Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 2023/0196998), in view of Kim et al (US 2019/0206330; hereinafter Kim).
• Regarding claim 1, Han discloses a display device (figure 1) comprising:
a display panel including subpixels, each of the subpixels having a light-emitting element (figure 1);
a data driver configured to supply a data voltage or a park voltage to the subpixels through data lines (element 140 in figure 12 and ¶s 70-73, 78-81, and 83); and
a timing controller configured to control the data driver and provide a park voltage control value to the data driver (element 120 in figure 11 and ¶s 73-77),
wherein the data driver generates the park voltage based on the park voltage control value (¶s 70-83).
However, Han fails to disclose the additional details of the display device.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim discloses where the timing controller transmits the park voltage control value in a voltage control packet to the data driver through a first interface having a higher transmission speed than a second interface through which a power control signal is transmitted to a power supply (¶s 78, 235, 237, and 238; where signals and image data are transmitted via an embedded point to point interface while voltage tuning signals are transmitted via a serial peripheral interface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the invention of Han according to the teachings of Kim, for the purpose of simplifying the configuration of a display apparatus (¶s 6-9).
• Regarding claims 2-5 and 8-11, Han, in view of Kim, discloses everything claimed, as applied to claim 1. Additionally, Han discloses where:
Claim 2: the park voltage control value is transmitted in the form of a packet through a communication interface connected between the timing controller and the data driver (¶ 80).
Claim 3: the park voltage is changed into voltages of various levels in response to the park voltage control value determined according to driving conditions of the display panel (¶s 81-84).
Claim 4: the data driver comprises:
a first digital-to-analog converter configured to generate the park voltage (inherent in element 145 in figure 12 for performing the functions of ¶ 80);
a second digital-to-analog converter configured to generate the data voltage (¶ 79); and
a selector configured to selectively output one of the park voltage and the data voltage (element 120 in figure 11 and ¶ 75).
Claim 5: the selector outputs the park voltage in response to a park voltage enable signal applied from the timing controller (¶ 75).
Claim 8: one of the park voltage and the data voltage is output when the display panel operates in a variable refresh rate (VRR) driving mode (¶ 75).
Claim 9: the VRR driving mode includes:
a refresh frame for applying the data voltage through the data line connected to the subpixels of the display panel (“Refresh Time” in figure 17 and ¶ 92), and
an anode reset frame for applying the park voltage through the data line (“Anode Reset Time” in figure 17 and ¶ 93).
Claim 10: one of the subpixels comprises:
a driving transistor configured to supply a driving current to the light-emitting element (element DT in figure 9), and
a transistor connected between the data line and the driving transistor (element T1 in figure 9).
Claim 11: the transistor is turned on in the refresh frame so that the data voltage is supplied to the driving transistor (¶s 58-60), and
the transistor is turned off during a period in which the park voltage is provided to the data line in the anode reset frame (¶s 58-60).
• Regarding claim 12, Han discloses a data driver (figure 12) comprising:
a first digital-to-analog converter configured to generate a park voltage and gamma reference voltages (inherent in element 145 in figure 12 for performing the functions of ¶ 80);
a second digital-to-analog converter configured to generate a data voltage based on the gamma reference voltages (¶ 79); and
a selector configured to selectively output one of the park voltage and the data voltage (element 120 in figure 11 and ¶ 75),
wherein the first digital-to-analog converter generates the park voltage based on an external park voltage control value (¶ 75).
However, Han fails to disclose the additional details of the data driver.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim discloses where the data driver further comprises:
a decoder configured to decode a voltage control packet received through a first interface to output a park voltage control value (inherent element 300 in figure 1 and ¶ 78 for enabling element 300 to control the pixel of the display);
wherein the external park voltage control value is the park voltage control value output from the decoder (inherent in the combination of Han and Kim), and
wherein the first interface has a higher transmission speed than a second interface through which a power control signal is transmitted to a power supply (¶s 78, 235, 237, and 238; where signals and image data are transmitted via an embedded point to point interface while voltage tuning signals are transmitted via a serial peripheral interface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the invention of Han according to the teachings of Kim, for the purpose of simplifying the configuration of a display apparatus (¶s 6-9).
• Regarding claims 13 and 15, Han, in view of Kim, discloses everything claimed, as applied to claim 12. Additionally, Han discloses where:
Claim 13: the selector outputs the park voltage in response to an external park voltage enable signal (¶ 75).
Claim 15: a display device (figure 1) comprising:
a display panel including subpixels, each of the subpixels having a light-emitting element (figure 1); and
the data driver of claim 12 and configured to supply one of the park voltage or the data voltage to the subpixels through data lines (element 140 in figure 12 and ¶s 70-73, 78-81, and 83).
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han, in view of Kim, and further in view of Chang (US 2011/0175876).
• Regarding claims 6 and 14, Han, in view of Kim, discloses everything claimed, as applied to claims 4 and 13, respectively. However, Han fails to disclose the additional details of the first digital-to-analog converter.
In the same field of endeavor, Chang discloses where:
Claim 6: the first digital-to-analog converter comprises:
a resistor string circuit configured to divide a voltage into voltages having a plurality of levels based on a first reference voltage and a second reference voltage, and output the divided voltages (element 240 in figure 3A and ¶s 35-37); and
a controller configured to change a level of the park voltage based on the voltages output from the resistor string circuit and the park voltage control value, and output the level-changed park voltage (element 244 in figure 3A and ¶s 35-37).
Claim 14: the first digital-to-analog converter comprises:
a resistor string circuit configured to divide a voltage into voltages having a plurality of levels based on a first reference voltage and a second reference voltage, and output the divided voltages (element 240 in figure 3A and ¶s 35-37); and
a controller configured to change a level of the park voltage based on the voltages output from the resistor string circuit and the park voltage control value, and output the level-changed park voltage (element 244 in figure 3A and ¶s 35-37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the invention of Han, as modified by Kim, according to the teachings of Chang, for the purpose of generating a digitally controlled voltage (¶ 47).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han, in view of Kim, and further in view of Saitoh et al (US 2014/0118421; hereinafter Saitoh).
• Regarding claim 7, Han, in view of Kim, discloses everything claimed, as applied to claim 1. However, Han, in view of Kim, fails to disclose the additional details of the display device.
In the same field of endeavor, Saitoh discloses where:
Claim 7: the data driver comprises a plurality of data drivers (elements 6-1 through 6-3 in figure 1), and
the plurality of data drivers generates the park voltage based on a park voltage reference voltage value output from a representative data driver (inherent in the combination of Han and Saitoh).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the invention of Han, as modified by Kim, according to the teachings of Saitoh, for the purpose of reducing the size and power consumption of a display device (¶s 15-17).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Closing Remarks/Comments
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHAN DANIELSEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622