DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on September 4, 2026. These drawings have been entered.
Claim Interpretation
“Adjustment means” is described in the specification as being an adjustment knob, clamps, handles, springs, or tension control mechanisms (see para. 0020). However, claim 1 recites that the adjustment means are connected to the pin. Thus, only the knob of the aforementioned types of adjustment means appear to be within the scope of claim 1 as the adjustment means must be connected to the pin and the disclosure does not state how clamps, handles, springs, or tension control mechanisms would be connected to the pin. As such, the Examiner is interpreting “adjustment means” as either a knob, or a functional equivalent of a knob, connected to the pin.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7-9, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 6,102,852 A1) in view of Wallace (US 2023/0114880 A1).
Claim 1. Liu discloses a nostril retracting device comprising:
a monolithic (see col. 2, ll. 9-12, which states that rod 3 is formed integral with rod members 1 and 2) shape-changing and flexible (see col. 2, ll. 9-12, which states that rod 3 is flexible) frame (portion of device not located within solid box of Fig. 2 inset), said frame having a pair of retracting arms (see Fig. 2 inset) connected to said frame;
said frame having a pair of side wings (see Fig. 2 inset) and a central area section (section between the wings as identified in Fig. 2 inset);
said retracting arms extending upward and away from said frame at an angle (see Fig. 2);
each of said retracting arms having a bend (see Fig. 2 inset) and a retracting prong (tongues 12 and 22) at a distal end (encompasses tongues 12 and 22) of each of said retracting arms (Fig. 2; col. 1, l. 58 through col. 2, l. 34).
[AltContent: textbox (Retracting Arms (portion of device located within solid box))][AltContent: textbox (Wing)][AltContent: textbox (Wing)][AltContent: textbox (Bends)]
Claim 2. Liu discloses wherein said frame is U-shaped (see Fig. 2, which shows that the frame is U-shaped due to the presence of connecting rod 3) (Fig. 2; col. 1, l. 58 through col. 2, l. 34).
Claim 7. Liu discloses wherein said frame has a perimeter (see Fig. 2 inset) and said pair of retracting arms are connected to said frame along said perimeter of said frame (Fig. 2; col. 1, l. 58 through col. 2, l. 34).
Claim 9. Liu discloses wherein each said retracting arm has said bend predetermined for adhering to a nostril opening and said retracting prong (Fig. 2; col. 1, l. 58 through col. 2, l. 34).
Liu fails to disclose wherein said frame has an opening in said frame and a pin received in said opening through said frame, wherein said device comprises an adjustment means connected at a proximal end of said pin for moving said pin through said frame to contact a proximal end of said central area section of said frame and move said central area section of said frame upward as force is applied to said central area section by said pin, wherein said retracting prongs are 5 mm apart in a closed position, and wherein said retracting prongs are in a range of 5 mm up to 35 mm apart in an open position (claim 1), wherein said pin is a screw (claim 8), wherein said adjustment means includes a knob for moving said pin (claim 12), and wherein said frame is formed of a polymer (claim 13).
Wallace teaches a nostril retracting device comprising: a frame (body 22, which includes first leg 24, connecting member 28, and second leg 26), said frame having a pair of retracting arms (support members 62 and 64) connected to said frame; said frame having an opening (opening that receives threaded portion 56 of control rod 40) in said frame and a pin (control rod 40) received in said opening through said frame; adjustment means (head 44) connected at proximal end of said pin for moving said pin through said frame to contact a proximal end (see Fig. 3 inset) of a central area section (see Fig. 3 inset) of said frame and move said central area section of said frame upward as force is applied to said central area section by said pin (the portion of the central area section having the opening that receives threaded portion 56 of control rod 40 would move either upward or downward upon rotation of head 44 when held in the orientation shown in Fig. 3 inset) (Fig. 3; paras. 0026-0044). Wallace also teaches wherein said pin is a screw (control rod 40 includes threaded portion 56, and is therefore a screw), wherein said adjustment means includes a knob (head 44) for moving said pin, and wherein said frame is formed of a polymer (see para. 0036, which states that body 22 is made from plastic; plastic is a polymer) (Fig. 3; paras. 0026-[AltContent: textbox (Central Area Section)][AltContent: textbox (Proximal End)]0044).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Liu such that said frame has an opening in said frame and a pin received in said opening through said frame, wherein said device comprises an adjustment means connected at a proximal end of said pin for moving said pin through said frame to contact a proximal end of said central area section of said frame and move said central area section of said frame upward as force is applied to said central area section by said pin (claim 1), wherein said pin is a screw (claim 8), and wherein said adjustment means includes a knob for moving said pin (claim 12), as suggested by Wallace, as such an opening and pin configuration as taught by Wallace would allow for controlled adjustment of the retracting arms during use. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Liu such that said retracting prongs are 5 mm apart in a closed position (claim 1), since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Liu such that said retracting prongs are in a range of 5 mm up to 35 mm apart in an open position (claim 1), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for said frame to be formed of a polymer (claim 13), as suggested by Wallace, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 6,102,852 A1) in view of Wallace (US 2023/0114880 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jin et al. (CN 111588426 A).
Liu and Wallace fail to teach wherein said pair of retracting arms are made of wire (claim 5).
Jin teaches a nostril retracting device comprising: a frame (see Fig. 1 inset) having a pair of retracting arms (see Fig. 1 inset) connected to said frame; said retracting arms extending upward and away from said frame at an angle (see Fig. 1); each of said retracting arms having a bend (see Fig. 1 inset) and a prong (see Fig. 1 inset) at a distal end (encompasses the prongs) of each of said arms; wherein said pair of retracting arms are made of wire (see Fig. 1, which shows that the retracting arms are configured as wires) (Fig. 1).
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Frame)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Bend)][AltContent: textbox (Prong)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Prong)][AltContent: textbox (Bend)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Retracting Arm)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Retracting Arm)]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device of Liu by substituting the retracting arms of Jin for those of Liu such that said pair of retracting arms are made of wire (claim 5) as doing so is a simple substitution of one type of retracting arm for another.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 6, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 4, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the 102 rejection in view of Liu and Wallace, Applicant argues that Liu does not teach the adjustment means and the pin (see pg. 13). The Examiner notes that Liu was not relied upon to teach such a feature.
Applicant also argues that connecting rod 3 of Liu is flexible and formed integral with the other rod members indicating that the device of Liu is a manually squeezed spring (see pg. 13). The Examiner disagrees. The Examiner notes that this does not preclude applying Wallace to Liu as Wallace teaches an equivalent connecting rod (connecting member 28) that is flexible (see para. 0036, which states that body 22 is formed from a resilient or flexible material) and formed integral with the other rod members (see Fig. 3) that can therefore be considered a spring and the device of Wallace is manually squeezed (the operation of control rod 40 is manually achieved by rotating head 44).
With regard to Applicant’s arguments focusing on the distances of the prongs in the closed position and the open position (see pg. 13), the Examiner notes that the criticality identified by Applicant does not distinguish from Liu as the prongs of Liu are also placed in a human nasal passage (see col. 1, ll. 4-7) and would therefore necessarily be subject to the same size constraints, thus making the claimed distances a mere optimization.
Regarding the 103 rejection in view of Jin, Applicant argues that the retracting arms of Jin are not made of wire (see pg. 15). The Examiner disagrees. As shown in Fig. 1, Jin shows that the retracting arms (see Fig. 1 inset above on pg. 11) are long and thin and thus can be considered to be a wire. The Examiner notes that the claim does not specify a material (such as a metal wire). If Applicant desires a particular material to be included within the scope of claim 5, the Examiner suggests amending claim 5 as such.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 102 rejection in view of Wallace (claims 1, 2, 6-9, and 12-14) and the 103 rejections in view of Wallace (claim 4), and Pepper and Wallace (claims 1 and 3) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JULIANNA N HARVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3773