DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites an indication of risk of CKD twice. The second instance of an indication of risk has unclear antecedent basis. It is unclear how this indication of risk relates to the indication of risk set forth earlier in the claim. For examination purposes, this limitation will be interpreted as referring to the indication of risk set forth earlier in the claim and reciting “the” indication of risk.
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites an indication of risk of CKD twice. The second instance of an indication of risk has unclear antecedent basis. It is unclear how this indication of risk relates to the indication of risk set forth earlier in the claim. For examination purposes, this limitation will be interpreted as referring to the indication of risk set forth earlier in the claim and reciting “the” indication of risk.
Regarding claim 17, the claim recites an indication of risk of CKD twice. The second instance of an indication of risk has unclear antecedent basis. It is unclear how this indication of risk relates to the indication of risk set forth earlier in the claim. For examination purposes, this limitation will be interpreted as referring to the indication of risk set forth earlier in the claim and reciting “the” indication of risk.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-11, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (WO2022261513, hereafter Zhang).
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 17, Zhang discloses a method of determining an indication of risk of chronic kidney disease (CKD) of an individual (Zhang, Pg 3; “In one aspect, the present disclosure provides a method comprising using at least one computer processor to: receive one or more retinal fundus images of a patient; apply a machine-learning classifier having been trained using a dataset of retinal fundus images of a patient cohort that have been classified regarding a chronic kidney disease (CKD) status, to classify the received one or more fundus images of the patient to thereby diagnose whether the patient has CKD. The diagnosis result can then be provided to a user in a user readable form”), a system comprising: a memory storing program instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute program instructions stored in the memory, wherein the program instructions cause the processor to perform a method of determining an indication of risk of chronic kidney disease (CKD) of an individual (Zhang, Pg 4; “In another aspect, the present disclosure provides a system or device including at least one processor, a memory, and non-transitory computer readable storage media encoded with a program including instructions executable by the at least one processor and cause the at least one processor to perform the methods described herein.”), and a computer program product, the computer program product comprising: a non-transitory computer-readable medium having computer-readable program code stored thereon, the computer-readable program code comprising instructions that when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform a method of determining an indication of risk of chronic kidney disease (CKD) of an individual (Zhang, Pg 4; “In another aspect, the present disclosure provides a non-transitory computer readable medium encoded with a program including instructions executable by at least one processor and cause the at least one processor to perform the methods described herein.”), comprising:
determining an indication of risk of chronic kidney disease (CKD) (Zhang, Pg 3; “receive one or more retinal fundus images of a patient; apply a machine-learning classifier having been trained using a dataset of retinal fundus images of a patient cohort that have been classified regarding a chronic kidney disease (CKD) status, to classify the received one or more fundus images of the patient to thereby diagnose whether the patient has CKD. The diagnosis result can then be provided to a user in a user readable form”) by a deep learning model (Zhang, Pg 4; “the methods further comprises classifying the patient as belonging to one of a plurality categories having different risks for developing CKD in the future, such as low-risk, medium-risk, and high-risk […] the machine-learning classifier comprises a deep learning model. The deep learning model can comprise convolutional neural networks (CNN).”) based on one or more fundus images (Zhang, Pg 3; “apply a machine-learning classifier having been trained using a dataset of retinal fundus images of a patient cohort that have been classified regarding a chronic kidney disease (CKD) status”).
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Zhang discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 9 as discussed above.
Zhang further discloses wherein the deep learning model comprises a plurality of retinal predictor models, and the method comprises processing the one or more fundus images using the plurality of retinal predictor models and outputting at least one feature from each of the retinal predictor models (Zhang, Pg 2; “Here we explored risk stratification for developing CKD and T2DM using both retinal images and known clinical risk factors.”) (Zhang, Pg 11; “Figure 3. Model performance in assessing eGFR from retinal fundus images. a–c, Correlation analysis of the predicted GFR versus actual eGFR generated using the regression model”) (Zhang, Pg 18; “For regression tasks, we trained two models to predict continuous values of eGFR and fasting blood glucose, respectively. The detection of systemic disease or staging was treated as a classification task. We also performed binary classification for T2DM detection.”) (Zhang, Pg 13; “Comparison of the AI’s performance at detecting T2DM patients with images with no apparent signs of diabetic retinopathy (NDR) and images with diabetic retinopathy (DR).”) (Zhang, Pg 12; “Gradient visualizations of AI predictions of CKD staging and T2DM using the integrated gradient algorithm.”).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Zhang discloses all of the limitations of claims 2 and 10 as discussed above.
Zhang further discloses wherein the plurality of retinal predictor models are configured to output at least two of the following features: Estimated Glomerular Filtration Rate (eGFR), Albumin-to-Creatinine Ratio (ACR), Systolic Blood Pressure (SBP), Retinopathy grade, and Maculopathy grade (Zhang, Pg 2; “Here we explored risk stratification for developing CKD and T2DM using both retinal images and known clinical risk factors.”) (Zhang, Pg 11; “Figure 3. Model performance in assessing eGFR from retinal fundus images. a–c, Correlation analysis of the predicted GFR versus actual eGFR generated using the regression model”) (Zhang, Pg 18; “For regression tasks, we trained two models to predict continuous values of eGFR and fasting blood glucose, respectively. The detection of systemic disease or staging was treated as a classification task. We also performed binary classification for T2DM detection.”) (Zhang, Pg 13; “Comparison of the AI’s performance at detecting T2DM patients with images with no apparent signs of diabetic retinopathy (NDR) and images with diabetic retinopathy (DR).”) (Zhang, Pg 12; “Gradient visualizations of AI predictions of CKD staging and T2DM using the integrated gradient algorithm.”).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Zhang discloses all of the limitations of claims 2 and 10 as discussed above.
Zhang further discloses wherein the deep learning model comprises at least one CKD risk prediction model, and the method comprises processing the features output by the plurality of retinal predictor models using the at least one CKD risk prediction model to determine the indication of risk of chronic kidney disease (CKD) (Zhang, Pg 17; “The following criteria were used to define systemic disease and related disease staging. According to the international kidney disease clinical classification based on the Kidney Disease: Improving Global Outcomes (KDIGO) Clinical Practice Guideline, the staging and actual risk of adverse outcomes of kidney disease are stratified by the renal glomerular filtration function defined as the GFR categories [33]. , which equals the total amount of fluid filtered through the functioning nephrons per unit of time [34]. The Estimated Glomerular Filtration Rate (eGFR) in this study was based on the Chronic Kidney Disease Epidemiology Collaboration (CKD-EPI) Equation.”)
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Zhang discloses all of the limitations of claims 5 and 13 as discussed above.
Zhang further discloses wherein the deep learning model comprises at least one CKD risk prediction model, and the method comprises processing the features output by the plurality of retinal predictor models using the at least one CKD risk prediction model to determine the indication of risk of chronic kidney disease (CKD) (Zhang, Pg 17; “The following criteria were used to define systemic disease and related disease staging. According to the international kidney disease clinical classification based on the Kidney Disease: Improving Global Outcomes (KDIGO) Clinical Practice Guideline, the staging and actual risk of adverse outcomes of kidney disease are stratified by the renal glomerular filtration function defined as the GFR categories [33]. , which equals the total amount of fluid filtered through the functioning nephrons per unit of time [34]. The Estimated Glomerular Filtration Rate (eGFR) in this study was based on the Chronic Kidney Disease Epidemiology Collaboration (CKD-EPI) Equation.”).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Zhang discloses all of the limitations of claims 5 and 13 as discussed above.
Zhang further discloses wherein the at least one CKD risk prediction model comprises a plurality of CKD risk prediction models, and weighted outputs of the plurality of CKD risk prediction models contribute to determining the indication of risk of chronic kidney disease (CKD) (Zhang, 10; “Figure 2. Performance of the AI models in the identification of CKD and early CKD. ROC curves represent the metadata-only model, the fundus-only model and the combined model”) (Zhang, Pg 12; “Four types of fundus images after the application of color normalization and CLAHE image enhancements: original image, image after applying the CLAHE transformation only, image after applying the color normalization transformation only, and image after applying both the CLAHE and color normalization transformations. Each image instance separately makes a prediction, and these are combined by averaging the results for producing a robust AI model.”) (Zhang, Pg 22; “The univariable and multivariable CPH models were fitted. Two multivariable CPH models were developed, a combined metadata and fundus model and a metadata-only model serving as a baseline model. Statistical significance of HRs and adjusted HRs of CPH models were evaluated using the likelihood ratio test.”).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Zhang discloses all of the limitations of claims 5 and 13 as discussed above.
Zhang further discloses wherein the method comprises inputting at least one patient demographic into the at least one CKD risk prediction model, wherein the at least one patient demographic comprises one or more of: Age, Gender, diabetic status, race and/or ethnicity, smoking status, CVD history, and hypertension medications (Zhang, Pg 4; “the machine-learning classifier further utilizes clinical metadata of the patient, and wherein the machine-learning classifier has been trained using a Cox proportional hazards (CPH) model based on the dataset of retinal fundus images of each of the patients in the cohort in combination with clinical metadata of each of the patients in the cohort. The clinical metadata of a patient can include one or more of the following: age, sex, blood pressure, height, weight, BMI, and hypertension status”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang and Bergman et al. (US20210038165, hereafter Bergman).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Zhang discloses all of the limitations of claims 3 and 11 as discussed above.
Zhang does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of retinal predictor models are further configured to output at least one of the following features: race and/or ethnicity, Total Cholesterol, Retinal Age, Smoking status, and a cardiovascular disease (CVD) risk biomarker velocity.
In an analogous CKD analysis using retinal images field of endeavor Bergman discloses outputting at least one of the following features: race and/or ethnicity, Total Cholesterol, Retinal Age, Smoking status, and a cardiovascular disease (CVD) risk biomarker velocity (Bergman, Para 72; “if the computer processors 110 detect that a user is at risk of having or developing CKD, the computer processors 110 can cause the alert module 107 to generate a print-out […] the print-out also lists the risk factors that lead to the determination (e.g., high BMI, albumin in urine, frequent smoking, etc.). As indicated earlier, this alert can be alternatively (or additionally) be provided by the user interface 104”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang wherein the plurality of retinal predictor models are further configured to output at least one of the following features: race and/or ethnicity, Total Cholesterol, Retinal Age, Smoking status, and a cardiovascular disease (CVD) risk biomarker velocity in order to allow a user to determine the correct healthcare professional or treatment needed to address the potential health issue as taught by Bergman (Bergman, Para 72).
Conclusion
/JOHN D LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798