise control by outputting a message via the user interface 112, e.g., a spoken and/or written message ‘Deactivate ACC?’” [0047] “the input can specify that the congestion level is high, e.g., if the vehicle 100 has encountered a congested area.” [0056] “The computer 102 determines whether the status of the adaptive cruise control should be set to active or inactive.” (i.e., determine whether to deactivate smart cruise control in response to the congestion notification).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Koshizen and Pfau with the teachings of Tseng to provide a device for preventing a forward collision of a vehicle and determine whether to deactivate smart cruise control in response to the congestion notification.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Koshizen, Pfau, and Tseng to improve the combination by preventing unexpected vehicle behavior Tseng [0005] “By prompting the operator and waiting for the operator to activate the adaptive cruise control, the system can prevent vehicle behavior that may be unexpected by the operator.”
The combination of Koshizen, Pfau, and Tseng does not expressly teach increase an inter-vehicle distance to a preceding vehicle based on the reduced smart cruise control speed; determine whether a distance to the preceding vehicle is equal to or smaller than a predetermined distance; and restore a predetermined speed and an inter-vehicle distance based on that the distance to the preceding vehicle is equal to or smaller than the predetermined distance.
However, Yano teaches determine whether a distance to the preceding vehicle is equal to or smaller than a predetermined distance [0040] “In S108, whether or not a vehicle-to-vehicle distance IVD from the leading vehicle is equal to or less than a predetermined distance IVDa is determined.” (i.e., determine whether a distance to the preceding vehicle is equal to or smaller than a predetermined distance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Koshizen, Pfau, and Tseng with the teachings of Yano to determine whether a distance to the preceding vehicle is equal to or smaller than a predetermined distance.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Koshizen, Pfau, Tseng, and Yano to improve the combination by providing a controlled transition as the vehicle approaches congestion Yano [0060] “since the vehicle speed VSP is gradually reduced from the current vehicle speed VSP (=VSP0) when the vehicle speed VSP is reduced, it is possible to obtain the fuel consumption reduction effect by reduction in the vehicle speed VSP while an influence of sudden deceleration on a following vehicle is avoided.”
The combination of Koshizen, Pfau, Tseng, and Yano does not expressly teach increase an inter-vehicle distance to a preceding vehicle based on the reduced smart cruise control speed; and restore a predetermined speed and an inter-vehicle distance based on that the distance to the preceding vehicle is equal to or smaller than the predetermined distance. However, Sato teaches increase an inter-vehicle distance to a preceding vehicle based on the reduced smart cruise control speed [0067] “The inter-vehicle distance d.sub.1 is a target inter-vehicle distance to the vehicle in front M.sub.b when the host vehicle M.sub.a is traveling in the tail zone of the congestion area. The host vehicle M.sub.a, which is determined to be traveling in the tail zone of the congestion area, will decelerate. Therefore, a greater inter-vehicle distance d.sub.1 is allowed in the tail zone than the inter-vehicle distance d.sub.0 during normal traveling.” (i.e., increase an inter-vehicle distance to a preceding vehicle based on the reduced smart cruise control speed). Sato further teaches restore a predetermined speed and an inter-vehicle distance [0068] “The host vehicle M.sub.a, which is determined to be traveling in the restoration zone of the congestion area, will restore the speed (accelerate). Therefore, a smaller inter-vehicle distance d.sub.2 is allowed in the restoration zone than the inter-vehicle distance d.sub.0 during normal traveling. The driving assist unit 24 transmits inter-vehicle control information including this inter-vehicle distance d.sub.2 to the inter-vehicle control ECU 13.” (i.e., restore a predetermined speed and an inter-vehicle distance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Koshizen, Pfau, Tseng, and Yano with the teachings of Sato to increase an inter-vehicle distance to a preceding vehicle based on the reduced smart cruise control speed and restore a predetermined speed and an inter-vehicle distance based on the predetermined-distance condition taught by Yano.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Koshizen, Pfau, Tseng, Yano, and Sato to improve accuracy of the vehicle control in traffic congestion Sato [0006] “The invention provides a traffic congestion detection apparatus and a vehicle control apparatus which make it possible to determine a traveling state of a vehicle in traffic congestion with high accuracy, and to control traveling of the vehicle according to the traveling state of the vehicle in the traffic congestion.”
Regarding Claim 7, The combination of Koshizen, Pfau, Tseng, Yano, and Sato teach the device of claim 6, Koshizen does not expressly teach wherein the controller: calculates an average speed based on the at least one preceding vehicle speed information; calculates a speed difference between the average speed and a current travel speed of the vehicle; and determines that there is the road congestion based on that the calculated speed difference is equal to or greater than a preset value.
However, Pfau teaches calculates an average speed based on the at least one preceding vehicle speed information [0057] “The forward traffic information acquiring unit 57 may acquire the average value of the absolute speeds of the plurality of preceding vehicles A1_R, A1_L, and A2_L as forward traffic information.” (i.e., calculates an average speed based on the at least one preceding vehicle speed information). Pfau further teaches calculates a speed difference between the average speed and a current travel speed of the vehicle [0058] “The forward traffic information acquiring unit 57 may acquire relative speeds of the plurality of preceding vehicles A1_R, A1_L, and A2_L traveling in the lanes L1 and L2 with respect to the motorcycle 100 as forward traffic information. In addition, the forward traffic information acquiring unit 57 may acquire the average value of the relative speeds of the plurality of preceding vehicles A1_R, A1_L, and A2_L as forward traffic information.” (i.e., calculates a speed difference between the average speed and the current travel speed of the vehicle). Pfau further teaches determines that there is the road congestion based on that the calculated speed difference is equal to or greater than a preset value [0062] “the second prescribed condition may be at least one of the condition that the relative speeds of the plurality of preceding vehicles A1_R, A1_L, A2_L located on the two lanes L1 and L2 with respect to the motorcycle 100 (average value of relative speeds or all of each relative speed) are slower than the reference relative speed. The reference absolute speed for comparison with the absolute speed and the reference relative speed for comparison with the relative speed are set taking into consideration the standard speed at the time of non-congestion.” (i.e., determines that there is the road congestion based on the fact that the calculated speed difference is equal to or greater than a preset value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Koshizen with the teachings of Pfau so that the controller calculates an average speed based on the at least one preceding vehicle speed information, calculates a speed difference between the average speed and a current travel speed of the vehicle, and determines that there is the road congestion based on that the calculated speed difference is equal to or greater than a preset value.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Koshizen and Pfau to improve the determination of road congestion using preceding vehicle speed information Pfau [0076] states that use of relative speeds “makes it possible to accurately cope with a situation where passing-through is difficult.”
Regarding Claim 8, The combination of Koshizen, Pfau, Tseng, Yano, and Sato teach the device of claim 7, Koshizen does not expressly teach wherein the controller: determines a congestion level based on the calculated speed difference; and reduces the speed of the vehicle in a stepwise manner based on the determined congestion level.
However, Pfau teaches determines a congestion level based on the calculated speed difference [0058] “The forward traffic information acquiring unit 57 may acquire relative speeds of the plurality of preceding vehicles A1_R, A1_L, and A2_L traveling in the lanes L1 and L2 with respect to the motorcycle 100 as forward traffic information. In addition, the forward traffic information acquiring unit 57 may acquire the average value of the relative speeds of the plurality of preceding vehicles A1_R, A1_L, and A2_L as forward traffic information, or may acquire each relative speed as forward traffic information. Even with such a configuration, it is possible to estimate the degree of congestion in the lanes L1 and L2.” (i.e., determines a congestion level based on the calculated speed difference).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Koshizen with the teachings of Pfau so that the controller determines a congestion level based on the calculated speed difference.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Koshizen and Pfau to improve the determination using the calculated speed difference Pfau [0076] states that use of relative speeds “makes it possible to accurately cope with a situation where passing-through is difficult.”
Pfau does not expressly teach reduces the speed of the vehicle in a stepwise manner based on the determined congestion level.
However, Yano teaches reduces the speed of the vehicle in a stepwise manner [0037] “After the traffic jam is detected, the target vehicle speed VSPt is reduced by a predetermined speed DLTv every time when the host vehicle advances only by a predetermined distance or a unit distance.” [0046] “an alternate long and two short dashes line indicates a target vehicle speed VSPt2 when the vehicle speed VSP is reduced stepwise toward the optimum fuel consumption vehicle speed Vbfe.” (i.e., reduces the speed of the vehicle in a stepwise manner). Yano further teaches based on the determined congestion level [0063] “The speed difference DLTv by which the vehicle speed VSP is reduced can be changed in accordance with changes in a road traffic condition after a traffic jam is detected.” (i.e., based on the determined congestion level).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Koshizen and Pfau with the teachings of Yano so that the controller reduces the speed of the vehicle in a stepwise manner based on the determined congestion level, using Pfau's determined congestion level to select Yano's stepwise speed reduction.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Koshizen, Pfau, and Yano to improve fuel consumption and prevent sudden deceleration of the vehicle Yano [0060] “since the vehicle speed VSP is gradually reduced from the current vehicle speed VSP (=VSP0) when the vehicle speed VSP is reduced, it is possible to obtain the fuel consumption reduction effect by reduction in the vehicle speed VSP while an influence of sudden deceleration on a following vehicle is avoided.”
Regarding Claim 9, The combination of Koshizen, Pfau, Tseng, Yano, and Sato teach the device of claim 8, Koshizen does not expressly teach wherein the controller increases the inter-vehicle distance to the preceding vehicle in a stepwise manner based on the determined congestion level.
However, Pfau teaches based on the determined congestion level [0058] “The forward traffic information acquiring unit 57 may acquire the average value of the relative speeds of the plurality of preceding vehicles A1_R, A1_L, and A2_L as forward traffic information, or may acquire each relative speed as forward traffic information. Even with such a configuration, it is possible to estimate the degree of congestion in the lanes L1 and L2.” (i.e., based on the determined congestion level).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Koshizen with the teachings of Pfau so that the controller increases the inter-vehicle distance based on the determined congestion level.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Koshizen and Pfau to provide control responsive to forward traffic information Pfau [0071] “the limitation determining unit 55 determines to provide the limitation on the adaptive cruise operation, so that the safety of the rider in such a situation is improved.”
Koshizen and Pfau do not expressly teach increases the inter-vehicle distance to the preceding vehicle in a stepwise manner based on the determined congestion level.
However, Tseng teaches increases the inter-vehicle distance to the preceding vehicle in a stepwise manner based on the determined congestion level [0005] “The current scenario can indicate characteristics of a road on which the vehicle is traveling, e.g., a road type, a speed limit, a congestion level, a proximity to a congested area, etc.” [0005] “The system can also customize operation of the vehicle in a given scenario while the adaptive cruise control is active based on prior operation of the vehicle in the same scenario, e.g., by adjusting an acceleration profile and/or a following distance of the adaptive cruise control away from default values.” [0036] “the classification of the congestion level can be low, medium, or high.” [0045] “the input can indicate adjustment of the following distance, e.g., increasing or decreasing the following distance d.sub.following. The computer 102 can adjust the following distance d.sub.following by applying a multiplier, e.g., increasing or decreasing by 10%.” (i.e., increases the inter-vehicle distance to the preceding vehicle in a stepwise manner based on the determined congestion level).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Koshizen and Pfau with the teachings of Tseng so that the controller increases the inter-vehicle distance to the preceding vehicle in a stepwise manner based on the determined congestion level by applying separate following-distance adjustments for the determined congestion level.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Koshizen, Pfau, and Tseng to customize the following distance according to the determined congestion level Tseng [0005] “The system can also customize operation of the vehicle in a given scenario while the adaptive cruise control is active based on prior operation of the vehicle in the same scenario, e.g., by adjusting an acceleration profile and/or a following distance of the adaptive cruise control away from default values.”
Regarding Claim 10, The combination of Koshizen, Pfau, Tseng, Yano, and Sato teach the device of claim 9, Koshizen does not expressly teach wherein the controller determines whether the distance to the preceding vehicle is the same as the inter-vehicle distance increased in the stepwise manner.
However, Tseng teaches the inter-vehicle distance increased in the stepwise manner [0031] “The computer 102 can be programmed to, according to the adaptive cruise control, vary the speed to maintain a forward distance d from the vehicle 100 to a leading vehicle 116 at a following distance d.sub.following when the leading vehicle 116 is traveling below the target speed v.sub.target.” [0045] “the input can indicate adjustment of the following distance, e.g., increasing or decreasing the following distance d.sub.following. The computer 102 can adjust the following distance d.sub.following by applying a multiplier, e.g., increasing or decreasing by 10%.” (i.e., the inter-vehicle distance increased in a stepwise manner).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Koshizen with the teachings of Tseng so that the inter-vehicle distance used by the controller is the inter-vehicle distance increased in the stepwise manner.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Koshizen and Tseng to customize the inter-vehicle distance according to the selected following distance Tseng [0005] “The system can also customize operation of the vehicle in a given scenario while the adaptive cruise control is active based on prior operation of the vehicle in the same scenario, e.g., by adjusting an acceleration profile and/or a following distance of the adaptive cruise control away from default values.”
Koshizen and Tseng do not expressly teach determines whether the distance to the preceding vehicle is the same as the inter-vehicle distance increased in the stepwise manner.
However, Yano teaches determines whether the distance to the preceding vehicle is equal to or smaller than the predetermined distance [0040] “In S108, whether or not a vehicle-to-vehicle distance IVD from the leading vehicle is equal to or less than a predetermined distance IVDa is determined.” (i.e., determines whether the distance to the preceding vehicle is equal to or smaller than the predetermined distance).
Yano further teaches [0049] “When the vehicle-to-vehicle distance IVD from the leading vehicle is equal to or less than the predetermined distance IVDa the vehicle is decelerated by fuel cut and an operation of the automatic wheel brake device 12 and stops at a position distanced from the leading vehicle by a predetermined vehicle-to-vehicle distance.” (i.e., determines whether the distance to the preceding vehicle is equal to or smaller than the predetermined distance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Koshizen and Tseng with the teachings of Yano so that the predetermined distance used by Yano is the inter-vehicle distance increased in the stepwise manner taught by Tseng, thereby determining whether the distance to the preceding vehicle is the same as the inter-vehicle distance increased in the stepwise manner.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Koshizen, Tseng, and Yano to determine whether the distance to the preceding vehicle has reached the selected inter-vehicle distance and thereby control the vehicle according to the selected distance Yano [0060] “since the vehicle speed VSP is gradually reduced from the current vehicle speed VSP (=VSP0) when the vehicle speed VSP is reduced, it is possible to obtain the fuel consumption reduction effect by reduction in the vehicle speed VSP while an influence of sudden deceleration on a following vehicle is avoided.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Asada (US 6434471 B1) teaches adaptive vehicle-spacing control in which a controller senses actual vehicle spacing, selects a desired inter-vehicle spacing, and changes vehicle speed to maintain the selected spacing. Chundrlik (US 5014200 A) teaches adaptive cruise control using preceding-vehicle range and relative velocity to reduce vehicle speed and maintain the desired following distance. Mallinger (US 20180265085 A1) teaches adaptive cruise control that modifies a vehicle following distance based on changing traffic conditions.
/HUSSAM ALDEEN ALZATEEMEH/ Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/ANISS CHAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662