DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to Claims 1-10, filed November 6, 2025, which are pending in this application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “said stretchable waistband overlaps and seals against said lower hem of said wearable top such as to provide privacy and hygienic coverage when said first and second zippers are unzipped to said second, open orientation” (claim 1) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The use of the term “Velcro®” (para. 0036), which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term. Applicant should amend to recite, “VELCRO®”.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: Claim 1 recites, “such that said stretchable waistband overlaps and seals against said lower hem of said wearable top such as to provide privacy and hygienic coverage when said first and second zippers are unzipped to said second, open orientation” which has not been disclosed in the written description as originally filed.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 should recite, “said fastener being concealed within said at least one seam such that said fastener is not externally visible when positioned in a first, closed orientation; said fastener opening from said lower hem of said wearable top to a termination point in proximity with said armpit”;
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the same material" in line 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 should recite, “wherein said wearable top portion and said wearable bottom portion include a fabric blend having a coating”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 10 (and claim 9 at least for depending from a rejected claim) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite as it recites, “whereby a wearable circumference about said lower hem of said wearable top may be increased by opening said fastener from a first, closed position to a second, open position”. First, as the claim recites, “may be” which implies “may not”, it is unclear if this limitation is required by the claim. Further, as claim 1 recites earlier, “said fastener is not externally visible when positioned in a first, closed orientation said fastener opening from said lower hem of said wearable top to a termination point in proximity with said armpit, thereby transitioning from said first, closed orientation to a second, open orientation” which relates to opening and closing of the fastener, it is unclear if “a first, closed position” and “a second closed position” is referring to the same configuration as “first, closed orientation” and “second, open orientation”, respectively, or if the position and orientation are referring to different configurations. Examiner has interpreted the limitation to mean, “whereby a wearable circumference about said lower hem of said wearable top [[may]] [[be]] is configured to increase[[d]] by opening said fastener from [[a]] the first, closed orientation to [[a]] the second, open orientation”.
Claim 1 is indefinite as it recites, “said fastener opening from said lower hem of said wearable top to a termination point in proximity with said armpit, thereby transitioning from said first, closed orientation to a second, open orientation such that said wearable top is at least partially connected when said zipper is unzipped to said termination point”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “said zipper” in the claim and it is unclear if “said zipper” is referring to “said fastener” such that said fastener comprises a zipper, or if “said zipper” is referring to a different/additional structure.
Claim 1 is indefinite as it recites, “such that said stretchable waistband overlaps and seals against said lower hem of said wearable top such as to provide privacy and hygienic coverage when said first and second zippers are unzipped to said second, open orientation.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for “said first and second zippers” in the claim as only “a fastener” and “said zipper” have been previously recited and it is unclear how many fasteners and/or zippers are required to meet the claim limitation. Further, as such a limitation has not been shown or discussed in the written description, it is unclear how the waistband seals against the hem of the top when the zippers/fasteners are in an open orientation.
Claim 2 is indefinite as it recites, “further comprising: each of said left-side seam and said right-side seam comprising an interior flap”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this “said left-side seam and said right-side seam” in the claim as claim 1 only recites, “said at least one seam”. Therefore it is unclear how many seams are required by claim 2.
Claim 2 is indefinite as it recites, “said interior flap configured to interface between said zipper and the wearer. As claim 1 recites “a fastener”, “said zipper” and “said first and second zippers”, it is unclear which of these “said zipper” is referring to and if two are required as each of the side seams comprises an interior flap.
Claim 3 is indefinite as it recites, “wherein said wearable top portion and said wearable bottom portion comprise material”. As claim 1 recites, “said stretchable waist band being made of the same material as each of said pair of pant legs”, it is unclear if “material” in claim 3 is rereferring to “the same material” recited in claim 1 or to additional/different material.
Claim 3 is indefinite as it recites, “comprising features selected from the list comprising: stretchable; moisture-wicking; and antimicrobial treatment.” First, as the claim recites “features”, which is plural, it is unclear how many from the list of features are needed to meet the claim limitation. Further, the claim is an improper Markush-type claim and it is improper to use the term “comprising” instead of “consisting of.” See MPEP 2173.05(h). The term “comprising” implies that all the features are needed to meet the claim. Examiner respectfully suggests amending to recite, “comprising a feature selected from a group consisting of stretchable; moisture-wicking; and antimicrobial treatment.”
Claim 4 is indefinite as it recites, “wherein said material is configured to withstand repeated high-temperature washing and sterilization cycles without degrading said features”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “said features” in the claim and it is unclear what features are being referred to or if claim 4 should depend from claim 3 instead of the claim 2, and if so, it is unclear if “said material” is referring to the material from claim 1 or the material from claim 3. For purposes of examination, claim 4 has been interpreted to depend from claim 3.
Claim 5 is indefinite as it recites, “wherein said features comprise said antimicrobial treatment, wherein said antimicrobial treatment is configured to retain greater than eighty-five percent (85%) microbial reduction after fifty wash cycles, wherein each wash cycle exceeds temperatures of one hundred fifty degrees Fahrenheit (150F).” However, it is unclear what material and anti-microbial treatment can meet such a limitation. The specification does not go into specifics and only recites, “[0049] Due to the wearable top 104 and pants 106 ideally being suited for medical scrubs, in an embodiment where the top 104 and pants 106 are formed from a material including antimicrobial properties, it is important that the materials thereof are capable of withstanding repeated high-temperature washing and sterilization cycles without degradation of the antimicrobial properties. In a preferred embodiment, the antimicrobial properties would be retained to at least 85% microbial reduction even after fifty (50) wash cycles with temperatures over 150°F. [0050] In an embodiment, the top 104 and pants 106 may be made of a material including a fabric blend having at least 10% elastane and a biocidal treatment selected from silver-ion, copper, or chitosan-based coatings.” There is no specifics of the material or the chemical compositions or applications of the disclosed anti-microbial treatments/coatings that would create a material where the anti-microbial treatment is configured to retain greater than eighty-five percent (85%) microbial reduction after fifty wash cycles, wherein each wash cycle exceeds temperatures of one hundred fifty degrees Fahrenheit (150F). Therefore it is unclear what material and anti-microbial treatment would read on such a claim.
Claim 6 is indefinite as it recites, “further comprising: each of said right-side seam and said left-side seam configured to obscure a respective said zipper when said zipper is placed in said first, closed orientation.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this “said left-side seam and said right-side seam” in the claim as claim 1 only recites, “said at least one seam”. Therefore it is unclear how many seams are required by claim 6. Further, as claim 1 recites “a fastener”, “said zipper” and “said first and second zippers”, it is unclear which of these “said zipper” is referring to and if two are required as each of the side seams obscure a respective zipper. Finally, as claim 1 already recites, “said fastener being concealed within said at least one seam such that said fastener is not externally visible when positioned in a first, closed orientation”, it is unclear what is required to meet claim 6.
Claim 7 is indefinite as it recites, “wherein said wearable top portion and said wearable bottom portion include a fabric blend having coating selected from the list of coatings comprising: at least 10% elastane and a biocidal treatment from silver; at least 10% elastane and a biocidal treatment from silver-ion; at least 10% elastane and a biocidal treatment from copper; and at least 10% elastane and a biocidal treatment from chitosan.” As claim 1 recites, “said stretchable waist band being made of the same material as each of said pair of pant legs”, it is unclear if “a fabric blend” in claim 7 is rereferring to a fabric blend of “the same material” recited in claim 1 or to a fabric blend of an additional/different material. Further, the claim is an improper Markush-type claim and it is improper to use the term “comprising” instead of “consisting of.” See MPEP 2173.05(h). The term “comprising” implies that all of the coatings are needed to meet the claim. Examiner respectfully suggests amending to recite, “comprising a coating selected from a group consisting of at least 10% elastane and a biocidal treatment from silver; at least 10% elastane and a biocidal treatment from silver-ion; at least 10% elastane and a biocidal treatment from copper; and at least 10% elastane and a biocidal treatment from chitosan.”
Claim 8 is indefinite as it recites, “said fastener of said right-side seam comprising a non-separating right-side zipper; and said fastener of said left-side seam comprising a non-separating left-side zipper.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this “said left-side seam” and “said right-side seam” in the claim as claim 1 only recites, “said at least one seam”. Therefore it is unclear how many seams are required by claim 8. Further, as claim 1 recites “a fastener”, “said zipper” and “said first and second zippers”, it is unclear if “a non-separating right-side zipper” and “a non-separating left-side zipper” are referring to “said zipper”, “said first and second zippers”, or to different/additional zippers.
Claim 10 is indefinite as it recites, “wherein said wearable top portion comprises a scrub-style medical uniform.” It is unclear how one of ordinary skill can determine what is included or excluded by “a scrub-style medical uniform” and what is required for said wearable top portion to comprise “a scrub-style medical uniform”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein (US 11096431) in view of Bentz (US 2022/0264968).
Regarding claim 1, Klein discloses a multi-purpose garment system comprising: a wearable top portion (10) having a front panel (22) and a back panel (14) joined along at least one seam (created by joining 26); said least one seam including a fastener (26) extending from a lower hem (bottommost edge of 10) of said wearable top portion (as seen in Fig. 1, 26 extends to the bottom hem), to an armpit beneath a sleeve (18) of said wearable top portion (as seen in Figs. 1and 5, 26 extends to an armpit area below the sleeve), said fastener being concealed within said at least one seam such that said fastener is not externally visible when positioned in a first, closed orientation (position seen in Fig. 1, and see col. 4, lines 5-10 where invisible zippers are used thus concealing the zipping element from view); where said fastener opening from said lower hem of said wearable top to a termination point in proximity with said armpit, thereby transitioning from said first, closed orientation to a second, open orientation such that said wearable top is at least partially connected when said zipper is unzipped to said termination point (as seen in Figs. 5-7, the zipper is unzipped via zipper pull 26C to a termination point in the armpit area creating the second, opening orientation); whereby a wearable circumference about said lower hem of said wearable top may be increased by opening said fastener from a first, closed position to a second, open position, thereby expanding said wearable top portion to accommodate abdominal growth and to enhance comfort of the wearer (as the resilient panel 20 would not be restricted by front 22, the top portion can expand to accommodate a growing abdomen).
Klein does not expressly disclose a wearable bottom portion having a stretchable waist band affixed to a pair of pant legs, said stretchable waist band being made of the same material as each of said pair of pant legs; and said stretchable waistband configured to cover an area of the wearer located in proximity to said lower hem of said wearable top, such that said stretchable waistband overlaps and seals against said lower hem of said wearable top such as to provide privacy and hygienic coverage when said first and second zippers are unzipped to said second, open orientation.
Bentz teaches a garment with abdominal support (see para. 0038), wherein a wearable bottom portion (10) having a stretchable waist band (6, see para. 0056), affixed (via 8) to a pair of pant legs (4), said stretchable waist band being made of the same material as each of said pair of pant legs (as disclosed in para. 0056 where they are not excluded from being the same material and therefore can be the same material).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add pants to the system of Klein as taught by Bentz in order to complement the nursing by adding a support garment for the latter maternal stages and for providing post-delivery-compression and support of the wearer's abdominal organs and pelvic floor and facilitating bonding of the skin and healing of a Cesarian section incision site of the wearer (see para. 0038 of Bentz).
When used in combination, said stretchable waistband (6 of Bentz) is configured to cover an area of the wearer located in proximity to said lower hem of said wearable top, such that said stretchable waistband overlaps and seals against said lower hem of said wearable top (10 of Klein) such as to provide privacy and hygienic coverage when said first and second zippers are unzipped to said second, open orientation (as when in the position of Figs. 5-7 of Klein, the waistband can overlap the lower hem of the top thereby adding privacy and hygienic coverage).
Regarding claim 6, the modified system of Klein discloses further comprising: each of said right-side seam and said left-side seam (at 26 on left and right sides, see Fig. 6) configured to obscure a respective said zipper when said zipper is placed in said first, closed orientation (as disclosed in col. 4, lines 5-10).
Regarding claim 8, the modified system of Klein discloses further comprising: said at least one seam comprising a right-side seam and a left side seam (at 26 on left and right sides, see Fig. 6); said fastener (26) of said right-side seam comprising a non-separating right-side zipper (as seen in the figures, there is only one zipper pull 26C that opens the zipper from the hem to the armpit, and thus the zipper cannot completely separate); and said fastener (26) of said left-side seam comprising a non-separating left-side zipper (as seen in the figures, there is only one zipper pull 26C that opens the zipper from the hem to the armpit, and thus the zipper cannot completely separate).
Regarding claim 9, the modified system of Klein discloses further comprising: said stretchable waistband (6 of Bentz) configured to be folded upon itself, thereby forming a reinforced waistband portion; and wherein said reinforced waistband portion is configured to provide additional compression against the wearer's abdomen (as disclosed in para. 0038 of Bentz).
Regarding claim 10, the modified system of Klein discloses wherein said wearable top portion comprises a scrub-style medical uniform (as can be seen in Figs. 1-2, 10 resembles a scrub uniform).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined references of Klein and Bentz, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Picot (US D834787).
Regarding claim 2, the modified system of Klein teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, but does not expressly disclose further comprising: each of said left-side seam and said right-side seam comprising an interior flap; and said interior flap configured to interface between said zipper and the wearer.
Picot teaches garments with reclosable access regions wherein each of said left-side seam and said right-side seam (see annotated Fig. 1) comprising an interior flap (see annotated Fig. 13); and said interior flap configured to interface between said zipper and the wearer (as understood annotated Fig. 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the inner panel of the top of the modified system of Klein with interior flaps behind the zippers as taught by Picot, in order to allow abdominal access improved for skin to skin contact with the breastfeeding infant while keeping the zipper from scratching the skin of the infant.
Claim(s) 3-5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined references of Klein and Bentz, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Murphy (US 2024/0188654).
Regarding claim 3, the modified system of Klein discloses all the limitations of claim 1 above, but does not expressly disclose wherein said wearable top portion and said wearable bottom portion comprise material comprising features selected from the list comprising: stretchable; moisture-wicking; and antimicrobial treatment.
Murphy teaches a garment (200) for maternity or post-partum (see para. 0026) with a wearable top portion (210/220/230/240) and a wearable bottom portion (250/260/270) wherein said wearable top portion and said wearable bottom portion comprise material comprising features selected from the list comprising: stretchable; moisture-wicking; and antimicrobial treatment (see para. 0033 where the material can have elastane, polyester, and be antimicrobial).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a stretchable, moisture wicking material with an antimicrobial treatment in the modified system of Klein as taught by Murphy in order to “generally smooth and reduce the appearance of various portions of the body. For example, a compressive undergarment may reduce the appearance of cellulite on the user” (see para. 0020 of Murphy) and “to mitigate proliferation of microorganisms and allow the user to wear the garment during many occasions” (see para. 0025 of Murphy), and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 4, in an interpretation where claim 4 depends from claim 3, the modified system of Klein discloses wherein said material (material of Murphy, see claim 3 above) is configured to withstand repeated high-temperature washing and sterilization cycles without degrading said features (as materials listed in para. 0033 of Murphy are known as being able to withstand high-temperature washing and sterilization without degrading the features of the material, and as Murphy uses an anti-microbial treatment with copper, zinc, or silver based compounds, such as Microban® and Silpurm, see para. 0046, which are the same as the zinc and silver based treatments disclosed in para 0050 of the instant application).
Otherwise, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a material configured to withstand repeated high-temperature washing and sterilization cycles without degrading said features in the modified system of Klein for deep cleaning, sanitizing, and removing stubborn soils, and as high heat helps dissolve detergents more efficiently, breaks down heavy grease and oil-based stains, eliminates persistent odors, and kills bacteria, viruses, and dust mites, making it ideal for heavily soiled items, bedding, and medical or baby clothing. And since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 5, the modified system of Klein discloses wherein said features comprise said antimicrobial treatment (see rejection of claims 3-4 above), wherein said antimicrobial treatment is configured to retain greater than eighty-five percent (85%) microbial reduction after fifty wash cycles, wherein each wash cycle exceeds temperatures of one hundred fifty degrees Fahrenheit (150F) (as Murphy uses an anti-microbial treatment with copper, zinc, or silver based compounds, such as Microban® and Silpurm, see para. 0046, which are the same as the zinc and silver based treatments disclosed in para 0050 of the instant application, and therefore would meet the same limitations inasmuch as has been disclosed by Applicant).
Otherwise, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention so that said antimicrobial treatment of the modified system of Klein is configured to retain greater than eighty-five percent (85%) microbial reduction after fifty wash cycles, wherein each wash cycle exceeds temperatures of one hundred fifty degrees Fahrenheit (150F) in order to increase the effective longevity of the garment so that it may be worn through multiple pregnancies and post-partum periods, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 7, the modified system of Klein discloses wherein the bottom portion (10 of Bentz) includes a fabric blend with elastane (spandex, see para. 0056 of Bentz), but does not expressly discloses wherein said wearable top portion and said wearable bottom portion include a fabric blend having coating selected from the list of coatings comprising: at least 10% elastane and a biocidal treatment from silver; at least 10% elastane and a biocidal treatment from silver-ion; at least 10% elastane and a biocidal treatment from copper; and at least 10% elastane and a biocidal treatment from chitosan.
Murphy teaches a garment (200) for maternity or post-partum (see para. 0026) with a wearable top portion (210/220/230/240) and a wearable bottom portion (250/260/270) wherein said wearable top portion and said wearable bottom portion include a fabric blend having coating selected from the list of coatings comprising: elastane (see para. 0033) and a biocidal treatment from silver or zinc (see para. 0046).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a stretchable, moisture wicking material with an antimicrobial treatment in the modified system of Klein as taught by Murphy in order to “generally smooth and reduce the appearance of various portions of the body. For example, a compressive undergarment may reduce the appearance of cellulite on the user” (see para. 0020 of Murphy) and “to mitigate proliferation of microorganisms and allow the user to wear the garment during many occasions” (see para. 0025 of Murphy), and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. MPEP 2144.07.
The modified system of Klein does not expressly disclose where the fabric blend comprises at least 10% elastane, however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include at least 10% elastane in order to meet the desired compression of the user as “Higher levels of compression may provide support and alter the shape of the associated body part, while lower levels of compression may provide a smooth appearance without altering shape. By having selective compression levels for each region, the garment can smooth or shape different parts of the user's body in order to achieve a user's desired appearance, in addition to selectively providing different levels of support and increasing overall comfort and functionality” (see Abstract of Murphy). Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. MPEP 2144.07. And it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Annotated Fig. 1 (Picot)
Annotated Fig. 13 (Picot)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. For example, Swamy (US 2018/0044847), Lin (US 2022/0000194), and Trapani (US 2012/0117708) each teaches garments and textiles with anti-microbial properties, Carney (US 2019/0200686) teaches maternity pants where the panel and legs are made with the same material, Picot (US 11019861) teaches tops and pants with reclosable access regions with concealed zippers, and others teach tops and bottoms with pockets and loops.
/HEATHER MANGINE, Ph.D./ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732