DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application discloses and claims only subject matter disclosed in prior Application No. 8/9/2023, filed 10/15/2024, and names the inventor or at least one joint inventor named in the prior application. Accordingly, this application may constitute a continuation or divisional. Should applicant desire to claim the benefit of the filing date of the prior application, attention is directed to 35 U.S.C. 120, 37 CFR 1.78, and MPEP § 211 et seq. The presentation of a benefit claim may result in an additional fee under 37 CFR 1.17(w)(1) or (2) being required, if the earliest filing date for which benefit is claimed under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) and 1.78(d) in the application is more than six years before the actual filing date of the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 - 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “wherein the first control information is based on the pen-pressure value transmitted to the sensor controller in the downlink signal”.
Claim 2 depends on claim 1.
Claim 1 recites “acquires first control information from the first uplink signal;”
The language of claim 2 is contrary meaning with claim 1.
Therefore, claim 2 is indefinite.
Claims 3, 4 have same issue because of claim dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 4, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dekel et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 20220334658 A1, Assignee: Microsoft, Filed: 4/20/2021) in view of Gur et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 20220334698 A1, Assignee: Microsoft, Filed: 4/20/2021).
Regarding claim 1, Dekel discloses “An active pen that communicates with a sensor controller, the active pen comprising:
a haptic element; ([0020] – [0023]) and
an integrated circuit coupled to the haptic element, wherein the integrated circuit, in operation: ([0057] [0058])
receives a first uplink signal that is transmitted by the sensor controller; ([0057] [0058])
acquires first control information from the first uplink signal; ([0057] [0058])
determines a value of the first control information; ([0057] The stylus 100 then determines an uplink value corresponding to uplink activity in which the stylus is operated to receive an electrostatic energy signal from the computing device 104. If the stylus 100 is currently receiving the electrostatic energy signal from the computing device 104, then an uplink value of 2.0 is determined, such as by retrieving from memory 120. In this example the uplink value is weighted by a factor of 1.5 to generate a weighted uplink value of 3.0. The weighted inking value of 5.0 is combined with the weighted uplink value of 3.0 to generate a combined weighted predictive result of 8.0. This combined weighted predictive result is then compared to a haptic threshold value. In this example the haptic threshold value is 4.5. Because 8.0>=4.5, the comparison yields a haptic predictive result indicating that a haptic event is likely to occur. Accordingly, and based on the comparison yielding a haptic predictive result, the stylus 100 continues to transmit power to the haptic circuit 162. [0058]) and
controls the haptic element based on the first control information, ([0057] [0058])
wherein, in response to determining that the value of the first control information is a first value, the integrated circuit starts controlling the haptic element, ([0057] In this example the uplink value is weighted by a factor of 1.5 to generate a weighted uplink value of 3.0. The weighted inking value of 5.0 is combined with the weighted uplink value of 3.0 to generate a combined weighted predictive result of 8.0. This combined weighted predictive result is then compared to a haptic threshold value. In this example the haptic threshold value is 4.5. Because 8.0>=4.5, the comparison yields a haptic predictive result indicating that a haptic event is likely to occur. Accordingly, and based on the comparison yielding a haptic predictive result, the stylus 100 continues to transmit power to the haptic circuit 162.) and
Dekel does not disclose “wherein, in response to determining that the value of the first control information is a second value, the integrated circuit stops controlling the haptic element”.
Gur discloses “wherein, in response to determining that the value of the first control information is a second value, the integrated circuit stops controlling the haptic element”. ([0065] [0040] – [0042])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate disable haptic device by Gur into device of Dekel. The suggestion/motivation would have been to control stylus. (Gur: [0065])
Regarding claim 2, Dekel and Gur disclose further comprising: a core body; (Dekel [0009] [0012]) and a pressure sensor that, in operation, detects pressure applied to an end of the core body, (Dekel [0017] [0026]) and supplies a pen-pressure value to the integrated circuit, (Dekel [0017] [0026]) wherein the integrated circuit, in operation, causes the pen-pressure value to be transmitted to the sensor controller in a downlink signal, (Dekel [0017] [0026]) and wherein the first control information is based on the pen-pressure value transmitted to the sensor controller in the downlink signal. (Dekel [0017] [0026])
Regarding claim 3, Dekel and Gur disclose wherein: the pen-pressure value is zero when no pressure is applied to the end of the core body, (Dekel [0017] [0026]) the pen-pressure value is greater than zero when the pressure is applied to the end of the core body, (Dekel [0017] [0026]) the first control information has the first value when the pen-pressure value is greater than zero, (Dekel [0017] [0026]) and the first control information has the second value when the pen-pressure value is zero. (Dekel [0017] [0026])
Regarding claim 4, Dekel and Gur disclose wherein: the integrated circuit, in operation, controls the haptic element based on the first control information such that the haptic element vibrates when the end of the core body is pressed again a touch surface of the sensor controller, and the haptic element does not vibrate when the end of the core body is pressed against a surface other than the touch surface of the sensor controller. (Dekel [0017] [0026])
Regarding claim 6, Dekel and Gur disclose wherein: the control information is 1-bit data having a value of zero or one. (Dekel [0057] [0058])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7 – 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20240118756 A1 [0039] More specifically, the sensor controller 31 in the present modification determines whether or not there is occurrence of pen-down or pen-up in reference to the series of pen pressure values acquired so far (S10 and S11) and uses the uplink signal US to transmit the control signal of the haptic element 26 according to the result of the determination (S12 and S13). The specific process of S10 to S13 is similar to that of S3 to S6 except that the uplink signal US is used instead of the near field communication.
/CHUN-NAN LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629