DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: specification does not provide proper antecedent basis for "a first radial distance between the lengthwise axis and the first point is less than a second radial distance between the lengthwise axis and the second point" as cited in claims 1, 6, and 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 11, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schneider (1908063).
Schneider discloses a metal sheath (10, Fig. 1) for housing a plurality of conductors, the metal sheath comprising a plurality of revolutions extending along a lengthwise axis, a first revolution of the plurality of revolutions comprising: a first section having a curved profile extending toward the lengthwise axis; a second section extending from the first section; and a third section extending from the second section, wherein the third section has a flat profile, the third section terminating within a recess defined by a curved profile of a first section of an adjacent revolution of the plurality of revolutions, wherein the first section and the second section of the first revolution connect at a first point, wherein the second section and the third section of the first revolution connect at a second point, wherein a first radial distance between the lengthwise axis and the first point is less than a second radial distance between the lengthwise axis and the second point, wherein the adjacent revolution has a second section extending from the first section, wherein the first section and the second section of the adjacent revolution connect at a first point of the adjacent revolution, wherein a distance between the second point of the first revolution and the first point of the adjacent revolution defines a valley, and wherein the valley is open to an exterior of the metal sheath (re-claims 1, 6, and 11). Schneider also discloses that the second section of the first revolution extends non-parallel with the lengthwise axis (re-claim 3); a plane defined by an outer surface or at least a portion of the second section of the first revolution is oriented at non-zero angle (not parallel) relative to the lengthwise axis (re-claims 4, 6, 11, and 14); the second section of the first revolution comprising one or more flat surfaces (re-claim 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 8, 9, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider in view of Bringolf (2486387).
Schneider discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for the non-zero angle relative to the lengthwise axis being less than approximately 45° (re-claims 5, 8, and 15). Bringolf discloses a sheath comprising first, second, and third section, wherein the second section is oriented at an angle being less than approximately 45° relative to the lengthwise axis. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the second section of Schneider such that the second section is oriented at an angle less than approximately 45° relative to the lengthwise axis, as taught by Bringolf, to meet the specific design of the sheath.
Re-claims 9 and 16, Schneider and Bringolf do not specifically disclose the non-zero angle relative to the lengthwise axis being between 0.1 - 15°. However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to choose a suitable angle, between 0.1 - 15°, for the modified second section of Schneider to meet the end use since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 7, 10, and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: claims 2, 7, 10, 12 are allowed in view of Terminal Disclaimer filed on 08/20/2026, which is proper and has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 6, and 11 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841