DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This action is in response to application filed on November 5, 2025. Claims 1-26 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson et al. (Robinson: US 2022/0067652 A1) in view of Flynn et al. (Flynn: US 2019/0333304).
Regarding Claim 1, Robinson teaches a computer-implemented method, comprising:
receiving an indication from an agent computing device of an agent at a physical location that an age and identity of a first user requesting pickup of a first age-restricted item have been verified (Par 152, the system may be adapted to confirm the identity of an individual by confirming that the individual has, in their possession, an electronic (or non-electronic) delivery notification device that was left at a primary delivery location when a carrier unsuccessfully attempted to deliver a parcel to the primary delivery location. In various embodiments, the electronic delivery notification device may include a screen or other communications mechanism for communicating, to a user, that they have received a parcel and, for example, will need to retrieve the parcel elsewhere (e.g., at a particular locker bank). And Par 142, the system may be configured to generate the PIN at least partially in response to determining that the identifying information at least partially matches the PLD information. And Par 187, the system is configured to redirect undeliverable parcels containing items that are age restricted (e.g., such as alcohol, tobacco, pharmaceuticals, firearms, etc.) to a suitable locker bank. These age restricted items may include items which would otherwise require a person of at least a particular age to be present to sign for the items at delivery. In such embodiments, when a consignee requests to retrieve the age-restricted item from the locker bank, the system may be configured to verify an age of the consignee before releasing the item to the consignee. For example, the system may determine and verify the consignee's age based at least in part on a date of birth listed on the consignee's ID card used by the system in verifying the consignee's identity as described above and),
wherein the physical location includes a locker system that includes a first locker containing the first age-restricted item previously placed in the first locker (Par 25, FIG. 1 is a block diagram of a System 110 according to a particular embodiment. As may be understood from this figure, the System 110 includes one or more computer networks 115, a Logistics Server 100, a PIN Generation Server 130, a Database 140, a Locker Bank Computer 730, a Locker Bank 700, and one or more remote computing devices such as a tablet computer 152, a desktop or laptop computer 154, or a handheld computing device 156, such as a cellular phone. In particular embodiments, the one or more computer networks facilitate communication between the Logistics Server 100, PIN Generation Server 130, Database 140, Locker Bank Computer 730, Locker Bank 700, and one or more remote computing devices 152, 154, 156. And Par 27, the Locker Bank 700 comprises one or more secure lockers, bins, receptacles, and/or designated areas made of a sufficiently strong material to prevent unwanted access to the lockers (e.g., a suitable metal such as steel, steel cage). In a particular embodiment, the locker bank comprises a plurality of secure lockers that each comprise an enclosure (e.g., a substantially rectangular enclosure) defining at least one opening. In various embodiments, the one or more lockers each comprise at least one door adjacent the opening for selectively restricting access to the interior of the one or more lockers. In particular embodiments, the at least one door is positioned to selectively prevent access to the interior of the locker enclosure through the at least one opening when the at least one door is in a closed position. In various embodiments, the at least one door is configured, when in an open position, to provide access to the interior of the locker enclosure through the at least one opening);
generating an unlock code for the first user for the first age-restricted item in response to receiving the indication that the age and identity of the first user have been verified (Par 28, the PIN Generation Server 130 is configured to generate one or more PIN numbers for unlocking one or more lockers within the Locker Bank 700. The PIN Generation Server 130 may communicate a generated PIN to the Locker Bank Computer 730, and the Locker Bank Computer 730 may be configured to allow access to a particular locker in response to entry of the PIN. And Par 142, the system may be configured to generate the PIN at least partially in response to determining that the identifying information at least partially matches the PLD information. );
providing the unlock code to a user computing device and to the locker system (Par 143, the system is configured to, after the PIN number is sent to the individual, receive input of the PIN number from the individual to whom the PIN number was provided. In various embodiments, the system is configured to receive the PIN number from the individual via a computer input device associated with the locker bank and Par 28, The PIN Generation Server 130 may communicate a generated PIN to the Locker Bank Computer 730, and the Locker Bank Computer 730 may be configured to allow access to a particular locker in response to entry of the PIN.);
receiving, at the locker system and from the first user, a user-provided unlock code (Par 143, the system is configured to, after the PIN number is sent to the individual, receive input of the PIN number from the individual to whom the PIN number was provided. In various embodiments, the system is configured to receive the PIN number from the individual via a computer input device associated with the locker bank and see also Par 144);
verifying, by the locker system, the user-provided unlock code (Par 28, PIN Generation Server 130 is configured to generate one or more PIN numbers for unlocking one or more lockers within the Locker Bank 700. The PIN Generation Server 130 may communicate a generated PIN to the Locker Bank Computer 730, and the Locker Bank Computer 730 may be configured to allow access to a particular locker in response to entry of the PIN ); and
triggering an unlocking of the first locker for the first user (Par 181-182, The consignee then enters the PIN number that they received … pens the locker in which the package is stored and see also Par 28 ).
Robinson does not explicitly disclose wherein verifying the user-provided unlock code comprises: verifying that the user-provided unlock code matches the unlock code previously provided to the locker system; and verifying that the unlock code has not expired; and triggering an unlocking of the first locker for the first user in response to determining that the unlock code received from the first user matches the unlock code previously provided to the locker system.
However, Flynn teaches secure locker systems (abstract) and further teaches
wherein verifying the user-provided unlock code comprises: verifying that the user-provided unlock code matches the unlock code previously provided to the locker system; and verifying that the unlock code has not expired; and triggering an unlocking of the first locker for the first user in response to determining that the unlock code received from the first user matches the unlock code previously provided to the locker system (Par [0137] Open lockable compartment process 440 begins in step 442. As will be disclosed in more detail later herein, process 440 may be initiated by a user of a portable wireless device 154 in conjunction with a secure locker software app downloaded onto portable wireless device 154, wherein the user selects an open locker selection in step 444… The initiate access command prompts lock access controller 176 in step 450 to start a lock access timer, such as a one second or five second timer, which may be used to limit the usable lifetimes of generated single use access authentication codes, namely, the usable lifetimes of a challenge code and a verification code of the current lock access attempt. Par 0142; In step 456, lock access controller 176 compares the received challenge code to the generated verification code. In step 458, if the challenge code and verification code are not equal or the access timer started in step 450 has expired, the process proceeds to step 460, wherein lock access controller 176 logs and reports to server based system 111 via portable wireless device 154 that the lock access transaction failed, and process 440 ends in step 462 and Par 0144; In step 458, if the challenge code matches the verification code, and the access timer started in step 450 is active and has not expired, then process 440 proceeds to step 464, wherein lock controller board 174 and lock access controller 176, via wiring harness 175e, actuates lock bolt 165e to open the lockable compartment, and may indicate such actuation and opening via indicator 166e. ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include verifying that the user-provided unlock code matches the previously provided code, as taught by Flynn, in order to allow the system to verify whether the provided locker code is correct before opening the locker (Flynn: par 137 and Par 144).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Robinson and Flynn teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the indication received from the agent computing device comprises an indication that the agent has verified the age and identity of the first user by visually verifying identification provided by the first user (Robinson: Par 184, the system is configured to enable the customer service agent to manually confirm an identity of the consignee by: (1) capturing one or more images of the consignee's identification card; (2) displaying the one or more captured images to the customer service agent; (3) displaying one or more substantially current images (e.g., one or more photographs or video images taken by the system with the one or more imaging devices 750) of the consignee to the customer service agent; and (4) enabling the customer service agent to visually confirm the identity of the consignee and provide the system with confirmation of the agent's visual confirmation of the consignee's identity.).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Robinson and Flynn teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the indication received from the agent computing device includes an image of the identification provided by the first user (Robinson: Par 184, the system is configured to enable the customer service agent to manually confirm an identity of the consignee by: (1) capturing one or more images of the consignee's identification card; (2) displaying the one or more captured images to the customer service agent; (3) displaying one or more substantially current images (e.g., one or more photographs or video images taken by the system with the one or more imaging devices 750) of the consignee to the customer service agent; and (4) enabling the customer service agent to visually confirm the identity of the consignee and provide the system with confirmation of the agent's visual confirmation of the consignee's identity).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Robinson and Flynn teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the indication received from the agent computing device includes the age or a birth date of the first user entered by the agent into a user interface of the agent computing device (Robinson: Par 184, the system is configured to enable the customer service agent to manually confirm an identity of the consignee by: (1) capturing one or more images of the consignee's identification card; (2) displaying the one or more captured images to the customer service agent; (3) displaying one or more substantially current images (e.g., one or more photographs or video images taken by the system with the one or more imaging devices 750) of the consignee to the customer service agent; and (4) enabling the customer service agent to visually confirm the identity of the consignee and provide the system with confirmation of the agent's visual confirmation of the consignee's identity and Par 187, the system may determine and verify the consignee's age based at least in part on a date of birth listed on the consignee's ID card used by the system in verifying the consignee's identity as described above. In other embodiments, the system may be configured to initiate a one-way or two-way video call between the consignee and a representative of the carrier to enable the carrier's representative to visually confirm the consignee's age by inspecting the consignee's ID card and an image of the consignee before providing authorization for the system to release the item).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Robinson and Flynn teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the indication received from the agent computing device includes an identification type of the identification provided by the first user, where identification types include driver license, other state-issued identification, or military-issued identification (Robinson: Par 187, the system may determine and verify the consignee's age based at least in part on a date of birth listed on the consignee's ID card used by the system in verifying the consignee's identity as described above. In other embodiments, the system may be configured to initiate a one-way or two-way video call between the consignee and a representative of the carrier to enable the carrier's representative to visually confirm the consignee's age by inspecting the consignee's ID card and an image of the consignee before providing authorization for the system to release the item and Par 180, government-issued ID).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Robinson and Flynn teaches the e computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the unlock code is generated by a central server (Robinson: Par 28, PIN Generation Server 130 is configured to generate one or more PIN numbers for unlocking one or more lockers within the Locker Bank 700. The PIN Generation Server 130 may communicate a generated PIN to the Locker Bank Computer 730, and the Locker Bank Computer 730 may be configured to allow access to a particular locker in response to entry of the PIN.) or by the locker system.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Robinson and Flynn teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the unlock code is provided to the agent computing device (Robinson: Par 141, in response to determining that the identifying information at least partially matches the PLD information, the system provides a PIN number to the person ).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Robinson and Flynn teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 7, wherein the unlock code is provided to the user computing device using a SMS (Simple Message Service) message (Robinson: Par 141, in response to determining that the identifying information at least partially matches the PLD information, the system provides a PIN number to the person. The system may provide the PIN number to the person via, for example, SMS, text message, e-mail, voice message, etc.), an in-application message, an electronic mail message, or a push message.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Robinson and Flynn teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the unlock code is received at the locker system as touch inputs of an input device of the locker system (Robinson: Fig. 17-18 and Par 181, provides a PIN number to the consignee (e.g., via SMS/Text, or via telephone call) via the mobile phone number provided. The consignee then enters the PIN number that they received on their mobile phone via the exemplary screen display depicted in FIG. 18 ).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Robinson and Flynn teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the unlock code is received at the locker system in s government response to receiving an image of the unlock code at an image scanner of the locker system (Robinson: Par 172; “Scan Your Locker Access Barcode”).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Robinson and Flynn teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the unlock code is received at the locker system, using wireless communication, from the user computing device (Robinson: Par 26, [0026] The one or more computer networks 115 may include any of a variety of types of wired or wireless computer networks such as the Internet, a private intranet, a public switch telephone network (PSTN), or any other type of network. The communication link between the Logistics Server 100, Pin Generation Server 130, Database 140, Locker Bank Computer 730, and Locker Bank 700 may be, for example, implemented via a Local Area Network (LAN) or via the Internet. And Par 181, provides a PIN number to the consignee (e.g., via SMS/Text, or via telephone call) via the mobile phone number provided. The consignee then enters the PIN number that they received on their mobile phone).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Robinson and Flynn teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the generated unlock code is provided to the locker system for verification in response to the locker system requesting the unlock code after the locker system receives the user-provided unlock code (Flynn: Par 145, The request to assign PIN results in a similar process flow as process 440, namely, an initiate user PIN command sent by the portable wireless device to the lock access controller and the generation and of a challenge code by server based systems 111 which is then sent to the user portable wireless device. The assign user pin submission by portable wireless device 154 with the selected PIN in combination with a successful challenge code to lock access controller 176 for lock 162f, will cause lock access controller 176 for the duration of the present rental session or assignment to accept, via keypad wiring harness 167f, a correctly entered user PIN, when entered through keypad 164f, and via wiring harness 175f, actuate lock bolt 165f to open lock 162f and actuate indicator 166f to indicate a successful opening, as if a matching of a verification code and challenge code had occurred in conjunction with an open lock request.).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Robinson and Flynn teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: performing a secondary verification of identification provided by the first user (Robinson: Par 180-181, In response to the consignee scanning their “Information Notice,” the system retrieves information associated with the information notice and prompts the consignee to insert a government-issued ID into the card reader 760 in order to verify the consignee's identity as shown in FIG. 16. If the consignee does not have a suitable government issued ID, the consignee may select an indicia to indicate this and enter their mobile phone number as shown in FIG. 17. After the consignee enters their mobile phone number into the system, the system confirms the consignee's identity based on their mobile phone number and then provides a PIN number to the consignee (e.g., via SMS/Text, or via telephone call) via the mobile phone number provided ).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Robinson and Flynn teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 13, wherein the secondary verification comprises automatically extracting a birth date of the first user from an image of the identification and automatically verifying the age of the first user based on the extracted birth date (Robinson: par 187, the system may determine and verify the consignee's age based at least in part on a date of birth listed on the consignee's ID card used by the system in verifying the consignee's identity as described above.).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Robinson and Flynn teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 13, wherein the secondary verification comprises analyzing an image of the identification to verify authenticity of the identification (Robinson: Par 187, the system may be configured to initiate a one-way or two-way video call between the consignee and a representative of the carrier to enable the carrier's representative to visually confirm the consignee's age by inspecting the consignee's ID card and an image of the consignee before providing authorization for the system to release the item.).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Robinson and Flynn teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising logging information in response to the triggering of the unlocking of the first locker (Flynn: Par [0144] In step 458, if the challenge code matches the verification code, and the access timer started in step 450 is active and has not expired, then process 440 proceeds to step 464, wherein lock controller board 174 and lock access controller 176, via wiring harness 175e, actuates lock bolt 165e to open the lockable compartment, and may indicate such actuation and opening via indicator 166e. Furthermore in step 464, lock access controller 176 logs and reports to server based system 111 via portable wireless device 154 the successful lock access transaction. ).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Robinson and Flynn teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving a request from the agent computing device to regenerate a new unlock code (Flynn: single use access authentication code, Par 137; The initiate access command prompts lock access controller 176 in step 450 to start a lock access timer, such as a one second or five second timer, which may be used to limit the usable lifetimes of generated single use access authentication codes, namely, the usable lifetimes of a challenge code and a verification code of the current lock access attempt. Further in step 450, lock access controller 176 retrieves the derivation key and input code for lock 162e and generates the verification code, per the single use access authentication code equation disclosed earlier and restated below for convenience);
generating a second unlock code in response to the request to regenerate the new unlock code (Flynn: Par 137-139; Further in step 450, lock access controller 176 retrieves the derivation key and input code for lock 162e and generates the verification code, per the single use access authentication code equation disclosed earlier and restated below for convenience:
Code(n)=E[Code(n−1),CDK] [0138] Where: [0139] Code (n) is the next single use access authentication code following the last generated code, and Par [0142] CDK is the code derivation key which is used to encrypt the last generated single use access authentication code, Code (n−1) as the input code, to create the next code, Code (n).);
invalidating the unlock code (Flynn: Par 137; Once connected, in step 448, portable wireless device 154, sends an open lock request to server based system 111 via communication links 188 and 181 and network 180, and sends an initiate access command to lock access controller 176. The initiate access command prompts lock access controller 176 in step 450 to start a lock access timer, such as a one second or five second timer, which may be used to limit the usable lifetimes of generated single use access authentication codes, namely, the usable lifetimes of a challenge code and a verification code of the current lock access attempt. ); and providing the second unlock code to the user computing device, the agent computing device, and the locker system (Flynn: Par 137-139; Further in step 450, lock access controller 176 retrieves the derivation key and input code for lock 162e and generates the verification code, per the single use access authentication code equation disclosed earlier and restated below for convenience: Code(n)=E[Code(n−1),CDK] [0138] Where: [0139] Code (n) is the next single use access authentication code following the last generated code, and Par [0142] in step 450, lock access controller 176 updates the input code with the newly generated verification code for lock 162e and increments the sequence number for lock 162e. In step 452, server based system 111 retrieves the derivation key and input code from record 205 (which corresponds to lock 162e) of table 200 and generates the challenge code, per the above access code equation, and sends the challenge code to portable wireless device 154..).
Claims 18-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson et al. (Robinson: US 2022/0067652 A1) in view of Huxter (US 2005/0131774 A1).
Regarding Claim 18, Robinson teaches a computer-implemented method, comprising:
receiving, at a web interface, a request to assign a locker associated with a locker system for delivery of an item associated with a first user (Par [0029] FIG. 2 illustrates a diagrammatic representation of a computer architecture 120 that can be used within the System 110, for example, as a client computer (e.g., one of client computers 152, 154, 156 shown in FIG. 1), or as a server computer (e.g., Logistics Server 100 shown in FIG. 1). And Par [0030]; he computer 120 may be connected (e.g., networked) to other computers in a LAN, an intranet, an extranet, and/or the Internet. As noted above, the computer 120 may operate in the capacity of a server or a client computer in a client-server network environment, or as a peer computer in a peer-to-peer (or distributed) network environment. The computer 120 may be a personal computer (PC), a tablet PC, a set-top box (STB), a Personal Digital Assistant (PDA), a cellular telephone, a web appliance, a server, a network router, a switch or bridge, or any other computer capable of executing a set of instructions (sequential or otherwise) that specify actions to be taken by that computer. And Par [0039], FIG. 3 is a flow chart of operations performed by an exemplary Parcel Redirection Module 300. In particular embodiments, the Parcel Redirection Module 300 may facilitate the redirection of one or more parcels from a primary delivery location (e.g., the original intended delivery location of a parcel, such as the intended parcel recipient's residence) to an alternate delivery location (e.g., such as a suitable locker bank or attended access point). Although the Parcel Redirection Module 300 below particularly describes parcel redirection to a locker bank, it should be understood in the context of this disclosure that the Parcel Redirection Module 300 may be utilized in the context of the system to redirect one or more parcels to any other suitable alternate delivery location or other location. );
in response to the request to assign the locker, identifying a particular locker associated with the locker system for delivery of the item (Par [0056], In particular embodiments, the system is configured to allow a logistics provider (e.g., a carrier, such as a common carrier) to designate a preferred or established locker bank for parcels that were unable to be delivered to a particular location. The carrier may, for example: (1) assign a designated locker bank location (e.g., locker bank) to each individual primary delivery location (e.g., physical address); or (2) associate a particular locker bank location with a particular group of delivery addresses (e.g., all addresses within a particular subdivision). );
generating a unique code for accessing the particular locker (Par [0028], the PIN Generation Server 130 is configured to generate one or more PIN numbers for unlocking one or more lockers within the Locker Bank 700. The PIN Generation Server 130 may communicate a generated PIN to the Locker Bank Computer 730, and the Locker Bank Computer 730 may be configured to allow access to a particular locker in response to entry of the PIN. And Par [0142], the system may be configured to generate the PIN at least partially in response to determining that the identifying information at least partially matches the PLD information.);
transmitting the unique code for accessing the particular locker to the first user for future access of the particular locker (Par [0028], the PIN Generation Server 130 is configured to generate one or more PIN numbers for unlocking one or more lockers within the Locker Bank 700. The PIN Generation Server 130 may communicate a generated PIN to the Locker Bank Computer 730, and the Locker Bank Computer 730 may be configured to allow access to a particular locker in response to entry of the PIN. And Par [0143]; the system is configured to, after the PIN number is sent to the individual, receive input of the PIN number from the individual to whom the PIN number was provided. In various embodiments, the system is configured to receive the PIN number from the individual via a computer input device associated with the locker bank );
transmitting the unique code for accessing the particular locker to a computing device associated with the locker system (Par [0143]; the system is configured to, after the PIN number is sent to the individual, receive input of the PIN number from the individual to whom the PIN number was provided. In various embodiments, the system is configured to receive the PIN number from the individual via a computer input device associated with the locker bank and see also Par [0028]);
assigning, by the locker system, the unique code to the particular locker (Par [0028], the PIN Generation Server 130 is configured to generate one or more PIN numbers for unlocking one or more lockers within the Locker Bank 700. The PIN Generation Server 130 may communicate a generated PIN to the Locker Bank Computer 730, and the Locker Bank Computer 730 may be configured to allow access to a particular locker in response to entry of the PIN);
detecting, by the locker system, a first entry of the unique code at the particular locker, (Par [0172], FIG. 9 depicts an exemplary screen display that a user (e.g., a delivery driver or consignee) would be greeted with when they approached the locker bank computer 730. As shown in this figure, the welcome screen includes instructions for a delivery driver (e.g., “Scan Your Locker Access Barcode”) and a consignee (e.g., “Scan or Enter Your Locker Access Barcode”) and Par [0174], he delivery driver scans a machine-readable indicia located on the driver's DIAD (e.g., or on another mobile computing device associated with the delivery driver or his ID card) using the locker bank computer's machine-readable indicia scanner 770 (e.g., bar code scanner).)
and unlocking the particular locker based on the first entry (Par [0176] The delivery driver then scans the package's barcode using the machine-readable indicia scanner 770. In response to receiving the scan of the package's barcode, the system then substantially automatically provides the driver access to one locker in each available size (e.g., the system opens a door to a medium locker, a large locker, and an extra-large locker), retrieves information associated with the scanned package, and displays the package's tracking number to the delivery driver as well as instructions to deliver the package to a locker and close the locker door as shown in FIG. 12 );
detecting, by the locker system, a second entry of the unique code at the particular locker, and unlocking the particular locker based on the second entry (Par [0180] In a particular embodiment, when arriving at the locker bank 700 to retrieve a parcel, the consignee may scan their “Information Notice” (e.g., which was left at their residence, or other delivery address, following the unsuccessful delivery attempt) using the locker bank computer's machine-readable indicia scanner 770. Alternatively, the consignee may enter a Tracking Number (e.g., at least a portion of the tracking number) manually by selecting the appropriate indicia on the display shown in FIG. 15); and
unlocking the particular locker based on the second entry (Par [0181]- [0182]).
Robinson does not explicitly disclose after detecting the first entry of the unique code at the particular locker, maintaining, by the locker system, the unique code at the particular locker; or after detecting the second entry of the unique code at the particular locker, deleting, by the locker system, the unique code at the particular locker.
However, Huxter teaches a delivery scheduling method for goods ordered using a locker management system (abstract) and further teaches after detecting the first entry of the unique code at the particular locker, maintaining, by the locker system, the unique code at the particular locker (Par 0194-0195; Once the Parcel ID is present the CENTRAL CONSOLE invokes an asynchronous process, in step 334, to generate a Collection Code and send it to the Customer 1200. At steps 336 and 337 the CENTRAL CONSOLE generates the Collection Code and sends it, via the LSM, together with the Delivery Company ID and the Parcel ID to the Application Server, which then uses the Parcel ID to determine which Customer 1200 this package is for (338). In step 339 the Application Server sends the Collection Code to the Customer 1200, using their preferred channel as set-up in Register 100, together with a message informing them that their goods have arrived and reminding them where and how to collect them. );
after detecting the second entry of the unique code at the particular locker, deleting, by the locker system, the unique code at the particular locker (Par 0201; At step 429 the appropriate locker door is opened and the Customer 1200 retrieves their goods in step 430. At step 431 the CENTRAL CONSOLE checks to see if the Customer 1200 has closed the locker door. If he has the CENTRAL CONSOLE immediately locks it in step 433. The Customer 1200's Collection Code for that package is kept active on the CENTRAL CONSOLE database for a further 5 minutes in case the Customer 1200 has shut the door in error (434). This may happen for a variety of reasons: for example the Customer 1200 may be distracted before collecting their goods and inadvertently close the door. Once 5 minutes has elapsed the Customer 1200 Code and PIN combination is deleted from the CENTRAL CONSOLE's order database (435) and the CENTRAL CONSOLE marks the locker as available for delivery (436). ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to maintain the unique code at the particular locker after detecting the first entry, as taught by Huxter because it allows the customer to use the stored code to retrieve their ordered good (Huxter: par 195 and Par 201).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Robinson and Huxter teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 18, further comprising:
in response to detecting, by the locker system, the first entry of the unique code at the particular locker: transmitting a notification from the locker system to the first user of the delivery of the item (Huxter: Par [0195] At steps 336 and 337 the CENTRAL CONSOLE generates the Collection Code and sends it, via the LSM, together with the Delivery Company ID and the Parcel ID to the Application Server, which then uses the Parcel ID to determine which Customer 1200 this package is for (338). In step 339 the Application Server sends the Collection Code to the Customer 1200, using their preferred channel as set-up in Register 100, together with a message informing them that their goods have arrived and reminding them where and how to collect them.).
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Robinson and Huxter teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 19, further comprising: in response to detecting, by the locker system, the second entry of the unique code at the particular locker: transmitting a message to the web interface, the message indicating a complete delivery of the item associated with the first user (Huxter: Par [0201] At step 429 the appropriate locker door is opened and the Customer 1200 retrieves their goods in step 430. At step 431 the CENTRAL CONSOLE checks to see if the Customer 1200 has closed the locker door. If he has the CENTRAL CONSOLE immediately locks it in step 433. The Customer 1200's Collection Code for that package is kept active on the CENTRAL CONSOLE database for a further 5 minutes in case the Customer 1200 has shut the door in error (434). This may happen for a variety of reasons: for example the Customer 1200 may be distracted before collecting their goods and inadvertently close the door. Once 5 minutes has elapsed the Customer 1200 Code and PIN combination is deleted from the CENTRAL CONSOLE's order database (435) and the CENTRAL CONSOLE marks the locker as available for delivery (436). If the locker door is not shut 30 seconds after it is opened it remains open until the next delivery is made (432). ).
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Robinson and Huxter teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 18, wherein the item is an age-restricted item (Robinson: Par 187, the system is configured to redirect undeliverable parcels containing items that are age restricted (e.g., such as alcohol, tobacco, pharmaceuticals, firearms, etc.) to a suitable locker bank. These age restricted items may include items which would otherwise require a person of at least a particular age to be present to sign for the items at delivery).
Regarding Claim 22, the combination of Robinson and Huxter teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 18, wherein the unique code for accessing the particular locker is transmitted to the first user after an age and identity of the first user have been verified (Robinson: Par 142-143, the system may be configured to generate the PIN at least partially in response to determining that the identifying information at least partially matches the PLD information. And Par 187, the system is configured to redirect undeliverable parcels containing items that are age restricted (e.g., such as alcohol, tobacco, pharmaceuticals, firearms, etc.) to a suitable locker bank. These age restricted items may include items which would otherwise require a person of at least a particular age to be present to sign for the items at delivery. In such embodiments, when a consignee requests to retrieve the age-restricted item from the locker bank, the system may be configured to verify an age of the consignee before releasing the item to the consignee. For example, the system may determine and verify the consignee's age based at least in part on a date of birth listed on the consignee's ID card used by the system in verifying the consignee's identity as described above).
Regarding Claim 23, the combination of Robinson and Huxter teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 18, wherein the unique code is generated by a central server (Robinson: Par 28, the PIN Generation Server 130 is configured to generate one or more PIN numbers for unlocking one or more lockers within the Locker Bank 700. The PIN Generation Server 130 may communicate a generated PIN to the Locker Bank Computer 730, and the Locker Bank Computer 730 may be configured to allow access to a particular locker in response to entry of the PIN.).
Regarding Claim 24, the combination of Robinson and Huxter teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 18, wherein the unique code is generated by the locker system (Huxter: Par [0195] At steps 336 and 337 the CENTRAL CONSOLE generates the Collection Code and sends it, via the LSM, together with the Delivery Company ID and the Parcel ID to the Application Server,).
Regarding Claim 25, the combination of Robinson and Huxter teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 18, wherein the item is placed into the particular locker after the particular locker is unlocked based on the first entry (Huxter: Par 190-191: At step 308 the deliverer is presented with four options: `delivery`, `expiry`, `close doors` and `exist`. To make a delivery he selects `delivery` and the CENTRAL CONSOLE then prompts him (309) to either enter the Parcel ID for the package or present the bar-code for scanning. If (310) the package address contains text telling the deliverer that the package is bar-code enabled he will then present the package to the bar-code reader of the CENTRAL CONSOLE in step 315. If the package is not bar-code enabled, or (316) the bar-code reader is unable to read the bar-code the deliverer is prompted, in step 311, to enter the Parcel ID using the keypad. At step 317, if (312, 313) the Parcel ID entered is invalid the CENTRAL CONSOLE informs the deliverer and re-displays the Delivery Main Menu. Once a valid bar-code or Parcel ID is entered the CENTRAL CONSOLE opens the smallest available locker (314) and prompts the deliverer to place the goods inside (319) ).
Regarding Claim 26, the combination of Robinson and Huxter teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 18, wherein the item is removed from the particular locker after the particular locker is unlocked based on the second entry (Huxter: Par [0198] FIG. 11 describes how the Customer 1200 retrieves his goods from the locker. Once the Customer 1200 has received the message with the Collection Code he is free to retrieve his goods at his own convenience. When he approaches (401) the ACP Site 900, the CENTRAL CONSOLE prompts him for his Collection Code in step 402. Once the Collection Code is entered (403) the CENTRAL CONSOLE validates it against its orders database in step 404. And see also Par 201).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Prior arts cited for the record but not used in Office Action, are listed in attached PTO-892.
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Nay Tun whose telephone number is (571)270-7939. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Thurs from 9:00-5:00. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's Supervisor, Steven Lim can be reached on (571) 270-1210. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/Nay Tun/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688