Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al (US 2019/0197196) in view of Sugimoto et al (US 2018/0308397).
As per claim 1 Yang et al discloses: A display system 100 for a {[0216] In this embodiment, the HMD 100′ includes a fitting band 90 that is fitted on the head of a user, a display portion 20 that displays images, and a controller 10 that controls the display portion 20. The display portion 20 enables the user to view a virtual image when the display portion 20 is fitted on the head of the user.} comprising: a connector 40 adapted to couple the accessory device 10 comprising a display device 20 {figure 5}; and
at least one processor 140, adapted to be coupled to the accessory device 10 {figure 6}, generate display data and to modify the display data, based on the information about the accessory device 10, to generate modified display data compatible with the display device 20 {[0138] The CPU 140 reads the computer programs stored in the ROM of the storage unit 120, and writes and reads the computer programs to and from the RAM of the storage unit 120, so as to function as an operating system 150 (OS 150), a display control unit 190, a sound processing unit 170, an image processing unit 160, an image setting unit 165, a location-correspondence determination unit 168, and an optimization unit 166.}.
As per claim 9 Yang et al discloses: The system of claim 1, further comprising the at least one processor 140 is coupled to the {figures 5-6 and 17-18}.
As per claim 10 Yang et al discloses: The system of claim 9, further comprising the accessory device 10 wherein the connector 40 is coupled to the accessory device 10 is configured to be coupled to the connector 40 for attaching the accessory device 10 to the {figures 5-6 and 17-18}.
As per claim 11 Yang et al discloses: An accessory device 10 for a {[0216] In this embodiment, the HMD 100′ includes a fitting band 90 that is fitted on the head of a user, a display portion 20 that displays images, and a controller 10 that controls the display portion 20. The display portion 20 enables the user to view a virtual image when the display portion 20 is fitted on the head of the user.}, the accessory device 10 comprising: a display device 20 for presenting a display to a wearer of the connector 40 adapted to couple the accessory device 10 to the {figure 5}; and
at least one processor 140, coupled to the accessory device 10, and configured to provide information about the accessory device 10 to the display device 20 under control of the {[0138] The CPU 140 reads the computer programs stored in the ROM of the storage unit 120, and writes and reads the computer programs to and from the RAM of the storage unit 120, so as to function as an operating system 150 (OS 150), a display control unit 190, a sound processing unit 170, an image processing unit 160, an image setting unit 165, a location-correspondence determination unit 168, and an optimization unit 166.}.
As per claim 18 Yang et al discloses: A {[0216] In this embodiment, the HMD 100′ includes a fitting band 90 that is fitted on the head of a user, a display portion 20 that displays images, and a controller 10 that controls the display portion 20. The display portion 20 enables the user to view a virtual image when the display portion 20 is fitted on the head of the user.}; an accessory device 10 comprising a display device 20; a connector 40 adapted to couple the accessory device 10 to the {figure 5}; and
at least one coupled to the at least one configured to receive information about the accessory device 10 {figure 6}, generate display data and to modify the display data, based on the information about the accessory device 10, and to generate modified display data compatible with the display device 20 {[0138] The CPU 140 reads the computer programs stored in the ROM of the storage unit 120, and writes and reads the computer programs to and from the RAM of the storage unit 120, so as to function as an operating system 150 (OS 150), a display control unit 190, a sound processing unit 170, an image processing unit 160, an image setting unit 165, a location-correspondence determination unit 168, and an optimization unit 166.}, wherein:
the at least one comprises a first processor 190 and a second processor 160 separate from the first processor 190, the accessory device 10 comprises a third processor 165 coupled to the accessory device 10, the first processor 190 is configured to receive the information about the accessory device 10 from the third processor 165, to exchange the information about the accessory device 10 with the second processor 160 {figure 6 and 18}, and to generate the display data, and the second processor 160 is configured to establish image rendering settings to modify the display data to generate modified display data {[0141] The image processing unit 160 acquires an image signal included in content. The image processing unit 160 separates synchronization signals such as a vertical synchronization signal VSync and a horizontal synchronization signal HSync from the acquired image signal.} compatible with the display device 20 {figures 6 & 18}.
Regarding claims 1, 9-11 and 18 Yang et al is silent as to: a helmet; however, a fitting band 90 is shown in figure 17. With respect to claims 1, 9-11 and 18 Sugimoto et al discloses: [0025] As shown in FIG. 1, the helmet 8 is a well-known working helmet to be worn on the head of the user.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the display system of Yang et al with a helmet as taught by Sugimoto et al . The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide a display system with a helmet so as to have a wearable that not only protects the user but provides a place to mount the display system, as well.
As per claim 2 Yang et al discloses: The system of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor 140 comprises a first processor 190 and a second processor 160, the second processor 160 separate from the first processor 190, the first processor 190 configured to generate the display data and to exchange configuration information with the second processor 160 based on the information about the accessory device 10 {[0139] The display control unit 190 generates control signals for control of the right display driving unit 22 and the left display driving unit 24.}, the second processor 160 configured to establish image rendering settings to generate modified display data {[0141] The image processing unit 160 acquires an image signal included in content. The image processing unit 160 separates synchronization signals such as a vertical synchronization signal VSync and a horizontal synchronization signal HSync from the acquired image signal.} that is compatible with the display device 20 {figures 6 & 18}.
As per claim 3 Yang et al discloses: The system of claim 2, wherein the first processor 190 is configured to exchange the information about the accessory device 10 with a third processor 165 that is coupled to the accessory device 10 {figures 6 & 18}.
As per claim 4 Yang et al discloses: The system of claim 3, wherein the third processor 165 is configured to establish image rendering settings to generate display data that is compatible with the display device 20 {[0146] The image setting unit 165 performs various settings on an image (display image) displayed on the image display section 20.}.
As per claim 5 Yang et al discloses: The system of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor 140 comprises a first processor 190 and a second processor 160, the second processor 160 separate from the first processor 190, and the first processor 190 and the second processor 160 are each configured to establish image rendering settings based on the information about the accessory device 10 {[0139] The display control unit 190 generates control signals for control of the right display driving unit 22 and the left display driving unit 24. & [0141] The image processing unit 160 acquires an image signal included in content. The image processing unit 160 separates synchronization signals such as a vertical synchronization signal VSync and a horizontal synchronization signal HSync from the acquired image signal.}.
As per claim 7 Yang et al discloses: The system of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor 140 is further configured to: identify a profile associated with the accessory device 10; receive output data from one or more external devices { [0231] The interface 180 is an input and output interface that connects various external devices OA which are content supply sources to the controller 10. Examples of the external devices OA include a storage device storing an AR scenario, a personal computer (PC), a mobile phone terminal, and a game terminal.}; determine which, if any, of the output data should be selected for display on the display device 20 based on the profile; and enable a display on the display device 20 based on the determination { [0180] The location-correspondence determination unit 168 establishes the correspondences between the image points included in an image and the 2D model points included in a template stored in the template storage portion 121. The optimization unit 166 estimates or derives a pose of the imaged target object by using the 2D model points and 3D points obtained by converting the 2D model points included in the template. . . Since the pose of the target object is estimated with high accuracy, the accuracy of overlapping display of an AR image on the target object is improved, and the accuracy of an operation performed by a robot is improved. Note: the template is seen as the profile}.
As per claim 12 Yang et al discloses: The accessory device 10 of claim 11, wherein the display device 20 based on the information {[0146] The image setting unit 165 performs various settings on an image (display image) displayed on the image display section 20.}.
As per claim 13 Yang et al discloses: The accessory device 10 of claim 11, wherein the first processor 190 and a second processor 160, the second processor 160 separate from the first processor 190, and at least one processor 140 coupled to the accessory device 10 comprises a third processor 165, the third processor 165 configured to receive display data for display on the display device 20 from the second processor 160 {figure 6 and 18}.
As per claim 14 Yang et al discloses: The accessory device 10 of claim 13, wherein the first processor 190 is configured to generate the display data and to exchange configuration information with the second processor 160 based on the information about the accessory device 10 {[0139] The display control unit 190 generates control signals for control of the right display driving unit 22 and the left display driving unit 24.}, the second processor 160 configured to establish image rendering settings to generate the data for display on the display device 20 comprising modified display data {[0141] The image processing unit 160 acquires an image signal included in content. The image processing unit 160 separates synchronization signals such as a vertical synchronization signal VSync and a horizontal synchronization signal HSync from the acquired image signal.} compatible with the display device 20 {figures 6 & 18}.
As per claim 15 Yang et al discloses: The accessory device 10 of claim 13, wherein the third processor 165 is configured to exchange the information about the accessory device 10 with the first processor 190 {figure 6 and 18}.
As per claim 16 Yang et al discloses: The accessory device 10 of claim 11, wherein the at least one processor 140 is further configured to: enable the wearer to define or modify a profile associated with the accessory device 10 { [0231] The interface 180 is an input and output interface that connects various external devices OA which are content supply sources to the controller 10. Examples of the external devices OA include a storage device storing an AR scenario, a personal computer (PC), a mobile phone terminal, and a game terminal.}; provide the information including the profile to the display device 20 under control of the { [0180] The location-correspondence determination unit 168 establishes the correspondences between the image points included in an image and the 2D model points included in a template stored in the template storage portion 121. The optimization unit 166 estimates or derives a pose of the imaged target object by using the 2D model points and 3D points obtained by converting the 2D model points included in the template. . . Since the pose of the target object is estimated with high accuracy, the accuracy of overlapping display of an AR image on the target object is improved, and the accuracy of an operation performed by a robot is improved. Note: the template is seen as the profile}.
As per claim 17 Yang et al discloses: The accessory device 10 of claim 16 further comprising a user interface device for enabling the wearer to define or modify the profile {[0367] Nonetheless, generally, FIGS. 32-33 illustrate generating templates offline, meaning prior to the user losing the pose during tracking, such as prior to the start of any object detection/tracking. In this regard, when the pose is lost by the user, the offline template for the particular view where the user lost the pose can be used for re-initialization of object detection at that particular view, thereby allowing the object tracking to continue where the pose was lost (instead of having to go back to the original starting view where the user began object tracking). This can be done because there are templates which have been trained prior to the user losing the pose and/or prior to object tracking. As such, the system can re-start object tracking (as discussed herein) at the point where the user lost the pose using the offline training templates. Note: the template is seen as the profile }.
As per claim 19 Yang et al discloses: The third processor 165 is configured to exchange the information about the accessory device 10 with the first processor 190 and to enable display of the modified display data on the display device 20 {figures 6 & 18}.
As per claim 20 Yang et al discloses: The first processor 190 is further configured to identify a profile associated with the accessory device 10; receive output data from one or more external devices; determine which, if any, of the output data should be selected for display on the display device 20 based on the profile; and enable a display on the display device 20 based on the determination { [0180] The location-correspondence determination unit 168 establishes the correspondences between the image points included in an image and the 2D model points included in a template stored in the template storage portion 121. The optimization unit 166 estimates or derives a pose of the imaged target object by using the 2D model points and 3D points obtained by converting the 2D model points included in the template. . . Since the pose of the target object is estimated with high accuracy, the accuracy of overlapping display of an AR image on the target object is improved, and the accuracy of an operation performed by a robot is improved. Note: the template is seen as the profile}.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al (US 2019/0197196) in view of Sugimoto et al (US 2018/0308397) as applied to claims 1-5 above, and further in view of Parker et al (WO 2015/095417)
Regarding claim 6 Yang et al as modified by Sugimoto et al is silent as to: The system of claim 5, wherein the second processor 160 is configured to increase a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) of display data generated by the first processor 190.
With respect to claim 6 Parker et al discloses: [page 5, lines 17-20] Processor 34 includes a program to superimpose data from redundant scene elements, such as data derived from adjacent ones of the plurality of light directing optical apertures, to create a single image with such changes as higher resolution, better signal to noise ratio, and higher contrast . . .
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the system of Yang et al as modified by Sugimoto et al with the second processor configured to increase a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) of display data generated by the first processor as taught by Parker et al. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide a system with the second processor is configured to increase a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) of display data generated by the first processor to provide a clearer display data for the system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DAVID D DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627
DDD