Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12488747. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they appear to represent a broader form of those in the ‘747 patent.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species a and d in the reply filed on 7-27-2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 14-17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US App. 20190035322) in view of in view of Feng et al. (US Pat. 11482168) and Song et al. (US App. 20130342584).
In regard to claim 1, Kim teaches an emissive display device (see at least Para. 3) comprising: a scan line extending in a row direction (see Fig. 3, Para. 79 gate line of pixel row); a display area which includes a plurality of pixels (see Fig. 3); including: two scan signal stages disposed in the row direction (see Fig. 3); and an input signal to the two scan signal stages (see Fig. 3, Scan1 and Scan2 connected to VGL1), wherein the two scan signal stages are respectively included in a first scan signal generator generating a first scan signal and a second scan signal generator generating a second scan signal (see Fig. 3, and Para. 79-82).
As discussed above, Kim does already disclose the concept of two scan signal stages (See Fig. 3).
However, Feng teaches line commonly connected (see Fig. 2, S1); and disposed between the two signal stages (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the signals of Kim to be on a shared line of Feng so as to save space (See Col. 1, Ln 20-30). Examiner also notes Kim discloses the base product/process of two stages in a row while Feng teaches the known technique of a shared signal line so as to yield predictable results of shared signals on a shared line in the device of Kim.
Kim and Feng are not relied upon to teach and a driver disposed at a side of the display area, the driver.
However, Song teaches and a driver disposed at a side of the display area, the driver (see Fig. 1 scan driver 10).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display of Kim and Feng to include the gate driver location of Song to conserve space in the display (See Para. 10). Examiner also notes Kim and Feng discloses the base product/process of panel drivers while Song teaches the known technique of matrix row scan lines so as to yield predictable results of sending driver signals along the row in the display device of Kim as modified by Feng.
In regard to claim 14, Kim teaches an electronic device (see at least Para. 3) comprising: an emissive display device (see at least Para. 3) comprising: a scan line extending in a row direction (see Fig. 3, Para. 79 gate line of pixel row); a display area which includes a plurality of pixels (see Fig. 3); including: two scan signal stages disposed in the row direction (see Fig. 3, Scan1 and Scan2); and an input signal to the two scan signal stages (see Fig. 3, Scan1 and Scan2 connected to VGL1) wherein the two scan signal stages are respectively included in a first scan signal generator generating a first scan signal and a second scan signal generator generating a second scan signal (see Fig. 3, and Para. 79-82).
Kim is not relied upon to teach and a driver disposed at a side of the display area, the driver; line commonly connected, and disposed between the two scan signal stages.
As discussed above, Kim does already disclose the concept of two scan signal stages (See Fig. 3).
However, Feng teaches line commonly connected (see Fig. 2, S1); and disposed between the two signal stages (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the signals of Kim to be on a shared line of Feng so as to save space (See Col. 1, Ln 20-30). Examiner also notes Kim discloses the base product/process of two stages in a row while Feng teaches the known technique of a shared signal line so as to yield predictable results of shared signals on a shared line in the device of Kim.
Kim and Feng are not relied upon to teach and a driver disposed at a side of the display area, the driver.
However, Song teaches and a driver disposed at a side of the display area, the driver (see Fig. 1 scan driver 10).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display of Kim and Feng to include the gate driver location of Song to conserve space in the display (See Para. 10). Examiner also notes Kim and Feng discloses the base product/process of panel drivers while Song teaches the known technique of matrix row scan lines so as to yield predictable results of sending driver signals along the row in the display device of Kim as modified by Feng.
Regarding claim 2, Kim in view of Feng and Song teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Kim further teaches wherein the input signal line commonly connected to the two scan signal stages is provided in plural (VGL to multiple stages).
Kim is not relied upon teach, and a plurality of input signal lines includes a pair of clock signal lines.
However, Song teaches a plurality of input signal lines includes a pair of clock signal lines (see Fig. 2, CLK1 and CLK2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the signals of Kim to be on a shared line of Feng to be clock lines of Song so as to save space (See Para. 10). Examiner also notes Kim and Feng discloses the base product/process of same signal lines while Song teaches the known technique of a shared clock lines so as to yield predictable results of shared clock signals on clock lines in the device of Kim as modified by Song.
Regarding claim 3, Kim in view of Feng and Song teaches all the limitations of claim 2. Kim further teaches wherein the pair of clock signal lines (see Fig. 3, G2CLK2 and G2CLK1).
Kim is not relied upon to teach is disposed between the two scan signal stages.
As discussed above, Kim does already disclose the concept of two scan signal stages (See Fig. 3).
However, Feng teaches is disposed between the two signal stages (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the signals of Kim to be on a shared line of Feng so as to save space (See Col. 1, Ln 20-30). Examiner also notes Kim discloses the base product/process of two stages in a row while Feng teaches the known technique of a shared signal line so as to yield predictable results of shared signals on a shared line in the device of Kim.
Regarding claim 4, Kim in view of Feng and Song teaches all the limitations of claim 3. Kim further teaches wherein the input signal line further includes a high voltage wire or a low voltage wire (See Fig. 3, VGL1).
Regarding claim 5, Kim in view of Feng and Song teaches all the limitations of claim 4. Kim further teaches wherein the pair of clock signal lines or the low voltage wire is disposed (see Fig. 3, G2CLK2 and G2CLK1).
Kim is not relied upon to teach is disposed between the two scan signal stages.
As discussed above, Kim does already disclose the concept of two scan signal stages (See Fig. 3).
However, Feng teaches is disposed between the two signal stages (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the signals of Kim to be on a shared line of Feng so as to save space (See Col. 1, Ln 20-30). Examiner also notes Kim discloses the base product/process of two stages in a row while Feng teaches the known technique of a shared signal line so as to yield predictable results of shared signals on a shared line in the device of Kim.
Regarding claim 6, Kim in view of Feng and Song teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Song further teaches wherein the input signal line extends in a column direction perpendicular to the row direction (See Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display of Kim and Feng to include the signal line direction of Song to conserve space in the display (See Para. 10). Examiner also notes Kim and Feng discloses the base product/process of panel drivers while Song teaches the known technique of vertical signal lines so as to yield predictable results of sending driver signals along the row in the display device of Kim as modified by Feng.
Regarding claim 15, Kim in view of Feng and Song teaches all the limitations of claim 14. Kim further teaches wherein the input signal line commonly connected to the two scan signal stages is provided in plural (VGL to multiple stages).
Kim is not relied upon teach, and a plurality of input signal lines includes a pair of clock signal lines.
However, Song teaches a plurality of input signal lines includes a pair of clock signal lines (see Fig. 2, CLK1 and CLK2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the signals of Kim to be on a shared line of Feng to be clock lines of Song so as to save space (See Para. 10). Examiner also notes Kim and Feng discloses the base product/process of same signal lines while Song teaches the known technique of a shared clock lines so as to yield predictable results of shared clock signals on clock lines in the device of Kim as modified by Song.
Regarding claim 16, Kim in view of Feng and Song teaches all the limitations of claim 15. Song further teaches wherein the input signal line extends in a column direction perpendicular to the row direction (See Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display of Kim and Feng to include the signal line direction of Song to conserve space in the display (See Para. 10). Examiner also notes Kim and Feng discloses the base product/process of panel drivers while Song teaches the known technique of vertical signal lines so as to yield predictable results of sending driver signals along the row in the display device of Kim as modified by Feng.
Regarding claim 17, Kim in view of Feng and Song teaches all the limitations of claim 16. Kim further teaches wherein the input signal line further includes a high voltage wire or a low voltage wire, and two scan signal stages (See Fig. 3, VGL1 and stages).
Kim is not relied upon to teach and the pair of clock signal lines or the low voltage wire is disposed between the two scan signal stages.
However, Feng teaches wire is disposed between the two signal stages (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the signals of Kim to be on a shared line of Feng so as to save space (See Col. 1, Ln 20-30). Examiner also notes Kim discloses the base product/process of two stages in a row while Feng teaches the known technique of a shared signal line so as to yield predictable results of shared signals on a shared line in the device of Kim.
Kim and Feng are not relied upon to teach and the pair of clock signal lines or the low voltage wire.
However, Song teaches and the pair of clock signal lines or the low voltage wire (see Fig. 2, CLK1 and CLK2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the signals of Kim to be on a shared line of Feng to be clock lines of Song so as to save space (See Para. 10). Examiner also notes Kim and Feng discloses the base product/process of same signal lines while Song teaches the known technique of a shared clock lines so as to yield predictable results of shared clock signals on clock lines in the device of Kim as modified by Song.
Regarding claim 20, Kim in view of Feng and Song teaches all the limitations of claim 14. Song further teaches wherein the driver is disposed only at a singular side of the display area (see Fig. 1, 10).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display of Kim and Feng to include driver location of Song to conserve space in the display (See Para. 10). Examiner also notes Kim and Feng discloses the base product/process of panel drivers while Song teaches the known technique of single driver location so as to yield predictable results of sending driver signals along the row in the display device of Kim as modified by Feng.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-13, 18, 19, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure includes: Kwon et al. (US App. 20210375212) disclosing multiple scan drivers to a single pixel and Shim et al. (US App. 20170186362) disclosing emission and scan stages in a row and Pak et al. (US App. 20080079676) disclosing two scan stages in a row connected in series input.
/MATTHEW YEUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625