DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 05 November 2025.
Claims 1-6 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted was/were considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner note: no 112(f) invocations have been identified by the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burmeister et al (US 20110236197), hereafter referred to as Burmeister.
Regarding Claim 1, Burmeister discloses the following:
A turbine (10), comprising:
a turbine impeller (13);
a plurality of nozzle vanes (19), which are placed on a radially outer side with respect to the turbine impeller (13) so as to be spaced apart from each other in a circumferential direction of the turbine impeller (13), and are each provided so as to be pivotable about a pivot axis (axis of 29) extending along an axial direction of the turbine impeller (13);
a blade shaft (29), which protrudes from each of the plurality of nozzle vanes (19) in the axial direction, and is provided so as to be turnable integrally with each of the plurality of nozzle vanes (19);
an annular member (18), which extends in the circumferential direction, and is opposed to the plurality of nozzle vanes (19) in the axial direction;
a plurality of blade shaft holes (portions of 18 holding 29) that open in a first surface of the annular member (18) that is opposed to the plurality of nozzle vanes (19), the plurality of blade shaft holes (portions of 18 holding 29) being formed apart from each other in the circumferential direction, the plurality of blade shaft holes (portions of 18 holding 29) each allowing the blade shaft (29) to be inserted into the blade shaft hole (portions of 18 holding 29) and each having a bottom surface; and
an annular protruding portion (protruding portion of 18 above 29; FIG. 1) that is provided on an inner peripheral side of a second surface of the annular member (18) on a side opposite to the first surface, the annular protruding portion (protruding portion of 18 above 29; FIG. 1) extending in the circumferential direction and protruding in the axial direction (also see [0016-17]).
Regarding Claim 2, Burmeister discloses the following:
The turbine (10) according to claim 1,
wherein an entire area of the bottom surface of each of the plurality of blade shaft holes (portions of 18 holding 29) is opposed to the annular protruding portion (protruding portion of 18 above 29; FIG. 1) in the axial direction (as seen in FIG. 1).
Regarding Claim 3, Burmeister discloses the following:
The turbine (10) according to claim 1,
wherein a thickness of a part of the annular member (18) on the radially outer side with respect to the annular protruding portion (protruding portion of 18 above 29; FIG. 1) is equal to (as seen in FIG. 1) or less than a depth of each of the plurality of blade shaft holes (portions of 18 holding 29).
Regarding Claim 4, Burmeister discloses the following:
A turbocharger (see [0016]), comprising the turbine (10) of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 5, Burmeister discloses the following:
A turbocharger (see [0016]), comprising the turbine (10) of claim 2.
Regarding Claim 6, Burmeister discloses the following:
A turbocharger (see [0016]), comprising the turbine (10) of claim 3.
Conclusion
See form No. 892 for other references pertinent to the application that may not have been cited within the Office Action.
For references which show turbocharger arrangements see Page 1.
/BRIAN CHRISTOPHER DELRUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745