DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7, 10 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sah (USPN 2009/0225064 A1) in view of Lin et al. (USPN 2013/0235011 A1).
As to claim 1, Sah teaches an electrophoretic display module, comprising:
a first substrate having a plurality of edges and including a plurality of pixel electrodes (see at least fig. 5 - driving substrate 21 having peripheral edges and a plurality of pixel electrodes 211; [0030] “The driving substrate 21 has a plurality of pixel electrodes 211, a lower substrate 212, and a connecting pad 213. ... The pixel electrodes 211 are disposed on the lower substrate 212.”; [0031] “The non-volatile display material 22 may be an electrophoretic material, for example, a plurality of charged particles C and a dielectric solution L.”);
a bezel coupled to a first edge of the plurality of edges of the first substrate (see at least [0039] “the non-volatile display apparatus 2 may further include a frame 28, which covers the periphery of the driving substrate 21 and has an opening 281.” - frame 28 corresponds a bezel and covers a first edge of driving substrate 21);
a second substrate arranged above the first substrate and configured to receive a reference voltage (see at least fig. 4; [0032] “the non-volatile display apparatus 2 further includes an upper substrate 24 and a non-volatile display material 22 is disposed between the upper substrate 24 and the driving substrate 21.”; [0033] “The common electrode layer 25 is disposed opposite to the pixel electrodes 211 of the driving substrate 21 and between the non-volatile display material 22 and the upper substrate 24. As a voltage difference is applied between the common electrode layer 25 and at least one pixel electrode 211, the charged particle C is forced to move, such that the ambient light is reflected to present the color of the charged particle C or of the dielectric solution L.”; [0034] “The non-volatile display apparatus 2 further includes a conductive element 26 that is connected to the connecting pad 213 and the common electrode layer 25, such that the common electrode layer 25 is electrically connected to the connecting pad 213.” - upper substrate 24/common electrode layer 25 correspond to the second substrate receiving a reference voltage);
a display medium layer arranged between the first substrate and the second substrate (see at least fig. 4; [0030] “A control chip 214 (as shown in FIG. 5) or a control circuit disposed on the lower substrate 212 is used to drive the non-volatile display material 22 with the pixel electrodes 211, and the driving substrate 21 can be driven by an active matrix driving method or a passive matrix driving method.”; [0031] “The non-volatile display material 22 may be an electrophoretic material, for example, a plurality of charged particles C and a dielectric solution L.”; [0032] “the non-volatile display apparatus 2 further includes an upper substrate 24 and a non-volatile display material 22 is disposed between the upper substrate 24 and the driving substrate 21.”).
Sah does not directly teach a driver configured to apply, to each pixel electrode of the plurality of pixel electrodes, a data voltage corrected based on a distance between the first edge of the first substrate and each pixel electrode of the plurality of pixel electrodes such that the reference voltage received by the second substrate and the corrected data voltage applied to each pixel electrode of the plurality of pixel electrodes drive the display medium layer.
Lin teaches a driver configured to apply, to each pixel electrode of the plurality of pixel electrodes, a data voltage corrected based on a distance between the first edge of the first substrate and each pixel electrode of the plurality of pixel electrodes such that the reference voltage received by the second substrate and the corrected data voltage applied to each pixel electrode of the plurality of pixel electrodes drive the display medium layer (see at least fig. 1: pixel array arranged along data lines S1-Sn and gate lines G1-Gm; [0029] “A voltage compensation module which is determined in accordance with the currently displayed coordinate position and used for improving the uniformity of the LCD panel is arranged between the data line and the data drive circuit; the voltage compensation module is internally integrated with a table unit for storing the pixel of each coordinate position and a compensation weight corresponding thereto.”; [0030] “the voltage compensation module is provided with a minimum compensating voltage when driving the pixel electrode of the LCD panel closest to the output end thereof, and the value of the compensating voltage is increased progressively along with the increase of distance. In accordance with the aforementioned rule, the RC delay of different pixels in different coordinate positions is determined in accordance with the physical characteristics of material and circuit arrangement and the like in the process of manufacturing LCD panels, and the compensating voltage of each coordinate position is calculated in accordance with different RC delay and then is loaded onto the corresponding data line during display. …, before driving the pixel of the data line in a certain coordinate position, the voltage compensation module reads the compensation weight of the corresponding coordinate position from the table unit, and then calculates the compensating voltage value and outputs the calculated compensating voltage to the corresponding data line.”; [0034] “Obtaining the coordinate position of the pixel to be displayed on the current frame of the LCD panel and the ideal voltage required by the correspondingly displayed gray scale thereto”; [0035] “Determining the compensating voltage for improving the uniformity of the LCD panel in accordance with the coordinate position of the current pixel on the LCD panel, and loading the compensating voltage onto the corresponding data line.”; [0039] “the farther the data signal from signal output end of the data line is, the more serious the variation is. Therefore, the voltage compensation module is provided with a minimum compensating voltage when driving the pixel electrode of the LCD panel closest to the output end thereof, and the value of the compensating voltage is increased progressively along with the increase of distance.”).
In implementing Lin’s distance-dependent compensation in Sah, it would have been obvious to use the edge of Sah’s driving substrate 21 from which the corresponding data signals are supplied as the reference for determining the distance of each pixel electrode, because the respective distances of the pixel electrodes from that signal-supply edge correspond to their respective signal propagation distances from the data-signal output. Sah’s Fig. 5 shows pixel electrodes 211 distributed at different positions relative to the peripheral edges of driving substrate 21, and Sah’s frame 28 covers the periphery of driving substrate 21 ([0039]). Accordingly, the signal-supply edge may be the claimed first edge to which the bezel/frame 28 is coupled. The resulting modified display therefore applies to each pixel electrode a data voltage corrected based on the distance between the first edge of the first substrate and that respective pixel electrode. Although Lin describes its compensation technique in connection with an LCD panel, Lin attributes the need for the compensation to RC delay and distance-dependent variation of the data signal along the signal path ([0030], [0039]), rather than to an optical characteristic unique to liquid-crystal material. Sah likewise uses matrix-driven pixel electrodes to apply respective voltages across its display medium (Sah [0030], [0033]). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized Lin’s distance-dependent data-voltage compensation as applicable to Sah’s matrix-driven pixel electrodes for the same purpose of compensating distance-dependent signal variation. When Lin’s distance-corrected data voltages are employed in Sah, the reference voltage received by the second substrate and the corrected data voltage applied to each pixel electrode drive the display medium layer, because Sah expressly teaches that the voltage difference between opposing common electrode layer 25 and a respective pixel electrode 211 causes the charged particles C of electrophoretic material 22 to move (Sah [0033]). Thus, in the modified Sah display, the corrected data voltage supplied according to Lin to each respective pixel electrode 211, together with the reference voltage supplied to Sah’s opposing common electrode layer 25, provides the voltage difference that drives electrophoretic display medium 22.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sah’s matrix-driven electrophoretic display to incorporate Lin’s position-dependent data-voltage compensation, such that the data voltage applied to each pixel electrode is corrected according to the distance of the respective pixel electrode from the side/edge of the display substrate from which the corresponding data signal is supplied in order to improve voltage and display uniformity across Sah’s display.
As to claim 4, the combination of Sah and Lin teach the electrophoretic display module of claim 1 (see above rejection), wherein the driver is configured to determine a target data voltage applied to each pixel electrode of the plurality of pixel electrodes based on input image data (see Lin at least [0034] “Obtaining the coordinate position of the pixel to be displayed on the current frame of the LCD panel and the ideal voltage required by the correspondingly displayed gray scale thereto”), and correct the target data voltage based on the distance between the first edge of the first substrate and each pixel electrode of the plurality of pixel electrodes to determine the corrected data voltage (see Lin at least [0036] “the compensation weight for improving the uniformity of the LCD panel is determined in accordance with the currently displayed coordinate position, and the ideal voltage is multiplied by the compensation weight to calculate the compensating voltage”; [0039] “the farther the data signal from signal output end of the data line is, the more serious the variation is. Therefore, the voltage compensation module is provided with a minimum compensating voltage when driving the pixel electrode of the LCD panel closest to the output end thereof, and the value of the compensating voltage is increased progressively along with the increase of distance.”).
As to claim 5, the combination of Sah and Lin teach the electrophoretic display module of claim 1 (see above rejection), wherein a correction amount of the corrected data voltage is proportional to the distance between the first edge of the first substrate and each pixel electrode of the plurality of pixel electrodes (see Lin at least [0030] “the value of the compensating voltage is increased progressively along with the increase of distance”; [0039] “the voltage compensation module is provided with a minimum compensating voltage when driving the pixel electrode of the LCD panel closest to the output end thereof, and the value of the compensating voltage is increased progressively along with the increase of distance.”).
As to claim 6, the combination of Sah and Lin teach the electrophoretic display module of claim 1 (see above rejection), wherein the plurality of pixel electrodes includes a first pixel electrode at a first distance from the first edge of the first substrate, and a second pixel electrode at a second distance from the first edge of the first substrate, the second distance being greater than the first distance, and based on a target data voltage corresponding to the first pixel electrode and the second pixel electrode being a first data voltage and a second data voltage, respectively, the driver is configured to: adjust the first data voltage by a first voltage and apply the adjusted first data voltage to the first pixel electrode, and adjust the second data voltage by a second voltage and apply the adjusted second data voltage to the second pixel electrode, and a magnitude of the second voltage is greater than a magnitude of the first voltage (see Lin at least [0030] “before driving the pixel of the data line in a certain coordinate position, the voltage compensation module reads the compensation weight of the corresponding coordinate position from the table unit, and then calculates the compensating voltage value and outputs the calculated compensating voltage to the corresponding data line.”; [0039] “the farther the data signal from signal output end of the data line is, the more serious the variation is. Therefore, the voltage compensation module is provided with a minimum compensating voltage when driving the pixel electrode of the LCD panel closest to the output end thereof, and the value of the compensating voltage is increased progressively along with the increase of distance.”).
As to claim 7, the combination of Sah and Lin teach the electrophoretic display module of claim 1 (see above rejection), further comprising: a conductive member in the bezel and configured to apply the reference voltage received by the second substrate (see Sah at least [0034] “The non-volatile display apparatus 2 further includes a conductive element 26 that is connected to the connecting pad 213 and the common electrode layer 25, such that the common electrode layer 25 is electrically connected to the connecting pad 213. The conductive element 26 may be a conductive spacer (e.g. a gold ball), a conductive gel (e.g. a silver gel), a conductive adhesive tape or a wire.”; [0039] “a frame 28, which covers the periphery of the driving substrate 21 and has an opening 281”).
As to claim 10, the combination of Sah and Lin teach the electrophoretic display module of claim 1 (see above rejection), wherein the bezel is a first bezel, a second edge among the plurality of edges is opposite to the first edge, the electrophoretic display module further comprises a second bezel coupled to the second edge (see Sah at least [0039] “a frame 28, which covers the periphery of the driving substrate 21” – the frame covers the substrate’s periphery and therefore extends along opposing peripheral edges which correspond to the claimed first and second bezels), and the driver is configured to apply, to each pixel electrode of the plurality of pixel electrodes, a data voltage corrected based on a distance between a virtual reference line between the first edge and the second edge of the first substrate and each pixel electrode of the plurality of pixel electrodes (see Lin at least [0030] “both ends of the scan line are separately provided with a gate drive circuit 200, the highest compensating voltage is output by the voltage compensation module in the middle of the display area of the LCD panel, and the value of the compensating voltage is decreased progressively to the two ends”; [0039] “because both ends of the scan line are separately provided with a drive, the data signal has the most serious delay variation in the middle part, and has gradually slight variation to both ends.” – note Lin teaches varying the compensating voltage according to the position of the corresponding display location relative to the middle of the display area between opposing ends. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement Lin’s disclosed position-dependent compensation by defining the middle of the display area as a virtual reference line between the opposed edges and determining the correction for each pixel electrode according to its distance from that reference line, because doing so provides a predictable spatial parameter for implementing Lin’s expressly disclosed progressive compensation from the middle of the panel toward its opposite ends).
As to claim 13, Sah and Lin teach the electrophoretic display module of claim 10 (see above rejection), wherein the driver is configured to determine a target data voltage applied to each pixel electrode of the plurality of pixel electrodes based on input image data, and correct the target data voltage based on the distance between the virtual reference line and each pixel electrode of the plurality of pixel electrodes to determine the corrected data voltage (see Lin at least [0030] “compensating voltage is output by the voltage compensation module in the middle of the display area of the LCD panel, and the value of the compensating voltage is decreased progressively to the two ends”; [0034] “Obtaining the coordinate position of the pixel to be displayed on the current frame of the LCD panel and the ideal voltage required by the correspondingly displayed gray scale thereto”; [0036] “the compensation weight for improving the uniformity of the LCD panel is determined in accordance with the currently displayed coordinate position, and the ideal voltage is multiplied by the compensation weight to calculate the compensating voltage”; [0039] “For the dual-gate single-data drive circuit, because both ends of the scan line are separately provided with a drive, the data signal has the most serious delay variation in the middle part, and has gradually slight variation to both ends. Therefore, the voltage compensation module is provided with the highest output compensating voltage in the middle of the display area of the LCD panel, and the value of the compensating voltage is progressively decreased to the two ends.”).
As to claim 14, Sah and Lin teach the electrophoretic display module of claim 10 (see above rejection), wherein a correction amount of the data voltage is inversely proportional to the distance between the virtual reference line and each pixel electrode of the plurality of pixel electrodes (see Lin at least [0030] “the highest compensating voltage is output by the voltage compensation module in the middle of the display area of the LCD panel, and the value of the compensating voltage is decreased progressively to the two ends”; [0039] “the data signal has the most serious delay variation in the middle part, and has gradually slight variation to both ends.”).
As to claim 15, Sah and Lin teach the electrophoretic display module of claim 10 (see above rejection), wherein the virtual reference line is parallel to the first edge and the second edge, and passes through a midpoint between the first edge and the second edge (see Lin at least [0030] “the highest compensating voltage is output by the voltage compensation module in the middle of the display area of the LCD panel, and the value of the compensating voltage is decreased progressively to the two ends”).
As to claim 16, Sah and Lin teach the electrophoretic display module of claim 10 (see above rejection), wherein the plurality of pixel electrodes comprises a first pixel electrode which is a first distance away from the virtual reference line, and a second pixel electrode which is a second distance away from the virtual reference line, wherein the second distance is greater than the first distance, and wherein in response to a target data voltage corresponding to the first pixel electrode and the second pixel electrode each being a first data voltage and a second data voltage, the driver is configured to adjust the first data voltage by a first voltage and apply the adjusted first data voltage to the first pixel electrode, and adjust the second data voltage by a second voltage and apply the adjusted second data voltage to the second pixel electrode, wherein a magnitude of the first voltage may be greater than a magnitude of the second voltage (see Lin at least [0030] “the highest compensating voltage is output by the voltage compensation module in the middle of the display area of the LCD panel, and the value of the compensating voltage is decreased progressively to the two ends” – note for a first pixel electrode at a first distance from the central reference line and a second pixel electrode at a greater second distance, the compensation applied to the first pixel is greater than that applied to the second pixel. Therefore, for respective first and second target data voltages, the magnitude of the first adjustment voltage is greater than the magnitude of the second adjustment voltage).
Claims 2, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sah (USPN 2009/0225064 A1) in view of Lin et al. (USPN 2013/0235011 A1), further in view of Doebelt et al. (USPN 2016/0140882 A1).
As to claim 2, the combination of Sah and Lin teach the electrophoretic display module of claim 1 (see above rejection).
Sah and Lin do not directly teach wherein no bezel is formed on remaining edges other than the first edge of the plurality of edges.
Doebelt teaches wherein no bezel is formed on remaining edges other than the first edge of the plurality of edges (see at least [0066] “Each panel has a frame portion which extends around some but not all sides of the display panel. …, different numbers of frame portions may be used depending on the position of the panel on the assembly”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Sah’s frame/bezel only along the edge at which the associated electronics and/or connections are required, while omitting the bezel from the remaining edges, particularly where minimizing the inactive border or permitting close placement of adjacent display modules is desired, therefore minimizing the frame effect between adjacent panels.
As to claim 9, the combination of Sah and Lin teach an electrophoretic display apparatus comprising the electrophoretic display module of claim 1 as a first electrophoretic module among a plurality of electrophoretic display modules according to claim 1 (see above rejection).
Sah and Lin do not directly teach wherein at least one remaining edge among the remaining edges of the first substrate of the first electrophoretic module, other than the first edge of the first substrate of the first electrophoretic module, is in contact with at least one remaining edge of remaining edges of a first substrate of a second electrophoretic display module among the plurality of electrophoretic display modules.
Doebelt teaches wherein at least one remaining edge among the remaining edges of the first substrate of the first electrophoretic module, other than the first edge of the first substrate of the first electrophoretic module, is in contact with at least one remaining edge of remaining edges of a first substrate of a second electrophoretic display module among the plurality of electrophoretic display modules (see at least [0029] “The assembly comprises a magnetic support 18 which … is large enough to support multiple display panels.”; [0031] “The display panels 12 are generally formed from a reflective display medium, such as an electrophoretic display.”; [0034] “Flexible display panels 12 .. are placed on the foil layer 16 to create the assembly 10. ... There is a minimal gap between the display panels 12 so that the display panels give the appearance of a larger display.”; [0066] “four display panels 12 are fitted side-by-side to form a two by-two display assembly. ... When the panels are brought together, there is no gap between the panels and each panel has at least one frame portion which overlaps an adjacent panel.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange a plurality of the Sah/Lin electrophoretic modules according to Doebelt’s side-by-side modular arrangement to form a larger substantially continuous electrophoretic display in order to minimize or reduce the frame effect between the display panels and increase the user's impression that the display assembly is a continuous display (see Doebelt at least [0066]).
As to claim 11, the combination of Sah and Lin teach the electrophoretic display module of claim 10 (see above rejection).
Sah and Lin do not directly teach wherein no bezel is formed on remaining edges of the plurality of edges.
Doebelt teaches wherein no bezel is formed on remaining edges of the plurality of edges (see at least [0066] “Each panel has a frame portion which extends around some but not all sides of the display panel. ..., different numbers of frame portions may be used depending on the position of the panel on the assembly”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the first and second bezels at the opposite edges carrying the associated drive electronics and omit bezels from the remaining edges as taught by Doebelt into the display of Sah/Lin in order to minimize inactive border/frame area or reduce the frame effect between the display panels and increase the user's impression that the display assembly is a continuous display (see Doebelt at least [0066]).
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sah (USPN 2009/0225064 A1) in view of Lin et al. (USPN 2013/0235011 A1), further in view of Watson et al. (USPN 2008/0297496 A1).
As to claim 3, the combination of Sah and Lin teach the electrophoretic display module of claim 1 (see above rejection).
Sah and Lin do not directly teach wherein the driver is on the bezel.
Watson teaches wherein the driver is on the bezel (see at least [0043] “a printed circuit board 114 is incorporated into the frame 16 of the display device, either as a continuous frame (as illustrated) or as separate PCBs. This PCB carries conventional silicon electronics 116 typically comprising a microprocessor, memory and associated glue logic, .. , preferably the electronics are distributed around the display area … a TCP 118 may incorporate a driver integrated circuit 120 to interface between the active matrix circuitry 106 and the control electronics.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to locate the driver electronics of the Sah/Lin display on Sah’s bezel/frame, as taught by Watson, to locate rigid control/driver electronics outside the active display region and provide electrical connections to the active-matrix pixel circuitry while maintaining a thin display construction.
As to claim 12, the combination of Sah and Lin teach the electrophoretic display module of claim 10 (see above rejection).
Sah and Lin do not directly teach wherein the driver is disposed on at least one of the first bezel or the second bezel.
Watson teaches wherein the driver is disposed on at least one of the first bezel or the second bezel (see at least [0043] “a printed circuit board 114 is incorporated into the frame 16 of the display device, either as a continuous frame (as illustrated) or as separate PCBs. This PCB carries conventional silicon electronics 116 typically comprising a microprocessor, memory and associated glue logic, .. , preferably the electronics are distributed around the display area … a TCP 118 may incorporate a driver integrated circuit 120 to interface between the active matrix circuitry 106 and the control electronics.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to locate the driver electronics of the Sah/Lin display on Sah’s bezel/frame, as taught by Watson, to locate rigid control/driver electronics outside the active display region and provide electrical connections to the active-matrix pixel circuitry while maintaining a thin display construction.
Claims 8, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sah (USPN 2009/0225064 A1) in view Lin et al. (USPN 2013/0235011 A1), further in view of Choi et al. (USPN 2021/0158769 A1).
As to claim 8, the combination of Sah and Lin teach the electrophoretic display module of claim 7 (see above rejection and Sah at least [0034] “a conductive element 26 that is connected to the connecting pad 213 and the common electrode layer 25, such that the common electrode layer 25 is electrically connected to the connecting pad 213. .., the common electrode layer 25 may be electrically connected to the connecting pad 213 by a via of the driving substrate 21 or by the conductive element 26 that passes through or goes around the driving substrate 21.”; Lin at least [0030] “the RC delay of different pixels in different coordinate positions is determined in accordance with the physical characteristics of material and circuit arrangement”, [0039] “the farther the data signal from signal output end of the data line is, the more serious the variation is”).
Sah and Lin do not directly teach wherein the reference voltage applied to the second substrate through the conductive member decreases due to a voltage drop as a distance from the first edge of the first substrate increases.
Choi teaches wherein the reference voltage applied to the second substrate through the conductive member decreases due to a voltage drop as a distance from the first edge of the first substrate increases (see at least [0060] “The larger the area the display panel 110 has, the longer the horizontal common voltage line CL_H disposed in the display panel 110 is. Thus, the deviation in common voltage Vcom increases between the edges of both sides supplied with the common voltage Vcom and the middle in the display area of the display panel 110.”; [0090] “The common voltage Vcom applied to the display panel 110 may have a time delay inside the display panel 110, or have a time delay or a reduction in voltage level”; [0095] “the level of common voltage Vcom applied to the display panel via the dual lines with the gate layer GATE and the source/drain layer S/D may be prevented from being decreased.”; [0105] “In the opposite side (the top of the display panel 110) of the data driving circuit 130 or integrated circuit SRIC, which is positioned away from the data driving circuit 130 or integrated circuit SRIC, a decrease of signal level or signal delay may occur while the common voltage Vcom is transferred.”; [0108] “when data driving circuits 130 or integrated circuits SRIC are positioned on one side, … to supply common voltage Vcom, the common voltage Vcom flowing through a horizontal common voltage line CL_H positioned on the opposite side .., may have a decrease of a signal level or signal delay while transferred.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Choi’s teaching regarding the voltage-distribution characteristics of a common voltage supplied from an edge of a display to the common-electrode voltage-supply arrangement of Sah. Applying Choi’s known teaching to Sah/Lin would have involved no more than the predictable application of known voltage-distribution behavior to Sah’s common-electrode supply arrangement, with the predictable result that the reference voltage applied to the second substrate/common electrode through the conductive member decreases due to voltage drop as the distance from the first edge increases.
As to claim 17, the combination of Sah and Lin teach the electrophoretic display module of claim 10 (see above rejection).
Sah and Lin do not directly teach further comprising a first conductive member formed in the first bezel and configured to apply the reference voltage to the second substrate, and a second conductive member formed in the second bezel and configured to apply the reference voltage to the second substrate.
Choi teaches further comprising a first conductive member formed in the first bezel and configured to apply the reference voltage to the second substrate, and a second conductive member formed in the second bezel and configured to apply the reference voltage to the second substrate (see at least [0050] “The common voltage Vcom is supplied to a left common voltage line CL_L and a right common voltage line CL_R via the common voltage line CL extending from the common voltage compensation circuit 150, and the common voltage Vcom is applied to the inside of the display panel 110 from each of the left common voltage line CL_L and the right common voltage line CL_R.”
[0079] “the common voltage compensation circuit 150 applies the common voltage Vcom from both sides of the display panel 110 along the horizontal direction, reducing the deviation in common voltage Vcom for the horizontal direction of the display panel 110.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Sah’s known common-electrode voltage connection at each of the opposite first and second bezel regions of the dual-edge arrangement taught by Lin, as taught by Choi, in order to reduce common-voltage deviation across the panel.
As to claim 18, the combination of Sah, Lin and Choi teach the electrophoretic display module of claim 17 (see above rejection), wherein the reference voltage applied to the second substrate through each of the first conductive member and the second conductive member decreases due to a voltage drop as a distance to the virtual reference line decreases (see Choi at least [0060] “The larger the area the display panel 110 has, the longer the horizontal common voltage line CL_H disposed in the display panel 110 is. Thus, the deviation in common voltage Vcom increases between the edges of both sides supplied with the common voltage Vcom and the middle in the display area of the display panel 110.”; [0061] “Resultantly, the common voltage Vcom causes ripples in the middle of the display panel 110 as shown in FIG. 3A and, thus, an afterimage occurs due to the deviation in common voltage Vcom in the display panel 110 as shown in FIG. 3B.”).
Conclusion
/JENNIFER L ZUBAJLO/Examiner, Art Unit 2627 8/4/2026
/KE XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2627