DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arghyris et al (US Pat. No. 6,261,274), hereinafter Arghyris.
Regarding claim 1, Arghyris teaches a medication cartridge (Figs. 1-2), comprising:
a shell having a dispensing aperture (Fig. 1: shell 20, Fig. 2: dispensing aperture 31), and
a vial positioned in the shell (Fig. 1-2: vial 4), the vial being movable between a stored position (Col. 4: lines 35-45, hold the dispenser in its rest position) and a full pump position to dispense medicine from the vial and dispensing aperture. (Col. 4: lines 30-50, when the trigger means are actuated the support element drives the reservoir, the case 4 and the pump 1 upwards)
wherein the vial is slidably positioned within the shell between the stored and full pump position, (Figs. 1-2, Col. 45-50, the vial moves vertically upwards and so is slidable within the shell) the vial having a pump mechanism (Figs 1-2: pump 1) with an outlet aligned with the dispensing aperture (Fig. 1, 2 aperture through pump to nozzle 30) and being operable for rising within the shell to activate the pump mechanism, (Col. 4: lines 40-45, the pump is moved by the spring towards its dispensing position)such that upon actuation, the vial is forced upward within the shell to compress and activate the pump mechanism and dispense medicine from the vial and dispensing aperture. (Col. 4: lines 40-45)
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 9-11, 13, 15-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1- 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,512,200. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the instant claims are found in the patented claims.
Regarding claim 1, Patent 12,512,200 teaches a medication cartridge (Claim 1 & claim 12, a medication cartridge), comprising: a shell having a dispensing aperture (Claim 1 & claim 12, a shell having a dispensing aperture); and a vial positioned in the shell (a vial slidably positioned within the shell, claim 1), the vial being movable between a stored position and a full pump position to dispense medication from the vial and dispensing aperture (claim 1 & claim 12, the vial being movable between a stored position and a full pump position to dispense medicine from the vial and dispensing aperture. )
wherein the vial is slidably positioned within the shell between the stored and full pump position, (claim 5, slidable coupling) the vial having a pump mechanism with an outlet aligned with the dispensing aperture and being operable for rising within the shell to activate the pump mechanism, such that upon actuation (Claim 6) , the vial is forced upward within the shell to compress and activate the pump mechanism and dispense medicine from the vial and dispensing aperture. (Claim 6, rises upwards)
Regarding claim 2, Patent 12,512,200 teaches the medication cartridge as set forth in Claim 1, wherein the shell includes one or more rising slots passing through the shell and rising from a bottom end of the shell toward an apex. (Claim 1, wherein the shell includes one or more rising slots passing through the shell and rising from a bottom end of the shell toward an apex)
Regarding claim 3, Patent 12,512,200 teaches the medication cartridge as set forth in Claim 2, wherein the vial includes one or more rising channels that align with the one or more rising slots and rise from a bottom end of the vial toward the apex. (Claim 1wherein the vial includes one or more rising channels that align with the one or more rising slots and rise from a bottom end of the vial toward the apex)
Regarding claim 4, Patent 12,512,200 teaches the medication cartridge as set forth in claim e, wherein the shell includes one or more lateral slots that traverse laterally away from the apex. (Claim 2)
Regarding claim 5, Patent 12,512,200 teaches the medication cartridge as set forth in claim 4, wherein the vial includes downward descending channels that descend downward at an angle from the apex. (Claim 3)
Regarding claim 6, Patent 12,512,200 teaches the medication cartridge as set forth in claim 5, wherein the shell and vial include a slideable coupling to rotationally lock the vial within the shell, thereby preventing rotation of the vial with respect to the shell. (Claim 4)
Regarding claim 7, Patent 12,512,200 teaches the medication cartridge as set forth in Claim 6, wherein the slidable coupling includes one or more protruding ridges that protrude inward into the shell and an elongated channel formed on an exterior wall of the vial, such that the one or more protruding ridges slidably lock within the elongated channel, thereby allowing the vial to slide with respect to the shell while preventing rotation between the vial and shell. (Claim 5)
Regarding claim 9, Patent 12,512,200 teaches the medication cartridge as set forth in Claim 8, wherein the shell includes a keyed marking that is formed to lock against a corresponding lock formed in a dispensing device to prevent rotation of the shell with respect to the dispensing device. (Claim 7)
Regarding claim 10, Patent 12,512,200 teaches the medication cartridge as set forth in Claim 1, wherein the shell and vial include a slidable coupling to rotationally lock the vial within the shell, thereby preventing rotation of the vial with respect to the shell. (Claim 8)
Regarding claim 11, Patent 12,512,200 teaches the medication cartridge as set forth in Claim 10, wherein the slidable coupling includes one or more protruding ridges that protrude inward into the shell and an elongated channel formed on an exterior wall of the vial, such that the one or more protruding ridges slidably lock within the elongated channel, thereby allowing the vial to slide with respect to the shell while preventing rotation between the vial and shell. (Claim 9)
Regarding claim 13, Patent 12,512,200 teaches the medication cartridge as set forth in Claim 1, wherein the shell includes a keyed marking that is formed to lock against a corresponding lock formed in a dispensing device to prevent rotation of the shell with respect to the dispensing device.(Claim 11)
Regarding claim 15, Patent 12,512,200 teaches the medication cartridge as set forth in Claim 1, wherein the shell and vial include a slidable coupling to rotationally lock the vial within the shell, thereby preventing rotation of the vial with respect to the shell.(Claim 12)
Regarding claim 16, Patent 12,512,200 teaches the medication cartridge as set forth in Claim 15, wherein the slidable coupling includes one or more protruding ridges that protrude inward into the shell and an elongated channel formed on an exterior wall of the vial, such that the one or more protruding ridges slidably lock within the elongated channel, thereby allowing the vial to slide with respect to the shell while preventing rotation between the vial and shell. (claim 13)
Regarding claim 17, Patent 12,512,200 teaches the medication cartridge as set forth in Claim 16, wherein the vial is slidable within the shell between the stored position and the full pump position, such that when the vial is slid from the stored position to the full pump position, the pump mechanism is actuated to pump medicine from the vial and out of the dispensing aperture.(Claim 14)
Regarding claim 18, Patent 12,512,200 teaches the medication cartridge as set forth in Claim 17, wherein the shell includes a keyed marking that is formed to lock against a corresponding lock formed in a dispensing device to prevent rotation of the shell with respect to the dispensing device. (Claim 15)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARGARET M LUARCA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785