DETAILED ACTION
Claim Structure
The claims represent a transport container having a carrying handle that pivots into different positions: first, a swiveled-in storage position as shown in Fig. 14, 15A, 15B, 22, 23, 24A and 24B wherein the handle points directly downward and is vertical, second, a transport position as shown in Fig. 16, 17A and 17B wherein the handle points radially outwardly and horizontally and 90 degrees rotated from the first storage position and third, a folded-out position as shown in Fig. 18, 19A, 19B, 25, 26A and 26B wherein the handle is radially outward and rotated pass the transport position such that the handle is inclined upwardly.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 8 has an incomplete wherein clause and provides only the subject but no verb or object. Appropriate correction is required. The Office believes that “wherein the carry handle and/or the locking element is a U-shaped structure” may have been intended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the coupling element" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 3 introduces the coupling element. However, claim 5 depends from claim 4 which is dependent on claim 1. Claim 5 doesn’t depend directly or indirectly from claim 3.
Claim 8 is not a complete wherein clause and is grammatically awkward in construction. Also, claim 8 depends from claim 1 which has already introduced the carrying handle and the locking element. There is a question as to whether the intent in claim 8 is (1) to introduce a second carrying handle that is U-shaped and a second locking element that is U-shaped or (2) to further limit these elements as having a U-shaped structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 9 and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Burchia (DE 102015013053) (cited by applicant).
Burchia discloses a transport container comprising a receiving container (lower part 3, see Fig. 1) for receiving objects therein, a carrying handle (folding carry handle 21) arranged on the receiving container so as to be pivotable between a swiveled-in storage position (as shown in Fig. 1) and a folded-out position (as shown in Fig. 2), and a locking element (locking hooks 24) arranged on the receiving container so as to be pivotable (pivotable with pressure plate 23) between a holding position (released position when no pressure is on pressure plate 23) and an unlocking position (pushing on pressure plate 23) for detachably connecting the transport container to a support structure, wherein the carrying handle has at least one actuating element (pressure plate 23 as plate is positioned within a recess for the carrying handle and is considered part of carrying handle) for pivoting the locking element into the unlocking position (when pressure is applied to pressure plate 23) when the carrying handle is pivoted into the folded-out position.
Re claim 2, the receiving container comprises a base, a front wall, a rear wall, and side walls connecting the front wall and the rear wall, wherein the locking element 24 and the carrying handle 21 are arranged on the front wall (see Fig. 2).
Re claim 3, the base has at least one coupling element (bottom hooks 27, see Fig. 3-5) for a holding connection with a counter coupling element of the support structure.
Re claim 4, the locking element 24, at a lower region, has at least one locking hook 24 for releasable connection to a counter-locking element of the support structure.
Re claim 5, the coupling element 27 and the locking hook 24 point in opposite directions (see Fig. 4).
Re claim 6, the carrying handle is arranged on the receiving container so as to be pivotable about a carrying handle pivot axis and the locking element is arranged on the receiving container so as to be pivotable about a locking pivot axis parallel to the carrying handle pivot axis (both carrying handle and locking element are positioned on front wall with each pivot axis extending horizontally such that these pivot axis are parallel to each other).
Re claim 8, the carrying handle and the locking element are U shaped in structure.
Re claim 9, the at least one actuating element 23 is designed as an actuating hook 24.
Re claim 12, a lid (pivotable lid 2) connected to the receiving container 3 so as to be pivotable about a lid pivot axis (see lid hinge 33 in Fig. 1), wherein the lid is connected in an articulated manner to the rear wall of the receiving container and/or can be secured in a closed position by means of at least one closure element (latches 19 in Fig. 1).
Re claim 13, a lid 2 connected to the receiving container 3 and designed for attaching a similar transport container thereto, wherein the lid has a counter-locking element (front or further hanging strap 14, see Fig. 1 at front edge of lid) for detachable connection to the locking element of a similar transport container.
Re claim 14, the lid 2 has a counter coupling element (rear hanging strap 12, see Fig. 1 at rear edge of lid) for connection to a coupling element of a similar transport container.
Re claim 15, the lid 2 has a rear edge section with a first latching receptacle (rear edge hanging strap 12 is formed with a plurality of receiving recesses, see Fig. 1, and is designed to engage with two bottom hooks 27 such that the counter-coupling element on the lid is one recess and the first latching receptacle is a second recess) for connection to the coupling element of a similar transport container and a front edge section with a second latching receptacle (front edge hanging strap 14 has receiving recesses 15, see Fig. 1, designed to engage with two hooks 24, see Fig. 2 such that the counter locking element is one recess and the second latching receptacle is the second recess) for connection to the locking element of a similar transport container.
Re claim 16, Burchia discloses a transport container arrangement comprising a transport container (top container and lid in a stacked arrangement of two containers) according to claim 1 and a support structure (bottom container and lid in a stacked arrangement of two containers) with a counter-locking element 14 for connecting to the locking element.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6, 8, 12 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ben-Gigi (US 2015/0151427).
Ben-Gigi discloses a transport container comprising a receiving container (second tool box 22) for receiving objects therein, a carrying handle (30) arranged on the receiving container so as to be pivotable between a swiveled-in storage position (see Fig. 1) and a folded-out position (see Fig. 3), and a locking element (catch 40) arranged on the receiving container so as to be pivotable between a holding position (when handle 30 is in swiveled-in position of Fig. 1) and an unlocking position (when handle 30 is in folded-out position of Fig. 3) for detachably connecting the transport container to a support structure, wherein the carrying handle has at least one actuating element (hinge of carrying handle 30) for pivoting the locking element into the unlocking position when the carrying handle is pivoted into the folded-out position.
Re claim 2, the receiving container comprises a base, a front wall, a rear wall, and side walls connecting the front wall and the rear wall, wherein the locking element and the carrying handle are arranged on the front wall.
Re claim 4, the locking element, at a lower region, has at least one locking hook (catch 40) for releasable connection to (functional limitation, catch is capable of engaging a recess for locking) a counter-locking element of the support structure.
Re claim 6, the carrying handle is arranged on the receiving container so as to be pivotable about a carrying handle pivot axis and the locking element is arranged on the receiving container so as to be pivotable about a locking pivot axis parallel to the carrying handle pivot axis (carrying handle and locking element have same pivot axis and both pivot axis are parallel to each other).
Re claim 8,carrying handle is substantially U-shaped.
Re claim 12, a lid (lid for box 22) connected to the receiving container so as to be pivotable about a lid pivot axis (pivot axis and lid hinge are aligned with rear edge of box 22), wherein the lid is connected in an articulated manner to the rear wall of the receiving container and/or can be secured in a closed position by means of at least one closure element (latches 34, see Fig. 1).
Re claim 16, Ben-Gigi discloses a transport container arrangement comprising a transport container (box 22) according to claim 1 and a support structure (first tool box 12, see Fig. 1) with a counter-locking element (recess for catch 40) for connecting to the locking element.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 10 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claims 7, 10 and 11 all discuss the interaction of the locking element 24 and engagement opening 32 (actuating section) with the actuating element 45 (a projection) see Fig. 9-11B. A search of the prior art failed t reveal a similar locking configuration wherein the locking element and actuating element interact as stated when carrying handle is pivoted to a folded-out position as shown in Fig. 18, 19A, 19B, 25, 26A and 26B of the present invention.
Ben-Gigi has a locking element (catch 40) which disengages from its locked position when the handle 30 is rotated to the folded-out position and doesn’t interact with the actuating element as stated in claims 7 and 10. Ben-Gigi doesn’t show that the carrying handle can be pivoted to a folded-out position via a transport position that is swiveled 90 degrees relative to the swiveled-in storage position because there is no disclosure of carrying handle rotation past the 90 degrees rotation.
Burchia’s carrying handle 21 is independent of the actuating element (pressure plate 23). Therefore, the movement of the carrying handle does not affect or provide interaction between the locking element and the actuating element as stated in claims 7 and 10. The locking element has no engagement opening as stated in claim 10. Burchia doesn’t show that the carrying handle can be pivoted to a folded-out position via a transport position that is swiveled 90 degrees relative to the swiveled-in storage position because there is no disclosure of carrying handle rotation past the 90 degrees rotation.
Wenzlick et al. (US 2026/0021935) discloses a modular container units with a handle with latch control. The modular container has a carrying handle 154 and a latch control handle 326, the carrying handle pivots but doesn’t interact with or actuate the locking mechanisms and the control handle 326 slides vertically with no pivoting but controls and actuates the locking mechanisms.
Conclusion
sjc/STEPHEN J CASTELLANO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733