Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanchez et al. (US 8,689,972) in view of Benjamin (US 2022/0265072).
Regarding claim 1, Sanchez discloses a packaging (at 30 in Figs. 9-10) capable of holding condiments, comprising: a condiment receptacle (receptacle 3 at the left side of Fig. 9) having an upper planar portion (See Fig. 9 labeled below) and four sidewalls (See Fig. 9 labeled below) in a rectangular arrangement, the four sidewalls extending downwards substantially transverse relative to the upper planar portion (as shown in Fig. 9 labeled below), wherein: the four sidewalls define a top-side opening (See Fig. 9 labeled below); and the four sidewalls define a hollow area (at 3 in Fig. 9); a condiment reservoir (receptacle 3 at the right side of Fig. 9) attached to the condiment receptacle, wherein: the condiment reservoir defines a hollow area (at 3) and a top-side opening (See Fig. 9 labeled below) into the hollow area; at least one peelable top (lid film) adapted to fit over and seal the openings of the receptacle and the reservoir.
Sanchez discloses the claimed invention except for the specific contents of the hollow areas. However, Benjamin discloses it is well known in the art that soy sauce and wasabi are condiments used with a main dish such as sushi, wherein the condiments are held within separate compartments 16 (See [0026]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the receptacle/reservoir of the packaging of Sanchez with any type of product such as soy sauce and wasabi as taught by Benjamin in order to provide the user with desired condiments to be used with their meal.
Regarding claims 2-4, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the top-side opening of the receptacle of Sanchez-Benjamin to be any size such as having an area ranging from about 1.56 inches2 to about 4.38 inches2 and the hollow areas of the condiment receptacle/reservoir having a depth ranging from about 0.75 inches to about 1.25 inches and about 0.33 inches to about 0.75 inches, respectively, in order to allow for storage of a desired product. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 5, Sanchez discloses said reservoir is substantially permanently adjoined to and adjacent to said receptacle (as shown in 9).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanchez et al. (US 8,689,972) in view of Benjamin (US 2022/0265072) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gherdan et al. (US 7,325,703). As described above, Sanchez-Benjamin discloses the claimed invention except for the specific depths of the hollow areas relative to one another. However, Gherdan teaches it is well known in the art for a packaging (at 10 – See Fig. 1) having first (at 160) and second (at 170) receptacles for storing first and second substances to have different depths (See Figs. 4-5 wherein second receptacle 170 has a depth that is less than the depth of first receptacle 160) for the purpose of sizing the receptacles corresponding to the amount of substance contained therein. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the condiment reservoir to have a depth less than the condiment receptacle of the condiment packaging of Sanchez-Benjamin as taught by Gherdan in order to accommodate the desired amount of contents in the receptacle/reservoir. Furthermore, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,486,069. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 1, Patent ‘068 (claim 1) discloses the claimed subject matter.
Regarding claim 2, Patent ‘068 (claim 1) discloses the claimed subject matter.
Regarding claim 3, Patent ‘068 (claim 1) discloses the claimed subject matter.
Regarding claim 4, Patent ‘068 (claim 5) discloses the claimed subject matter.
Regarding claim 5, Patent ‘068 (claim 4) discloses the claimed subject matter.
Regarding claim 6, Patent ‘068 (claim 2) discloses the claimed subject matter.
Regarding claim 7, Patent ‘068 (claim 1) discloses the claimed subject matter.
Conclusion
/STEVEN A. REYNOLDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3735