DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/3/25 and 6/29/26 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Hwang [US 11300827].
As to claim 1, Hwang discloses a display apparatus [100, figure 1] comprising: a liquid crystal panel [150, figure 1]; a backlight unit configured to provide light to the liquid crystal panel [portions under 150, figure 1]; a quantum dot (QD) sheet between the liquid crystal panel and the backlight unit, and comprising QD particles [210, figure 11]; and at least one processor configured to control the liquid crystal panel and the backlight unit [170 and 160, figure 1], wherein the backlight unit comprises: a substrate [135, figure 2]; and a plurality of light-emitting devices [1351, 1352, 1353], each of the plurality of light-emitting devices comprising a red light-emitting diode (LED), a green LED, and a blue LED [see column 5, lines 33-35], and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to, based on an ON signal of an LED having a color identical to a color of the QD particles of the QD sheet, control the backlight unit to turn on the blue LED and the LED that receives the ON signal, and the LED having the color identical to the color of the QD particles of the QD sheet is one of the red LED and the green LED [see column 5, lines 5-24, note that if all the LEDs are activated simultaneously, if one LED is on, then all the LEDs would be turned on as well within the operation and control of the light source].
As to claim 2, Hwang discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the QD particles of the QD sheet comprise green QD particles [see column 8, lines 45-59].
As to claim 3, Hwang discloses the display apparatus of claim 2, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to control the backlight unit to turn on the blue LED and the green LED, based on an ON signal of the green LED [see column 5, lines 5-24].
As to claim 4, Hwang discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the QD particles of the QD sheet are red QD particles [see column 8, lines 37-44].
As to claim 5, Hwang discloses the display apparatus of claim 4, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to control the backlight unit to turn on the blue LED and the red LED, based on an ON signal of the red LED [see column 5, lines 5-24].
As to claim 6, Hwang discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the QD particles of the QD sheet comprise green QD particles and red QD particles [see column 8, lines 37-59].
As to claim 7, Hwang discloses the display apparatus of claim 6, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: control the backlight unit to turn on the blue LED and the green LED, based on an ON signal of the green LED, and control the backlight unit to turn on the blue LED and the red LED, based on an ON signal of the red LED [see column 5, lines 5-24].
As to claim 8, Hwang discloses a method for controlling a display apparatus comprising a liquid crystal panel [150, figure 1], a backlight unit configured to provide light to the liquid crystal panel and comprising a plurality of light-emitting devices [portion under 150, figure 1], and a quantum dot (QD) sheet between the liquid crystal panel and the backlight unit and including QD particles [210, figure 11], each of the plurality of light-emitting devices comprising a red light-emitting diode (LED), a green LED, and a blue LED [see column 5, lines 33-35], the method comprising: receiving an ON signal of an LED having a color identical to a color of the QD particles of the QD sheet, the LED having the color identical to the color of the QD particles of the QD sheet is one of the red LED and the green LED; and controlling the backlight unit to turn on the blue LED and the LED that receives the ON signal, based on the ON signal of the LED having the color identical to the color of the QD particles of the QD sheet [see column 5, lines 5-24, note that if all the LEDs are activated simultaneously, if one LED is on, then all the LEDs would be turned on as well within the operation and control of the light source].
As to claim 9, Hwang discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the QD particles comprise green QD particles [see column 8, lines 45-59].
As to claim 10, Hwang discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the controlling the backlight unit comprises controlling the backlight unit to turn on the blue LED and the green LED, based on an ON signal of the green LED [see column 5, lines 5-24].
As to claim 11, Hwang discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the QD particles comprise red QD particles [see column 8, lines 37-44].
As to claim 12, Hwang discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the controlling the backlight unit comprises controlling the backlight unit to turn on the blue LED and the red LED, based on an ON signal of the red LED [see column 5, lines 5-24].
As to claim 13, Hwang discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the QD particles comprise green QD particles and red QD particles [see column 8, lines 37-59].
As to claim 14, Hwang discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the controlling of the backlight unit comprises: controlling the backlight unit to turn on the blue LED and the green LED, based on an ON signal of the green LED; and controlling the backlight unit to turn on the blue LED and the red LED, based on an ON signal of the red LED [see column 5, lines 5-24].
As to claim 15, Hwang discloses the method of claim 13, further comprising: controlling the backlight unit to turn on only the blue LED, based on an ON signal of the blue LED [see column 5, lines 5-24, note that each signal for turning on an LED is the only signal which turns on that specific LED, thus when the blue signal is turned on, only the blue LED is activated, even if simultaneously a red and green signal activates those LEDs].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: other references which utilize multiple colored LEDs in LCD embodiments, and further include quantum dots include Doherty [see PTO-892], Jiang, Demir, Guo, Lee, Kang, Gettemy, Tseng, Ninan and Chen.
/BRYON T GYLLSTROM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875