DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed November 3, 2025 and the set of claims filed February 20, 2026 in which claims 21-29 are presented for examination and claims 1-20 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USPN 5,669,072 Bjorklund.
To claim 21, Bjorklund discloses a garment (10) (see Figures 1-3; col. 2, line 63 – col. 4, line 67; it is respectfully noted that claim 21 merely recites “A garment” rather than, for example, “A male garment for supporting a wearer's genitals”), comprising:
a garment body (28) (see Figure 3; col. 3, lines 10-17);
a first side support (17) coupled to the garment body (see Figures 1-3; col. 3, lines 7-35); and
a second side support (17) coupled to the garment body so as to be separate and spaced from the first side support (see Figures 1-3; col. 3, lines 7-35),
wherein each of the first and second side supports comprises:
a blunt end (not numbered) (see Figures 2-3; col. 3, lines 21-35);
a tapered end (not numbered) opposite the blunt end (see Figures 2-3; col. 3, lines 21-35);
an upper curved edge (52) extending from the blunt end to the tapered end (see Figures 2-3; col. 3, lines 21-35); and
a lower curved edge (54) opposite the upper curved edge extending from the blunt end to the tapered end, wherein the upper curved edge and the lower curved edge converge to a point at the tapered end (see Figures 2-3; col. 3, lines 21-35), and
wherein the blunt end and the lower curved edge are secured to the garment body (see Figures 1-3; col. 3, lines 7-35),
and the upper curved edge is a free edge unattached to the garment body (see Figures 1-3; col. 3, lines 7-35),
such that the tapered end is extendible away from the garment body (see Figures 1-3; col. 3, lines 7-35).
To claim 24, Bjorklund further discloses a garment wherein first side support and the second side support are angled towards each other proximate to the blunt ends and angled away from each other proximate to the tapered ends (see Figures 1-3; col. 3, lines 7-35; first and second side supports 17 at least capable of being manipulated into the recited configuration).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bjorklund in view of USPN 6,684,408 Rindle et al.
To claim 22, Bjorklund discloses a garment wherein the blunt end of each of first and second side supports is secured to the garment body (see Figures 1-3; col. 3, lines 7-35; in a fully-assembled configuration of garment 10 as depicted in Figure 1, all portions of the garment are considered to be “secured to” all other portions of the garment regardless of whether they are configured to be in direct physical contact).
Bjorklund does not disclose a garment wherein the garment body further comprises a waistband.
However, Rindle teaches a garment (1) (see Figures 1-4; col. 2, line 10 – col. 4, line 30) comprising a garment body including a waistband (17a) (see Figures 1-4; col. 3, line 66 – col. 4, line 9).
Bjorklund and Rindle teach analogous inventions in the field of garments. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the garment of Bjorklund to include the waistband configuration of Rindle because Rindle teaches that this configuration is known in the art and beneficial for protecting a user against the inadvertent penetration of outside elements, such as snow (col. 4, lines 7-9).
Double Patenting
Claims 21-29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,458,075.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they each recite garments comprising substantially the same elements including in particular first and second side supports each including a blunt end, a tapered end opposite the blunt end, an upper curved edge extending from the blunt end to the tapered end, and a lower curved edge opposite the upper curved edge extending from the blunt end to the tapered end, wherein the upper curved edge and the lower curved edge converge to a point at the tapered end.
INSTANT APPLICATION
USPN 12,458,075
CLAIMS
21
1
22
1
23
4
24
1
25
1
26
1
27
1
28
1
29
4
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 25-29 are allowed (subject to the successful filing of a Terminal Disclaimer to overcome the rejection for nonstatutory double patenting, detailed above).
Claim 23 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims (subject to the successful filing of a Terminal Disclaimer to overcome the rejection for nonstatutory double patenting, detailed above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Additional undergarments for male wearers analogous to the instant invention (see form PTO-892 “Notice of References Cited”).
/F Griffin Hall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732