DETAILED ACTION
This application has been examined. Claims 1-9 are pending.
The prior art submitted on 11/6/25 has been considered.
Claim 1, line 4, the word “bel” should be corrected as “belt”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Polic (10503143).
As per claim 1, Polic discloses a method for safely feeding loads to a robot, comprising: providing a robot; providing a barrier spaced from the robot, having a passage opening, providing a conveyor bel operable to transport loads from the passage opening to the robot (see at least column 3, lines 20-46; and column 4, lines 19-40, all para. disclose robotic arm 110, with a fence or other physical barrier), providing a radar system configured to detect moving targets in three distinct detection regions above the conveyor belt, including a first region which occupies the passage opening, a third region proximal to the robot, and a second region between the first and third regions (see at least column 3, lines 20-46; and columns 4-5, lines 58-33, all para. disclose one or more sensors to identify the proximity and objects that approach the robotic arm within the detection space. The movement of the mobile drive units may approach the robotic arm 110 in a first zone, moving laterally to the robotic arm in a second zone, and moving away from the robotic arm in a third zone), controlling the operation of the conveyor and the robot as a function of the detection of targets by the radar system in the first, second, and third regions, such that: in a sequence of entry steps and in a verification step, following the sequence of entry steps, the detection of a moving target in the third region determines the deactivation of the robot (see at least columns 4-5, lines 41-33 disclose the distance calculation may correspond with protection rules to determine when to stop movement or reduce a speed of the movement of the robotic arm. When activated, protection rules may stop movement or reduce speed of the movement of the robotic arm), in the sequence of entry steps, a load is detected as a moving target in the first and second regions, until a predetermined intermediate condition is reached, identified by such a combination of target detections in the first, second and third regions as to determine the start of the verification step, wherein the intermediate condition is a condition in which the presence of at least one moving target is detected in the second region, and in which the absence of moving targets is detected in the first and third regions (see at least columns 7-8, lines 50-37 disclose the mobile unit may enter the first zone corresponding with the detection space as the mobile unit continues to move toward sensor bank one 510, and the mobile unit continues to move toward a second zone and a third zone), in the verification step, starting from the intermediate condition, the conveyor belt is controlled to remain still, and while the conveyor belt is still it is verified whether a predetermined safety condition is fulfilled, identified by a combination of target detections in the first, second and third regions indicative of the absence of humans between the robot and the barrier, wherein the safety condition is a condition in which the absence of moving targets is detected in the first, second, and third regions (see at least columns 8-9, lines 38-21 disclose with each of the entrances and exits of the plurality of zones (e.g., the first zone labeled “1”, the second zone labeled “2”, and third zone labeled “3”), protection rules may be activated and deactivated for the detection space based on the object detected by the sensor data), in a delivery step, following the verification step, starting from the safety condition, the conveyor belt is controlled to advance and transport the load towards the robot, and the detection of moving targets in the third region does not determine the deactivation of the robot (see at least column 3, lines 20-67 disclose items may be transported on the conveyor belt 230 toward the robotic arm 210 or transported away from the robotic arm 210).
As per claim 2, Polic discloses the radar system is configured to detect moving targets in the first, second, and third regions, and to not detect stationary targets (see at least column 3, lines 20-67 disclose detect the items may be transported on the conveyor belt 230 toward the robotic arm 210 or transported away from the robotic arm 210).
As per claim 3, Polic discloses in the verification step and in the delivery step, the detection of moving targets in the first region determines the deactivation of the robot (see at least columns 4-5, lines 41-33 disclose the distance calculation may correspond with protection rules to determine when to stop movement or reduce a speed of the movement of the robotic arm. When activated, protection rules may stop movement or reduce speed of the movement of the robotic arm).
As per claim 4, Polic discloses in the sequence of entry steps, the conveyor belt is controlled to advance and transport the load towards the robot (see at least column 3, lines 20-67 disclose detect the items may be transported on the conveyor belt 230 toward the robotic arm 210 or transported away from the robotic arm 210), and in the verification step, the conveyor belt is controlled to stop before verifying whether the safety condition is fulfilled (see at least columns 4-5, lines 41-33 disclose the distance calculation may correspond with protection rules to determine when to stop movement or reduce a speed of the movement of the robotic arm. When activated, protection rules may stop movement or reduce speed of the movement of the robotic arm).
As per claim 5, Polic discloses the first and third regions are barrier-shaped regions, and the second region is a region with greater dimensions than the first and third regions in an advancement direction of the conveyor belt, wherein the dimensions of the second region in the advancement direction are sufficient to entirely contain a predetermined load, which preferably comprises a pallet (see at least column 3, lines 21-46 disclose a first, second, and third zone; and column 4, lines 19-40 disclose fence or other physical barrier).
As per claim 6, Polic discloses the sequence of entry steps comprises a first step in which a moving target is detected only in the first region, and a second step in which moving targets are detected in both the first and second regions, the intermediate condition following the second step see at least columns 7-8, lines 50-37 disclose the mobile unit may enter the first zone corresponding with the detection space as the mobile unit continues to move toward sensor bank one 510, and the mobile unit continues to move toward a second zone and a third zone).
As per claim 7, Polic discloses the radar system is identified by a single radar device configured to simultaneously monitor the first, second, and third regions, preferably wherein the first, second, and third regions are parallelepiped-shaped regions, and the radar device is a volumetric radar device configured to detect the target position in a three spatial coordinate system (see at least column 3, lines 20-46; and columns 4-5, lines 58-33, all para. disclose one or more sensors to identify the proximity and objects that approach the robotic arm within the detection space. The movement of the mobile drive units may approach the robotic arm 110 in a first zone, moving laterally to the robotic arm in a second zone, and moving away from the robotic arm in a third zone),
Claim 8 is a system claim corresponding to method claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected for the same rationales set forth as above.
As per claim 9, Polic discloses system for feeding loads to a robot, comprising: - a robot, - a barrier spaced from the robot, having a passage opening, - a conveyor belt operable to transport loads from the passage opening to the robot, and - the control system of claim 8 (see at least column 3, lines 20-46; and column 4, lines 19-40).
Claims 1-9, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mougin et al. (US 2015/0112483 A1).
As per claim 1, Mougin et al. disclose a method for safely feeding loads to a robot, comprising: providing a robot; providing a barrier spaced from the robot, having a passage opening, providing a conveyor bel operable to transport loads from the passage opening to the robot (see at least [0071-0076] disclose the robot 2. The infeed zone 14 for the products 11 comprises the end of an infeed conveyor 15 for the products 11 which have been prepared upstream. To allow the infeed of the products 11 up to the robot 2, the space 1 comprises a window 16 through which the infeed belt of the conveyor 15 passes. The window 16 can be equipped with vertical flexible strips 17 that allow the space to be kept closed), providing a radar system configured to detect moving targets in three distinct detection regions above the conveyor belt, including a first region which occupies the passage opening, a third region proximal to the robot, and a second region between the first and third regions (see at least [0080-0095] disclose the detection means 7 are arranged to delimit several zones in the space or close to it. These three zones bear the references 8, 9, and 10), controlling the operation of the conveyor and the robot as a function of the detection of targets by the radar system in the first, second, and third regions, such that: in a sequence of entry steps and in a verification step, following the sequence of entry steps, the detection of a moving target in the third region determines the deactivation of the robot (see at least [0099-0110] disclose the zone 9 is associated with a mode of operation of the robot which is slowed down. In other words, when an element enters the zone 9, the work rate of the robot 2 is automatically slowed down), in the sequence of entry steps, a load is detected as a moving target in the first and second regions, until a predetermined intermediate condition is reached, identified by such a combination of target detections in the first, second and third regions as to determine the start of the verification step, wherein the intermediate condition is a condition in which the presence of at least one moving target is detected in the second region, and in which the absence of moving targets is detected in the first and third regions (see at least [0099-0110] disclose each zone 8, 9, or 10 is associated with a particular mode of operation of the robot 2), in the verification step, starting from the intermediate condition, the conveyor belt is controlled to remain still, and while the conveyor belt is still it is verified whether a predetermined safety condition is fulfilled, identified by a combination of target detections in the first, second and third regions indicative of the absence of humans between the robot and the barrier, wherein the safety condition is a condition in which the absence of moving targets is detected in the first, second, and third regions (see at least [0111-0120] disclose when the operator enters the zone 8, placing the empty pallet 12 in the operator intervention station 6, the audible and/or visual alarm is actuated because the scanner 7 has detected the incursion of the operator 25 into the zone 8. When he withdraws, the operator 25 exits the zone 8 and the alarm 27 stops), in a delivery step, following the verification step, starting from the safety condition, the conveyor belt is controlled to advance and transport the load towards the robot, and the detection of moving targets in the third region does not determine the deactivation of the robot (see at least [0121-0136] disclose if a pallet had been present in the left-hand intervention station 6, detected by the sensor 20, and the door had in fact closed the left-hand opening, then the robot 2 would have been able to work on the pallet 12 of the left-hand station problem-free).
As per claims 2-3, Mougin et al. disclose the radar system is configured to detect moving targets in the first, second, and third regions, and to not detect stationary targets; in the verification step and in the delivery step, the detection of moving targets in the first region determines the deactivation of the robot (see at least [0111-0120] disclose when the operator enters the zone 8, placing the empty pallet 12 in the operator intervention station 6, the audible and/or visual alarm is actuated because the scanner 7 has detected the incursion of the operator 25 into the zone 8. When he withdraws, the operator 25 exits the zone 8 and the alarm 27 stops).
As per claim 4, Mougin et al. disclose in the sequence of entry steps, the conveyor belt is controlled to advance and transport the load towards the robot, and in the verification step, the conveyor belt is controlled to stop before verifying whether the safety condition is fulfilled (see at least [0121-0136] disclose if a pallet had been present in the left-hand intervention station 6, detected by the sensor 20, and the door had in fact closed the left-hand opening, then the robot 2 would have been able to work on the pallet 12 of the left-hand station problem-free).
As per claim 5, Mougin et al. disclose the first and third regions are barrier-shaped regions, and the second region is a region with greater dimensions than the first and third regions in an advancement direction of the conveyor belt, wherein the dimensions of the second region in the advancement direction are sufficient to entirely contain a predetermined load, which preferably comprises a pallet (see at least [0071-0076], and [0080-0094] disclose three zones 8, 9, and 10).
As per claim 6, Mougin et al. disclose the sequence of entry steps comprises a first step in which a moving target is detected only in the first region, and a second step in which moving targets are detected in both the first and second regions, the intermediate condition following the second step (see at least [0099-0110] disclose detect of a moving target).
As per claim 7, Mougin et al. disclose the radar system is identified by a single radar device configured to simultaneously monitor the first, second, and third regions, preferably wherein the first, second, and third regions are parallelepiped-shaped regions, and the radar device is a volumetric radar device configured to detect the target position in a three spatial coordinate system (see at least [0080-0095] disclose the detection means 7 can be realized by sensors, by a camera… the detection means 7 comprises a laser scanner 7).
Claim 8 is a system claim corresponding to method claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected for the same rationales set forth as above.
As per claim 9, Mougin et al. disclose system for feeding loads to a robot, comprising: - a robot, - a barrier spaced from the robot, having a passage opening, - a conveyor belt operable to transport loads from the passage opening to the robot, and - the control system of claim 8 (see at least [0071-0076]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
. Della Torre et al. (12617618)
. Morawietz et al. (12522435)
. Sun et al. (11981517)
. Kaufman et al. (11562641)
/DALENA TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657