DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in reply to applicant communication filed on May 04, 2026.
Claims 1-20 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments filed on May 04, 2026 with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections have been fully considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicant’s argues that the prior art on record fails to teach the amended limitation of independent claims. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made using the newly find prior arts to Morales (US Pub. No. 2019/0286719).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nadler (US Pub. No. 2024/0135016) in view of Morales (US Pub. No. 2019/0286719).
As per claim 1 Nadler discloses:
A non-transitory, processor-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to: associate metadata of a plurality of filesystems with user of compute device; (abstract of Nadler, system includes a processor to generate a data plane based on dataset metadata, data plane component metadata, data governance decisions, and information technology (IT) system metrics).
Receive, at a control plane and from the user compute device via the user interface, an indication of a task that is associated with a filesystem from the plurality of filesystems; (paragraph 50 of Nadler, the control plane 158 can also receive dataset info from a workload user or developer and data governance decisions from a governance engine. For example, a list of datasets may be provided by a workload developer or user in a YAML file and the data plane generator 200 may also have access to metadata about the workload).
In response to receiving the indication of the task, automatically cause the task to be routed to a data plane that is associated with the filesystem and that is from the plurality of data planes managed by the control plane; (paragraph 51 of Nadler, in various examples, the data plane generator 200 of the control plane 158 can define a data plane for a given workload and given dataset. The data plane generator 200 can detect the capabilities required, such as being able to make a temporary copy, to redact personal info, to read data, etc).
Cause the data plane to provision a compute resource to execute the task. (Paragraph 48 of Nadler, a workload owner may indicate workload metadata 166 of the workload 162. For example, the workload owner may provide information about the workload, the owning organization, a role of the person using the workload, among other relevant information. In some examples, the workload metadata 166 may indicate the datasets to be processed and the actions to be taken on them. For example, the actions may include to read, write, copy, or delete data. In particular, the data plane generator 200 may obtain instructions regarding any governance related changes that must be performed on the data, identifies the modules 416 capable of performing such changes, and then generates the plotter 160, which defines the secure runtime environment and all the data plane components 164 in the secure runtime environment).
Nadler teaches the method of generating a data plane based on dataset metadata (see abstract of Nadler) but fails to clearly disclose the method of causing metadata associated with a plurality of filesystems associated with a plurality of data planes to be displayed as a representation of a common file system at a user compute device via a user interface.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Morales teaches this limitation as, (paragraph 53 of Morales, in some embodiments, management plane 320 creates an initial list L 302A that indicates the set of data cores 306 and 308 in data plane container 304 and secondary data cores 316 and 318 in secondary storage system 340 contain data items within a time range specified in the search request. In some embodiments, L 302A lists a subset of the plurality of data cores and secondary data cores to be searched. In some embodiments, L 302A is updated to only include the data cores and secondary data cores determined to possibly contain the requested data items. In some embodiments, management plane 320 stores L 302A in metadata 302. In some embodiments, metadata 302 includes probabilistic data structures, (e.g., Bloom filters) used to determine data cores and/or secondary data cores that contain relevant data items) and (paragraph 76 of Morales, a user interface displaying a dashboard 500 that allows the client to see indications of all the pending queries 502-506 that are currently executing in the distributed computing system. In some embodiments, the management plane passes results through the user interface layer to cause query statuses and query results to be displayed to the user in dashboard 500. In some embodiments, asynchronous queries 502, 504, and 506 are displayed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Nadler and include the above limitation using the teaching of Morales in order to process queries in a computing system and facilitate accessing of data stored in the computing system (see paragraph 1 of Morales).
As per claim 2 Nadler in view of Morales discloses:
The non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the compute resource includes a storage service, the non-transitory, processor-readable medium further storing instructions to cause the processor to: deploy a web service at the data plane, the web service configured to detect the storage service being provisioned to the data plane, a portion of the metadata associated with the storage service being displayed at the user compute device in response to the web service detecting the storage service. (Paragraph 24 of Nadler, network module 115 may include hardware, such as modems or Wi-Fi signal transceivers, software for packetizing and/or de-packetizing data for communication network transmission, and/or web browser software for communicating data over the internet. In some embodiments, network control functions and network forwarding functions of network module 115 are performed on the same physical hardware device).
As per claim 3 Nadler in view of Morales discloses:
The non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the instructions to cause the processor to cause the task to be routed to the data plane include instructions to cause the task to be routed to the data plane based on a task type associated with the task. (Paragraph 53 of Nadler, the data plane generator 200 can determine the capabilities that are be included. In various examples, if the data action is read, then the control plane 158 includes read capability. If data action is write, then the data plane generator 200 includes write capability. If action is delete, then the data plane generator 200 includes delete capability).
As per claim 4 Nadler in view of Morales discloses:
The non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, further storing instructions to cause the processor to check a permission level associated with the user compute device before causing the task to be routed to the data plane. (Paragraph 50 of Nadler, the control plane 158 can then call the data governance policy manager device 152 to get the governance decisions for the action on the specific dataset, taking into account the location of the workload and other context provided by the user. For example, the context may include organization, role, etc. If the result is a denial, then the control plane 158 can update a status for the dataset to a value of “denied”).
As per claim 5 Nadler in view of Morales discloses:
The non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein: the filesystem associated with the data plane includes a local filesystem; in response to the data plane executing the task, the user compute device receives local data from the local filesystem; and the control plane is excluded from receiving the local data. (Paragraph 45 of Nadler, a component that can mask data can be used to enforce a data masking policy, or a component that copies data may be used to create a local data copy to meet performance requirements, etc. The system 400 also further includes data 420 shown being received from remote server 104).
As per claim 6 Nadler in view of Morales discloses:
The non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the instructions to cause the processor to cause the task to be routed to the data plane include instructions to cause the task to be routed to the data plane based on a geographic constraint. (Paragraph 49 of Nadler, the data governance information may include governance decisions. In various examples, the control plane 158 may also collect automatically discovered information, such as a geographical and physical location of a cluster running the workload 162. The data plane generator 200 may then take all the above information and determine which capabilities are to be included in a generated data plane).
As per claim 7 Nadler in view of Morales discloses:
The non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the instructions to cause the processor to cause the task to be routed to the data plane exclude instructions to receive, from the user compute device, an indication of at least one of the data plane or the compute resource associated with the data plane. (Paragraph 51 of Nadler, the data plane generator 200 of the control plane 158 can define a data plane for a given workload and given dataset. The data plane generator 200 can detect the capabilities required, such as being able to make a temporary copy, to redact personal info, to read data, etc).
As per claim 8 Nadler in view of Morales discloses:
The non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the task includes at least one of copying data, sizing data, deleting data, writing data, or reading data. (Paragraph 53 of Nadler, the data plane generator 200 can determine the capabilities that are be included. In various examples, if the data action is read, then the control plane 158 includes read capability. If data action is write, then the data plane generator 200 includes write capability. If action is delete, then the data plane generator 200 includes delete capability).
As per claim 9 Nadler in view of Morales discloses:
The non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the task is a first task, the non-transitory, processor-readable medium further storing instructions to cause the processor to cause a second task to be executed at the control plane based on a task type associated with the first task. (Paragraph 53 of Nadler, the data plane generator 200 can determine the capabilities that are be included. In various examples, if the data action is read, then the control plane 158 includes read capability. If data action is write, then the data plane generator 200 includes write capability. If action is delete, then the data plane generator 200 includes delete capability).
As per claim 10 Nadler discloses:
A method, comprising: receiving, via a processor and at a control plane, an indication of a task from a user compute device; paragraph 50 of Nadler, the control plane 158 can also receive dataset info from a workload user or developer and data governance decisions from a governance engine. For example, a list of datasets may be provided by a workload developer or user in a YAML file and the data plane generator 200 may also have access to metadata about the workload).
In response to the receiving the indication of the task, deploying, via the processor, based on a geographic constraint, and without receiving an indication of a data plane from the user compute device, a web service to the data plane from a plurality of data planes managed by the control plane, (Paragraph 49 of Nadler, the data governance information may include governance decisions. In various examples, the control plane 158 may also collect automatically discovered information, such as a geographical and physical location of a cluster running the workload 162. The data plane generator 200 may then take all the above information and determine which capabilities are to be included in a generated data plane) and (Paragraph 24 of Nadler, network module 115 may include hardware, such as modems or Wi-Fi signal transceivers, software for packetizing and/or de-packetizing data for communication network transmission, and/or web browser software for communicating data over the internet. In some embodiments, network control functions and network forwarding functions of network module 115 are performed on the same physical hardware device).
In response to the web service detecting the compute resource provisioned to the data plane, causing, via the processor, the task to be routed to the data plane for execution. (Paragraph 51 of Nadler, in various examples, the data plane generator 200 of the control plane 158 can define a data plane for a given workload and given dataset. The data plane generator 200 can detect the capabilities required, such as being able to make a temporary copy, to redact personal info, to read data, etc).
Nadler teaches the method of indicating task from a user compute device (see paragraph 50 of Nadler) but fails to clearly disclose the method of configuring by the web service (1) detect ah addition of a compute resource provisioned to the data plane and, (2) in response to detecting the addition of the compute resource, register the compute resource at the control plane to cause metadata associated with the compute resource to be displayed at the user interface; and indicating of a task from a user compute device via a user interface.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Morales teaches this limitation as, (paragraph 53 of Morales, in some embodiments, management plane 320 creates an initial list L 302A that indicates the set of data cores 306 and 308 in data plane container 304 and secondary data cores 316 and 318 in secondary storage system 340 contain data items within a time range specified in the search request. In some embodiments, L 302A lists a subset of the plurality of data cores and secondary data cores to be searched. In some embodiments, L 302A is updated to only include the data cores and secondary data cores determined to possibly contain the requested data items. In some embodiments, management plane 320 stores L 302A in metadata 302. In some embodiments, metadata 302 includes probabilistic data structures, (e.g., Bloom filters) used to determine data cores and/or secondary data cores that contain relevant data items) and (paragraph 76 of Morales, a user interface displaying a dashboard 500 that allows the client to see indications of all the pending queries 502-506 that are currently executing in the distributed computing system. In some embodiments, the management plane passes results through the user interface layer to cause query statuses and query results to be displayed to the user in dashboard 500. In some embodiments, asynchronous queries 502, 504, and 506 are displayed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Nadler and include the above limitation using the teaching of Morales in order to process queries in a computing system and facilitate accessing of data stored in the computing system (see paragraph 1 of Morales).
As per claim 11 Nadler in view of Morales discloses:
The method of claim 10, wherein: each data plane from the plurality of data planes is associated with a different filesystem from a plurality of filesystems; (paragraph 13 of Nadler, according to embodiments of the present disclosure, a system includes a processor to generate a data plane based on workload metadata, dataset metadata, data governance decisions, and information technology (IT) system metrics).
The method further comprises: in response to the task being executed at the data plane, updating, via the processor and at the control plane, metadata associated with a filesystem associated with the data plane, and causing, via the processor, the metadata to be displayed at the user compute device. (Paragraph 50 of Nadler, if the result is a denial, then the control plane 158 can update a status for the dataset to a value of “denied”. For example, the status may be stored in a status section of the data plane generator 200).
As per claim 12 Nadler in view of Morales discloses:
The method of claim 10, further comprising: checking, via the processor, a permission level associated with the user compute device before causing the task to be routed to the data plane. (Paragraph 50 of Nadler, the control plane 158 can then call the data governance policy manager device 152 to get the governance decisions for the action on the specific dataset, taking into account the location of the workload and other context provided by the user. For example, the context may include organization, role, etc. If the result is a denial, then the control plane 158 can update a status for the dataset to a value of “denied”).
As per claim 13 Nadler in view of Morales discloses:
The method of claim 10, wherein: the data plane is associated with a local filesystem; in response to the task being executed at the data plane, the user compute device receives local data from the local filesystem; and the method further comprises excluding the control plane from receiving the local data. (Paragraph 45 of Nadler, a component that can mask data can be used to enforce a data masking policy, or a component that copies data may be used to create a local data copy to meet performance requirements, etc. The system 400 also further includes data 420 shown being received from remote server 104).
As per claim 14 Nadler in view of Morales discloses:
The method of claim 10, wherein: the causing the task to be routed to the data plane includes causing, via the processor, the task to be routed to the data plane based on a task type associated with the task. (Paragraph 53 of Nadler, the data plane generator 200 can determine the capabilities that are be included. In various examples, if the data action is read, then the control plane 158 includes read capability. If data action is write, then the data plane generator 200 includes write capability. If action is delete, then the data plane generator 200 includes delete capability).
As per claim 15 Nadler in view of Morales discloses:
The method of claim 10, wherein the task includes at least one of copying data, sizing data, deleting data, writing data, or reading data. (Paragraph 53 of Nadler, the data plane generator 200 can determine the capabilities that are be included. In various examples, if the data action is read, then the control plane 158 includes read capability. If data action is write, then the data plane generator 200 includes write capability. If action is delete, then the data plane generator 200 includes delete capability).
As per claim 16 Nadler in view of Morales discloses:
The method of claim 10, wherein the task is a first task, the method further comprising causing a second task to be executed at the control plane based on a task type associated with the first task. (Paragraph 53 of Nadler, the data plane generator 200 can determine the capabilities that are be included. In various examples, if the data action is read, then the control plane 158 includes read capability. If data action is write, then the data plane generator 200 includes write capability. If action is delete, then the data plane generator 200 includes delete capability).
As per claim 17 Nadler discloses:
A non-transitory, processor-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to: receive, at a control plane, an indication of a task from a user compute device; (paragraph 50 of Nadler, the control plane 158 can also receive dataset info from a workload user or developer and data governance decisions from a governance engine. For example, a list of datasets may be provided by a workload developer or user in a YAML file and the data plane generator 200 may also have access to metadata about the workload).
In response to the receiving the indication of the task, deploy a web service to a data plane based on a geographic constraint and without receiving from the user compute device an indication of the data plane, the data plane being from a plurality of data planes managed by the control plane and associated with a plurality of filesystems, (Paragraph 49 of Nadler, the data governance information may include governance decisions. In various examples, the control plane 158 may also collect automatically discovered information, such as a geographical and physical location of a cluster running the workload 162. The data plane generator 200 may then take all the above information and determine which capabilities are to be included in a generated data plane) and (Paragraph 24 of Nadler, network module 115 may include hardware, such as modems or Wi-Fi signal transceivers, software for packetizing and/or de-packetizing data for communication network transmission, and/or web browser software for communicating data over the internet. In some embodiments, network control functions and network forwarding functions of network module 115 are performed on the same physical hardware device).
In response to the web service detecting the compute resource provisioned to the data plane, cause the task to be routed to the data plane for execution. (Paragraph 51 of Nadler, in various examples, the data plane generator 200 of the control plane 158 can define a data plane for a given workload and given dataset. The data plane generator 200 can detect the capabilities required, such as being able to make a temporary copy, to redact personal info, to read data, etc).
Nadler teaches the method of indicating task from a user compute device (see paragraph 50 of Nadler) but fails to clearly disclose the method of configuring by the web service (1) detect a compute resource provisioned to the data plane and, in response to detecting the compute resource (2) register the compute resource at the control plane to cause metadata associated with the compute resource to be displayed at the user interface; and of indicating of a task from a user compute device via a user interface.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Morales teaches this limitation as, (paragraph 53 of Morales, in some embodiments, management plane 320 creates an initial list L 302A that indicates the set of data cores 306 and 308 in data plane container 304 and secondary data cores 316 and 318 in secondary storage system 340 contain data items within a time range specified in the search request. In some embodiments, L 302A lists a subset of the plurality of data cores and secondary data cores to be searched. In some embodiments, L 302A is updated to only include the data cores and secondary data cores determined to possibly contain the requested data items. In some embodiments, management plane 320 stores L 302A in metadata 302. In some embodiments, metadata 302 includes probabilistic data structures, (e.g., Bloom filters) used to determine data cores and/or secondary data cores that contain relevant data items) and (paragraph 76 of Morales, a user interface displaying a dashboard 500 that allows the client to see indications of all the pending queries 502-506 that are currently executing in the distributed computing system. In some embodiments, the management plane passes results through the user interface layer to cause query statuses and query results to be displayed to the user in dashboard 500. In some embodiments, asynchronous queries 502, 504, and 506 are displayed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Nadler and include the above limitation using the teaching of Morales in order to process queries in a computing system and facilitate accessing of data stored in the computing system (see paragraph 1 of Morales).
As per claim 18 Nadler in view of Morales discloses:
The non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the task includes a metadata task associated with a filesystem (1) from the plurality of filesystems and (2) associated with the data plane, the metadata task including at least one of a dataset name change, a dataset permission change, an association or disassociation of an organization with a dataset, tagging the dataset with a label, or associating the dataset with a project. (Paragraph 50 of Nadler, the control plane 158 can then call the data governance policy manager device 152 to get the governance decisions for the action on the specific dataset, taking into account the location of the workload and other context provided by the user. For example, the context may include organization, role, etc. If the result is a denial, then the control plane 158 can update a status for the dataset to a value of “denied”).
As per claim 19 Nadler in view of Morales discloses:
The non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 17, further storing instructions to cause the processor to: cause, via the control plane, metadata associated with (1) the plurality of data planes and (2) the plurality of filesystems to be displayed, at the user compute device, as metadata associated with a single filesystem. (Abstract of Nadler, system includes a processor to generate a data plane based on dataset metadata, data plane component metadata, data governance decisions, and information technology (IT) system metrics).
As per claim 20 Nadler in view of Morales discloses:
The non-transitory, processor-readable medium of claim 17, wherein: the data plane implements a local filesystem from the plurality of filesystems; in response to the data plane executing the task, the user compute device receives local data from the local filesystem; and the control plane is excluded from receiving the local data. (Paragraph 45 of Nadler, a component that can mask data can be used to enforce a data masking policy, or a component that copies data may be used to create a local data copy to meet performance requirements, etc. The system 400 also further includes data 420 shown being received from remote server 104).
Conclusion
The prior art made or record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure is Manville (US 2016/0292429). Levin discloses:
Techniques to provide secure cloud-based storage of data shared across file system objects and clients are disclosed. In various embodiments, a primary encryption key is determined for an object associated with a plurality of component chunks of file system data. The primary encryption key is used to generate for each of said component chunks a corresponding chunk key, based at least in part on the primary encryption key and data comprising or otherwise associated with the chunk. The respective chunk keys are provided to a file system client configured to create and store the object at least in part by encrypting each chunk included in the plurality of component chunks using the chunk key provided for that chunk to generated encrypted chunk data, and combining the encrypted chunk data to create and store the object.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TESHOME HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434