DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed 6 November 2025 which is a Continuation of PCT/US2024/028198 filed 7 May 2024 which claims priority to PRO 63/500,609 filed 7 May 2023. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Objections
Claims 8, 23, 33, and 40 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The claim language within claims 6, 21, 32 and 38 renders claims 8, 23, 33 and 40 as optional claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bofill et al. (US 2019/0320859).
- Regarding Claim 1. Bofill discloses a roof-based system for washing windows (“washing windows” [0002] fig. 1-12), the system comprising:
an aerial vehicle (12) configured for translational and rotational motion in air with multiple degrees of freedom, the aerial vehicle (12) including a communication subsystem (42);
at least one end effector (72/62) coupled to the aerial vehicle (12) to facilitate cleaning of a vertical or inclined window (18, “vertical or sloped surface of the structure” [0017]));
an umbilical cord (48/52/66/76) coupled to the aerial vehicle (12) and the at least one end effector (72/62) to carry at least electrical power (48) to the aerial vehicle (12) and a cleaning fluid (66) to the at least one end effector (72/62);
a base station (14) coupled to the umbilical cord (48/52/66/76) and configured to be deployed on a roof of a structure (16, illustrated by fig. 3-4) that includes the vertical or inclined window (18), the base station (14) comprising at least one pump (85) to supply at least the cleaning fluid to the at least one end effector (72/62; “conveys a liquid from an external supply through the distribution line to the nozzles” [0057]);
an umbilical support system (82), coupled to the base station (14), to support the umbilical cord (48/52/66/76) in the air, the umbilical support system (82) including at least one first sensor to obtain first sensor data (46, “anemometer” [0061]); and
at least one controller (79), disposed separately from the aerial vehicle (12), communicatively coupled to the at least one first sensor (46) and to the aerial vehicle (12) via the communication subsystem (42, “in communication” [0059]), to transmit at least one command to the aerial vehicle (12) to perform at least one action to facilitate the cleaning of the vertical or inclined window (18) based at least in part on the first sensor data (46) obtained by the at least one first sensor (46, [0059]).
- Regarding Claim 2. Bofill discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one end effector (62/72) includes at least one of:
an applicator end effector (62) to apply the cleaning fluid to the window (“spray the liquid” [0048]); or
a squeegee end effector (95) to remove waste fluid from the window (“rubber wipers…remove or control excess flow of liquid” [0066]).
- Regarding Claim 3. Bofill discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the umbilical support system (82) comprises:
a telescoping boom arm (“telescoping mechanism” [0056]); and
a support assembly coupled to a distal end of the telescoping boom arm (illustrated by fig. 3) to support the umbilical cord (48/52/66/76), wherein the support assembly includes the at least one first sensor (46, “anemometer” [0061], [0067] – location may differ without departing from the scope).
- Regarding Claim 4. Bofill discloses the system of claim 3, wherein:
the support assembly includes an umbilical pulley assembly (84); and
the umbilical pulley assembly (84) includes the at least one first sensor (46, “anemometer” [0061]).
- Regarding Claim 5. Bofill discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising a central control computer (“control unit” [0056]), wherein:
the umbilical support system (82) includes an umbilical support system controller (79);
the base station (14) includes a base station controller (79, controller 79 operates both the support system and base station); and
the at least one controller includes at least one of the umbilical support system controller, the base station controller, or the central control computer (see claim 1).
- Regarding Claim 6. Bofill discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one first sensor (46) comprises at least one of:
a first anemometer (46, “anemometer” [0061]); or
a first location tracker (43, “GPS receiver” [0046]).
- Regarding Claim 7. Bofill discloses the system of claim 6, wherein:
the at least one first sensor comprises the first anemometer (46, “anemometer” [0061]); and the at least one controller (79) transmits the at least one command to the aerial vehicle (12) to control the aerial vehicle to compensate for wind speed and direction (“to address cross-winds…” [0061]).
- Regarding Claim 8. Bofill discloses the system of claim 6, wherein the at least one first sensor comprises the first location tracker (43), and wherein the first location tracker comprises at least one of:
a first global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver (“GPS receiver” [0046]).
- Regarding Claim 9. Bofill discloses the system of claim 6, wherein:
the aerial vehicle includes at least one second sensor (46/43; “one or more sensors including proximity sensor, an anemometer, and or wind vane” [0061]) communicatively coupled to the at least one controller (79);
the at least one second sensor (“proximity sensor” [0061]; “image sensor faces up” [0054]) comprises a second location tracker (“means for monitoring the tether” [0061]);
the first location tracker measures a first set of coordinates corresponding to a first location of at least a portion of the umbilical support system (given that the support system is disposed above and controlling the location of the aerial vehicle, the controller can determine locations as required); and
the second location tracker measures a second set of coordinates corresponding to a second location of the aerial vehicle (12, “proximity sensor” [0061]).
- Regarding Claim 10. Bofill discloses the system of claim 9, wherein:
the at least one controller (79) is communicatively coupled to the umbilical support system (82) and adjusts a position of the umbilical support system relative to the aerial vehicle (12) based at least in part on the first set of coordinates and the second set of coordinates (“adjusted with respect to how far it extends from the platform” [0056]).
- Regarding Claim 11. Bofill discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the at least one second sensor further comprises at least one of:
an imaging system (“image sensor” [0054])
- Regarding Claim 12. Bofill discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one first sensor comprises at least one of:
a first inertial measurement unit (IMU) (“proximity sensor” [0061]).
- Regarding Claim 13. Bofill discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the umbilical support system comprises:
a telescoping boom arm; and
a support assembly coupled to a distal end of the telescoping boom arm to support the umbilical cord, wherein the support assembly includes the at least one first sensor (see claims 3 and 4).
- Regarding Claim 14. Bofill discloses the system of claim 13, further comprising a central control computer, wherein:
the umbilical support system includes an umbilical support system controller; the base station includes a base station controller; and
the at least one controller includes at least one of the umbilical support system controller, the base station controller, or the central control computer (see claim 5).
- Regarding Claim 15. Bofill discloses a system (fig. 3-4), comprising:
an aerial vehicle configured for translational and rotational motion in air with multiple degrees of freedom, the aerial vehicle including a communication subsystem; at least one end effector coupled to the aerial vehicle to facilitate treatment of a vertical or inclined surface; an umbilical cord coupled to the aerial vehicle to carry at least electrical power to the aerial vehicle; an umbilical support system to support the umbilical cord in air, the umbilical support system including at least one first sensor to obtain first sensor data; and at least one controller, disposed separately from the aerial vehicle, communicatively coupled to the at least one first sensor and to the aerial vehicle via the communication subsystem, to transmit at least one command to the aerial vehicle to perform at least one action to facilitate the treatment of the vertical or inclined surface based at least in part on the first sensor data obtained by the at least one first sensor (see claim 1).
- Regarding Claim 16. Bofill discloses the system of claim 15, wherein the aerial vehicle comprises:
an autonomous aerial vehicle configured for translational and rotational motion with six degrees of freedom (6-DOF AAV) (illustrated by fig. 1 or 8-12).
- Regarding Claim 17. Bofill discloses the system of claim 15, wherein:
the vertical or inclined surface includes a window;
the treatment of the window includes cleaning the window;
the at least one end effector includes at least one of:
an applicator end effector to apply a cleaning fluid to the window; or
a squeegee end effector to remove waste fluid from the window; and
the umbilical cord is further coupled to the at least one end effector and carries the electrical power and the cleaning fluid to the aerial vehicle (see claims 1-2) .
- Regarding Claim 18. Bofill discloses the system of claim 17, further comprising a base station coupled to the umbilical cord, the base station comprising at least one pump to supply at least the cleaning fluid to the applicator end effector (see claim 1).
- Regarding Claim 19. Bofill discloses the system of claim 18, wherein the umbilical support system is coupled to the base station (illustrated by fig. 3-4).
- Regarding Claim 20. Bofill discloses the system of claim 18, further comprising a central control computer, wherein:
the umbilical support system includes an umbilical support system controller;
the base station includes a base station controller; and
the at least one controller includes at least one of the umbilical support system controller, the base station controller, or the central control computer (see claim 5).
- Regarding Claim 21. Bofill discloses the system of claim 15, wherein the at least one first sensor comprises at least one of:
a first anemometer; or
a first location tracker (see claim 6).
- Regarding Claim 22. Bofill discloses the system of claim 21, wherein:
the at least one first sensor comprises the first anemometer; and
the at least one controller transmits the at least one command to the aerial vehicle to control the aerial vehicle to compensate for wind speed and direction (see claim 7).
- Regarding Claim 23. Bofill discloses the system of claim 21, wherein the at least one first sensor comprises the first location tracker, and wherein the first location tracker comprises at least one of:
a first global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver (see claim 8).
- Regarding Claim 24. Bofill discloses the system of claim 21, wherein:
the aerial vehicle includes at least one second sensor communicatively coupled to the at least one controller;
the at least one second sensor comprises a second location tracker;
the first location tracker measures a first set of coordinates corresponding to a first location of at least a portion of the umbilical support system; and
the second location tracker measures a second set of coordinates corresponding to a second location of the aerial vehicle (see claim 9).
- Regarding Claim 25. Bofill discloses the system of claim 24, wherein:
the at least one controller is communicatively coupled to the umbilical support system and adjusts a position of the umbilical support system relative to the aerial vehicle based at least in part on the first set of coordinates and the second set of coordinates (see claim 10).
- Regarding Claim 26. Bofill discloses the system of claim 24, wherein the at least one second sensor further comprises at least one of: an inertial measurement unit (IMU);
an imaging system (see claim 11).
- Regarding Claim 27. Bofill discloses the system of claim 15, wherein the at least one first sensor comprises at least one of:
a first inertial measurement unit (IMU) (see claim 12).
- Regarding Claim 28. Bofill discloses the system of claim 15, wherein the umbilical support system is configured carry and suspend the umbilical cord above the aerial vehicle during operation or the aerial vehicle (illustrated by fig. 3-4).
- Regarding Claim 29. Bofill discloses the system of claim 28, wherein the umbilical support system comprises:
a telescoping boom arm; and
a support assembly coupled to a distal end of the telescoping boom arm to support the umbilical cord (see claim 13).
- Regarding Claim 30. Bofill discloses the system of claim 29, wherein the support assembly includes the at least one first sensor (see claim 13).
- Regarding Claim 31. Bofill discloses the system of claim 30, wherein:
the support assembly includes an umbilical pulley assembly; and
the umbilical pulley assembly includes the at least one first sensor (see claim 4).
- Regarding Claim 32. Bofill discloses the system of claim 30, wherein the at least one first sensor comprises at least one of:
an anemometer; or
a location tracker (see claim 6).
- Regarding Claim 33. Bofill discloses the system of claim 32, wherein the at least one first sensor comprises the location tracker, and wherein the location tracker comprises at least one of:
a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver (see claim 8).
- Regarding Claim 34. Bofill discloses the system of claim 30, wherein the at least one first sensor comprises at least one of: an inertial measurement unit (IMU); or an imaging system (see claim 12).
- Regarding Claim 35. Bofill discloses the system of claim 15, wherein the umbilical support system is coupled to a roof of a structure that includes the vertical or inclined surface (illustrated by fig. 3-4).
- Regarding Claim 36. Bofill discloses the system of claim 35, wherein the umbilical support system comprises:
a telescoping boom arm; and
a support assembly coupled to a distal end of the telescoping boom arm to support the umbilical cord, wherein the support assembly includes the at least one first sensor (see claim 13).
- Regarding Claim 37. Bofill discloses the system of claim 36, wherein:
the vertical or inclined surface includes a window; the treatment of the window includes cleaning the window; the at least one end effector includes at least one of:
an applicator end effector to apply a cleaning fluid to the window; or
a squeegee end effector to remove waste fluid from the window; and
the umbilical cord is further coupled to the at least one end effector and carries the electrical power and the cleaning fluid to the aerial vehicle (see claims 1-2).
- Regarding Claim 38. Bofill discloses the system of claim 37, wherein the at least one first sensor comprises at least one of:
a first anemometer; or
a first location tracker (see claim 6).
- Regarding Claim 39. Bofill discloses the system of claim 38, wherein:
the at least one first sensor comprises the first anemometer; and
the at least one controller transmits the at least one command to the aerial vehicle to control the aerial vehicle to compensate for wind speed and direction (see claim 7).
- Regarding Claim 40. Bofill discloses the system of claim 38, wherein the at least one first sensor comprises the first location tracker, and wherein the first location tracker comprises at least one of: a first global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver; or a first laser range finder (see claim 8).
- Regarding Claim 41. Bofill discloses the system of claim 38, wherein:
the aerial vehicle includes at least one second sensor communicatively coupled to the at least one controller;
the at least one second sensor comprises a second location tracker;
the first location tracker measures a first set of coordinates corresponding to a first location of at least a portion of the umbilical support system; and
the second location tracker measures a second set of coordinates corresponding to a second location of the aerial vehicle (see claim 9).
- Regarding Claim 42. Bofill discloses the system of claim 41, wherein:
the at least one controller is communicatively coupled to the umbilical support system and adjusts a position of the umbilical support system relative to the aerial vehicle based at least in part on the first set of coordinates and the second set of coordinates (see claim 10).
- Regarding Claim 43. Bofill discloses the system of claim 41, wherein the at least one second sensor further comprises at least one of:
an inertial measurement unit (IMU); an imaging system; a temperature sensor; a relative humidity sensor; or a pressure sensor (see claim 11).
- Regarding Claim 44. Bofill discloses the system of claim 37, wherein the at least one first sensor comprises at least one of:
an inertial measurement unit (IMU); or an imaging system (see claim 12).
- Regarding Claim 45. Bofill discloses the system of claim 37, further comprising a base station coupled to the umbilical cord, the base station comprising at least one pump to supply at least the cleaning fluid to the applicator end effector (see claim 1).
- Regarding Claim 46. Bofill discloses the system of claim 45, wherein: the base station is disposed on the roof of the structure; and the umbilical support system is coupled to the base station (illustrated by fig. 3-4).
- Regarding Claim 47. Bofill discloses the system of claim 45, further comprising a central control computer, wherein:
the umbilical support system includes an umbilical support system controller;
the base station includes a base station controller; and
the at least one controller includes at least one of the umbilical support system controller, the base station controller, or the central control computer (see claim 5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in PTO-892.
/TYE WILLIAM ABELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644 24 June 2026