DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to Applicant’s Amendment filed on May 19, 2026. Claims 1, 2, 4-10 and 12-15 are still pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-10 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wu (CN 116195283 [machine translation]) in view of LV (US Pat. Pub. No. 2024/0147380) and further in view of Pateromichelakis et al (US Pat. Pub. No. 2025/0300897).
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses a method performed by a network in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, by a first network function [first entity], energy-related information from a User Plane Function (UPF), a Session Management Function (SMF), and an Operation, Administration, and Maintenance (OAM) (see at least page 6 [paragraphs 15-21] and fig. 3 shows first entity, which maybe a function, receives energy information from the terminal), wherein the first network function has a direct or indirect interface with a Network Exposure Function (NEF), a Policy Control Function (PCF), a Unified Data Management (UDM), an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), the SMF, and the UPF (see at least page 6 [paragraphs 10-14] and fig. 2 shows first entity connected to network equipment).
Wu specifically does not disclose providing the energy-related information to a second network function, wherein the first network function provides a service related to collection and exposure of the energy-related information. However, LV from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches providing the energy-related information to a second network function, wherein the first network function provides a service related to collection and exposure of the energy-related information (see at least paragraphs 358 and 359 and fig. 6 discloses first network element obtains power information and share the power information with a second network element, which maybe a 5GC network element). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wu with LV as they both related obtaining power information of the UE; and improving the working performance of the communication system.
Wu and LV specifically does not disclose the energy consumption-related information per Network Function (NF) among the energy-related information is received from the OAM.
However, Pateromichelakis et al from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the energy consumption-related information per Network Function (NF) among the energy-related information is received from the OAM (see at least paragraphs 142 and 172-174 discloses receiving energy data from OAM).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify to incorporate above mention feature as taught by Pateromichelakis et al into the system of Wu and LV for purpose of receiving energy data from OAM; as energy data is used for deriving energy data analytics.
Regarding claim 2, Wu discloses the first network function comprises an Energy Information Repository Function (EIRF), and wherein the second network function comprises an Application Function (AF) (see at least page 6 [paragraphs 10-14] and fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, LV discloses the first network function receives data volume information from the UPF, and wherein the first network function receives Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session-related information from the SMF (see at least paragraph 367). Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, LV discloses the energy-related information comprises energy information provided by the network to an Application Function (AF) (see at least paragraph 437 and fig. 8). Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Wu discloses the first network function receives the energy-related information on the NF basis, a network slice basis, or a service basis (see at least page 6 [paragraphs 10-14] and fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Wu discloses the second network function further comprises a third-party AF (see at least page 6 [paragraphs 10-14] and fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Wu discloses a method performed by a User Equipment (UE) (fig. 3 [terminal]) in a wireless communication system, providing, by the UE having an interface with an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), energy information related to the UE to a first network function (see at least page 6 [paragraphs 15-21] and fig. 3 shows first entity, which maybe a function, receives energy information from the terminal); and performing communication with a network operated based on information provided by the first network function (see at least page 7 [paragraphs 8-9] and fig. 3 discloses communication state of the terminal), wherein the first network function [first entity], receives energy-related information from a User Plane Function (UPF), a Session Management Function (SMF), and an Operation, Administration, and Maintenance (OAM) (see at least page 6 [paragraphs 15-21] and fig. 3 shows first entity, which maybe a function, receives energy information from the terminal), wherein the first network function has a direct or indirect interface with a Network Exposure Function (NEF), a Policy Control Function (PCF), a Unified Data Management (UDM), the AMF, the SMF, and the UPF (see at least page 6 [paragraphs 10-14] and fig. 2 shows first entity connected to network equipment).
Wu specifically does not disclose wherein the first network function is a network function configured to provide a service related to collection and exposure of energy-related information comprising the energy information related to the UE. However, LV from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches wherein the first network function is a network function configured to provide a service related to collection and exposure of energy-related information comprising the energy information related to the UE (see at least paragraphs 358 and 359 and fig. 6 discloses first network element obtains power information and share the power information with a second network element, which maybe a 5GC network element). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wu with LV as they both related obtaining power information of the UE; and improving the working performance of the communication system.
Wu and LV specifically does not disclose the energy consumption-related information per Network Function (NF) among the energy-related information is received from the OAM.
However, Pateromichelakis et al from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the energy consumption-related information per Network Function (NF) among the energy-related information is received from the OAM (see at least paragraphs 142 and 172-174 discloses receiving energy data from OAM).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify to incorporate above mention feature as taught by Pateromichelakis et al into the system of Wu and LV for purpose of receiving energy data from OAM; as energy data is used for deriving energy data analytics.
Regarding claim 9, Wu discloses an apparatus configured to implement a first network function [first entity] for energy-related information operating in a wireless communication system, the apparatus comprising: a memory (fig. 2 [memory inherently included in first entity which maybe AMF]); and a processor (fig. 2 [processor inherently included in first entity which maybe AMF]) operably connected to the memory, wherein the processor is configured to perform operations comprising: receiving energy-related information from a User Plane Function (UPF), a Session Management Function (SMF), and an Operation, Administration, and Maintenance (OAM) (see at least page 6 [paragraphs 15-21] and fig. 3 shows first entity, which maybe a function, receives energy information from the terminal), wherein the first network function has a direct or indirect interface with a Network Exposure Function (NEF), a Policy Control Function (PCF), a Unified Data Management (UDM), an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), the SMF, and the UPF (see at least page 6 [paragraphs 10-14] and fig. 2 shows first entity connected to network equipment).
Wu specifically does not disclose providing the energy-related information to a second network function, wherein the first network function is configured to provide a service related to collection and exposure of the energy-related information. However, LV from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches providing the energy-related information to a second network function, wherein the first network function is configured to provide a service related to collection and exposure of the energy-related information (see at least paragraphs 358 and 359 and fig. 6 discloses first network element obtains power information and share the power information with a second network element, which maybe a 5GC network element). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wu with LV as they both related obtaining power information of the UE; and improving the working performance of the communication system.
Wu and LV specifically does not disclose the energy consumption-related information per Network Function (NF) among the energy-related information is received from the OAM.
However, Pateromichelakis et al from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the energy consumption-related information per Network Function (NF) among the energy-related information is received from the OAM (see at least paragraphs 142 and 172-174 discloses receiving energy data from OAM).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify to incorporate above mention feature as taught by Pateromichelakis et al into the system of Wu and LV for purpose of receiving energy data from OAM; as energy data is used for deriving energy data analytics.
Regarding claim 10, 12-14, see above rejection of claims 2, 4-6.
Regarding claim 15, Wu discloses a User Equipment (UE) configured to operate in a wireless communication system, the UE (terminal ) comprising: a memory (fig. 3 [memory inherently included in terminal]); and a processor (fig. 3 [processor inherently included in terminal]) operably connected to the memory, wherein the processor is configured to perform operations comprising: providing, by the UE having an interface with an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), energy information related to the UE to a first network function (see at least page 6 [paragraphs 15-21] and fig. 3 shows first entity, which maybe a function, receives energy information from the terminal); and performing communication with a network operated based on information provided by the first network function (see at least page 7 [paragraphs 8-9] and fig. 3 discloses communication state of the terminal), wherein the first network function [first entity], receives energy-related information from a User Plane Function (UPF), a Session Management Function (SMF), and an Operation, Administration, and Maintenance (OAM) (see at least page 6 [paragraphs 15-21] and fig. 3 shows first entity, which maybe a function, receives energy information from the terminal), wherein the first network function has a direct or indirect interface with a Network Exposure Function (NEF), a Policy Control Function (PCF), a Unified Data Management (UDM), the AMF, the SMF, and the UPF (see at least page 6 [paragraphs 10-14] and fig. 2 shows first entity connected to network equipment).
Wu specifically does not disclose wherein the first network function is a network function configured to provide a service related to collection and exposure of energy-related information comprising the energy information related to the UE. However, LV from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches wherein the first network function is a network function configured to provide a service related to collection and exposure of energy-related information comprising the energy information related to the UE (see at least paragraphs 358 and 359 and fig. 6 discloses first network element obtains power information and share the power information with a second network element, which maybe a 5GC network element). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wu with LV as they both related obtaining power information of the UE; and improving the working performance of the communication system.
Wu and LV specifically does not disclose the energy consumption-related information per Network Function (NF) among the energy-related information is received from the OAM.
However, Pateromichelakis et al from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the energy consumption-related information per Network Function (NF) among the energy-related information is received from the OAM (see at least paragraphs 142 and 172-174 discloses receiving energy data from OAM).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify to incorporate above mention feature as taught by Pateromichelakis et al into the system of Wu and LV for purpose of receiving energy data from OAM; as energy data is used for deriving energy data analytics.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed on May 19, 2026, with respect to claims 1, 8, 9 and 15 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection, necessitated by applicant’s amendment. See the above rejection of claims 1, 2, 4-10 and 12-15 for the relevant citations found in Wu, LV and Pateromichelakis et al disclosing the limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LITON MIAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642