DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment After Non-Final Rejection filed 08/25/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 9-11, 15-17 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 9, 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,474,772 in view of Noorkami et al. (US 2020/0195940), herein Noorkami, in view of Hicks et al. (US 2018/0075820), herein Hicks.
Application No. 19/383,025
U.S. Patent No. 12,474,772
1. A system for automatic field calibration for eye tracking in a head-mounted display using time-based filtering, the system comprising:
1. A system for automatic field calibration for eye tracking in a head-mounted display, the system comprising:
the head-mounted display;
the head-mounted display;
an eye-tracking assembly that is part of the head-mounted display, the eye-tracking assembly comprising one or more cameras; and
an eye-tracking assembly that is part of the head-mounted display; and
one or more memory devices comprising instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
one or more memory devices comprising instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
acquiring an image of an eye of a user of the head-mounted display using the one or more cameras;
acquiring an image of the eye, including an eyelid of the eye, using a camera of the eye-tracking assembly while the eye is illuminated using the light source;
predicting a future gaze direction; and
8. The system of claim 1, the instructions, when executed, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: rendering a plurality of images on the head-mounted display; tracking head movement of the user wearing the head-mounted display, in response to the plurality of images presented; tracking eye movement of the user in response to the plurality of images presented; predicting a future gaze direction of the user, and/or a future head orientation of the user, based on tracking the head movement of the user and tracking the eye movement of the user in response to the plurality of images presented; and
rendering an image in the head-mounted display based on the future gaze direction.
(claim 8) rendering an image on the head-mounted display based on the future gaze direction and/or based on the future head orientation predicted.
However, the patented claims do not explicitly teach acquiring an image of an eye of a user of the head-mounted display using the one or more cameras; estimating a gaze direction of the user based the image of the eye; filtering multiple images of the eye acquired over time to improve the estimated gaze direction of the user; predicting a future gaze direction based on the improved estimated gaze direction.
In an analogous art, Noorkami, which discloses a head-mounted display device, clearly teaches:
acquiring an image of an eye of a user of the head-mounted display using the one or more cameras; (Fig. 6: Imaging sensors of gaze tracking sensors 330 capture raw images of the user eyes, [0036], [0062].)
estimating a gaze direction of the user based the image of the eye; (Fig. 6: The images are processed to obtain gaze data, [0062].)
filtering multiple images of the eye acquired over time to improve the estimated gaze direction of the user; (Fig. 6: A Kalman filter is applied to the gaze data to obtain smoothed gaze estimates, [0063].)
predicting a future gaze direction based on the improved estimated gaze direction. (The Kalman filter is applied to predict gaze direction at a future time, [0063].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the patented claims by acquiring an image of an eye of a user of the head-mounted display using the one or more cameras; estimating a gaze direction of the user based the image of the eye; filtering multiple images of the eye acquired over time to improve the estimated gaze direction of the user; predicting a future gaze direction based on the improved estimated gaze direction, as taught by Noorkami, for the benefit of improving the predicted future gaze direction.
However, the patented claims in view of Noorkami do not explicitly teach predicting a future gaze direction for a frame that is a predetermined number of frames in the future and rendering an image during the frame that was the predetermined number of frames in the future.
In an analogous art, Hicks, which discloses a head-mounted display device, clearly teaches predicting a future gaze direction for a frame that is a predetermined number of frames in the future and rendering an image during the frame that was the predetermined number of frames in the future. (Fig. 2: The predicted gaze for the next frame is used to render the next frame, [0048].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the patented claims in view of Noorkami by predicting a future gaze direction for a frame that is a predetermined number of frames in the future and rendering an image during the frame that was the predetermined number of frames in the future, as taught by Hicks, for the benefit of accurately matching the frame rendering and gaze prediction.
Claim 4 of the application corresponds to claims 1, 8 of the patent in view of Noorkami [0063] and Hicks.
Claim 9 of the application corresponds to claims 1, 8 of the patent in view of Noorkami [0061] and Hicks.
Claim 10 of the application corresponds to claims 9, 17 of the patent in view of Noorkami and Hicks.
Claim 11 of the application corresponds to claims 9, 17 of the patent in view of Noorkami [0063] and Hicks.
Claim 15 of the application corresponds to claims 9, 17 of the patent in view of Noorkami [0061] and Hicks.
Claim 16 of the application corresponds to claims 9, 17 of the patent in view of Noorkami and Hicks.
Claim 17 of the application corresponds to claims 9, 17 of the patent in view of Noorkami [0063] and Hicks.
Claim 20 of the application corresponds to claims 9, 17 of the patent in view of Noorkami [0061] and Hicks.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,474,772 in view of Noorkami et al. (US 2020/0195940) in view of Hicks et al. (US 2018/0075820) in view of Sarkar et al. (US 2019/0204913), herein Sarkar.
Consider claim 2, the patented claims combined with Noorkami and Hicks clearly teach the gaze direction of the user.
However, the patented claims combined with Noorkami and Hicks do not explicitly teach using head rotation of the user to further refine calibration of the gaze direction of the user with respect to the head-mounted display.
In an analogous art, Sarkar, which discloses a head-mounted display device, clearly teaches using head rotation of the user to further refine calibration of the gaze direction of the user with respect to the head-mounted display. (Fig. 3B: Each point of the head tracking data 132 is correlated with the eye-tracking data 126 and a calibration algorithm is developed for mapping the eye angle to gaze vector, [0054]-[0058].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the patented claims combined with Noorkami and Hicks by using head rotation of the user to further refine calibration of the gaze direction of the user with respect to the head-mounted display, as taught by Sarkar, for the benefit of improving calibration of the head-mounted display.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,474,772 in view of Noorkami et al. (US 2020/0195940) in view of Hicks et al. (US 2018/0075820) in view of Burgess et al. (US 10,871,823), herein Burgess.
Consider claim 3, the patented claims combined with Noorkami and Hicks clearly teach calculating the gaze direction.
However, the patented claims combined with Noorkami and Hicks do not explicitly teach calculating a confidence measurement of the gaze direction with calculating the gaze direction.
In an analogous art, Burgess, which discloses a head-mounted display device, clearly teaches calculating a confidence measurement of the gaze direction with calculating the gaze direction. (Circuitry 116 assigns a confidence score to the gaze directions, col. 9 line 44 to col. 10 line 15.)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the patented claims combined with Noorkami and Hicks by calculating a confidence measurement of the gaze direction with calculating the gaze direction, as taught by Burgess, for the benefit of improving the determination of the gaze direction.
Claims 5, 6, 12, 13, 18 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 9, 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,474,772 in view of Noorkami et al. (US 2020/0195940) in view of Hicks et al. (US 2018/0075820) in view of Miao et al. (US 2016/0202757), herein Miao.
Consider claim 5, the patented claims combined with Noorkami and Hicks clearly teach calibration of the gaze direction of the user with respect to the head-mounted display.
However, the patented claims combined with Noorkami and Hicks do not explicitly teach using a user interaction to refine a calibration of the gaze direction of the user.
In an analogous art, Miao, which discloses a system for gaze tracking, clearly teaches using a user interaction to refine a calibration of the gaze direction of the user. (Fig. 10: In step 1018 user input is used to adjust gaze direction, [0037].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the patented claims combined with Noorkami and Hicks by using a user interaction to refine a calibration of the gaze direction of the user, as taught by Miao, for the benefit of improving the determination of the gaze direction.
Claim 6 of the application corresponds to claims 1, 8 of the patent in view of Noorkami, Hicks and Miao [0058].
Claim 12 of the application corresponds to claims 9, 17 of the patent in view of Noorkami, Hicks and Miao [0037].
Claim 13 of the application corresponds to claims 9, 17 of the patent in view of Noorkami, Hicks and Miao [0058].
Claim 18 of the application corresponds to claims 9, 17 of the patent in view of Noorkami, Hicks and Miao [0037].
Claim 19 of the application corresponds to claims 9, 17 of the patent in view of Noorkami, Hicks and Miao [0058].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 9-11, 15-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noorkami et al. (US 2020/0195940) in view of Hicks et al. (US 2018/0075820), herein Hicks.
Consider claim 1, Noorkami clearly teaches a system for automatic field calibration for eye tracking in a head-mounted display using time-based filtering, (Fig. 3) the system comprising:
the head-mounted display; (Fig. 3: Head-mounted display 350, [0038])
an eye-tracking assembly that is part of the head-mounted display, the eye-tracking assembly comprising one or more cameras; (Fig. 3: Gaze tracking sensors 330 are coupled to display 350 and include image sensors, [0036].)
and one or more memory devices comprising instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors to perform operations (Fig. 3: Processing apparatus 310 and data storage device 320, [0035]) comprising:
acquiring an image of an eye of a user of the head-mounted display using the one or more cameras; (Fig. 6: Imaging sensors of gaze tracking sensors 330 capture raw images of the user eyes, [0036], [0062].)
estimating a gaze direction of the user based the image of the eye; (Fig. 6: The images are processed to obtain gaze data, [0062].)
filtering multiple images of the eye acquired over time to improve the estimated gaze direction of the user; (Fig. 6: A Kalman filter is applied to the gaze data to obtain smoothed gaze estimates, [0063].)
predicting a future gaze direction based on the improved estimated gaze direction; (The Kalman filter is applied to predict gaze direction at a future time, [0063].) and
rendering an image in the head-mounted display based on the future gaze direction. (Fig. 6: An enhanced frame of the video is obtained based on the smoothed gaze estimate and displayed by display 350, [0064], [0066], [0067].)
However, Noorkami does not explicitly teach predicting a future gaze direction for a frame that is a predetermined number of frames in the future and rendering an image during the frame that was the predetermined number of frames in the future.
In an analogous art, Hicks, which discloses a head-mounted display device, clearly teaches predicting a future gaze direction for a frame that is a predetermined number of frames in the future and rendering an image during the frame that was the predetermined number of frames in the future. (Fig. 2: The predicted gaze for the next frame is used to render the next frame, [0048].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Noorkami by predicting a future gaze direction for a frame that is a predetermined number of frames in the future and rendering an image during the frame that was the predetermined number of frames in the future, as taught by Hicks, for the benefit of accurately matching the frame rendering and gaze prediction.
Consider claim 4, Noorkami combined with Hicks clearly teaches the filtering multiple images of the eye uses a statistical estimate of the gaze direction from the multiple images of the eye. (Fig. 6: A Kalman filter is applied to the gaze data to obtain smoothed gaze estimates, [0063] Noorkami.)
Consider claim 9, Noorkami combined with Hicks clearly teaches per-user calibration is updated during ongoing use, without using explicit instructions to the user for calibration steps. (Fig. 6: The process 600 is performed without explicit instructions to the user, [0061] Noorkami.)
Consider claim 10, Noorkami clearly teaches a method for automatic field calibration for eye tracking in a head-mounted display using time-based filtering, (Fig. 6) the method comprising:
acquiring an image of an eye of a user of the head-mounted display using one or more cameras of an eye-tracking assembly that is part of the head-mounted display; (Fig. 6: Imaging sensors of gaze tracking sensors 330 capture raw images of the user eyes, [0036], [0062].)
estimating a gaze direction of the user based the image of the eye; (Fig. 6: The images are processed to obtain gaze data, [0062].)
filtering multiple images of the eye acquired over time to improve the estimated gaze direction of the user; (Fig. 6: A Kalman filter is applied to the gaze data to obtain smoothed gaze estimates, [0063].)
predicting a future gaze direction based on the improved estimated gaze direction; (The Kalman filter is applied to predict gaze direction at a future time, [0063].) and
rendering an image in the head-mounted display based on the future gaze direction. (Fig. 6: An enhanced frame of the video is obtained based on the smoothed gaze estimate and displayed by display 350, [0064], [0066], [0067].)
However, Noorkami does not explicitly teach predicting a future gaze direction for a frame that is a predetermined number of frames in the future and rendering an image during the frame that was the predetermined number of frames in the future.
In an analogous art, Hicks, which discloses a head-mounted display device, clearly teaches predicting a future gaze direction for a frame that is a predetermined number of frames in the future and rendering an image during the frame that was the predetermined number of frames in the future. (Fig. 2: The predicted gaze for the next frame is used to render the next frame, [0048].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Noorkami by predicting a future gaze direction for a frame that is a predetermined number of frames in the future and rendering an image during the frame that was the predetermined number of frames in the future, as taught by Hicks, for the benefit of accurately matching the frame rendering and gaze prediction.
Consider claim 11, Noorkami combined with Hicks clearly teaches the filtering multiple images of the eye uses a statistical estimate of the gaze direction from the multiple images of the eye. (Fig. 6: A Kalman filter is applied to the gaze data to obtain smoothed gaze estimates, [0063] Noorkami.)
Consider claim 15, Noorkami combined with Hicks clearly teaches per-user calibration is updated during ongoing use, without using explicit instructions to the user for calibration steps. (Fig. 6: The process 600 is performed without explicit instructions to the user, [0061] Noorkami.)
Consider claim 16, Noorkami clearly teaches a memory device comprising instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors to perform the following steps: (Fig. 3: Processing apparatus 310 and data storage device 320, [0035])
acquiring an image of an eye of a user of a head-mounted display using one or more cameras of an eye-tracking assembly that is part of the head-mounted display; (Fig. 6: Imaging sensors of gaze tracking sensors 330 capture raw images of the user eyes, [0036], [0062].)
estimating a gaze direction of the user based the image of the eye; (Fig. 6: The images are processed to obtain gaze data, [0062].)
filtering multiple images of the eye acquired over time to improve the estimated gaze direction of the user; (Fig. 6: A Kalman filter is applied to the gaze data to obtain smoothed gaze estimates, [0063].)
predicting a future gaze direction based on the improved estimated gaze direction; (The Kalman filter is applied to predict gaze direction at a future time, [0063].) and
rendering an image in the head-mounted display based on the future gaze direction. (Fig. 6: An enhanced frame of the video is obtained based on the smoothed gaze estimate and displayed by display 350, [0064], [0066], [0067].)
However, Noorkami does not explicitly teach predicting a future gaze direction for a frame that is a predetermined number of frames in the future and rendering an image during the frame that was the predetermined number of frames in the future.
In an analogous art, Hicks, which discloses a head-mounted display device, clearly teaches predicting a future gaze direction for a frame that is a predetermined number of frames in the future and rendering an image during the frame that was the predetermined number of frames in the future. (Fig. 2: The predicted gaze for the next frame is used to render the next frame, [0048].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Noorkami by predicting a future gaze direction for a frame that is a predetermined number of frames in the future and rendering an image during the frame that was the predetermined number of frames in the future, as taught by Hicks, for the benefit of accurately matching the frame rendering and gaze prediction.
Consider claim 17, Noorkami combined with Hicks clearly teaches the filtering multiple images of the eye uses a statistical estimate of the gaze direction from the multiple images of the eye. (Fig. 6: A Kalman filter is applied to the gaze data to obtain smoothed gaze estimates, [0063] Noorkami.)
Consider claim 20, Noorkami combined with Hicks clearly teaches per-user calibration is updated during ongoing use of the head-mounted display, without using explicit instructions to the user for calibration steps. (Fig. 6: The process 600 is performed without explicit instructions to the user, [0061] Noorkami.)
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noorkami et al. (US 2020/0195940) in view of Hicks et al. (US 2018/0075820) in view of Sarkar et al. (US 2019/0204913), herein Sarkar.
Consider claim 2, Noorkami combined with Hicks clearly teaches calibration of the gaze direction of the user.
However, Noorkami combined with Hicks does not explicitly teach using head rotation of the user to further refine calibration of the gaze direction of the user with respect to the head-mounted display.
In an analogous art, Sarkar, which discloses a head-mounted display device, clearly teaches using head rotation of the user to further refine calibration of the gaze direction of the user with respect to the head-mounted display. (Fig. 3B: Each point of the head tracking data 132 is correlated with the eye-tracking data 126 and a calibration algorithm is developed for mapping the eye angle to gaze vector, [0054]-[0058].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Noorkami combined with Hicks by using head rotation of the user to further refine calibration of the gaze direction of the user with respect to the head-mounted display, as taught by Sarkar, for the benefit of improving calibration of the head-mounted display.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noorkami et al. (US 2020/0195940) in view of Hicks et al. (US 2018/0075820) in view of Burgess et al. (US 10,871,823), herein Burgess.
Consider claim 3, Noorkami combined with Hicks clearly teaches calculating the gaze direction.
However, Noorkami combined with Hicks does not explicitly teach calculating a confidence measurement of the gaze direction with calculating the gaze direction.
In an analogous art, Burgess, which discloses a head-mounted display device, clearly teaches calculating a confidence measurement of the gaze direction with calculating the gaze direction. (Circuitry 116 assigns a confidence score to the gaze directions, col. 9 line 44 to col. 10 line 15.)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Noorkami combined with Hicks by calculating a confidence measurement of the gaze direction with calculating the gaze direction, as taught by Burgess, for the benefit of improving the determination of the gaze direction.
Claims 5, 6, 12, 13, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noorkami et al. (US 2020/0195940) in view of Hicks et al. (US 2018/0075820) in view of Miao et al. (US 2016/0202757), herein Miao.
Consider claim 5, Noorkami combined with Hicks clearly teaches calibration of the gaze direction of the user with respect to the head-mounted display.
However, Noorkami combined with Hicks does not explicitly teach using a user interaction to refine a calibration of the gaze direction of the user.
In an analogous art, Miao, which discloses a system for gaze tracking, clearly teaches using a user interaction to refine a calibration of the gaze direction of the user. (Fig. 10: In step 1018 user input is used to adjust gaze direction, [0037].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Noorkami combined with Hicks by using a user interaction to refine a calibration of the gaze direction of the user, as taught by Miao, for the benefit of improving the determination of the gaze direction.
Consider claim 6, Noorkami combined with Hicks, Miao clearly teaches the user interaction is a user interface element selection, a controller movement, or a hand movement. (Fig. 12: Input subsystem 1208 includes a mouse or touch screen, [0058] Miao.)
Consider claim 12, Noorkami combined with Hicks, Miao clearly teaches using a user interaction to refine a calibration of the gaze direction of the user with respect to the head-mounted display. (Fig. 10: In step 1018 user input is used to adjust gaze direction, [0037] Miao.)
Consider claim 13, Noorkami combined with Hicks, Miao clearly teaches the user interaction is a user interface element selection, a controller movement, or a hand movement. (Fig. 12: Input subsystem 1208 includes a mouse or touch screen, [0058] Miao.)
Consider claim 18, Noorkami combined with Hicks, Miao clearly teaches the instructions further comprise using user inputs to refine a calibration of the gaze direction of the user with respect to the head-mounted display. (Fig. 10: In step 1018 user input is used to adjust gaze direction, [0037] Miao.)
Consider claim 19, Noorkami combined with Hicks, Miao clearly teaches the instructions further comprise using prediction of future gaze to enhance an eye-tracking model itself, in addition to rendering the image in the head-mounted display based on the future gaze direction. (Fig. 12: Input subsystem 1208 includes a mouse or touch screen, [0058] Miao.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
In the case of amending the claimed invention, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN R SCHNURR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425