Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “pad” as claimed in claims 21 and 29, “a temperature controller configured to control the flow of the fluid through the first layer and configured to control the heating unit” as claimed in claim 22, and “the first layer comprises one or more cooling elements configured to move air through the first layer” as claimed in claim 37 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 29-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 29-36 refer to “the pad” with specific structure not supported by the originally filed disclosure. Examiner has scanned through the specification and it appears the clearest disclosure of the pad is in para. [0053] which states “For example, a pad can be placed on top of or be part of the bed 112, or can be placed on top of or be part of one or both of the chambers 114A and 114B. Air can be pushed through the pad and vented to cool off a user of the bed. Conversely, the pad can include a heating element that can be used to keep the user warm. In some implementations, the temperature controller can receive temperature readings from the pad” (emphasis added). Claim 21 refers to a structure where a pad has a first layer configured to allow a fluid of flow through the first layer, thereby removing heat from the pad; and a second layer comprising a heating unit, with the second layer and first layer at least partially overlapping. Fig. 21 shows envelopes 2128 and 2130 with tops and bottoms. The envelopes hold heating units 2124 and 2126 and the envelopes can contain a mesh upper layer 2148 and a fire-resistant bottom 2150. While this combination of elements could be considered the pad as claimed in at least Claims 21 and 40, Claims 29-36 further require a fabric cover that is akin to the aforementioned envelopes. No such structure is shown in the drawings or described in the originally filed specification requiring an additional fabric cover outside of the aforementioned envelopes. The instant application is a continuation of applications 15/337,034, 17/091,094, and 18/386,533 which also fail to provide adequate support for the claimed pad structure. Additionally, U.S Patent Application Publication No. 20100170043 to Steven J. Young et al. is incorporated by reference and also fails to provide adequate support for the claimed pad structure. A claim, although clear on its face, may also be indefinite when a conflict or inconsistency between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure renders the scope of the claim uncertain as inconsistency with the specification disclosure or prior art teachings may make an otherwise definite claim take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty. In re Moore, 439 F.2d 1232, 1235-36, 169 USPQ 236, 239 (CCPA 1971); In re Cohn, 438 F.2d 989, 169 USPQ 95 (CCPA 1971); In re Hammack, 427 F.2d 1378, 166 USPQ 204 (CCPA 1970). See MPEP 2173.03.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 22, 24-30, 32-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wibell (US Patent No. 4,132,262).
Regarding Claim 21, Wibell discloses a pad (10) for a mattress, the pad comprising:
a first layer (52) configured to allow a flow of a fluid through the first layer, thereby removing heat from the pad; and
a second layer (38) comprising a heating unit configured to input heat into the second layer, thereby inputting heat to the pad, the second layer and the first layer at least partially overlapping (see Fig. 3 including lines 38 and 52 overlapping).
Regarding Claim 22, Wibell discloses a temperature controller (66) configured to control the flow of the fluid through the first layer and configured to control the heating unit (see Col. 4, Lines 3-18).
Regarding Claim 24, Wibell discloses a user input device (72) wired to the temperature controller, the user input device configured to receive tactile input from a user, and responsive to the tactile input from the user, alter a condition of the pad (see Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 25, Wibell discloses wherein the temperature controller is configured to operate at different power levels over time, thereby adjustably removing heat from the pad or inputting heat into the pad (see Col. 4-Col. 5, Lines 64-4).
Regarding Claim 26, Wibell discloses wherein operating at different power levels over time comprises operating at a high power level in order to initially heat the pad for a first time period, and then, after the first time period, operating at a lower power level to maintain a target temperature of the pad for a second time period (see Col. 4, Lines 37-45).
Regarding Claim 27, Wibell discloses electrical connectors (46 and 44) configured to electrically couple the temperature controller to a power source.
Regarding Claim 28, Wibell discloses wherein the electrical connectors comprise wires (44) configured to extend along sides of the mattress between the temperature controller and the power source (see Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 29, as best understood, Wibell discloses a fabric cover (24) enveloping the first layer and the second layer, the first layer and the second layer sealed within the fabric cover (see Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 30, Wibell discloses wherein the fabric cover comprises a top portion (26) and a bottom portion (145, foil), wherein the top portion is different material than the bottom portion.
Regarding Claim 32, Wibell discloses wherein the bottom portion comprises a fire resistant material (aluminum foil 146).
Regarding Claim 33, Wibell discloses at least one padding layer (28).
Regarding Claim 34, Wibell discloses wherein the at least one padding layer is in contact with the top portion of the fabric cover (see Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 35, Wibell discloses wherein the at least one padding layer is contact with at least one of the first layer or the second layer (see Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 36, Wibell discloses wherein the at least one padding layer at least partially overlaps one of the first layer or the second layer (see Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 37, Wibell discloses wherein the first layer comprises one or more cooling elements (54) configured to move air through the first layer.
Regarding Claim 38, Wibell discloses wherein the heating unit comprises one or more heating elements (38) configured to conduct electricity, thereby input heat into the second layer.
Regarding Claim 39, Wibell discloses wherein the one or more heating elements comprise wire (38).
Regarding Claim 40, Wibell discloses a pad for a mattress, the pad comprising:
a first layer (52) configured to allow a fluid to flow through the first layer, thereby cooling a portion of the pad; and
a heating unit (38) configured to input heat into the pad, thereby heating a portion of the pad, the heating unit and the first layer at least partially overlapping (see Fig. 3 including lines 38 and 52 overlapping).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wibell (US Patent 4,132,262) in view of Official Notice.
Regarding claim 23, Wibell fails to disclose a remote control configured to operate the temperature controller responsive to a user input via wireless connection and instead discloses a wired controller. Examiner takes Official Notice that remote controls are well-known within the art. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the pad of Wibell with a remote control configured to operate the temperature controller responsive to a user input via wireless connection. The motivation would have been to provide additional convenience to the user.
Regarding Claim 31, Wibell fails to disclose wherein the top portion comprises a breathable mesh. Examiner takes Official Notice breathable mesh is well known within the art. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the top portion of Wibell with a breathable mesh. The motivation would have been to provide additional ventilation when operating in a cooling mode.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
/ERIC J KURILLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619