DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 3, line 1, “dual-layer gear” should read “a dual-layer gear”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “lighting element” in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “the transmission gear”, and there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-12, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (CN107781358).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a fan structure, comprising: a housing (15) arranged along a first axis, a fan blade (17) rotatably arranged within the housing and along the first axis, and a gear assembly (Fig. 2) including: a sun gear (10) coaxially arranged with the fan blade, a ring gear (11) arranged on an inner wall of the housing, a plurality of planet gears (92) meshing between the sun gear and the ring gear, and a decorative plate (8, considered decorative because it attractively made) arranged on the planet gears, wherein when the fan blade is driven to generate airflow, the driven fan blade rotates the sun gear, the rotating sun gear drives the planet gears to revolve between the sun gear and the ring gear, and the revolving planet gears drive the decorative plate to rotate.
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches a transmission gear (91) meshing with the planet gears.
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches the transmission gear is coaxially positioned with the sun gear, and the transmission gear is rotatably positioned on the fan blade.
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches the decorative plate is driven by the transmission gear through the planet gear.
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches a rotating area of the decorative plate covers a rotating area of the transmission gear.
Regarding claim 8, Li teaches the rotation of the decorative plate defines a circular area.
Regarding claim 9, Li teaches the decorative plate is axially arranged on the top of the housing.
Regarding claim 10, Li teaches the decorative plate is coaxially arranged with the fan blade.
Regarding claim 11, Li teaches the decorative plate is axially positioned beyond a rotation area of the fan blade.
Regarding claim 12, Li teaches the decorative plate is axially positioned opposite to the fan blade.
Regarding claim 15, Li teaches a fan assembly, comprising: a housing (15); a fan rotor (17) rotatably arranged within the housing; a sun gear (10) coaxially connected to the fan rotor; a ring gear (11) secured relative to the housing; a plurality of planet gears (92) meshing with the sun gear and the ring gear; a transmission gear (91) meshing with the planet gears; and a decorative plate (8) coupled to the transmission gear, wherein rotation of the fan rotor drives the sun gear to rotate, the rotation of the sun gear propels the planet gears to revolve between the sun gear and the ring gear, the revolving planet gears drive the transmission gear to rotate, and the rotating transmission gear drives the decorative plate to rotate about the first axis.
Regarding claim 18, Li teaches the transmission gear is coaxially arranged with at least one of the sun gear and the fan rotor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Villella (US2013/0149147).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Li teaches the fan structure of claim 1 and the fan assembly of claim 15, but fails to teach a lighting element positioned within the housing.
In an analogous art, Villella teaches a planetary geared fan. Vilella teaches a lighting element (3) positioned in the fan housing for use as a lamp.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the fan of Li and change it so that a lighting element is positioned within the housing as taught by Villella for use as a lamp.
Claims 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Santoro (US2014/0155218).
Regarding claims 13 and 20, Li teaches the fan structure of claim 1 and the fan assembly of claim 15, but fails to teach a rotating speed ratio of the decorative plate relative to the sun gear is 1:200.
In an analogous art, Santoro teaches a fan with planetary gearing. Santoro teaches the gear ratio can be selected that is suitable for the desired application (paragraph [0031]). Thus, Santoro establishes the planetary gear ratio as a result effective variable.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the fan of Li and change it so that a rotating speed ratio of the decorative plate relative to the sun gear is 1:200 to optimize a result effective variable to make the gear ratio suitable for the desired application.
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li.
Regarding claims 14 and 16, Li teaches the fan structure of claim 1 and fan assembly of claim 15, but fails to explicitly teach the sun gear is secured to the fan blade via snap-fit or riveting.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the fan of Li and change it so that the sun gear is secured to the fan blade via snap-fit or riveting because snap fitting and riveting are well known connection methods in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the PTO-892 for a listing of planetary geared fans.
/CAMERON A CORDAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745