DETAILED ACTION
Application No. 19/379,286 filed on 11/04/2025 has been examined. In this Office Action, claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/28/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,493,688 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they cover substantially the same recitations and limitations, with certain limitations worded more broadly or slightly differently from the patented claims, but in essence they convey substantially the same subject matter. The instant application is a broader scope of recitation of the claims of the already patented application.
Present Application 19/379286
US PAT. 12493688 B1
1. A method comprising: receiving, based on user interaction with a user interface, a user input of a natural language search query requesting a specialized search of a database; reducing a corpus of files within the database to a reduced corpus for a large language model to process by performing a query lookup using the database, the query lookup returning a plurality of files that at least partially match the search query, the plurality of files that at least partially match the search query populating the reduced corpus to the exclusion of other files in the database; prompting a large language model to generate an answer to the natural language search query using only the reduced corpus; and outputting for display the answer using the user interface.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the user interaction comprises a selection of the natural language search query from a plurality of recommendations displayed using the user interface.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein the user interaction comprises input of text comprising the natural language search query by the user.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising generating a search vocabulary for the query lookup based on the natural language search query by: extracting a set of keywords from the natural language search query; expanding the set of keywords to include additional expansion keywords from a keyword expansion repository; and using the expanded set of keywords as the search vocabulary.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the database is generated by monitoring cybersecurity threats over time and generating entries having monitored data for each cybersecurity threat.
6. The method of claim 5, wherein the database is generated by a same entity that provides the user interface.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein outputting for display the answer further comprises initiating a remediation for an identified cybersecurity threat.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein outputting for display the answer using the user interface further comprises outputting for display one or more of a visualization of the query lookup and a visualization of at least a portion of the plurality of files.
9. The method of claim 8, wherein the visualization of the query lookup and/or the visualization of the at least the portion of the plurality of files is selectable.
10. A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising memory with instructions encoded thereon that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations, the instructions comprising instructions to: receive, based on user interaction with a user interface, a user input of a natural language search query requesting a specialized search of a database; reduce a corpus of files within the database to a reduced corpus for a large language model to process by performing a query lookup using the database, the query lookup returning a plurality of files that at least partially match the search query, the plurality of files that at least partially match the search query populating the reduced corpus to the exclusion of other files in the database; prompt a large language model to generate an answer to the natural language search query using only the reduced corpus; and output for display the answer using the user interface.
11. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 10, wherein the user interaction comprises a selection of the natural language search query from a plurality of recommendations displayed using the user interface.
12. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11, wherein the user interaction comprises input of text comprising the natural language search query by the user.
13. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 10, further comprising instructions to generate a search vocabulary for the query lookup based on the natural language search query by: extracting a set of keywords from the natural language search query; expanding the set of keywords to include additional expansion keywords from a keyword expansion repository; and using the expanded set of keywords as the search vocabulary.
14. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 10, wherein the database is generated by monitoring cybersecurity threats over time and generating entries having monitored data for each cybersecurity threat.
15. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 14, wherein the database is generated by a same entity that provides the user interface.
16. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 10, wherein the instructions to output for display the answer further comprise instructions to initiate a remediation for an identified cybersecurity threat.
17. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 10, wherein the instructions to output for display the answer further comprise instructions to output for display one or more of a visualization of the query lookup and a visualization of at least a portion of the plurality of files.
18. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the visualization of at least one of the query lookup and the visualization of the at least the portion of the plurality of files is selectable.
19. A system comprising: memory with instructions encoded thereon; and one or more processors that, when executing the instructions, are caused to perform operations comprising: receiving, based on user interaction with a user interface, a user input of a natural language search query requesting a specialized search of a database; reducing a corpus of files within the database to a reduced corpus for a large language model to process by performing a query lookup using the database, the query lookup returning a plurality of files that at least partially match the search query, the plurality of files that at least partially match the search query populating the reduced corpus to the exclusion of other files in the database; prompting a large language model to generate an answer to the natural language search query using only the reduced corpus; and outputting for display the answer using the user interface.
20. The system of claim 19, wherein the user interaction comprises a selection of the natural language search query from a plurality of recommendations displayed using the user interface.
1. A method comprising: receiving, based on user interaction with a user interface, a user input of a natural language search query for identifying a cybersecurity threat by way of a search interface, the natural language search query requesting a specialized search of a threat database; generating a search vocabulary based on the natural language search query; reducing a corpus of files within the threat database to a reduced corpus for a large language model to process by performing a query lookup using the threat database, the query lookup returning a plurality of files that at least partially match the search query, the plurality of files that at least partially match the search query populating the reduced corpus to the exclusion of other files in the threat database; prompting a large language model to generate an answer to the natural language search query using only the reduced corpus; and outputting for display the answer using the user interface.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the user interaction comprises a selection of the natural language search query from a plurality of recommendations displayed using the user interface.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein the user interaction comprises input of text comprising the natural language search query by the user.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein generating the search vocabulary based on the natural language search query comprises: extracting a set of keywords from the natural language search query; expanding the set of keywords to include additional expansion keywords from a keyword expansion repository; and using the expanded set of keywords as the search vocabulary.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the threat database is generated by monitoring cybersecurity threats over time and generating entries having monitored data for each cybersecurity threat.
6. The method of claim 5, wherein the threat database is generated by a same entity that provides the user interface.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein outputting for display the answer further comprises initiating a remediation for an identified cybersecurity threat.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein outputting for display the answer using the user interface further comprises outputting for display one or more of a visualization of the query lookup and a visualization of at least a portion of the plurality of files.
9. The method of claim 8, wherein the visualization of the query lookup and/or the visualization of the at least the portion of the plurality of files is selectable.
10. A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising memory with instructions encoded thereon that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations, the instructions comprising instructions to: receive, based on user interaction with a user interface, a user input of a natural language search query for identifying a cybersecurity threat by way of a search interface, the natural language search query requesting a specialized search of a threat database; generate a search vocabulary based on the natural language search query; reduce a corpus of files within the threat database to a reduced corpus for a large language model to process by performing a query lookup using the threat database, the query lookup returning a plurality of files that at least partially match the search query, the plurality of files that at least partially match the search query populating the reduced corpus to the exclusion of other files in the threat database; prompt a large language model to generate an answer to the natural language search query using only the reduced corpus; and output for display the answer using the user interface.
11. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 10, wherein the user interaction comprises a selection of the natural language search query from a plurality of recommendations displayed using the user interface.
12. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11, wherein the user interaction comprises input of text comprising the natural language search query by the user.
13. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 10, wherein the instructions to generate the search vocabulary based on the natural language search query comprise instructions to: extract a set of keywords from the natural language search query; expand the set of keywords to include additional expansion keywords from a keyword expansion repository; and use the expanded set of keywords as the search vocabulary.
14. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 10, wherein the threat database is generated by monitoring cybersecurity threats over time and generating entries having monitored data for each cybersecurity threat.
15. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 14, wherein the threat database is generated by a same entity that provides the user interface.
16. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 10, wherein the instructions to output for display the answer further comprise instructions to initiate a remediation for an identified cybersecurity threat.
17. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 10, wherein the instructions to output for display the answer further comprise instructions to output for display one or more of a visualization of the query lookup and a visualization of at least a portion of the plurality of files.
18. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the visualization of at least one of the query lookup and the visualization of the at least the portion of the plurality of files is selectable.
19. A system comprising: memory with instructions encoded thereon; and one or more processors that, when executing the instructions, are caused to perform operations comprising: receiving, based on user interaction with a user interface, a user input of a natural language search query for identifying a cybersecurity threat by way of a search interface, the natural language search query requesting a specialized search of a threat database; generating a search vocabulary based on the natural language search query; reducing a corpus of files within the threat database to a reduced corpus for a large language model to process by performing a query lookup using the threat database, the query lookup returning a plurality of files that at least partially match the search query, the plurality of files that at least partially match the search query populating the reduced corpus to the exclusion of other files in the threat database; prompting a large language model to generate an answer to the natural language search query using only the reduced corpus; and outputting for display the answer using the user interface.
20. The system of claim 19, wherein the user interaction comprises a selection of the natural language search query from a plurality of recommendations displayed using the user interface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seuss et al (US 2025/0307568 A1) in view of Heller et al (US 12,067,366 B1).
As per claim 1, Seuss teaches a method comprising: receiving, based on user interaction with a user interface, a user input of a natural language search query requesting a specialized search of a database (Paragraph [0024]- “In operation, user 36 inputs a query 42 using the one or more user input devices 37.” Examples include the natural-language question “What are the trends in fintech?” Paragraph [0025]- the query is supplied to a search engine searching document databases, including a “curated group of documents” comprising financial reports. Paragraph [0051]- the editable query box permits the user to edit and “re-submit it using the search button 202); reducing a corpus of files within the database to a reduced corpus for a large language model to process by performing a query lookup using the database, the query lookup returning a plurality of files that at least partially match the search query, the plurality of files that at least partially match the search query populating the reduced corpus to the exclusion of other files in the database (Paragraph [0040]- searching the database yields “a first set 46(A) of returned documents responsive to the query 42,” from which subsets are generated. Paragraph [0026]- the system selects the first 10 or 20 returned documents or dynamically determines how many documents to select. Paragraph [0032]- “the documents of subset 48(A) are fed directly into second prompt builder 58 to produce prompt 60, The selected documents constitute the reduced corpus. Exclusion of unselected database documents from the prompt-input corpus follows from the disclosed subset workflow.);
and outputting for display the answer using the user interface (Paragraph [0034]- the generated meta-summary is supplied to UI 68 “to be displayed to the user 36 on display screen 38.” Paragraph [0047]- “UI 68 displays a meta- or meta-meta-summary 64,”, paragraphs [0032] and [0045])- prompting the LLM to generate a response from the selected documents).
Seuss does not explicitly teach prompting a large language model to generate an answer to the natural language search query using only the reduced corpus;
However, Heller teaches prompting a large language model to generate an answer to the natural language search query using only the reduced corpus (Column 33, lines 16-28, the synthesis prompt identifies the supplied documents, requests an answer to the user’s question and column 30, lines 23–58, column 32, lines 59–67, column 33, lines 1–3, supplied documents originate from search results and relevance processing);
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Heller with the teachings of Seuss by incorporating Heller’s instruction to draw the answer only from the supplied documents into Seuss’s prompt containing the reduced corpus, in order to reduce unsupported information in the generated answer and improve its accuracy by grounding the answer in the query-responsive documents
Regarding claims 10,19, claims 10, 19 are rejected for substantially the same reason as claim 1 above.
Claims 2-3, 8-9, 11-12, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seuss et al (US 2025/0307568 A1) in view of Heller et al (US 12,067,366 B1) further in view of Tea et al (US 12,182,111 B1).
As per claim 2, Seuss and Heller do not explicitly teach wherein the user interaction comprises a selection of the natural language search query from a plurality of recommendations displayed using the user interface.
However, Tea teaches wherein the user interaction comprises a selection of the natural language search query from a plurality of recommendations displayed using the user interface (Column 3, lines 10-35, e.g., UI 102 includes search field 104 and a plurality of natural-language search queries, including “Show me logs from recently triggered alerts” and “Show me logs from server 7.” Column 12, lines 37–39, e.g., “The system pre-generates candidate queries the user can simply click/select rather than type. These are presented as clickable buttons that when clicked, they become queries,”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Tea with the teachings of Seuss, as modified by Heller, by displaying a plurality of selectable natural-language query recommendations in the user interface, in order to assist users in formulating relevant searches and reduce the manual input needed to submit a search query.
As per claim 3, wherein the user interaction comprises input of text comprising the natural language search query by the user (Column 5, lines 61–67, continuing at column 6, lines 1–16, the user selects “Show me logs from stream,” after which the interface supplies a search field and autocomplete suggestions. The user then adds “where caller module” to the search field. Column 6, lines 32–36, the user may continue typing or select an autocomplete option before the system performs the requested query, Tea).
As per claim 8, wherein outputting for display the answer using the user interface further comprises outputting for display one or more of a visualization of the query lookup and a visualization of at least a portion of the plurality of files (Column 5, lines 57–63 — the interface displays query results “such as a histogram of relevant events, and a table with the logs found by executing the query.” Column 9, lines 46–61 — dashboards supply visual representations of data, including charts, tables, filtering, drill-down, and other visualizations, Tea).
As per claim 9, wherein the visualization of the query lookup and/or the visualization of the at least the portion of the plurality of files is selectable (Column 9, lines 46–61 — the dashboard language can “create charts, tables, filter and drill down into data, and other visualizations, Tea).
Regarding claims 11-12, 20, claims 11-12, 20 are rejected for substantially the same reason as claims 2-3 above.
Regarding claims 17-18, claims 17-18 are rejected for substantially the same reason as claims 8-9 above.
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seuss et al (US 2025/0307568 A1) in view of Heller et al (US 12,067,366 B1) further in view of Marchisio et al (US 7,953,593 B2).
As per claim 4, Seuss and Heller do not explicitly teach further comprising generating a search vocabulary for the query lookup based on the natural language search query by: extracting a set of keywords from the natural language search query; expanding the set of keywords to include additional expansion keywords from a keyword expansion repository; and using the expanded set of keywords as the search vocabulary.
However, Marchisio teaches further comprising generating a search vocabulary for the query lookup based on the natural language search query by: extracting a set of keywords from the natural language search query (Column 12, lines 63–67, continuing at column 13, lines 1–9 — the natural-language query is “parsed into syntactic units with grammatical roles,” and the “relevant entity and action terms” are transformed into query-language formulations for keyword searching); expanding the set of keywords to include additional expansion keywords from a keyword expansion repository (Column 27, lines 4–8 — “synonyms are handled by searching the ontology structure for synonyms of a specified term, and, if they are present, adding keyword searches for each synonym found.” Column 14, lines 41–43 — synonyms are specified as properties of an ontology or “in a dictionary,”); and using the expanded set of keywords as the search vocabulary (Column 27, lines 50–65 — the processor reformulates the query based on the transformations into keyword searches, executes the searches, combines their results, and forwards the results to the interface).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Marchisio with the teachings of Seuss, as modified by Heller, by extracting keywords from the natural-language search query and expanding those keywords using synonyms stored in an ontology or dictionary, in order to retrieve relevant documents that express the requested concepts using different terminology and improve the coverage of the query lookup.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is rejected for substantially the same reason as claim 4 above.
Claims 5-6 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seuss et al (US 2025/0307568 A1) in view of Heller et al (US 12,067,366 B1) further in view of Humphrey et al (US 2024/0414191 A1).
As per claim 5, Seuss and Heller do not explicitly teach wherein the database is generated by monitoring cybersecurity threats over time and generating entries having monitored data for each cybersecurity threat.
However, Humphrey teaches wherein the database is generated by monitoring cybersecurity threats over time and generating entries having monitored data for each cybersecurity threat (Paragraph [0135] — “The data store 135 can store the metrics and previous threat alerts associated with network traffic for a period of time, which is, by default, at least 27 days. This corpus of data is fully searchable.” The appliance uses network probes to monitor traffic and records associated data and metadata in the data store. Paragraph [0136] — historical process and connection data is collected, maintained, and “updated over time.” Paragraph [0032] — a task-dedicated LLM receives a history of cybersecurity breaches/model breaches and severity scores for summarization and recommendations).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Humphrey with the teachings of Seuss, as modified by Heller, by using a searchable database populated with threat alerts and associated data collected through cybersecurity monitoring over time, in order to enable the system to answer cybersecurity queries using recorded threat information and monitored data relevant to the identified threats.
As per claim 6, wherein the database is generated by a same entity that provides the user interface ([0076], 0135], cybersecurity appliance 100 includes the user interface and formatting module 130 and data store 135, Humphrey).
Regarding claims 14-15, claims 14-15 are rejected for substantially the same reason as claims 5-6 above.
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seuss et al (US 2025/0307568 A1) in view of Heller et al (US 12,067,366 B1) further in view of Lal et al (US 2024/0414190 A1).
As per claim 7, Seuss and Heller do not explicitly teach wherein outputting for display the answer further comprises initiating a remediation for an identified cybersecurity threat.
However, Lal teaches wherein outputting for display the answer further comprises initiating a remediation for an identified cybersecurity threat (Paragraph [0133] — the restoration engine is configured to “conduct one or more remediation actions” to restore components to a trusted operational state. “These remediation actions might be fully automatic, or require a specific human confirmation decision before they begin.” Paragraph [0134] — the engine provides explanations “in an NLP format” of recommended adjustments. Paragraph [0160] — recommendation content can be provided to computing device 320 “for display” with misconfiguration or restore recommendations).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Lal with the teachings of Seuss, as modified by Heller, by incorporating initiation of the disclosed automatic or human-confirmed remediation into the workflow that displays the answer concerning an identified cybersecurity threat, in order to enable the system to present an explanation of the threat and commence the corresponding corrective action through its coordinated remediation functions.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is rejected for substantially the same reason as claim 7 above.
It is noted that any citation [[s]] to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any wav. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. [[See, MPEP 2123]].
Conclusion
/Mohammad A Sana/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2166