DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“separation pad holder” in claim 1; and
“biasing member engagement portion” in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kuo (US 2010/127448).
Regarding claim 1, Kuo discloses a sheet conveying apparatus comprising: a feed roller 211 which feeds a sheet 3 from a sheet feeding tray 20 in a predetermined conveying direction; a separation pad 221 which is provided on a downstream side of the feed roller in the conveying direction; a separation pad holder 222 which holds the separation pad; a conveying guide member (see below) which guides a conveyance of the sheet and supports the separation pad holder; a separation roller 213 which holds the sheet fed by the feed roller between itself and the separation pad and conveys the sheet in the conveying direction; a first vibration damping member (sponge, see par. 28) which is provided between the separation pad and the separation pad holder; and a second vibration damping member 224 which is provided between the separation pad holder and the conveying guide member.
Regarding claim 4, Kuo discloses the sheet conveying apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the conveying guide member detachably supports the separation pad holder 222. See Fig. 4A.
Regarding claim 5, Kuo discloses the sheet conveying apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the separation pad holder 222 is turnable around a hinge shaft 222c provided on the conveying guide member, a biasing member engagement portion (see below) is provided on a first surface of the separation pad holder and is engaged with a biasing member 223 for biasing the separation pad holder to the separation roller 213, the first vibration damping member (sponge, par. 28) is provided on a second surface of the separation pad holder opposed to the first surface, and the separation pad holder holds the separation pad via the first vibration damping member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo in view of Kim (US 5,277,416).
Regarding claim 3, Kuo discloses everything claimed, except Kuo lacks the explicit disclosure of the separation roller being knurled. Kim teaches the use of a knurled separation roller, in order to increase the frictional force between the roller and the sheets. See Kim, col. 3, lines 30-43. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to use a knurled separation roller in the device of Kuo, as taught by Kim, in order to increase the frictional force between the roller and the sheets.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the nearest prior art does not teach or suggest the claimed invention. For example, Kuo lacks the disclosure of the separation pad having a hardness higher than the separation roller, in combination with the rest of the claimed elements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Winship (US 5,163,668) and Hamaguchi (US 8,695,964) disclose sheet feeders having separation pads.
/JEREMY R SEVERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759