DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites that "an outer surface of the first portion extends radially away from the body compared to the third portion". This is not described in the specification or shown in the drawings. Referring to the annotated fig. 3 of the instant specification above, it can be seen that the 2ⁿᵈ portion must be where it has been labeled as it comprises the securing member (152). Since the third portion is claimed as being between the first and 3ʳᵈ member it must also be where it has been labeled. Therefore, an outer surface of the 1st potion does not extend radially away from the body compared to the third portion as claimed, but rather extends radially toward the body relative to the third portion. In other words, the radial extent of an outer surface of the first portion is never greater than the third portion. Therefore, this limitation lacks proper support.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, and 8-22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kuriyama (US 2023/0355946).
In regards to claim 1, Kuriyama discloses a locking connector coupling assembly comprising a first connector (2) configured to decouple from a second connector (1) in response to a pullout force exceeding a predetermined threshold force, wherein:
the first connector comprises an inlet, an opening, and at least one engaging member (65) disposed therebetween,
the second connector comprises a body (21), an outlet portion, and at least one arm (22) ,each arm comprising:
a first portion (see bottom of “22” in fig. 3);
a second portion (see top of “22” in fig. 3) that comprises a securing member (22b1); and
a third portion disposed between the first portion and the second portion such that an outer surface of the first portion extends radially away from the body relative compared to the third portion and an outer surface of the second portion extends radially inward relative compared to the third portion (shown in fig. 3).
In regards to claim 4, Kuriyama further discloses the securing member comprises a protrusion (shown in fig. 3).
In regards to claims 5, 8, 19, and 20, Kuriyama further discloses the at least one engaging member comprises at least one groove circumferentially disposed on the first connector and sized and shaped to receive and secure the protrusion of the at least one arm when the second connector is coupled to first connector (shown in fig. 3).
In regards to claim 6, Kuriyama further discloses the securing member comprises a recess (see groove formed by 22b1 in fig. 3).
In regards to claim 9, Kuriyama further discloses the at least one engaging member comprises at least one edge (see edge of “65”) circumferentially disposed on the first connector.
In regards to claim 10 Kuriyama further discloses the second connector further comprises an additional opening, and the body is disposed between the additional opening and the outlet portion (shown in fig. 3).
In regards to claim 11 Kuriyama further discloses the outlet portion includes an outlet that is fluidly connected to the additional opening via a channel (central bore) that extends through the body.
In regards to claim 12 Kuriyama further discloses the additional opening is fluidly connected to the inlet when the first connector is coupled to the second connector (shown in fig. 11).
In regards to claim 13 Kuriyama further discloses the at least one arm is biased radially inward and is configured to deflect radially outward (shown in fig. 3).
In regards to claim 14 Kuriyama further discloses the securing member disengages from the engaging member in response to the pullout force exceeding the predetermined threshold force (fig. 3 shows this capability).
In regards to claim 15, Kuriyama further discloses the first connector is configured to remain coupled to the second connector when the pullout force does not exceed the predetermined threshold force (shown in fig. 11).
In regards to claims 16 and 18, Kuriyama further discloses each arm further comprises a first inflection point between the first portion and the second portion and a second inflection
point between the second portion and the third portion (any point can be arbitrarily called an
inflection point, it is noted that there is no structure to define what constitutes an inflection point).
In regards to claim 17, Kuriyama discloses a locking connector coupling assembly comprising:
a first connector (2) comprising a coupling portion with an inlet, an opening, and at least one engaging member (65) disposed on the first connector body; and
a second connector (1) comprising a body (21) and an outlet portion comprising an outlet and at least one arm (22), each arm comprising:
a first portion (see bottom portion of “22” in fig. 3) with an outer surface that extends radially away from the body;
a second portion (see top portion of “22” in fig. 3) with an outer surface that extends radially inward and comprises a securing member (22b1); and
a third portion (see middle portion of “22”) disposed between the first portion and the second portion and extending along part of the body at a different angle than the outer surface of the first portion and the outer surface of the second portion (shown in fig. 3),
wherein the body is configured to be at least partially inserted into the opening to couple the second connector to the first connector (see at“50”),
wherein when the second connector is coupled to the first connector, the outlet portion is exposed and a fluid pathway (central bore) is formed between the inlet and the outlet (shown in fig. 11),
wherein the first connector is configured to decouple from the second connector in response to a pullout force exceeding a predetermined threshold force (fig. 11 shows this capability).
In regards to claim 21, Kuriyama further discloses the securing member is on an inner surface of the second portion (shown in fig. 3).
In regards to claim 22, Kuriyama further discloses the outer surface of the first portion has a same curvature as an inner surface of the first portion (shown in fig. 3).
Double Patenting
The amendments to the claims have overcome the previously set forth double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ZACHARY T DRAGICEVICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679 10/05/2026