DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 recites the limitation "a third time interval" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim or preceding claims fails to recite a first- and second-time interval.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cho et al. (US 2020/0220367).
Re Claims 8; Cho discloses a method comprising: communicating with a power transmitter over the short-range communication channel (NFC, par 0058); and
receiving power from the power transmitter; (Fig. 10)
not receiving power from the power transmitter during an interruption of the power from the power transmitter; and (Fig. 13a-c, Par 0186 also Fig. 16 step 0168 suspend battery charging)
generating a user alert in response to a second communicator circuit receiving a power restore message. (par 0217, 0222-4)
wherein the power restore message indicates that power is again available for receiving from the transmitter after the interruption. (Fig. 16 shows the loop the system follows during charging which includes the suspension of charging and restarting of charging. Before power is restored there is communication which is disclosed at par 0213)
Re Claim 9; Cho discloses A computer program stored on a non-transitory medium, wherein the computer program when executed on a processor performs the method as claimed in claim 8. (Par 53-55)
Re Claim 10; Cho discloses comprising: detecting a user action in response to the user alert; (Fig. 17, the user accepts or rejection power request)
transmitting an acknowledgement to the transmitter based on the user action; (Par 0223) and receiving power from the power transmitter during a third time interval in response to the acknowledgement. (Par 0223)
Re Claim 11; Cho discloses wherein the acknowledgement is transmitted only if the user action satisfies a criterion. (Par 0223, Fig. 17)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US 20190346905) in view of Cho et al. (US 2020/0220367)
Re Claims 1; Song discloses a power receiver (300) comprising:
a second communicator circuit (330), wherein the second communicator circuit is arranged to communicate with a power transmitter over a communication channel; (Par 0100) and
a user interface circuit, (310) wherein the user interface circuit is arranged to generate a user alert in response to the second communicator circuit, (Par 0011-2, 65, 67, 102 and 103,)
wherein the user interface circuit is arranged to receive a user input, (Par 0059)
Song does not necessarily disclose receiving a power restore message from the power transmitter and wherein the second communicator circuit is arranged to transmit a user action message to the power transmitter in response to the user input meeting a criterion and wherein the user interface circuit is arranged to receive a user input, wherein the second communicator circuit is arranged to transmit a user action message in response to the user input meeting a criterion.
Wherein the power restore message indicates the power is available for receiving from the transmitter after an interruption of power transmission from the transmitter
However, Cho discloses receiving a power restore message from the power transmitter and wherein the second communicator circuit is arranged to transmit a user action message to the power transmitter in response to the user input meeting a criterion and wherein the user interface circuit is arranged to receive a user input, wherein the second communicator circuit is arranged to transmit a user action message in response to the user input meeting a criterion. (par 0217, 0222-4)
Wherein the power restore message indicates the power is available for receiving from the transmitter after an interruption of power transmission from the transmitter (Fig. 8a shows the transmitter is connected with the receiver which indicates that the transmitter is present and power is available and 8b showing that the available power is transferred from the transmitter to the receiver, (Fig. 13a-c, Par 0186 also Fig. 16 step 0168 suspend battery charging )
generating a user alert in response to a second communicator circuit receiving a power restore message. (par 0217, 0222-4) etc.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled int the art before the effective filing of the invention to have received a power restore message from the power transmitter prior to transmitting power to the user in order to ensure that the power shared is required so that power is not wasted.
Re Claim 2; Song discloses wherein the user interface circuit is arranged to generate the user alert message if a duration of power interruption of the power transfer signal prior to receiving the power restore message is less than a threshold. (par 0065 “The display unit 310 is configured to display a graph, an image, or data to the user.” Which would mean the display would generate the user alert message if a duration of power interruption of the power transfer signal prior to receiving the power restore message is less than a threshold. Furthermore, the state of charge and discharge of the battery is directly related to power interruption)
Claim(s) 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US 20190346905) in view of Cho et al. (US 2020/0220367) and further in view of Park et al (US 2017/0170677)
Re Claim 4; Song discloses wherein a first communicator circuit (240) wherein the second communicator circuit (330), wherein the communication channel is formed by a coupling between the first communication circuit and the second communication circuit, wherein the user interface circuit is arranged to receive a user input, (See the rejection of claim 1)
Song does not disclose comprises a first communication coil, and a second communication coil, wherein the controller circuit is arranged to initiate a sequence of disconnecting the second communication coil from a load followed by connecting the second communication coil to the load in response to the user input meeting a criterion.
However, Park discloses, wherein the controller circuit is arranged to initiate a sequence of disconnecting the second communication coil from a load (310) followed by connecting the second communication coil to the load in response to the user input meeting a criterion. (Par 0221-3 and fig. 3, the switch initiate a sequence of disconnecting the second communication coil from a load until communication is needed then connecting the second communication coil to the load in response to the user input meeting a criterion)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have added the sequence of disconnecting the second communication coil from a load followed by connecting the second communication coil to the load in response to the user input meeting a criterion in order to perform charging effectively.
The combination does not disclose the circuit comprises a first communication coil, and a second communication coil. However, replacing the first and second communication circuit with coils is functional equivalent.
5. A method comprising: receiving supply power from an external power supply; detecting a restoration of the supply power following an outage of the supply power; detecting a presence of a power receiver when the supply power is restored; arranging a communication channel to a communicator of the power receiver; transmitting a power restore message to the power receiver over the communication channel in response to detecting the restoration of the supply power; detecting a power receiver user action; initiating a power transfer to the power receiver after power restoration in response to the detection of the user action; detecting the user action in response to the first communicator circuit receiving a user action message; transmitting the user action message without receiving a user input if a duration of power interruption of a power transfer signal prior to receiving the power restore message is less than a threshold; and initiating a sequence, wherein the sequence comprises disconnecting a second communication coil from a load followed by connecting a second communication coil to the load in response to the user input meeting a criterion. (The claim is analogous to claim 1 and 4 and the same rejection is applied )
Re Claim 6; Song discloses wherein the computer program when executed on a processor (370 and 380) performs the method as claimed in claim 5.
Re Claim 7; Park discloses wherein the detecting comprises detecting a sequence, wherein the sequence comprises an absence of a second communicator circuit followed by a presence of the second communicator circuit. (Par 0221-3 and fig. 3, the switch initiate a sequence of disconnecting the second communication coil from a load until communication is needed then connecting the second communication coil to the load in response to the user input meeting a criterion)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 6–9 have been considered. The Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s characterization of Cho as addressing only the setting of a battery threshold and with the suggestion that the absence of identical terminology necessarily establishes a distinction over the prior art.
Regarding Cho, paragraphs [0213]–[0216] teach establishing wireless communication between electronic devices, requesting transmission of power, and activating wireless power transmission in response to the request. Paragraphs [0222]–[0223] and Figure 17 further teach displaying an interface requesting user confirmation and transmitting the power request when the user selects the confirmation control. Thus, Cho teaches a user interface functionally associated with user authorization of wireless power transfer; its teaching extends beyond merely setting a battery threshold.
Applicant’s reliance on dictionary definitions of “restore” and “interruption” does not, by itself, resolve whether the applied references satisfy the claims. The pertinent inquiry concerns the operation and information conveyed by the cited system. A reference need not use the exact expression “power restore message” if its described message performs the function and conveys the information required by the claim. Nevertheless, the claimed relationship between receipt of that message and generation of the alert must be established. See MPEP § 2131.
Regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103, the absence of the complete claimed arrangement from Cho alone does not necessarily defeat a rejection based on Song in view of Cho. The relevant inquiry is what the combined teachings would have suggested to a person of ordinary skill in the art. However, Applicant expressly contends that the combination lacks the disputed limitation. That contention requires a substantive response identifying where the combination teaches or suggests the limitation; it cannot be dismissed merely as an attack on the references individually. See MPEP § 2145, subsection IV.
Regarding the audible-alert feature, Park teaches an audio module that processes output through a speaker and provides audio signals associated with device state or an enabled charging mode. Accordingly, Park supplies a relevant teaching concerning audible charging notifications. The applicability of that teaching must be evaluated together with the teachings relied upon for the underlying claim limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL KESSIE/
08/18/2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836