DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 07/20/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8 and 10-21 are currently pending in the application. Any rejection(s) and/or objection(s) made in the previous Office action and not repeated below, are hereby withdrawn due to Applicant's amendments and/or arguments in the response filed on 07/20/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 11, "(i)" and "(ii)" should be amended about the parentheses with both the left and right parenthesis symbols, because such parentheses are generally used for enclosing reference characters corresponding to elements recited in the detailed description of the drawings and used in conjunction with the recitation of the same element or group of elements in the claims. See MPEP § 608.01(m). Applicant may use "i)" and "ii)" or other proper numbering methods.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8, 10 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the pump device including a release feature including an aperture". It is unclear which structure includes "an aperture". The pump device? The release feature? For examination purposes, the limitation has been construed to be "the pump device including a release feature, the release feature including an aperture".
Claim 1 recites the limitation "and operable to transition the compressible component". It is unclear which structure is "operable to transition the compressible component". The pump device? The release feature? For examination purposes, the examiner has interpreted that either the pump device or the release feature is operable to transition the compressible component.
The remaining claims each depend from a rejected base claim and are likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bishop (US 2023/0346074 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bishop discloses an article of footwear (shoe 10; figs. 1A-2; para. 0031) comprising:
an upper (upper 200; figs. 1A-2; para. 0031) including a chamber (chambers 204; figs. 1A-2; para. 0048);
a compressible component (compressible component 206; figs. 1A-2; para. 0048) disposed within the chamber (figs. 1A-2; para. 0048) and operable between a relaxed state and a constricted state (figs. 1A-2; para. 0048); and
a pump device (pump device 106; figs. 1A-2; paras. 0034, 0038) including a fluid envelope (fluid chamber 132; figs. 3-4D; paras. 0037-0038) and at least one conduit (including intake port 135 and a third conduit for transporting fluid; figs. 1A-4C; para. 0038) fluidly coupled to the chamber (figs. 1A-2; para. 0048), the pump device operable to transition the compressible component from the relaxed state to the constricted state by removing fluid from the chamber at a first flow rate (when pump device 106 drawing fluid from chambers 204 of upper 200 into chamber 132 of pump device 106 at a first flow rate; figs. 4A-4C; para. 0049), the pump device including a release feature including an aperture (in a third conduit; see figs. 4A-4C and annotated fig. 4D) formed through a thickness of the at least one conduit (in the third conduit; see figs. 4A-4C and annotated fig. 4D; paras. 0038, 0052) and operable to transition the compressible component from the constricted state to the relaxed state by passing fluid from the fluid envelope to the chamber at a second flow rate (when structure 109 of release valve 138 is pressed, release valve 138 is opened, ambient air flows through intake port 135 and intake conduit 156 to chambers 204 of the upper 200 at a second flow rate; figs. 1A, 4D; paras. 0038, 0048, 0050, 0052).
Annotated Fig. 4D from US 2023/0346074 A1
Regarding claim 2, Bishop discloses the article of footwear of Claim 1, and further discloses the article of footwear further including a sole structure (midsole 102; fig. 2; para. 0033) including a recess forming a cavity (cavity 120; fig. 2; para. 0036), the pump device disposed within the cavity (fig. 2; para. 0036).
Regarding claim 4, Bishop discloses the article of footwear of Claim 1, and further discloses wherein the pump device includes a first plate (check valve endcap 126; figs. 3-4D; para. 0037) and a second plate (piston endcap 128; figs. 3-4D; para. 0037), the fluid envelope disposed between the first plate and the second plate (figs. 3-4D; para. 0037).
Regarding claim 5, Bishop discloses the article of footwear of Claim 1, and further discloses wherein the pump device includes a valve (inlet check valve 134; figs. 4A-4D; para. 0038) in fluid communication with the chamber and the fluid envelope (via intake conduit 156; figs. 1A-1B, 4A-4D; para. 0048), the fluid removed from the chamber being received within the fluid envelope (fluid is drawn from chambers 204 of the upper 200 and into chamber 132 of pump device 106 via intake port 135 and inlet check valve 134; figs. 4A-4D; paras. 0049-0050).
Regarding claim 6, Bishop discloses the article of footwear of Claim 1, and further discloses wherein the release feature is configured to pass the fluid from the pump device to the chamber during a static period defined by non-movement of the article of footwear (when structure 109 of release valve 138 is pressed by a user when movement being stopped, release valve 138 is opened, ambient air flows through the aperture sequentially into the third conduit, intake port 135, and intake conduit 156 to chambers 204 of the upper 200; figs. 1A, 4D; paras. 0038, 0048, 0050, 0052).
Regarding claim 8, Bishop discloses the article of footwear of Claim 1, and further discloses wherein the aperture passes fluid from the pump device to the chamber when the second flow rate is greater than the first flow rate (inherent feature, as a net flow would be toward the chamber; see discussions for claim 1).
Regarding claim 10, Bishop discloses the article of footwear of Claim 1, and further discloses wherein the at least one conduit includes a first conduit (intake conduit 156; figs. 1A-1B; para. 0048) coupled to the fluid envelope of the pump device (via intake port 135; figs. 1A-1B, 4A-4D; para. 0048) and a second conduit (intake port 135; figs. 4A-4D) coupled to the first conduit (figs. 4A-4D).
Status of Claims
Claim 21 is currently free of prior art rejections. However, the claims should not be construed as reciting allowable subject matter. It is noted that all the pending claims are subjected to 35 USC 112(b) rejections as discussed above; and substantive amendments to the claims may result in prior-art-based rejections in a future office action.
Claims 11-20 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the claims objection(s).
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111 (b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claims 11-20, none of the prior art discloses, teaches, or suggests that the article of footwear comprising a release device including: i) a release feature defining an orifice and ii) a first housing and a second housing rotatably operable in opposing directions between a first position and a second position, the release device fluidly coupled with the chamber and operable to transition the upper from the constricted state to the relaxed state by expelling fluid into the chamber at a second flow rate when the first housing and the second housing are in the second position, as required by claim 11.
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant's amendment, newly modified grounds of rejection have been identified and applied as necessitated by the amendment. Applicant's arguments with respect to the amended claims 1-2, 4-6, 8 and 10 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as discussed supra.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AIYING ZHAO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732