DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 35 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation recites “inserter tool of claim 1” in line 4 which is believed should recite “inserter tool of claim 29”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 29-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 29 is rejected as indefinite for the recitation of “impeding axial movement of the plate retainer assembly relative to the body” in line 7-8. Looking to the specification as originally filed in the abstract and Para. [0003], [0049], [0055], and [0063]-[0066] the applicant only describes wherein the lock impedes movement of the sled relative to the body portion when in the lock position. Therefore, it is unclear how the lock is meant to impede the retainer assembly. In the interest in compact prosecution the limitation will be reviewed as if the limitation recited the sled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 29-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lintula et al (US Patent Pub. 20180242987A1).
Lintula discloses an inserter tool that could be used as a calcaneal plate inserter tool. Specifically in regards to claim 29, Lintula recites a body portion (212/202); a plate retainer assembly (290) coupled to the body portion (212/202); a sled (240) coupled to the body portion (212/202) and movable relative to the body portion (212/202), the sled (240) including a guide portion (244/242); a lock (232) coupled to the body portion (212/202) and operable between a lock position (Fig. 12) and an unlocked position (Fig. 19), the lock (232), when in the lock position (Fig. 12), impeding movement of the plate retainer assembly (290) relative to the body portion (212) (Fig. 11-22; and Para. [0063]-[0069],[0071]).
In regards to claim 30, Lintula recites wherein the plate retainer assembly (290) extends through an aperture (aperture through 212 for 290 in Fig. 12) in the body portion (212) (Fig. 11-12; ad Para. [0068],[0071]).
In regards to claim 31, Lintula recites wherein the lock (232) comprises: a slider (234) passing through an opening (opening for 234, see Fig. 20) in the body portion (212) and engaging the sled (240) when the lock (232) is in the locked position (Fig. 12); a button (button portion of 232) coupled to the slider (234); and a biasing element biasing the lock (232) into the lock position (Fig. 12) and cooperating with the button to disengage the lock from the lock position upon depression of the button (Fig. 12, 19-20; and Para. [0065]-[0067]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niver et al (US Patent Pub. 20230060073A1) in view of Castaneda (US Patent Pub. 20050085824A1).
Niver discloses an inserter tool that could be used as a calcaneal plate inserter tool. Specifically in regards to claim 29-30, Niver recites a body portion (12/14); a sled (20/22) coupled to the body portion (12/14) and movable relative to the body portion (12/14), the sled (20/22) including a guide portion (16); a lock (45 on 22/45 on 20) coupled to the body portion (12/14) and operable between a lock position and an unlocked position, the lock (45 on 22/20), when in the lock position, impeding movement of the sled (20/22) relative to the body portion (12/14) (Fig. 1-8; and Para. [0030]-[0032],[0036]-[0037],[0039]). However, the reference is silent as to a plate retainer assembly.
Castaneda discloses an inserter tool that could be used as a calcaneal plate inserter tool. Specifically, in regards to claim 29, Castaneda recites a tool (100) having a body portion (106) and a guide portion (104), and a plate retainer assembly (150) coupled to the body portion (106) (Fig. 1-4; and Para. [0043],[0046]). In regards to claim 30, Castaneda recites wherein the plate retainer assembly (150) extends through an aperture (116) in the body portion (106) (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed by modifying the body portion (12/14) of Niver to have a plate retainer assembly as taught in Castaneda in order to have a way to lock the plate in place and drill a hole for a fastener at the same time.
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lintula.
Lintula discloses an inserter tool comprising a body, a sled having a guide portions, a lock, and a plate retainer assembly. In regards to claim 33, Lintula discloses wherein the slider (234) includes a first element (opening in 234) configured to engage a second element (252) formed in the sled (240) when the lock is in the locked position to thereby provide an index position of the sled (240) relative to the bod portion (212) (Fig. 19-22; and Para. [0067]). However, the reference is silent as to multiple second elements. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the sled (240) of Lintula to have multiple recessed regions on the arms since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niver in view of Castaneda as applied to claim 29 above, and father in view of Laird (US Patent Pub. 20110106086A1).
Niver in view of Castaneda discloses an inserter tool comprising a body, a sled having a guide portions, a lock, and a plate retainer assembly. However, the references are silent as to the plate retainer assembly being composed of a sleeve and drill guide.
Laird discloses an inserter tool that could be used as a calcaneal plate inserter tool. Specifically, in regards to claim 34, Laird recites a tool (150) having a plate retainer assembly (134/190), and wherein the plate retainer assembly comprises: a sleeve (190) coupled to the body portion (body of 150); and a removable coupling drill guide (134) having a threaded distal end, the coupling drill guide (134) passing through the sleeve (190) (Fig. 14; and Para. [0082]-[0083]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the combination by modifying the plate assembly (290) of Castaneda to have a composition of a sleeve and drill guide fitted therein as taught in Laird since an assembly with an extra guiding sleeve is particularly useful in situations where it is highly desirable to minimize the possibility of the fixing element cross-threading in the drilled hole, for example, where the fixing elements are relatively long (Para. [0083]).
Claim(s) 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Treace et al (US Patent Pub. 20160235454A1) in view of Lintula.
Treace discloses a method. Specifically, in regards to claim 35, Treace recites selecting a calcaneal plate (40) from among plural calcaneal plates of different sizes (See Fig. 1, Para. [0033]), attaching the selected calcaneal plate (40) to the plate inserter tool (80), and using the inserter tool to install the calcaneal plate (40) (Fig. 1; and Para. [0002], [0004], [0033] and claims 1 and 29). However, the reference is silent as to the inserter being the inserter of claim 1.
Lintula discloses a method. Specifically, in regards to claim 35, Lintula recites attaching an implant to the inserter tool of claim 1, and using the inserter tool to install the implant (Fig. 11-22; and Para. [0063]-[0069],[0071],[0082]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the inserter of Treace to include a retainer assembly, sled, guide portion, and lock as taught in Lintula in order to have an inserter that allows for the implant to be inserted while imaging allows to check correct alignment (Para. [0063]).
Claim(s) 36-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Treace in view of Lintula as applied to claim 35, in further view of Turbett (US Patent Pub. 20190021806A1).
Treace in view of Lintula disclose a method for selecting a calcaneal plate from plural plates of different sizes, attaching the plate to an inserter tool of claim 29; and using the inserter to insert the plate. However, the combination is silent as to how the tool is sterilized.
Turbett in regards to claims 36-37, recites sterilizing the plate inserter tool for subsequent use, and wherein the plate inserter tool is wrapped with a cellulose sterilization wrap (Para. [0006],[0054]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the combination by modifying the method of Treace to include sterilization as taught in Turbett in order to maintain sterility after removal from the sterilizer, the trays are wrapped in a material that allows the sterilizing agent to pass through, but protecting the inner tray from microorganisms until use (Para. [0006]).
Double Patenting
Claims 29-37 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 13, 15, and 23-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12484916B2, referred herein as Pat. ‘916. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Claims 29 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 23 of Pat. ‘916. Pat. ‘916 recites a calcaneal plate inserter tool [claim 1 col. 9 lines 49, claim 23 col. 11 lines 27] comprising: a body portion [claim 1 col. 9 lines 50, claim 23 col. 9 lines 28]; a plate retainer assembly coupled to the body portion [claim 1 col. 9 lines 51, claim 23 col. 11 lines 29]; a sled coupled to the body portion and movable relative to the body portion, the sled including a guide portion [claim 1 col. 9 lines 52-54, 59; claim 23 col. 11 lines 29-30, 36]; a lock coupled to the body portion and operable between a lock position and an unlocked position, the lock, when in the lock position, impeding axial movement of the a plate retainer assembly relative to the body [claim 1 col. 9 lines 55-58; claim 23 col. 11 lines 32-35, col. 11 line 38 to col. 12 line10].
Claims 30-34 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-5 and 24 of Pat. ‘916 for reciting substantially similar limitations.
Claim 35 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13 and 15 of Pat. ‘916. Pat. ‘916 recites a method comprising performing the following steps in any order appropriate [claim 13 col. 10 lines 36-38]: selecting a calcaneal plate from among plural calcaneal plates of different sizes [claim 13 col. 10 lines 39-40]; attaching the selected calcaneal plate to the calcaneal plate inserter tool of claim 1 [claim 13 col. 10 lines 41-42]; and using said calcaneal plate inserter tool to install the calcaneal plate [claim 15].
Conclusion
/MARCELA I. SHIRSAT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775