DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 102009036672 (Mazurek).
Regarding claim 1, Mazurek teaches a stop system for a high power system (Fig. 1 shows a stop system comprising switch 10 for a HV battery system 1), wherein the stop system is arranged in a Hazardous Voltage Interlock Loop (Fig. 1 shows switches 4, 7 and 10 comprising stop system arranged in a HVIL 22 and KL30C), HVIL passing through at least a part of the high power system (Fig. 1 shows HVIL 22 passing through at least a part of the HV battery system 1) [Page 4 ¶ 6], and
wherein the stop system is configured to trigger disconnection of at least part of the high power system based on a condition of a HVIL low power signal transmitted through the HVIL (Fig. 1 shows switches 4, 7 and 10 i.e. stop system configured to trigger disconnection of at least part of the HV power system 1 based on a condition of a HVIL low power signal transmitted through the HVIL) [Page 2 ¶ 1- ¶ 6; Page 4 ¶ 6],
wherein the condition is that the HVIL low power signal transmitted through the HVIL is interrupted (actuating means is a lockable push i.e. actuator 13 of Fig. 1 which is an emergency stop button when pushed i.e. condition that HVIL low power signal through HVIL is interrupted) [Page 3 ¶ 3, Page 3 ¶ 7], and
wherein the stop system is configured with a time delay (Fig. 1 shows switch 10 having a delay device not shown) [Page 5 ¶ 5], the time delay being configured to delay the disconnection until after a time period has expired starting from detection of the interruption of the HVIL low power signal (Fig. 2 shows time delay d being configured to delay the disconnection until after a time period d has expired starting from detection of the interruption of the HVIL low power signal) [Page 5 ¶ 5-6].
Regarding claim 2, Mazurek teaches comprising: n switches, wherein at least one of the n switches is configured to interrupt the HVIL which consequently disconnects the at least part of the high power system, wherein n is a positive integer (Fig. 1 shows switches 4, 7 and 10 comprising stop system i.e. n switches is configured to interrupt the HVIL 22 which consequently disconnects the at least part of the HV system 1) [Page 4 ¶ 6].
Regarding claim 3, Mazurek teaches wherein the n switches are arranged to transition between a closed position and an open position when disconnecting the at least part of the high power system (Fig. 1 shows switches 12, 25, and actuator 13 arranged to transition between a closed position and an open position when disconnecting the at least part of HV system 1) [Page 4-Page5].
Regarding claim 4, Mazurek teaches wherein the n switches are at least one of: a relay, an opener, a breaker, a contactor, and a digital signal transitioning between 1 and 0 (Fig. 1 shows switches 12, 25, and actuator 13).
Regarding claim 5, Mazurek teaches wherein the n switches are either normally opened or normally closed (Fig. 1 shows switches 12, 25 in normal operation are closed) [Page 5 ¶ 4].
Regarding claim 6, Mazurek teaches wherein the stop system comprises a stop loop (Fig. 1 shows switch 10 i.e. stop loop), wherein the stop loop comprises: a first switch (Fig. 1 shows switch 10 comprising actuator 13) connected to at least one second switch (Fig. 1 shows actuator 13 connected to switches 12 and 25), a power source (Fig. 1 shows HV battery 2) configured to supply power to the first switch (Fig. 1 shows HV battery 2 configured to supply power to actuator 13 i.e. first switch), a third switch (Fig. 1 shows switch 7) connected in series with the first switch (Fig. 1 shows switch 7 in series with actuator 13), wherein the first switch is configured to trigger the third switch to transition from closed position to open position (Fig. 1 shows actuator 13 i.e. first switch triggering switch 7 i.e. third switch from closed position to open position) [Page 4 ¶ 3].
Regarding claim 7, Mazurek teaches wherein the third switch is a time-delayed switch (Fig. 1 shows switch 10 having a delay device) [Page 5 ¶ 5].
Regarding claim 8, Mazurek teaches wherein the stop loop (Fig. 1 shows switch 10) comprises two second switches (Fig. 1 shows switches 12 and 25).
Regarding claim 9, Mazurek teaches wherein the first switch is a relay (Fig. 1 shows actuator 13 i.e. relay), and wherein the at least one second switch and the third switch are breakers or openers (Fig. 1 shows switches 12, 25 and 7 being breakers or openers).
Regarding claim 10, Mazurek teaches wherein the stop loop comprises at least one of: a fourth switch and a fifth switch (Fig. 1 shows fuse 8).
Regarding claim 11, Mazurek teaches wherein the high power system is a battery system, or wherein the high power system comprises the battery system (Fig. 1 shows HV battery system 1).
Regarding claim 12, Mazurek teaches system comprising: a stop system according to claim 1, a high power system and a Hazardous Voltage Interlock Loop (Fig. 1 shows HVIL 22), HVIL, loop passing through at least a part of the high power system (Fig. 1 shows HVIL 22 passing through HV power system 1), wherein the stop system is configured to disconnect at least part of the high power system based on a condition of a HVIL low power signal transmitted through the HVIL (Fig. 1 shows switches 24 and 12 being open to disconnect at least part of the HV system 1 based on actuator 13 being activated i.e. emergency switch being pressed and HVIL low power signal transmitted through HVIL 22) [Page 2 ¶ 1- ¶ 6; Page 4 ¶ 6].
Regarding claim 13, Mazurek teaches wherein the system is a vehicle or a Battery Energy Storage System, BESS (Fig. 1 shows HV battery system 1).
Conclusion
SWARNA N. CHOWDHURI
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/S.N.C/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836