DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to Application 19/378,709 filed on 11/04/2025.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a nature phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1:
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are directed towards a statutory category (i.e., a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter) (Step 1, Yes).
Step 2A Prong One:
Claim 1 recites (additional elements underlined):
An advertising material review method of a computer device comprising at least one processor, the method comprising:
registering, by the at least one processor, a material input from an advertiser as a material to be reviewed;
recommending, by the at least one processor, materials similar to the material to be reviewed based on similarity between the similar materials and the material to be reviewed; and
batch-approving, by the at least one processor, at least one material among the similar materials and the material to be reviewed.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the limitations outlined above that describe or set forth the abstract idea, cover performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer(s) and/or generic computer component(s). That is, other than reciting the additional elements, nothing in the claim precludes the limitations from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the additional elements recited above, the context of the claim encompasses a user registering a material input from an advertiser as a material to be reviewed, recommending materials similar to the material to be reviewed based on similarity between the materials and the materials to be reviewed, and batch-approving at least one material among the similar materials and material to be reviewed. The Examiner notes that “[t]he courts do not distinguish between mental processes that are performed entirely in the human mind and mental processes that require a human to use a physical aid (e.g., pen and paper or a slide rule) to perform the claim limitation” (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)). These limitations are considered a mental process because the limitations include an observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion. These limitations are also similar to “collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis” and/or “collecting and comparing known information” which were determined to be mental processes in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A). The Examiner notes that “[c]laims can recite a mental process even if they are claimed as being performed on a computer” (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)). The mere nominal recitation of the additional elements do not take the claims out of the mental process grouping. Therefore, the claim recite a mental process (Step 2A Prong One, Yes).
The limitations outlined above also describe or set forth an advertising material review method which is a commercial interaction (e.g., advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors, and business relations). Commercial interactions fall within the certain method of organizing human activity enumerated grouping of abstract ideas. The limitations outlined above also describe or set forth a fundamental economic principle or practice because commercial interactions are related to commerce and economy. The limitations outlined above also describe or set forth the managing of personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people. Therefore, the claim recites a certain method of organizing human activity (Step 2A Prong One, Yes).
Step 2A Prong Two:
In Step 2A Prong Two, the additional element(s) outlined above are recited at a high level of generality, and under the broadest reasonable interpretation, are generic computer(s) and/or generic computer component(s) that perform generic computer functions. The additional element(s) are merely used as tools, in their ordinary capacity, to perform the abstract idea. The additional element(s) amount adding the words “apply it” with the judicial exception. Merely implementing an abstract idea on generic computer(s) and/or generic computer component(s) does not integrate the judicial exception similar to how the recitation of the computer in the claim in Alice amounted to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of intermediated settlement on a generic computer. The Examiner notes that “the use of generic computer elements like a microprocessor or user interface do not alone transform an otherwise abstract idea into patent eligible subject matter" (see pp 10-11 of FairWarning IP, LLC. v. Iatric Systems, Inc. (Fed. Cir. 2016)). The additional elements also amount to generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (e.g., in a computer environment). The courts have found that simply limiting the use of the abstract idea to a particular environment does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Viewing the limitations as an ordered combination does not add anything further than looking at the limitations individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer, improves any other technology or technical field, applies or uses the judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for disease or medical condition, applies the judicial exception with, or by use of a particular machine, effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claims as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation (Step 2A Prong Two, No).
Step 2B:
In Step 2B, the additional elements also do not amount to significantly more for the same reasons set forth with respect to Step 2A Prong Two. The Examiner notes that revised Step 2A overlaps with Step 2B, and thus, many of the considerations need not be reevaluated in Step 2B because the answer will be the same. Viewing the limitations as an ordered combination does not add anything further than looking at the limitations individually. Their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation (Step 2B, No).
Claim(s) 2-12 recite further limitations that also fall within the same abstract ideas identified above with respect to claim 1 (i.e., certain methods of organizing human activities and/or mental processes). Claims 4 and 8 also recite a mathematical concepts.
Claim 2 recites the additional element “through a material database (DB).” Claim 9 recites the additional element “a landing uniform resource locator (URL).” Claim 10 recites the additional element “through a large language model (LLM).” Claim 11 recites the additional element “training, by the at least one processor.” Claim 12 recites the additional elements “A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to execute” and “on the computer device.” However, these additional elements also do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more because they amount to adding the words “apply it” with the judicial exception, mere instructions to implement the idea on a computer, merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, and generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
Claim 6 recites the additional element “performing image tuning on1.” Claim 7 recites the additional element “wherein the image tuning comprises at least one of background removal, color removal, edge detection, and character removal1.” In Step 2A Prong Two, these additional elements amount to adding the words “apply it” with the judicial exception, mere instructions to implement the idea on a computer, merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra-solution activity, and generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. In Step 2B, these additional elements also amount to simply appending well-understood, routine, and conventional activity as evidenced by at least MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) (e.g., electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document), ¶ 69 of US 2008/0157990, and/or ¶¶ 38, 49, and 116 of US 2017/0337493.
Claim(s) 3-5 and 8 do not recite any other additional elements. Therefore, for the same reasons explained above with respect to claim 1, claim(s) 3-5 and 8 also do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more.
Claim 13 recites (additional elements underlined):
A computer device comprising:
at least one processor configured to execute computer-readable instructions,
wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
register a material input from an advertiser as a material to be reviewed;
recommend materials similar to the material to be reviewed based on similarity between the similar materials and the material to be reviewed; and
a process of batch-approving at least one material among the similar materials and the material to be reviewed.
For the same reasons explained above with respect to claim 1, claim 13 also recite an abstract idea in Step 2A Prong One. For the same reasons explained above with respect to claim 1, claim 13 also does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more.
Claim(s) 14-20 recite further limitations that also fall within the same abstract ideas identified above with respect to claim 13 (i.e., certain methods of organizing human activities and/or mental processes). Claims 14-15 and 18 also recite a mathematical concepts.
Claims 14-16 and 18 recite the additional element “wherein the at least one processor is configured to.” Claim 17 recites the additional elements “wherein the at least one processor is configured to” and “perform image tuning.” Claim 19 recites the additional element “through a large language model (LLM).” Claim 20 recites the additional element “wherein the at least one processor is configured to train.” However, these additional elements also do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more because they amount to adding the words “apply it” with the judicial exception, mere instructions to implement the idea on a computer, merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, and generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varghese et al. (US 2014/0214557 A1, hereinafter “Varghese”) in view of Coit et al. (US 2005/0222902 A1, hereinafter “Coit”), in further view of Padfield (U.S. Patent No. 10,062,173 B1, hereinafter “Padfield”).
As per Claims 1 and 12-13, Varghese teaches An advertising material review method of a computer device comprising at least one processor, the method comprising (¶ 4 “methods.” Claim 1 “A computer-implemented method.” Also see at least ¶¶ 43-44):
recommending, by the at least one processor, materials similar to the material to be reviewed based on similarity between the similar materials and the material to be reviewed (¶ 25 “When a component of an advertisement is identified, the component search module 270 determines whether the ad component store 250 includes data indicating whether a component from another advertisement matching, or similar to, the component satisfies one or more policies of the online system 101. If a match is found, the advertisement approval module 130 retrieves the data associated with the matching or similar component and uses the data associated with the matching or similar component to indicate whether the component satisfies one or more policies of the online system 101. The component search module 270 may use different processes to determine the similarity between two components. For example, a threshold level of similarity may be specified so that a stored components having at least a threshold similarity to a component, but not fully matching the component, is identified as a match for the component. For example, whether a color image satisfies one or more policies of the online system 101 may be used to indicate whether a black and white image having the same content satisfies one or more policies of the online system 101.” Also see at least ¶¶ 27-33 and Claims 1-6.).
While Varghese receives advertisements for review, Varghese does not appear to explicitly teach registering, by the at least one processor, a material input from an advertiser as a material to be reviewed.
However, Coit teaches registering, by the at least one processor, a material input from an advertiser as a material to be reviewed (¶¶ 25-26. Also see at least ¶¶ 23-24, 28, 35-36, and Claims 1-2 and 7-8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the above features as taught by Coit, into Varghese. One would have been motivated to register a material input from an advertiser as a material to be reviewed to ensure an ad is correct and appropriate by identifying forbidden text, unacceptable content, improper lists, repetition, or inappropriate superlatives (Coit, ¶¶ 7-8). One would have been motivated to register a material input from an advertiser as a material to be reviewed so that ads may be forwarded to ad preprocessing operations to ensure and is correct and appropriate (Coit, ¶¶ 7-8 and 25). One would have been motivated to register a material input from an advertiser as a material to be reviewed to determine if an advertiser is a Trusted Advertiser so that ads may be batch approved (Coit, ¶¶ 23-26). The claimed invention is also merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (KSR Rationale A).
While Varghese compares an advertisement component to a previously analyzed ad component to expedite approval of advertisements, and Coit batch approves advertisements, the combination of Varghese/Coit do not appear to explicitly teach batch-approving, by the at least one processor, at least one material among the similar materials and the material to be reviewed.
However, Padfield teaches batch-approving, by the at least one processor, at least one material among the similar materials and the material to be reviewed (Col. 20 line 60 – Col. 21 line 5. Also see at least Abstract, Fig. 5, Col. 1 lines 1-35, Col. 2 lines 1-63, and Col. 20 lines 45-60).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the above features as taught by Padfield, into the combination of Varghese/Coit. One would have been motivated to batch process similar images together to enable more effective batch processing (Padfield, Col. 20 line 65 – Col. 21 line 5). One would have been motivated to batch approve the advertising materials to expediate approval of advertisements (Varghese, Abstract). One would have been motivated to batch process similar images together to ensure consistency with regard to compliance of an advertisement (Varghese, ¶ 4), to reduce the amount of time and number of reviews to approve or reject (Varghese, ¶ 6), and to improve the review process by reducing human error by providing inconsistent decisions regarding compliance of an advertisement (Coit, ¶ 8). The claimed invention is also merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (KSR Rationale A).
As per Claim 2, while Varghese teaches advertisement components being stored in a database or repository (¶ 6), Varghese does not appear to explicitly teach wherein the registering of the input material comprises managing the material registered by the advertiser through a material database (DB) by listing the input material as the material to be reviewed.
However, Coit teaches wherein the registering of the input material comprises managing the material registered by the advertiser through a material database (DB) by listing the input material as the material to be reviewed (¶¶ 25-33. Also see at least ¶¶ 23-24, 28, 35-36, and Claims 1-2 and 7-8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the above features as taught by Coit, into Varghese. One would have been motivated to register a material input from an advertiser as a material to be reviewed to ensure an ad is correct and appropriate by identifying forbidden text, unacceptable content, improper lists, repetition, or inappropriate superlatives (Coit, ¶¶ 7-8). One would have been motivated to register a material input from an advertiser as a material to be reviewed so that ads may be forwarded to ad preprocessing operations to ensure and is correct and appropriate (Coit, ¶¶ 7-8 and 25). One would have been motivated to register a material input from an advertiser as a material to be reviewed to determine if an advertiser is a Trusted Advertiser so that ads may be batch approved (Coit, ¶¶ 23-26). The claimed invention is also merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (KSR Rationale A).
As per Claims 3 and 14, Varghese teaches wherein the recommending of the similar materials comprises recommending materials of images similar to an image of the material to be reviewed using similarity between the image of the material to be reviewed with respect to images … as advertising materials (¶¶ 6, 25-29, and Claims 1-6).
While Varghese recommends similar materials similar to an image of the material to be reviewed, Varghese does not appear to explicitly teach images registered.
However, Coit teaches images registered (¶¶ 25-33. Also see at least ¶¶ 23-24, 28, 35-36, and Claims 1-2 and 7-8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the above features as taught by Coit, into Varghese. One would have been motivated to register images as advertising materials to ensure an ad is correct and appropriate by identifying forbidden text, unacceptable content, improper lists, repetition, or inappropriate superlatives (Coit, ¶¶ 7-8). One would have been motivated to register a material input from an advertiser as a material to be reviewed so that ads may be forwarded to ad preprocessing operations to ensure and is correct and appropriate (Coit, ¶¶ 7-8 and 25). One would have been motivated to register a material input from an advertiser as a material to be reviewed to determine if an advertiser is a Trusted Advertiser so that ads may be batch approved (Coit, ¶¶ 23-26). The claimed invention is also merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (KSR Rationale A).
As per Claims 4 and 15, Varghese teaches wherein the recommending of the similar materials comprises calculating similarity between features extracted from the image of the material to be reviewed with respect to images … as advertising materials, and selecting images having a similarity greater than or equal to a threshold with an image of the material to be reviewed as the recommended similar materials (¶¶ 25-28 and 39, and Claims 1-5 and 8).
While Varghese recommends similar materials similar to an image of the material to be reviewed, Varghese does not appear to explicitly teach images registered.
However, Coit teaches images registered (¶¶ 25-33. Also see at least ¶¶ 23-24, 28, 35-36, and Claims 1-2 and 7-8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the above features as taught by Coit, into Varghese. One would have been motivated to register images as advertising materials to ensure an ad is correct and appropriate by identifying forbidden text, unacceptable content, improper lists, repetition, or inappropriate superlatives (Coit, ¶¶ 7-8). One would have been motivated to register a material input from an advertiser as a material to be reviewed so that ads may be forwarded to ad preprocessing operations to ensure and is correct and appropriate (Coit, ¶¶ 7-8 and 25). One would have been motivated to register a material input from an advertiser as a material to be reviewed to determine if an advertiser is a Trusted Advertiser so that ads may be batch approved (Coit, ¶¶ 23-26). The claimed invention is also merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (KSR Rationale A).
As per Claims 5 and 16, Varghese teaches approving at least one material selected by a reviewer (¶¶ 39 “A component of the advertisement is selected at 325…” Also see at least ¶¶ 32-34 and Fig. 3).
While Varghese compares an advertisement component to a previously analyzed ad component to expedite approval of advertisements, and Coit batch approves advertisements, the combination of Varghese/Coit do not appear to explicitly teach wherein the batch-approving comprises approving at least one material … from among the similar materials and the material to be reviewed.
However, Padfield teaches wherein the batch-approving comprises approving at least one material … from among the similar materials and the material to be reviewed (Col. 20 line 60 – Col. 21 line 5. Also see at least Abstract, Fig. 5, Col. 1 lines 1-35, Col. 2 lines 1-63, and Col. 20 lines 45-60).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the above features as taught by Padfield, into the combination of Varghese/Coit. One would have been motivated to batch process similar images together to enable more effective batch processing (Padfield, Col. 20 line 65 – Col. 21 line 5). One would have been motivated to batch approve the advertising materials to expediate approval of advertisements (Varghese, Abstract). One would have been motivated to batch process similar images together to ensure consistency with regard to compliance of an advertisement (Varghese, ¶ 4), to reduce the amount of time and number of reviews to approve or reject (Varghese, ¶ 6), and to improve the review process by reducing human error by providing inconsistent decisions regarding compliance of an advertisement (Coit, ¶ 8). The claimed invention is also merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (KSR Rationale A).
Claim(s) 8-9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varghese in view of Coit, in view of Padfield, in further view of Coladonato et al. (US 2010/0145762 A1, hereinafter “Coladonato”).
As per Claims 8 and 18, Varghese teaches wherein the recommending of the similar materials comprises calculating image similarity by comparing an additional factor between advertising materials according to … when calculating similarity between images with respect to images … as advertising materials (¶¶ 25-28 and 39, and Claims 1-5 and 8).
While Varghese recommends similar materials similar to an image of the material to be reviewed, Varghese does not appear to explicitly teach images registered.
However, Coit teaches images registered (¶¶ 25-33. Also see at least ¶¶ 23-24, 28, 35-36, and Claims 1-2 and 7-8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the above features as taught by Coit, into Varghese. One would have been motivated to register images as advertising materials to ensure an ad is correct and appropriate by identifying forbidden text, unacceptable content, improper lists, repetition, or inappropriate superlatives (Coit, ¶¶ 7-8). One would have been motivated to register a material input from an advertiser as a material to be reviewed so that ads may be forwarded to ad preprocessing operations to ensure and is correct and appropriate (Coit, ¶¶ 7-8 and 25). One would have been motivated to register a material input from an advertiser as a material to be reviewed to determine if an advertiser is a Trusted Advertiser so that ads may be batch approved (Coit, ¶¶ 23-26). The claimed invention is also merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (KSR Rationale A).
While Varghese recommends materials similar to the materials to be reviewed by calculating image similarity by comparing an additional factor between advertising materials and Coit teaches registered images, the combination of Varghese/Coit/Padfield do not appear to explicitly teach an option requested by a reviewer.
However, Coladonato teaches an option requested by a reviewer (¶¶ 94-96 and Figs. 4-6. Also see at least Abstract and ¶¶ 28).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the above features as taught by Coladonato, into the combination of Varghese/Coit/Padfield. One would have been motivated to do so to provide publishers with greater control over advertisements appearing with their content by enabling publishers to approve or disapprove advertisements or advertisers (Coladonato, ¶ 28). One would have been motivated to do so to enable publishers to gain transparency into the advertisements that have or could be presented with their content by approving or disapproving advertisements or advertisers, thus protecting their brand while maximizing revenue (Coladonato, ¶ 28). The claimed invention is also merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (KSR Rationale A).
As per Claim 9, Varghese teaches wherein the additional factor includes at least one of a campaign objective, a creative template, a placement location, an advertising phrase, a landing uniform resource locator (URL), and a representative image color (¶¶ 25-28 and 39, and Claims 1-5 and 8).
Claim(s) 10 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varghese in view of Coit, in view of Padfield, in view of Coladonato, in further view of Fan et al. (US 2025/0131753 A1, hereinafter “Fan”).
As per Claims 10 and 19, Varghese teaches wherein the additional factor includes an image caption that is generated … with respect to the images … as the advertising materials (¶¶ 30-39).
While Varghese recommends similar materials similar to an image of the material to be reviewed, Varghese does not appear to explicitly teach images registered.
However, Coit teaches images registered (¶¶ 25-33. Also see at least ¶¶ 23-24, 28, 35-36, and Claims 1-2 and 7-8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the above features as taught by Coit, into Varghese. One would have been motivated to register images as advertising materials to ensure an ad is correct and appropriate by identifying forbidden text, unacceptable content, improper lists, repetition, or inappropriate superlatives (Coit, ¶¶ 7-8). One would have been motivated to register a material input from an advertiser as a material to be reviewed so that ads may be forwarded to ad preprocessing operations to ensure and is correct and appropriate (Coit, ¶¶ 7-8 and 25). One would have been motivated to register a material input from an advertiser as a material to be reviewed to determine if an advertiser is a Trusted Advertiser so that ads may be batch approved (Coit, ¶¶ 23-26). The claimed invention is also merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (KSR Rationale A).
While the combination of Varghese/Coit/Padfield/Coladonato recommend similar materials by calculating image similarity by comparing an image caption, they do not appear to explicitly teach an image caption that is generated through a large language model (LLM).
However, Fan teaches an image caption that is generated through a large language model (LLM) (¶¶ 21-22, 27, and 61-64).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the above features as taught by Fan, into the combination of Varghese/Coit/Padfield/Coladonato. One would have been motivated to do so to improve the accuracy of a computing system by providing automated, accurate descriptions describing differences between images when presenting two or more digitally generated/altered images (Fan, ¶ 21). One would have been motivated to do so to achieve improved flexibility of computing systems over conventional systems that utilize object-based difference captioning, by generating text captions conditioned on comparisons of facts derived from an image pair using image features in a cross-modal neural network (Fan, ¶ 22). The claimed invention is also merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (KSR Rationale A).
Claim(s) 11 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varghese in view of Coit, in view of Padfield, in further view of Li et al. (US 2014/0372951 A1, hereinafter “Li”).
As per Claims 11 and 20, the combination of Varghese/Coit/Padfield do not appear to explicitly teach further comprising: training, by the at least one processor, a recommendation model for the similar materials using a material approved with the material to be reviewed.
However, Li teaches further comprising: training, by the at least one processor, a recommendation model for the similar materials using a material approved with the material to be reviewed (Abstract and ¶¶ 4 and 33-40).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the above features as taught by Li, into the combination of Varghese/Coit/Padfield. One would have been motivated to do so to improve the precision of identification of similar images by providing the user selections as training data to the image-based recommendation system (Li, Abstract). One would have been motivated to use user-selected image data as training data to thereby increase the accuracy of the identification of other similar images (Li, ¶ 3). The claimed invention is also merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (KSR Rationale A).
Claim(s) 6-7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varghese in view of Coit, in view of Padfield, in further view of Baba et al. (US 2010/0153449 A1, hereinafter “Baba”).
As per Claims 6 and 17, Varghese teaches wherein the recommending of the similar materials comprises (¶ 25. Also see at least ¶¶ 27-33 and Claims 1-6.) and
selecting an image similar to an image of the material to be reviewed as the recommended similar materials based on similarity between … images (¶¶ 25-28 and 39, and Claims 1-5 and 8).
While Varghese recommends similar materials similar to an image of the material to be reviewed, Varghese does not appear to explicitly teach images registered as advertising materials.
However, Coit teaches images registered as advertising materials (¶¶ 25-33. Also see at least ¶¶ 23-24, 28, 35-36, and Claims 1-2 and 7-8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the above features as taught by Coit, into Varghese. One would have been motivated to register images as advertising materials to ensure an ad is correct and appropriate by identifying forbidden text, unacceptable content, improper lists, repetition, or inappropriate superlatives (Coit, ¶¶ 7-8). One would have been motivated to register a material input from an advertiser as a material to be reviewed so that ads may be forwarded to ad preprocessing operations to ensure and is correct and appropriate (Coit, ¶¶ 7-8 and 25). One would have been motivated to register a material input from an advertiser as a material to be reviewed to determine if an advertiser is a Trusted Advertiser so that ads may be batch approved (Coit, ¶¶ 23-26). The claimed invention is also merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (KSR Rationale A).
While Varghese selects an image similar to an image of the material to be reviewed as the recommended similar materials based on similarity between images, the combination of Varghese/Coit/Padfield do not appear to explicitly teach performing image tuning on images … according to an option requested by a reviewer; and [selecting an image based on similarity of] tuned [images].
However, Baba teaches performing image tuning on images … according to an option requested by a reviewer (¶ 44, Claims 1-2, and Abstract); and
[selecting an image based on similarity of] tuned [images] (¶ 44, Claims 1-2, and Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the above features as taught by Baba, into the combination of Varghese/Coit/Padfield. One would have been motivated to do so to improve the image similarity identification by eliminating cluster or mismatched backgrounds that can confuse search algorithms which leads to false image matching. One would have been motivated to do so to improve the accuracy of identifying similar images by isolating the core subject so that the search algorithm compares only relevant features. The claimed invention is also merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (KSR Rationale A).
As per Claim 7, while Varghese selects an image similar to an image of the material to be reviewed as the recommended similar materials based on similarity between images, the combination of Varghese/Coit/Padfield do not appear to explicitly teach wherein the image tuning comprises at least one of background removal, color removal, edge detection, and character removal.
However, Baba teaches wherein the image tuning comprises at least one of background removal, color removal, edge detection, and character removal (¶ 44, Claims 1-2, and Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the above features as taught by Baba, into the combination of Varghese/Coit/Padfield. One would have been motivated to do so to improve the image similarity identification by eliminating cluster or mismatched backgrounds that can confuse search algorithms which leads to false image matching. One would have been motivated to do so to improve the accuracy of identifying similar images by isolating the core subject so that the search algorithm compares only relevant features. The claimed invention is also merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (KSR Rationale A).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Box et al. (US 2017/0098252 A1) discloses the concept of a user selecting a creative icon to review and approve creatives by group (¶¶ 167-168).
/SAM REFAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621
1 The Examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation, these limitations can fall within the abstract idea in Step 2A Prong One as being a mental process because a human can remove a background, detect edges, remove characters, and remove color, in the mind or with the aid of pen and paper.