DETAILED ACTION
Applicants' arguments, filed 08/03/2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
This is a new matter rejection.
Claim 17 recites wherein each of the polyglyceryl fatty acid ester compounds of the mixture of polyglyceryl fatty acid ester compounds is present in an amount of 2 wt. to 6 wt. %. The claim fails to comply with the written description requirement since this limitation is not supported in the specification. At best, paragraph [0094] of the specification discloses about 2.25% to about 6% emulsifier. An amount of about 2.25% does not necessarily encompass the entire range of about 2 wt. %.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 17-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halpern Chirch et al. (US 2018/0263869, Sep. 20, 2018) (hereinafter Halpern Chirch) in view of McCormick et al. (US 2010/0310871, Dec. 9, 2010) (hereinafter McCormick), SaNogueira et al. (US 2003/0059383, Mar. 27, 2003) (hereinafter SaNogueira), Singleton (US 2012/0014882, Jan. 19, 2012), Elementis Specialties (Color Cosmetic Formulary, Apr. 2008), Jones (US 2011/0171148, Jul. 14, 2011), Candau et al. (US 2009/0041691, Feb. 12, 2009) (hereinafter Candau), and Argan. Co (Sun Care, Sep. 14, 2017), as evidenced by Pitarch Lopez et al. (WO 2020/216676 A1, Oct. 29, 2020) (hereinafter Pitarch Lopez) and Parchem (Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, 2026).
Halpern Chirch discloses a sunscreen composition comprising photosensitive capsules, wherein the photosensitive capsules comprise one or more UV filters (abstract). 90% or more of the one or more UV filters is released from the photosensitive capsule within about 1 minute after exposure to UV-A light and/or UV-B light (i.e., broad-spectrum) (¶ [0031]). The at least one UV filter may be one or more inorganic UV filter (¶ [0043]). Suitable inorganic UV filters include titanium oxide, zinc oxide, iron oxide, and cerium oxide (¶ [0046]). The one or more UV filter may be in an amount of about 1 to about 90 wt. % based on the total weight of the sunscreen composition (¶ [0120]). The sunscreen composition may be formulated to have an SPF of 5 to 200 (¶ [0120]). The sunscreen composition may be an emulsion and will typically include one or more emulsifiers (¶ [0036]). The emulsifier is generally present in the composition from 0.3% to 30% (¶ [0124]). Film-formers are often incorporated into sunscreen composition to ensure even coverage of the UV filters and can be used to render the composition water resistant (¶ [0164]). The total amount of film-formers present in the composition is typically about 0.1 to about 25 wt. % (¶ [0167]). The composition may comprise other active ingredients (¶ [0033]). The composition may comprise emollients (¶ [0153]). The total amount of oils/emollient is typically about 0.1 to 40 wt. % (¶ [0162]). The sunscreen composition is made by homogenizing and mixing the ingredients (¶ [0180]). The composition may be transparent (¶ [0018]).
Halpern Chirch differs from the instant claims insofar as not disclosing wherein the zinc oxide is porous and has an average particle size of greater than 100 nanometers.
However, McCormick discloses mesoporous zinc oxide aggregates for use in visibly-transparent compositions that provide broad-spectrum photoprotection (¶ [0002]). The aggregates may have sizes in the range of 0.1 to 100 microns (¶ [0021]). Suitable transparent compositions include sunscreens (¶ [0051]).
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. The composition of Halpern Chirch comprises zinc oxide. Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the mesoporous zinc oxide of McCormick into the composition of Halpern Chirch since the mesoporous zinc oxide is a known and effective type of zinc oxide for sunscreen compositions as taught by McCormick.
The combined teachings of Halpern Chirch and McCormick do not teach wherein the composition comprises a mixture of polyglyceryl fatty acid ester compounds wherein each of the polyglyceryl fatty acid ester compounds contains between 3-6 glycerin units.
However, SaNogueira discloses a sunscreen composition (abstract). The composition may comprise an emulsifier such as polyglyceryl-3-diisostearate (i.e., has 3 glycerin units) and polyglyceryl-4 oleate (i.e., has 4 glycerin units) (¶ [0024]). The amount of emulsifier is about 0.01 wt. % to about 5 wt. % (¶ [0026]).
Halpern Chirch discloses wherein the composition comprises emulsifiers. Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated about 0.01 wt. % to about 5 wt. % polyglyceryl-3-diisostearate and polyglyceryl-4 oleate into the composition of Halpern Chirch since these are known emulsifiers for sunscreen compositions as taught by SaNogueira.
With regards to incorporating both polyglyceryl-3-diisostearate and polyglyceryl-4 oleate, since SaNogueira discloses the use of various emulsifiers individually, the use of the individual species in combination would have been obvious since it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions, each of which is taught by SaNogueira to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose; the idea for combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. See MPEP 2144.06.
The combined teachings of Halpern Chirch, McCormick, and SaNogueira do not teach wherein the composition comprises (I) bis-vinyl dimethicone/dimethicone copolymer and (II) dimethicone and acrylates/dimethicone copolymer.
However, Singleton discloses an anhydrous sunscreen composition (abstract). The composition includes a film forming polymer to enhance film formation and provide some water resistance (¶ [0028]). Suitable film-forming polymers include dimethicone/acrylates dimethicone copolymer (¶ [0029]). The amount of film-forming polymer may be from about 0.25% to about 15% (¶ [0030]). The composition may include a dispersed alkyl-modified silicone polymer (¶ [0031]). The dispersed alkyl-modified silicone generally serves to reduce surface tension, improve water exclusion and reduce whitening. An example of a suitable alkyl-modified silicone polymer includes copolymers of cetyl dimethicone and bis-vinyl dimethicone (¶ [0032]). The amount of dispersed alkyl-modified silicone polymer present in the concentrate may be from about 0.1% to about 1% (¶ [0033]).
Halpern Chirch discloses wherein the composition comprises film formers. Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated dimethicone/acrylates dimethicone copolymer into the composition of Halpern Chirch since it is a known and effective film forming agent as taught by Singleton.
Halpern Chirch also discloses wherein the composition should be rendered water resistant. Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated a copolymer of cetyl dimethicone and bis-vinyl dimethicone into the composition of Halpern Chirch to improve water exclusion as taught by Singleton.
The combined teachings of Halpern Chirch, McCormick, SaNogueira, and Singleton do not teach wherein the composition comprises a mixture of phenyl trimethicone, disteardimonium hectorite, and triethyl citrate.
However, Elementis Specialties discloses wherein Bentone Gel PTM V (Phenyl Trimethicone and Disteardimonium hectorite and Triethyl citrate) improves application, enhances feel properties, and stabilizes formulations (page 5).
Halpern Chirch discloses wherein the composition comprises active ingredients. Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated Bentone Gel PTM V into the composition of Beasley motivated by the desire to improve application and enhance feel properties as taught by Elementis Specialties.
The combined teachings of Halpern Chirch, McCormick, SaNogueira, Singleton, and Elementis Specialties do not teach wherein the composition comprises polyhydroxystearic acid.
However, Jones discloses a composition containing at least one sunscreen and a protein-PVP copolymer (abstract). The composition is in the form of an emulsion (or dispersion), such as a water-in-oil emulsion (¶ [0013]). By dispersion it is meant a true dispersion, i.e. where the solid particles are stable to aggregation. The particles in the dispersion are relatively uniformly dispersed and resistant to settling out on standing (¶ [0051]). The dispersion may contain a dispersing agent in order to improve the properties thereof. The dispersing agent is suitably present in the range from 1 to 30% by weight based on the total weight of metal oxide (¶ [0055]). Suitable dispersing agents include polyhydroxystearic acid (¶ [0056]).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated 1-30% polyhydroxystearic acid into the composition of Halpern Chirch motivated by the desire to improve dispersibility since it is a desire property in sunscreen compositions as taught by Jones.
The combined teachings of Halpern Chirch, McCormick, SaNogueira, Singleton, Elementis Specialties, and Jones do not teach wherein the composition comprises amorphous spherical silica.
However, Candau discloses a topically applicable cosmetic/dermatological UV protection composition (abstract). The composition may comprise fillers capable of modifying and hiding wrinkles by virtue of their intrinsic physical properties (¶ [0544]). Suitable fillers include amorphous silica microspheres (¶ [0562]). The concentration of the filler may be from 0.1% to 40% by weight (¶ [0562]).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated 0.1% to 40% amorphous silica microspheres into the composition of Halpern Chirch in order to formulate a composition capable of modifying and hiding wrinkles since amorphous silica microspheres has such property as taught by Candau.
The combined teachings of Halpern Chirch, McCormick, SaNogueira, Singleton, Elementis Specialties, Jones, and Candau do not teach wherein the composition comprises a mixture of diatomaceous algae materials.
However, Argan.Co. discloses wherein Plankton Glass Flower is a UV-protection product with absorbant, light scattering, mild exfoliant, and UV reflective properties.
As evidenced by paragraph [0080] of the instant specification, Plankton Glass Flower is described as algal photonic and porous silica crystals or alternatively, siliceous fragments of freshwater algae species, mainly Fragilaria zeilleri, Gomphomena angustatum, Navicula radiosa, and Cyclotella andancensis.
The composition of Halpern Chirch comprises one or more UV filters. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to have incorporated Plankton Glass Flower into the composition of Halpern Chirch since it is a known and effective UV filter with UV reflecting properties as taught by Argan.Co.
In regards to instant claim 17 reciting wherein the zinc oxide particles and the titanium dioxide particles are evenly dispersed in the composition, Halpern Chirch teaches wherein the ingredients of the composition are mixed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that capsules containing the zinc oxide particles and the titanium dioxide particles are evenly dispersed in the composition.
In regards to instant claim 17 reciting wherein the combination of two polysiloxane polymer compounds is in an amount such that the film-forming component causes the composition to produce a continuous film on skin when applied thereto, as noted in the instant specification in paragraph [0099], film-forming ingredients are chemicals that produce a continuous film on skin. Paragraph [0101] of the instant specification further discloses wherein film-forming polymers include (i) bis vinyl dimethicone/dimethicone copolymer, commercially available in combination with dimethicone or cetyl dimethicone and (ii) dimethicone (and) acrylates/dimethicone copolymer. Therefore, since film-formers produce a continuous film on skin, and dimethicone/acrylates dimethicone copolymer and a copolymer of cetyl dimethicone and bis-vinyl dimethicone are film-forming ingredients, the composition of the prior art comprising these ingredients would necessarily form a continuous film and thus the amount of these ingredients are in amounts that causes a composition to produce a continuous film.
In regards to instant claim 17 reciting wherein the polyhydroxystearic acid is an amount that disperses the mineral oxide particles, boosts the SPF of the composition and reduces composition whitening when the composition is applied to the skin, as noted in paragraph [0131] of the instant specification, polyhydroxystearic acid is incorporated into the claimed invention in an amount of 0.25-1.00%. Thus, 0.25-1.00% is an amount that disperses the mineral oxide particles, boosts the SPF of the composition and reduces composition whitening when the composition is applied to the skin. As discussed in the rejection, Jones discloses 1-30% polyhydroxystearic acid by weight based on the total weight of metal oxide and Halpern Chirch discloses wherein the metal oxide (i.e., zinc oxide and titanium oxide) is from about 1 to about 90 wt. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at an amount of polyhydroxystearic acid in the prior art that overlaps with 0.25-1.00%. As such, the prior art teaches an amount of polyhydroxystearic acid that disperses the mineral oxide particles, boosts the SPF of the composition and reduces composition whitening when the composition is applied to the skin.
In regards to instant claim 17 reciting wherein the composition does not cause visible whitening on the skin of a person having a Fitzpatrick Skin Type of I-IV, as noted in the instant specification in paragraph [0009], use of zinc oxide, particularly, at high concentrations, is known to leave a white pasty residue on the skin. Paragraph [0131] further discloses wherein the instant invention comprises 5% or 10% zinc oxide. Accordingly, since Halpern Chirch discloses as low as about 1 wt. % zinc oxide, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the composition of Halpern Chirch does not cause visible whitening on the skin of a person having a Fitzpatrick Skin Type of I-IV. Also, Halpern Chirch discloses wherein the composition may be transparent; therefore, it should not cause visible whitening.
In regards to instant claim 17 reciting wherein the composition is free of polyethylene glycol, Halpern Chirch does not disclose wherein the composition is required to comprise polyethylene glycol. Therefore, a composition free of polyethylene glycol would have been obvious.
In regards to instant claim 17 reciting wherein the composition is free of any organic sunscreen active ingredients, Halpern Chirch does not disclose wherein the one or more UV filters has to include organic UV filters (see paragraph [0043] of Halpern Chirch). Therefore, a composition free of organic sunscreen active ingredients would have been obvious.
In regards to instant claims 18, 19, 27, 28, 37 and 38, Halpern Chirch does not disclose wherein the composition is required to comprise styrene/acrylates copolymer or butyloctyl salicylate or poly(methyl methacrylate). Therefore, a composition free of these components would have been obvious.
In regards to instant claims 20, 29 and 39, Halpern Chirch does not disclose wherein the composition is required to comprise a specific emulsifier or film former, therefore, a composition comprising the claimed emulsifier as the only emulsifier and the claimed film-forming component as the only film-forming component would have been obvious.
In regards to instant claims 21, 30 and 40, Halpern Chirch discloses in paragraph [0031] wherein the capsules release their content upon exposure to visible light, i.e., light having a wavelength of about 380 nm to about 750 nm), thus the composition of Halpern Chirch has a critical wavelength of at least 370 nm. Additionally, as noted in paragraph [0015] of the instant specification, the claimed composition achieved a stable emulsion (i.e., one that does not separate into oil and water phases after storage for one month) with a single emulsifier. Therefore, since the composition of the prior art comprises substantially the same emulsifier as claimed, the composition of the prior art necessarily does not separate into oil and water phases after storage for one month like the claimed composition.
In regards to instant claims 23, 32, and 43, as noted in the instant specification in paragraph [0100], the composition has a water resistance of 80 minutes from film-forming polysiloxane polymers. Accordingly, since the composition of the prior art comprises substantially the same film-forming polymer as the claimed invention, the composition of the prior art is water resistant for at least 80 minutes.
In regards to instant claims 24, 33 and 42, Halpern Chirch does not disclose wherein the composition comprises a dispersant. Therefore, it would have been obvious when incorporating polyhydroxystearic acid into the composition of Halpern Chirch that it is the only polymeric dispersant.
In regards to instant claim 25 reciting wherein the ratio of the amorphous spherical silica to the mixture of materials of from different diatomaceous algae species is between about 1:4 to about 50.1, as discussed above, the amount of amorphous silica microspheres is 0.1% to 40% as taught by Candau. Argan. Co. disclose wherein Plankton Glass Flower (i.e., claimed mixture of diatomaceous algae) is a sun-care active and Halpern Chirch discloses wherein one or more UV filters are present in the range of about 1 wt.% to about 90 wt. %. Therefore, claimed ratio would have been obvious from these ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 A.
In regards to instant claim 26 reciting wherein the iron oxide particles are in an amount sufficient to impart a tint to the composition, as noted in the instant specification in paragraph [0071], iron oxide may be present from about 1.0 to 7.0%. Halpern Chirch discloses wherein one or more UV filters are present in the range of about 1 wt.% to about 90 wt. %. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that Halpern Chirch discloses an amount of iron oxide particles that would impart a tint to the composition.
In regards to instant claim 36, as evidenced by Pitarch Lopez, polyglyceryl-4-oleate has an HLB of 4-6 (page 6, line 26). As evidenced by Parchem, polyglyceryl-3-diisostearate has an HLB of 7.5.
2. Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halpern Chirch et al. (US 2018/0263869, Sep. 20, 2018) (hereinafter Halpern Chirch) in view of McCormick et al. (US 2010/0310871, Dec. 9, 2010) (hereinafter McCormick), SaNogueira et al. (US 2003/0059383, Mar. 27, 2003) (hereinafter SaNogueira), Singleton (US 2012/0014882, Jan. 19, 2012), Elementis Specialties (Color Cosmetic Formulary, Apr. 2008), Jones (US 2011/0171148, Jul. 14, 2011), Candau et al. (US 2009/0041691, Feb. 12, 2009) (hereinafter Candau), Argan. Co (Sun Care, Sep. 14, 2017), and further in view of Meyer et al. (US 2003/0044364, Mar. 6, 2003) (hereinafter Meyer).
The teachings of Halpern Chirch, McCormick, SaNogueira, Singleton, Elementis Specialties, Jones, Candau, and Argan. Co are discussed above. Halpern Chirch, McCormick, SaNogueira, Singleton, Elementis Specialties, Jones, Candau, and Argan. Co do not teach wherein the composition comprises about 0.5 wt. % to about 2 wt. %.
However, Meyer discloses a formulation for topical application comprising at least one sunscreen active agent (abstract). The composition may comprise an emollient such as squalane (¶ [0029]).
Halpern Chirch discloses wherein the composition comprises about 0.1 to about 40 wt. % emollients. Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated squalane into the composition of Halpern Chirch since it is a known and effective emollient as taught by Meyer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that SaNogueira teaches away from any composition that does not include the presence of a glucoside emulsifier.
The Examiner does not find Applicant’s argument to be persuasive. SaNogueira is not the composition being modified in the rejection. SaNogueira requiring a glucoside emulsifier does not mean that another sunscreen composition needs a glucoside emulsifier. As such, Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant argues that the mere ability to use Bentone Gel provides absolutely no teaching, suggestion, or other motivation for a skilled artisan to select Bentone Gel, and more specifically, to select Bentone Gel to the exclusion of any other potential choices as the sole agent used as a suspending dispersant in the composition at issue.
The Examiner does not find Applicant’s argument to be persuasive. As discussed in the rejection, Bentone Gel improves application and enhances feel properties. Therefore, there is motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to select Bentone Gel. Since the primary reference does not require a dispersing agent, incorporating Bentone Gel into the primary reference composition will result in a composition comprising Bentone Gel as the sole suspending dispersing component. Although the prior art does not suggest using Bentone Gel as a suspending dispersing component, rationale different from Applicant’s is permissible. The reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See MPEP 2144(IV). As such, Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Conclusion
Claims 17-44 are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRACY LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614