NEW GROUNDS OF REJECTION NECESSITATED BY THE IDS FILED 09/02/26
Claims 36-37, 40-45, 50-52, 54-55, 58-61, 63, and 65-86 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yellen et al. (WO 2019/079399).
Regarding independent claims 36 and 54, Yellen discloses a method comprising: introducing a plurality of live cells into a fluidic device such that first and second live cells are located in first and second different discrete areas of the device, wherein the first and second cells are in a biological communication; performing a functional assay on the first cell in the first discrete area; and in the first discrete area releasing nucleic acids from the first cell such that the nucleic acids are captured on a planar surface within the first discrete area. Further regarding independent claim 54, Yellen discloses sequencing nucleic acids in the first discrete area. See paragraphs 3-4, 10, 43-50, 59, 78, 104, 109-111, 114-134, and 168-169. The claimed methods cannot be distinguished from the methods of Yellen.
Regarding claims 37 and 55, Yellen discloses imaging the cell.
Regarding claims 40, 58, and 83, Yellen discloses detecting a protein secreted by the cell.
Regarding claims 41 and 59, Yellen discloses detecting the protein via a capture antibody.
Regarding claims 42 and 60, Yellen discloses locating an antibody on a bead.
Regarding claims 43 and 61, Yellen discloses detecting a cytokine.
Regarding claim 44, Yellen discloses capture of a nucleic acid from the cell using a capture oligonucleotide in the discrete area.
Regarding claim 45, Yellen discloses the use of barcodes.
Regarding claim 50, Yellen discloses detection of mRNA via production of cDNA.
Regarding claim 51, Yellen discloses lysing cells.
Regarding claims 52 and 63, Yellen discloses assessing a response of the cell to a drug.
Regarding claims 65-70, Yellen discloses trapping a cell in a discrete area.
Regarding claims 71-75 and 79-83, Yellen discloses assessing a biological communication based on a molecule produced by a cell, such as a protein, cytokine, or chemokine.
Regarding claims 76-77 and 84-85, Yellen discloses that the biological communication is during the functional assay step or the releasing nucleic acids step.
Regarding claims 78 and 86, Yellen discloses the use of different types of first and second cells.
8. Claims 38-39, 46-49, 53, 56-57, 62, and 64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yellen.
The teachings of Yellen are discussed above.
Regarding claims 38 and 56, Yellen does not disclose assessing cell morphology.
Regarding claim 39 and 57, Yellen does not disclose assessing cell motility.
Regarding claim 46-49, Yellen does not disclose the use of a capture oligonucleotide comprising a sequencing primer.
Regarding claims 53 and 64, Yellen does not disclose assessing a surface protein of the cell.
Regarding claim 62, Yellen does not disclose sequencing by in-situ hybridization.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the method of Yellen in the manner of these dependent claims because doing so would have merely involved straightforward, logical scientific reasoning, which as well established in U.S. patent practice does not support unobviousness. That is, cell morphology and cell motility were phenotypic characteristics of cells known to be important and for which it was conventional to assess. The use of capture oligonucleotides having sequencing primers was conventional for facilitating sequencing of captured nucleic acids. Assessing surface proteins of cells was conventional and of known importance. Performing sequencing of nucleic acids in numerous ways including by in-situ hybridization was also conventional. Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to carry out the claimed methods.
CONCLUSION
9. No claims are free of the prior art.
10. Yellen et al. (US 2021/0114029) is made of record by the Office as a reference of interest.
09/09/26
/KENNETH R HORLICK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1681