DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 20, line 7; “a tissue” should be changed to “the tissue” since it is clear that the Applicant intended to refer to the same tissue previously set forth.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 3, claim 3 recites wherein the wearable device comprises a tertiary temperature sensor, the method further comprising: acquiring, based at least in part on activating the tertiary temperature sensor, third skin temperature data from a third location of the tissue of the user via the tertiary temperature sensor, wherein the plurality of secondary temperature sensors are calibrated using the primary temperature sensor, the first skin temperature data, the second skin temperature data, and the third skin temperature data. There is insufficient support for this limitation in the claim. The specification does not describe a tertiary sensor and calibrating based on the tertiary sensor data. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under 112a.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, claim 3 recites wherein the wearable device comprises a tertiary temperature sensor, the method further comprising: acquiring, based at least in part on activating the tertiary temperature sensor, third skin temperature data from a third location of the tissue of the user via the tertiary temperature sensor, wherein the plurality of secondary temperature sensors are calibrated using the primary temperature sensor, the first skin temperature data, the second skin temperature data, and the third skin temperature data. It is unclear how these tertiary temperature sensors related to the secondary sensors. The specification does not describe a tertiary sensor and calibrating based on the tertiary sensor data, only doing so based on secondary temperature sensors. Is this one of the secondary sensors? Something else? Clarification is required.. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under 112b.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding claims 1 and 19-20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception of an abstract idea in the form of a mental process without significantly more.
Claim 1 is directed to a method for temperature calibration, claim 19 is directed towards a wearable ring device configured to perform steps that are substantially similar to the method steps of claim 1, and claim 20 is directed a non-transitory medium storing instructions that are substantially similar to the method steps of claim 1.
Claims 1 and 19-20 are considered to be directed towards an abstract idea because they recite a mental process of calibrating temperature sensors and determining health-related metrics based on calibrated temperature data. Specifically, the limitations of calibrating temperature sensors by adjusting a measurement parameter based on received temperature measurements and determining health-related metrics based on calibrated temperature data covers performance of the limitation in the mind . That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the “mental processes” grouping of abstract ideas. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2).III. A-B.
The judicial exceptions enumerated above (i.e., mathematical formula, mental process, and law of nature) are not integrated into a practical application. Specifically, the additional limitations of claim 1 and 19-20 directed towards processing circuitry or use thereof comprise no more than instructions to implement the judicial exceptions on a computer, or merely use a computer as a tool to perform the judicial exceptions. See MPEP 2106.05(f). The additional limitations related to collecting temperature data are merely directed towards the extra-solution activity of data gathering since the scope of physiological characteristics includes determining temperature using temperature data. See MPEP 2106.05(g). The additional limitations related to displaying determined health-related metrics are merely directed towards the extra-solution activity of displaying data. See MPEP 2106.05(g). The additional limitations in related to the wearable ring containing the temperature sensors merely generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment of field of use. See MPEP 2106.05(h). Consequently, these additional elements do not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the judicial exceptions.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Specifically, the additional limitations of directed towards processing circuitry or use thereof comprise no more than instructions to implement the judicial exceptions on a computer, or merely use a computer as a tool to perform the judicial exceptions. See MPEP 2106.05(f). The additional limitations related to collecting temperature data are merely directed towards the extra-solution activity of data gathering since the scope of physiological characteristics includes determining temperature using temperature data. See MPEP 2106.05(g). The additional limitations related to displaying determined health-related metrics are merely directed towards the extra-solution activity of displaying data. See MPEP 2106.05(g). The additional limitations in related to the wearable ring containing the temperature sensors merely generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment of field of use. See MPEP 2106.05(h). Therefore, when considered separately and in combination, the additional limitations of claims 1 and 19-20 do not add significantly more (also known as an “inventive concept”) to the judicial exceptions.
Regarding claims 2, 6-16, the claims recite additional elements directed towards further details of the abstract idea, specifying additional details related to performing the calibration. These elements do not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application and are insufficient to amount to “significantly more” than the abstract idea because they too are directed towards the abstract idea.
Regarding claims 3, the claims recite additional limitations related to wearable ring merely generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment of field of use. See MPEP 2106.05(h). The additional limitations related to collecting temperature data are merely directed towards the extra-solution activity of data gathering since the scope of physiological characteristics includes determining temperature using temperature data. See MPEP 2106.05(g). Accordingly, these elements do not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application and are insufficient to amount to “significantly more” than the abstract idea.
Regarding claims 4 and 17-18, the claims recite additional limitations related to wearable ring merely generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment of field of use. See MPEP 2106.05(h). Accordingly, these elements do not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application and are insufficient to amount to “significantly more” than the abstract idea.
Regarding claim 5, the claims recite additional limitations related to collecting temperature data are merely directed towards the extra-solution activity of data gathering since the scope of physiological characteristics includes determining temperature using temperature data. See MPEP 2106.05(g). Accordingly, these elements do not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application and are insufficient to amount to “significantly more” than the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 10-13, 15-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pho et al. (US20210401378, hereafter Pho) in view of Haber et al. (US20190388031, hereafter Haber).
Regarding claims 1, 3, and 19-20, Pho discloses in Figure 2 a method for temperature calibration by a wearable device comprising at least a primary temperature sensor and one or more secondary temperature sensors, a wearable ring device, and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for temperature calibration by a wearable device comprising at least a primary temperature sensor and a plurality of secondary temperature sensors (multiple temperature sensors 240), the code comprising instructions executable by one or more processors of the wearable device to (Pho, Para 82; “Although the ring 104 is illustrated as including a single temperature sensor 240, the ring 104 may include multiple temperature sensors 240 in one or more locations, such as arranged along the inner housing 205-a near the user's finger. In some implementations, the temperature sensors 240 may be stand-alone temperature sensors 240. Additionally, or alternatively, one or more temperature sensors 240 may be included with other components (e.g., packaged with other components), such as with the accelerometer and/or processor.”) (Pho, Figure 2), comprising:
one or more processors; one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (Pho, Para 70-71; “The functions attributed to the modules of the ring 104 described herein may be embodied as one or more processors, hardware, firmware, software, or any combination thereof. Depiction of different features as modules is intended to highlight different functional aspects and does not necessarily imply that such modules must be realized by separate hardware/software components. Rather, functionality associated with one or more modules may be performed by separate hardware/software components or integrated within common hardware/software components. The processing module 230-a of the ring 104 may include one or more processors (e.g., processing units), microcontrollers, digital signal processors, systems on a chip (SOCs), and/or other processing devices. The processing module 230-a communicates with the modules included in the ring 104. For example, the processing module 230-a may transmit/receive data to/from the modules and other components of the ring 104, such as the sensors. As described herein, the modules may be implemented by various circuit components. Accordingly, the modules may also be referred to as circuits (e.g., a communication circuit and power circuit)”);
acquiring first skin temperature data from a first location of a tissue of a user via the primary temperature sensor, and second skin temperature data from respective second locations of the tissue of the user via the plurality of secondary temperature sensors (Pho, Para 76; “or example, in the ring 104, temperature data generated by the temperature sensor 240 may indicate a temperature of a user at the user's finger (e.g., skin temperature). In some implementations, the temperature sensor 240 may contact the user's skin”) (Pho, Para 58; “the ring 104 may be configured to be worn around a user's finger, and may determine one or more user physiological parameters when worn around the user's finger. Example measurements and determinations may include, but are not limited to, user skin temperature”) (Pho, Para 83-84; “The processing module 230-a may acquire and process data from multiple temperature sensors 240 in a similar manner described with respect to a single temperature sensor 240. […] the processing module 230-a may be configured to determine a single temperature based on the average of two or more temperatures determined by two or more temperature sensors 240 in different locations on the finger. [...] The temperature sensors 240 on the ring 104 may acquire distal temperatures at the user's finger (e.g., any finger). For example, one or more temperature sensors 240 on the ring 104 may acquire a user's temperature from the underside of a finger or at a different location on the finger”);
determining one or more health-related metrics of the user based at least in part on the additional skin temperature data; and displaying, via a graphical user interface of a user device associated with the wearable device, an indication of the one or more health-related metrics of the user (Pho, Para 83; “the processing module 230-a may be configured to determine a single temperature based on the average of two or more temperatures determined by two or more temperature sensors 240 in different locations on the finger”) (Pho, Para 147-150; describing how deviations can be used for diagnosis “For example, the user device 106 may determine that the user's temperature readings deviate from the determined healthy baseline temperature range, and that the user's HRV readings deviate from the determined healthy baseline HRV range. By way of another example, the user device 106 may determine whether temperature data in the early detection window deviates from one or more of the healthy temperature baseline values/ranges […] Subsequently, the user device 106 and/or server 110 may determine whether there may be a transition from the healthy state to the unhealthy state based on healthy to unhealthy transition criteria (e.g., deviation criteria).”) (Pho, Para 51; “The system 100 may be configured to cause the user device 106-a to display an indication of the illness risk metric, which may enable the user 102-a to take precautionary measures and/or adjust sleeping or activity routines in order to prevent the illness, reduce a severity of the illness, reduce a duration or the illness, prevent the spread of the illness, or any combination thereof”).
Pho does not clearly and explicitly disclose calibrating, using one or more processors, the plurality of secondary temperature sensors using the primary temperature sensor, the first skin temperature data, and the second skin temperature data, wherein calibrating the plurality of secondary temperature sensors comprises adjusting a respective measurement parameter for acquisition of skin temperature data using each secondary temperature sensor of the plurality of secondary temperature sensors; and acquiring additional skin temperature data from the user via at least the plurality of secondary temperature sensors in accordance with the adjusted measurement parameters based at least in part on calibrating the plurality of secondary temperature sensors.
In an analogous wearable temperature monitoring device field of endeavor Haber discloses calibrating, using one or more processors, the plurality of secondary temperature sensors using the primary temperature sensor, the first skin temperature data, and the second skin temperature data, wherein calibrating the plurality of secondary temperature sensors comprises adjusting a respective measurement parameter for acquisition of skin temperature data using each secondary temperature sensor of the plurality of secondary temperature sensors; (Haber, Para 95-97; describing the calibration process of both the primary and secondary sensors using an equation involving data from both sensors) (Haber, Para 96; “To calculate Ct, in some embodiments, at step 206 a ZHF phase is activated by the heater 118 to generate an isothermal channel, extending longitudinally through the temperature sensor subassembly 106 from the second temperature sensor 112 to the first temperature sensor 110 through to the subskin location 120. As temperature equilibrium is achieved, the subskin tissue temperature, T0t, is established as equaling T1 (and T2, as well). T0t is the subdermal temperature measured at subskin location 120 during the ZHF mode and may comprise a calibration, instantaneous subdermal temperature measurement.”) (Haber, Para 36; “a method for determining a core body temperature, including activating a calibration mode to determine a thermal conductivity constant of a subdermal tissue, Ct, including heating a temperature monitoring apparatus until temperature equilibrium is achieved, the temperature sensor subassembly including a first temperature sensor measuring a temperature T1, a second temperature sensor measuring a temperature T2, and a thermal insulation layer positioned intermediate the first and second temperature sensor and designed with a thermal conductivity constant C1, […] Activating a measurement mode, wherein the core body temperature is determined, based on the calculated thermal conductivity constant Ct, determining the core body temperature based on EQ” showing use of T1 and T2); and
acquiring additional skin temperature data from the user via at least the plurality of secondary temperature sensors in accordance with the adjusted measurement parameters based at least in part on calibrating the plurality of secondary temperature sensors (Haber, Para 98; " At step 210 the measurement mode is activated and the detected temperatures T1 and T2 of the respective first and second temperature sensors 110 and 112 are transmitted to the controller 124. Based on T1, T2, the predetermined thermal conductivity constant of the insulation layer 114 C1, and the retrieved calculated Ct, the subdermal tissue temperature T0 may be calculated by Equation 1, thereby determining the core body temperature T0 CBT, by proxy, in accordance with:") (Haber, Para 36; “a method for determining a core body temperature, including activating a calibration mode to determine a thermal conductivity constant of a subdermal tissue, Ct, including heating a temperature monitoring apparatus until temperature equilibrium is achieved, the temperature sensor subassembly including a first temperature sensor measuring a temperature T1, a second temperature sensor measuring a temperature T2, and a thermal insulation layer positioned intermediate the first and second temperature sensor and designed with a thermal conductivity constant C1, […] Activating a measurement mode, wherein the core body temperature is determined, based on the calculated thermal conductivity constant Ct, determining the core body temperature based on EQ” showing use of T1 and T2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pho to include calibrating, using one or more processors, the plurality of secondary temperature sensors using the primary temperature sensor, the first skin temperature data, and the second skin temperature data, wherein calibrating the plurality of secondary temperature sensors comprises adjusting a respective measurement parameter for acquisition of skin temperature data using each secondary temperature sensor of the plurality of secondary temperature sensors; and acquiring additional skin temperature data from the user via at least the plurality of secondary temperature sensors in accordance with the adjusted measurement parameters based at least in part on calibrating the plurality of secondary temperature sensors in order to allow for temperatures to be more accurately determined and monitored as taught by Haber (Haber, Para 106).
Regarding claim 3, Pho as modified by Haber above discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Pho further discloses wherein the wearable device comprises a tertiary temperature sensor, the method further comprising: acquiring, based at least in part on activating the tertiary temperature sensor, third skin temperature data from a third location of the tissue of the user via the tertiary temperature sensor (multiple temperature sensors 240) (Pho, Figure 3).
Pho does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of secondary temperature sensors are calibrated using the primary temperature sensor, the first skin temperature data, the second skin temperature data, and the third skin temperature data.
Haber further discloses wherein a plurality of secondary temperature sensors are calibrated using a primary temperature sensor, first skin temperature data, second skin temperature data, and third skin temperature data (Haber, Para 95-97; describing the calibration process of both the primary and secondary sensors using an equation involving data from both sensors) (Haber, Para 96; “To calculate Ct, in some embodiments, at step 206 a ZHF phase is activated by the heater 118 to generate an isothermal channel, extending longitudinally through the temperature sensor subassembly 106 from the second temperature sensor 112 to the first temperature sensor 110 through to the subskin location 120. As temperature equilibrium is achieved, the subskin tissue temperature, T0t, is established as equaling T1 (and T2, as well). T0t is the subdermal temperature measured at subskin location 120 during the ZHF mode and may comprise a calibration, instantaneous subdermal temperature measurement.”) (Haber, Para 36; “a method for determining a core body temperature, including activating a calibration mode to determine a thermal conductivity constant of a subdermal tissue, Ct, including heating a temperature monitoring apparatus until temperature equilibrium is achieved, the temperature sensor subassembly including a first temperature sensor measuring a temperature T1, a second temperature sensor measuring a temperature T2, and a thermal insulation layer positioned intermediate the first and second temperature sensor and designed with a thermal conductivity constant C1, […] Activating a measurement mode, wherein the core body temperature is determined, based on the calculated thermal conductivity constant Ct, determining the core body temperature based on EQ”) (Haber, Para 98; " At step 210 the measurement mode is activated and the detected temperatures T1 and T2 of the respective first and second temperature sensors 110 and 112 are transmitted to the controller 124. Based on T1, T2, the predetermined thermal conductivity constant of the insulation layer 114 C1, and the retrieved calculated Ct, the subdermal tissue temperature T0 may be calculated by Equation 1, thereby determining the core body temperature T0 CBT, by proxy, in accordance with:") (Haber, Para 36; “a method for determining a core body temperature, including activating a calibration mode to determine a thermal conductivity constant of a subdermal tissue, Ct, including heating a temperature monitoring apparatus until temperature equilibrium is achieved, the temperature sensor subassembly including a first temperature sensor measuring a temperature T1, a second temperature sensor measuring a temperature T2, and a thermal insulation layer positioned intermediate the first and second temperature sensor and designed with a thermal conductivity constant C1, […] Activating a measurement mode, wherein the core body temperature is determined, based on the calculated thermal conductivity constant Ct, determining the core body temperature based on EQ” showing use of T1 and T2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pho wherein the plurality of secondary temperature sensors are calibrated using the primary temperature sensor, the first skin temperature data, the second skin temperature data, and the third skin temperature data in order to allow for temperatures to be more accurately determined and monitored as taught by Haber (Haber, Para 106).
Regarding claim 4, Pho as modified by Haber above discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Pho further discloses wherein the primary temperature sensor is positioned within or beneath a surface of the wearable device in a first position, and wherein each secondary temperature sensor of the plurality of secondary temperature sensors is positioned within or beneath the surface of the wearable device in at least a respective second position (Pho, Para 76; “In some implementations, the temperature sensor 240 may contact the user's skin. In other implementations, a portion of the housing 205 (e.g., the inner housing 205-a) may form a barrier (e.g., a thin, thermally conductive barrier) between the temperature sensor 240 and the user's skin.”).
Regarding claim 5, Pho as modified by Haber above discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Pho does not clearly and explicitly disclose determining, using the one or more processors of the wearable device, a trigger to calibrate the plurality of secondary temperature sensors of the wearable device based at least in part on one or more conditions, wherein activation of the primary temperature sensor and the plurality of secondary temperature sensors is in response to satisfaction of the trigger.
Haber further discloses determining, using the one or more processors of the wearable device, a trigger to calibrate a plurality of secondary temperature sensors of based at least in part on one or more conditions, wherein activation of a primary temperature sensor and the plurality of secondary temperature sensors is in response to satisfaction of the trigger (Haber, Para 34-35; "the activation of the calibration mode and the measurement mode is performed by a controller including a switch operative to alternate between the calibration mode and the measurement mode. In some embodiments, the switch is configured to alternate between the calibration mode and the measurement mode based on a predetermined trigger. In some embodiments, the trigger includes passage of a predetermined duration. In some embodiments, the trigger includes an environmental change or a physical change.”) (Haber, Para 95-97; describing the calibration process using an equation) (Haber, Para 64, 70, and 99-107).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pho to include determining, using the one or more processors of the wearable device, a trigger to calibrate the plurality of secondary temperature sensors of the wearable device based at least in part on one or more conditions, wherein activation of the primary temperature sensor and the plurality of secondary temperature sensors is in response to satisfaction of the trigger in order to allow for temperatures to be more accurately determined and monitored as taught by Haber (Haber, Para 106).
Regarding claim 6, Pho as modified by Haber above discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Pho does not clearly and explicitly disclose determining that the first skin temperature data, the second skin temperature data, or both, satisfies a threshold for a duration, wherein calibrating the plurality of secondary temperature sensors using the primary temperature sensor is based at least in part on determining that the first skin temperature data, the second skin temperature data, or both, satisfies the threshold for the duration.
Haber further discloses wherein determining the trigger comprises: determining that the first temperature data, the second temperature data, or both satisfies a threshold for a duration, wherein calibrating the one or more secondary temperature sensors using the primary temperature sensor is based at least in part on determining that the first temperature data, the second temperature data, or both, satisfies the threshold for the duration (Haber, Para 35; “In some embodiments, the trigger includes passage of a predetermined duration.”) (Haber, Para 27; “The controller has operating thereon processor instructions for causing the switch to alternate between the calibration mode and the measurement mode based on at least one of a predetermined duration from a previous core body measurement, a change in an environmental condition, and a change in a physical condition of the user.”) (Haber, Para 64; “In some embodiments, the controller 124 may activate a switch 132 configured to alternate between the calibration mode and the measurement mode based on any suitable condition or trigger. In some embodiments, the switch 132 may be configured to alternate modes based on a predetermined duration of time from the activation of a previous measurement mode,”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pho to include determining that the first skin temperature data, the second skin temperature data, or both, satisfies a threshold for a duration, wherein calibrating the one or more secondary temperature sensors using the primary temperature sensor is based at least in part on determining that the first skin temperature data, the second skin temperature data, or both, satisfies the threshold for the duration in order to allow for temperatures to be more accurately determined and monitored as taught by Haber (Haber, Para 106).
Regarding claim 10, Pho as modified by Haber above discloses all of the limitations of claim 5 as discussed above.
Pho does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein determining the trigger comprises: determining a timestamp associated with a previous calibration of the one or more secondary temperature sensors; and determining that an elapsed duration from the timestamp associated with the previous calibration satisfies a threshold, wherein calibrating the one or more secondary temperature sensors using the primary temperature sensor is based at least in part on the elapsed duration from the timestamp associated with the previous calibration satisfying the threshold.
Haber further discloses wherein determining the trigger comprises: determining a timestamp associated with a previous calibration of the one or more secondary temperature sensors; and determining that an elapsed duration from the timestamp associated with the previous calibration satisfies a threshold, wherein calibrating the one or more secondary temperature sensors using the primary temperature sensor is based at least in part on the elapsed duration from the timestamp associated with the previous calibration satisfying the threshold (Haber, Para 99; “In a non-limiting example, the controller 124 may reactivate the calibration mode at 5, 10, 15, 30, 60 minutes or more intervals.”) (Haber, Para 34-35; “In some embodiments, the activation of the calibration mode and the measurement mode is performed by a controller including a switch operative to alternate between the calibration mode and the measurement mode […] the trigger includes passage of a predetermined duration”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pho as modified by Haber above wherein determining the trigger comprises: determining a timestamp associated with a previous calibration of the one or more secondary temperature sensors; and determining that an elapsed duration from the timestamp associated with the previous calibration satisfies a threshold, wherein calibrating the one or more secondary temperature sensors using the primary temperature sensor is based at least in part on the elapsed duration from the timestamp associated with the previous calibration satisfying the threshold in order to allow for temperatures to be more accurately determined and monitored as taught by Haber (Haber, Para 106).
Regarding claim 11, Pho as modified by Haber above discloses all of the limitations of claim 5 as discussed above.
Pho does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein determining the trigger comprises: receiving a user command from the wearable device, or a remote device in communication with the wearable device, or both to enable the temperature calibration, wherein calibrating the one or more secondary temperature sensors using the primary temperature sensor is based at least in part on receiving the user command
Haber further discloses wherein determining the trigger comprises: receiving a user command from the wearable device, or a remote device in communication with the wearable device, or both to enable the temperature calibration, wherein calibrating the one or more secondary temperature sensors using the primary temperature sensor is based at least in part on receiving the user command (Haber, Para 105; “In some embodiments, the switch 132 may be activated by the user 170, e.g. manually, for alternating between the calibration mode and the measurement mode.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pho as modified by Haber above wherein determining the trigger comprises: receiving a user command from the wearable device, or a remote device in communication with the wearable device, or both to enable the temperature calibration, wherein calibrating the one or more secondary temperature sensors using the primary temperature sensor is based at least in part on receiving the user command in order to allow for temperatures to be more accurately determined and monitored as taught by Haber (Haber, Para 106).
Regarding claim 12, Pho as modified by Haber above discloses all of the limitations of claim 5 as discussed above.
Pho does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein determining the trigger comprise: determining a booting operation associated with the wearable device, wherein calibrating the one or more secondary temperature sensors using the primary temperature sensor is based at least in part on the booting operation associated with the wearable device.
Haber further discloses wherein determining the trigger comprise: determining a booting operation associated with the wearable device, wherein calibrating the one or more secondary temperature sensors using the primary temperature sensor is based at least in part on the booting operation associated with the wearable device (Haber, Para 99; “In a non-limiting example, the controller 124 may reactivate the calibration mode at 5, 10, 15, 30, 60 minutes or more intervals.” Reactivation of the calibration mode is interpreted as a booting operation associated with the wearable device) (Haber, Para 34-35; “In some embodiments, the activation of the calibration mode and the measurement mode is performed by a controller including a switch operative to alternate between the calibration mode and the measurement mode […] the trigger includes passage of a predetermined duration”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pho as modified by Haber above wherein determining the trigger comprise: determining a booting operation associated with the wearable device, wherein calibrating the one or more secondary temperature sensors using the primary temperature sensor is based at least in part on the booting operation associated with the wearable device in order to allow for temperatures to be more accurately determined and monitored as taught by Haber (Haber, Para 106).
Regarding claim 13, Pho as modified by Haber above discloses all of the limitations of claim 5 as discussed above.
Pho does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein determining the trigger comprises: determining that the first skin temperature data, the second skin temperature data, or both, are associated with a first temperature range that is different from a second temperature range associated with a prior calibration of the plurality of secondary temperature sensors, wherein calibrating the plurality of secondary temperature sensors is based at least in part on determining that the first skin temperature data, the second skin temperature data, or both, are associated with the first temperature range that is different from the second temperature range associated with a prior calibration of the plurality of secondary temperature sensors.
Haber further disclose wherein determining the trigger comprises: determining that the first temperature data, the second temperature data, or both, are associated with a first temperature range that is different from a second temperature range associated with a prior calibration of the one or more secondary temperature sensors, wherein calibrating the one or more secondary temperature sensors is based at least in part on determining that the first temperature data, the second temperature data, or both, are associated with the first temperature range that is different from the second temperature range associated with a prior calibration of the one or more secondary temperature sensors (Haber, Para 100; “In a non-limiting example, once a change in a predetermined ambient temperature gradient is detected, e.g. 1 C.°, or 2 C.°, or 3 C.°, or 4 C.° or 5 C.° or more, the controller 124 activates the calibration mode. In another non-limiting example, once a predetermined ambient temperature threshold is detected, e.g. 32C.° or more the controller 124 activates the calibration mode.”) (Haber, Para 104; “In a non-limiting example, once a predetermined skin temperature threshold is detected, e.g. 35 C.°, the controller 124 activates the calibration mode.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pho wherein determining the trigger comprises: determining that the first skin temperature data, the second skin temperature data, or both, are associated with a first temperature range that is different from a second temperature range associated with a prior calibration of the plurality of secondary temperature sensors, wherein calibrating the plurality of secondary temperature sensors is based at least in part on determining that the first skin temperature data, the second skin temperature data, or both, are associated with the first temperature range that is different from the second temperature range associated with a prior calibration of the plurality of secondary temperature sensors in order to allow for temperatures to be more accurately determined and monitored as taught by Haber (Haber, Para 106).
Regarding claim 15, Pho as modified by Haber above discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Pho does not clearly and explicitly disclose determining to calibrate the plurality of secondary temperature sensors separately based at least in part on a manufacturing configuration of the wearable device or a user enabled configuration of the wearable device, wherein calibrating the plurality of secondary temperature sensors is based at least in part on determining to calibrate the plurality of secondary temperature sensors separately.
Haber further discloses determining to calibrate the one or more secondary temperature sensors separately based at least in part on a manufacturing configuration of the wearable device or a user enabled configuration of the wearable device, wherein calibrating the one or more secondary temperature sensors is based at least in part on determining to calibrate the one or more secondary temperature sensors separately or jointly (Haber, Para 127-128; “the temperature monitoring apparatus 102 may include at least one additional thermal insulation layer 304 with thermal properties (e.g. thermal conductivity, thermal capacitance) which may be the same or different from the thermal insulation layer 114 and additional temperature sensors 302 located in between the additional thermal insulation layer and the thermal insulation layer 114 to further improve the temperature estimation. […] additional terms can be added to Equation 1 or Equation 2 to improve accuracy and/or compensate for additional factors that influence the measurement or other equations which describes the thermal dynamics. For instance, other additional factors which can be included are the spatial temperature distribution in the subskin location 120 itself and in the whole volume around the subskin location 120 including the tissue and the area in the vicinity of the subskin location 120. For instance, the temperature, as well as the thermal properties at the different layers of tissue below the temperature monitoring apparatus 102, can be estimated from the thermal dynamics. In some embodiments, the thermal dynamics can be modeled by diffusion equations over finite elements model, in which local thermal properties as well as their temporal dynamics can be estimated during the temperature monitoring apparatus 102 operation to further improve accuracy”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pho to include determining to calibrate the plurality of secondary temperature sensors separately based at least in part on a manufacturing configuration of the wearable device or a user enabled configuration of the wearable device, wherein calibrating the plurality of secondary temperature sensors is based at least in part on determining to calibrate the plurality of secondary temperature sensors separately in order to allow for temperatures to be more accurately determined and monitored as taught by Haber (Haber, Para 106).
Regarding claim 16, Pho as modified by Haber above discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Pho does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein calibrating the one or more secondary temperature sensors comprises: updating a formula, an equation, or both, that correlate the second skin temperature data acquired via the plurality of secondary temperature sensors with the first skin temperature data acquired via the primary temperature sensor based at least in part on a comparison between the first skin temperature data and the second skin temperature data, wherein the additional skin temperature data acquired via the plurality of secondary temperature sensors is processed based at least in part on the updated formula, the updated equation, or both.
Haber further discloses wherein calibrating the one or more secondary temperature sensors comprises: updating a formula, an equation, or both, that correlate the second temperature data acquired via the one or more secondary temperature sensors with the first temperature data acquired via the primary temperature sensor based at least in part on a comparison between the first temperature data and the second temperature data, wherein the additional temperature data acquired via the one or more secondary temperature sensors is processed based at least in part on the updated formula, the updated equation, or both (Haber, Para 95-99; describing the calibration process using equations involving temperatures from the primary and secondary sensors T1 and T2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pho wherein calibrating the plurality of secondary temperature sensors comprises: updating a formula, an equation, or both, that correlate the second skin temperature data acquired via the plurality of secondary temperature sensors with the first skin temperature data acquired via the primary temperature sensor based at least in part on a comparison between the first skin temperature data and the second skin temperature data, wherein the additional skin temperature data acquired via the plurality of secondary temperature sensors is processed based at least in part on the updated formula, the updated equation, or both in order to allow for temperatures to be more accurately determined and monitored as taught by Haber (Haber, Para 106).
Regarding claim 17, Pho as modified by Haber above discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Pho does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the wearable device comprises a wearable ring device, wherein the primary temperature sensor is located at a first radial position along an inner curved surface of the wearable ring device, and wherein the one or more secondary temperature sensors are located at a second radial position along the inner curved surface of the wearable ring device.
Haber further discloses wherein the wearable device comprises a wearable ring device, wherein the primary temperature sensor is located at a first radial position along an inner curved surface of the wearable ring device, and wherein the one or more secondary temperature sensors are located at a second radial position along the inner curved surface of the wearable ring device (Haber, Figure 2 and 5) (Haber, Para 91; “As seen in FIGS. 5, 6A and 6B, the temperature monitoring system 100 may comprise a plurality of temperature monitoring apparatuses 102 such that when a first temperature monitoring apparatus 102 is operating in a calibration mode, a second temperature monitoring apparatus 102 may operate in a measurement mode. A common controller 124 controls the operation of the first and second temperature monitoring apparatus 102. As seen in FIG. 5, the plurality of temperature monitoring apparatuses 102 may each comprise its own housing subassembly 168 and communication means with the common controller 124.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pho as modified by Haber above wherein the wearable device comprises a wearable ring device, wherein the primary temperature sensor is located at a first radial position along an inner curved surface of the wearable ring device, and wherein the one or more secondary temperature sensors are located at a second radial position along the inner curved surface of the wearable ring device in order to allow for temperatures to be more accurately determined and monitored as taught by Haber (Haber, Para 106).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pho and Haber as applied to claim 1 above, an in further view of Buller (US20170238811).
Regarding claim 7, Pho as modified by Haber above discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Pho does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the respective measurement parameter comprises a respective measurement sampling interval.
In an analogous temperature monitoring device for illness field of endeavor Buller discloses adjusting a measurement sampling interval based on a measured temperature (Buller, Para 45; “illustrated in FIG. 3B is an optional component of a timer module 308 that provides the sampling rate at which […] the core body temperature is calculated. […] The timer adjusts the sampling intervals based on the temperature signal provided by the temperature sensor 325 by decreasing the interval when the temperature is above a predetermined threshold(s). In at least one embodiment, the temperature sensor 325 detects the environment temperature, while in another embodiment it detects the temperature proximate the skin of the person. In a still further embodiment, there are two of temperature sensors to detect both temperatures.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pho wherein the respective measurement parameter comprises a respective measurement sampling interval in order to more accurately measure temperature for illness risk assessment as taught by Buller (Buller, Para 4-8).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pho and Haber as applied to claim 5 above, an in further view of Smith (US9953507).
Regarding claim 7, Pho as modified by Haber above discloses all of the limitations of claim 5 as discussed above.
Pho does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein determining the trigger comprises: monitoring accelerometer data from one or more accelerometer sensors associated with the wearable device for a duration; determining that accelerometer data from the one or more accelerometer sensors satisfies a threshold for the duration; and determining an absence of motion associated with the user based at least in part on determining that the accelerometer data from the one or more accelerometer sensors satisfies the threshold for the duration, the accelerometer data indicating whether the wearable device is worn by the user, wherein calibrating the one or more secondary temperature sensors using the primary temperature sensor is based at least in part on determining the absence of motion associated with the user.
In an analogous wearable monitoring device field of endeavor Smith discloses in Figure 3 monitoring accelerometer data from one or more accelerometer sensors associated with a wearable device for a duration; determining that accelerometer data from the one or more accelerometer sensors satisfies a threshold for the duration; and determining an absence of motion associated with a user based at least in part on determining that the accelerometer data from the one or more accelerometer sensors satisfies the threshold for the duration, the accelerometer data indicating whether the wearable device is worn by the user, wherein activity by the device is based at least in part on determining the absence of motion associated with the user. (Smith, Col 2, lines 34-63; “The presence of the heartbeat can be used to determine if the pendant is being worn by the user at any given time. This determination can be used as a filter to eliminate some false positives or to save power. […] placing a device into low-power mode for battery savings when the device is not being worn.”) (Smith, Col 4, lines 1-47; “The wearable monitoring device 102 includes a motion sensor (e.g., an accelerometer 202, a gyroscope, a magnetometer, an altimeter, or a combination thereof for detecting motion). A processor 206 processes signals from the accelerometer 202 to determine […] whether the wearable monitoring device 102 is being worn.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pho wherein determining the trigger comprises: monitoring accelerometer data from one or more accelerometer sensors associated with the wearable device for a duration; determining that accelerometer data from the one or more accelerometer sensors satisfies a threshold for the duration; and determining an absence of motion associated with the user based at least in part on determining that the accelerometer data from the one or more accelerometer sensors satisfies the threshold for the duration, the accelerometer data indicating whether the wearable device is worn by the user, wherein calibrating the one or more secondary temperature sensors using the primary temperature sensor is based at least in part on determining the absence of motion associated with the user in order to save power and eliminate false readings as taught by Smith (Smith, Col 2, lines 34-47).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pho and Haber as applied to claim 5 above, and in further view of Kitagawa et al. (US20190380579, hereafter Kitagawa).
Regarding claim 8, Pho as modified by Haber above discloses all of the limitations of claim 5 as discussed above.
Pho does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein determining the trigger comprises: monitoring a power level associated with the wearable device; and determining that the power level associated with the wearable device satisfies a threshold, wherein calibrating the one or more secondary temperature sensors using the primary temperature sensor is based at least in part on the power level associated with the wearable device satisfying the threshold.
In an analogous wearable monitoring device field of endeavor Kitagawa discloses monitoring a power level associated with a sensor device; and determining that the power level associated with the sensor device satisfies a threshold, wherein using the primary temperature sensor is based at least in part on the power level associated with the sensor device satisfying the threshold (Kitagawa, Para 24; “an electric power source unit that supplies electric power to internal device portions; and a monitor that monitors a battery capacity of the electric power source unit; the transmitter transmits capacity data including the battery capacity to the sensing apparatus upon completion of measurement by the measuring device or upon activation of the calibration device, the receiver receives the capacity data, and the sensing apparatus determines, based on the capacity data, whether or not the battery capacity has decreased to a level at which the pulse wave cannot be calibrated, by monitoring the battery capacity of the electric power source unit. This prevents the situation in which accurate calibration cannot be performed due to battery outage in the calibration device during continuous measurement, and allows calibration to be constantly performed with a normal calibration value”) (Kitagawa, Para 118-120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pho as modified by Haber above wherein determining the trigger comprises: monitoring a power level associated with the wearable device; and determining that the power level associated with the wearable device satisfies a threshold, wherein calibrating the one or more secondary temperature sensors using the primary temperature sensor is based at least in part on the power level associated with the wearable device satisfying the threshold in order to prevent inaccurate calibrations due to insufficient power as taught by Kitagawa (Kitagawa, Para 24).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pho and Haber as applied to claim 5 above, and in further view of Kristensson et al. (US20130116958, hereafter Kristensson).
Regarding claim 9, Pho as modified by Haber above discloses all of the limitations of claim 5 as discussed above.
Pho does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein determining the trigger comprises: establishing a connection between the wearable device and a power charger associated with the wearable device, wherein calibrating the one or more secondary temperature sensors using the primary temperature sensor is based at least in part on establishing the connection between the wearable device and the power charger associated with the wearable device.
In analogous calibrated sensor system field of endeavor Kristensson discloses: establishing a connection between a sensor device and a power charger associated with a sensor device, wherein calibrating one or more sensors is based at least in part on establishing the connection between the sensor device and the power charger associated with the sensor device (Kristensson, Para 42; “the wireless charging system 10 is configured to charge a battery of a consumer electronic device, such as a cellular telephone 50, as well as set calibration parameters of one or more sensors, and/or the sensor algorithms that use the sensor data, that are associated with one or more such a device”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pho as modified by Haber above wherein determining the trigger comprises: establishing a connection between the wearable device and a power charger associated with the wearable device, wherein calibrating the one or more secondary temperature sensors using the primary temperature sensor is based at least in part on establishing the connection between the wearable device and the power charger associated with the wearable device in order to use desired calibration reference values as needed via to improve accuracy of the calibration as taught by Kristensson (Kristensson, Para 42, 8, 41, and 55).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pho and Haber as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Yarden et al (US20210199516, hereafter Yarden).
Regarding claim 14, Pho as modified by Haber above discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Pho does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein calibrating the one or more secondary temperature sensors comprises: mapping the second skin temperature data acquired via the one or more secondary temperature sensors to a temperature-resistance model; and adjusting a respective parameter associated with each secondary temperature sensor of the one or more secondary temperature sensors based at least in part on a respective parameter associated with the primary temperature sensor, and based at least in part on mapping the second skin temperature data to the temperature-resistance model.
Haber further discloses adjusting a respective parameter associated with each secondary temperature sensor of the one or more secondary temperature sensors based at least in part on a respective parameter associated with the primary temperature sensor (Haber, Para 95-97; describing the calibration process of both the primary and secondary sensors using an equation involving data from both sensors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pho as modified by Haber above to include adjusting a respective parameter associated with each secondary temperature sensor of the one or more secondary temperature sensors based at least in part on a respective parameter associated with the primary temperature sensor in order to allow for temperatures to be more accurately determined and monitored as taught by Haber (Haber, Para 106).
In an analogous field of temperature sensors, Yarden discloses mapping sampled temperature data from a temperature sensor to a temperature-resistance model (Yarden, Para 18, "FIGS. 4A-4D and FIGS. 5A-5D, which illustrate the changes made to the temperature sensor, in terms of a circuit diagram (FIGS. 4A-4D) and in terms of a resistance-temperature curve (FIGS. 5A-5D).) (Yarden, Figures 4A-4D and 5A-5D);
and adjusting a respective parameter associated with the temperature sensor based at least in part on mapping the second mapping the second temperature data to the temperature-resistance model (Yarden, Para 18; “FIG. 3 is a flow diagram of an example calibration method 300 according to the present disclosure. For purposes of simplicity, the method takes as a starting point a temperature sensor comparable to the temperature sensor 100 of FIG. 1. Reference is further made throughout the description of the method to FIGS. 4A-4D and FIGS. 5A-5D, which illustrate the changes made to the temperature sensor, in terms of a circuit diagram (FIGS. 4A-4D) and in terms of a resistance-temperature curve (FIGS. 5A-5D). A single circuit diagram is shown in FIGS. 4A-4D, and a single correspondence resistance-temperature curve is shown in each of FIGS. 5A-5D, respectively. However, due to the variance in β and R0 parameters among thermistors, it should be understood that while every temperature sensor from a given batch of thermistors may be represented by the same circuit diagram, not every temperature sensor can be represented by the same resistance-temperature curve, since each thermistor may have different parameters. After the temperature sensors are properly calibrated the resistance-temperature responses of the temperature sensors may be the same. Additionally, the resistance-temperature curves shown in the example of FIGS. 5A-5D are for an NTC thermistor. However, in other examples, the same principles of the present disclosure may be applied to calibrate a batch of PTC thermistors.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pho as modified by Haber above to include mapping the second temperature data acquired via the one or more secondary temperature sensors to a temperature-resistance model; and adjusting a respective parameter associated with each secondary temperature sensor of the one or more secondary temperature sensors based at least in part on mapping the second mapping the second temperature data to the temperature-resistance model in order to improve calibration of thermistors, such that the resistance of each thermistor is the same for a given temperature across a given range of temperatures, with an acceptable tolerance as taught by Yarden (Yarden, Para 8).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pho and Haber as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Yarden et al (US20210199516, hereafter Yarden) and Capodilupo et al., (US20190110755, hereafter Capodilupo).
Regarding claim 14, Pho as modified by Haber above discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Pho does not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the primary temperature sensor comprises a calibrated temperature sensor and the one or more secondary temperature sensors comprise uncalibrated temperature sensors prior to the calibrating, wherein the primary temperature sensor, the one or more secondary temperature sensors, or both, comprise a negative temperature coefficient thermistor.
In an analogous field of temperature sensors, Yarden discloses wherein a sensor comprises a negative temperature coefficient thermistor (Yarden, Para 18 "After the temperature sensors are properly calibrated the resistance-temperature responses of the temperature sensors may be the same. Additionally, the resistance-temperature curves shown in the example of FIGS. 5A-5D are for a negative temperature coefficient thermistor.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pho as modified by Haber above wherein one or more of the primary temperature sensor or the one or more secondary temperature sensors comprise a negative temperature coefficient thermistor in order to use a sensor which can provide a more accurate overall measurement as taught by Yarden (Yarden, Para 45).
In an analogous field of temperature sensors, Capodilupo discloses a calibrated sensor (Capodilupo, Para 178; “During these activities, each subject 1002 may provide calibrated data from a data source that is presumed to provide accurate data. For example, a data source such as a chest strap or electrocardiography (EKG) device may be assumed to provide accurate heart rate data, and may be used as a ground truth source of calibrated data for modeling heart rate accuracy. More generally, any other physiological data may usefully be obtained from a calibrated source that can reasonably be assumed to provide an accurate measurement of a corresponding physiological signal such as, without limitation, brain activity, pulse oxygen, blood pressure, and so forth.”) and an uncalibrated sensor (Capodilupo, Para 179; “Each subject 1002 may also provide uncalibrated data. For example, a data source such as a wearable physiological monitoring device may be used to acquire a physiological signal concurrently with the calibrated data. In general, this source of uncalibrated data will represent the same (or a similar) physiological measurement as the calibrated data, but from a source of unknown, variable, or unreliable accuracy.”) which is used to calibrate the data from the uncalibrated sensor (Capodilupo, Para 196; “FIG. 11 is a flow chart illustrating a method for evaluating the accuracy of physiological data from an uncalibrated data source. In general, the method 1100 includes acquiring uncalibrated data, calibrated data, and feature data from a number of subjects, and then processing this training data to obtain a model for evaluating the accuracy of the uncalibrated data based on the feature data. This model may be used, in turn, to improve processing of new uncalibrated data […] conditionally processing the uncalibrated data based on the likelihood of being accurate.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pho as modified by Haber and Yarden above wherein the primary temperature sensor comprises a calibrated temperature sensor and the one or more secondary temperature sensors comprise uncalibrated temperature sensors prior to the calibrating, wherein the primary temperature sensor in order to improve the processing of the data from the uncalibrated sensor as taught by Capodilupo (Capodilupo, Para 186).
ConclusionAny inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to John Li whose telephone number is (313)446-4916. The examiner can normally be reached Monday to Thursday; 6:30 AM to 4:30 PM Eastern.
/JOHN D LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798