DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cho et al. (US 2020/0220367).
Re Claims 8; Cho discloses a method comprising: communicating with a power transmitter over the short-range communication channel (NFC, par 0058); and
generating a user alert in response to a second communicator circuit receiving a power restore message. (par 0217, 0222-4)
Re Claim 9; Cho discloses A computer program stored on a non-transitory medium, wherein the computer program when executed on a processor performs the method as claimed in claim 8. (Par 53-55)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US 20190346905) in view of Cho et al. (US 2020/0220367)
Re Claims 1, 3; Song discloses a power receiver (300) comprising:
a second communicator circuit (330), wherein the second communicator circuit is arranged to communicate with a power transmitter over a communication channel; (Par 0100) and
a user interface circuit, (310) wherein the user interface circuit is arranged to generate a user alert in response to the second communicator circuit, (Par 0011-2, 65, 67, 102 and 103,)
wherein the user interface circuit is arranged to receive a user input, (Par 0059)
Song does not necessarily disclose receiving a power restore message from the power transmitter and wherein the second communicator circuit is arranged to transmit a user action message to the power transmitter in response to the user input meeting a criterion and wherein the user interface circuit is arranged to receive a user input, wherein the second communicator circuit is arranged to transmit a user action message in response to the user input meeting a criterion.
However, Cho discloses receiving a power restore message from the power transmitter and wherein the second communicator circuit is arranged to transmit a user action message to the power transmitter in response to the user input meeting a criterion and wherein the user interface circuit is arranged to receive a user input, wherein the second communicator circuit is arranged to transmit a user action message in response to the user input meeting a criterion. (par 0217, 0222-4)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled int the art before the effective filing of the invention to have receive a power restore message from the power transmitter prior to transmitting power to the user in order to ensure that the power shared is required so that power is not wasted.
Re Claim 2; Song discloses wherein the user interface circuit is arranged to generate the user alert message if a duration of power interruption of the power transfer signal prior to receiving the power restore message is less than a threshold. (par 0065 “The display unit 310 is configured to display a graph, an image, or data to the user.” Which would mean the display would generate the user alert message if a duration of power interruption of the power transfer signal prior to receiving the power restore message is less than a threshold. Furthermore, the state of charge and discharge of the battery is directly related to power interruption)
Claim(s) 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US 20190346905) in view of Cho et al. (US 2020/0220367) and further in view of Park et al (US 2017/0170677)
Re Claim 4; Song discloses wherein a first communicator circuit (240) wherein the second communicator circuit (330), wherein the communication channel is formed by a coupling between the first communication circuit and the second communication circuit, wherein the user interface circuit is arranged to receive a user input, (See the rejection of claim 1)
Song does not disclose comprises a first communication coil, and a second communication coil, wherein the controller circuit is arranged to initiate a sequence of disconnecting the second communication coil from a load followed by connecting the second communication coil to the load in response to the user input meeting a criterion.
However, Park discloses, wherein the controller circuit is arranged to initiate a sequence of disconnecting the second communication coil from a load (310) followed by connecting the second communication coil to the load in response to the user input meeting a criterion. (Par 0221-3 and fig. 3, the switch initiate a sequence of disconnecting the second communication coil from a load until communication is needed then connecting the second communication coil to the load in response to the user input meeting a criterion)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have added the sequence of disconnecting the second communication coil from a load followed by connecting the second communication coil to the load in response to the user input meeting a criterion in order to perform charging effectively.
The combination does not disclose the circuit comprises a first communication coil, and a second communication coil. However, replacing the first and second communication circuit with coils is functional equivalent.
5. A method comprising: receiving supply power from an external power supply; detecting a restoration of the supply power following an outage of the supply power; detecting a presence of a power receiver when the supply power is restored; arranging a communication channel to a communicator of the power receiver; transmitting a power restore message to the power receiver over the communication channel in response to detecting the restoration of the supply power; detecting a power receiver user action; initiating a power transfer to the power receiver after power restoration in response to the detection of the user action; detecting the user action in response to the first communicator circuit receiving a user action message; transmitting the user action message without receiving a user input if a duration of power interruption of a power transfer signal prior to receiving the power restore message is less than a threshold; and initiating a sequence, wherein the sequence comprises disconnecting a second communication coil from a load followed by connecting a second communication coil to the load in response to the user input meeting a criterion. (The claim is analogous to claim 1 and 4 and the same rejection is applied )
Re Claim 6; Song discloses wherein the computer program when executed on a processor (370 and 380) performs the method as claimed in claim 5.
Re Claim 7; Park discloses wherein the detecting comprises detecting a sequence, wherein the sequence comprises an absence of a second communicator circuit followed by a presence of the second communicator circuit. (Par 0221-3 and fig. 3, the switch initiate a sequence of disconnecting the second communication coil from a load until communication is needed then connecting the second communication coil to the load in response to the user input meeting a criterion)
Conclusion
/DANIEL KESSIE/
08/18/2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836