DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For reference, claim 1 is provided herein below (line numbers added).
In claim 1, lines 16-17, the recitation “a the position and orientation of the platform” is indefinite because of the two articles “a” and “the”, rendering the element(s) lacking sufficient antecedent basis in the claims.
In claim 1, lines 18-19, the recitation “accommodating changes in a the position, orientation and both of the one or more teeth” is indefinite because of the two articles “a” and “the”, rendering the element(s) lacking sufficient antecedent basis in the claims. Furthermore, it is unclear whether the term “both” refers to both the position and orientation, or both teeth.
Furthermore, “position, orientation, and both” is indefinite because the conjunction “and” requires all three conditions- (1) the position by itself, (2) the orientation by itself, (3) both the position and orientation – which are only attainable as alternative (e.g. “or”, “at least one of”) conditions.
Furthermore, it is unclear how the position and/or orientation of the one or more teeth are being accommodated to change or being changed. Are the one or more teeth themselves moving in position and/or orientation within the jawbone (i.e. orthodontically)? Are the teeth being moved, as in being extracted from the jawbone? Is the patient’s head being moved thereby the teeth are moved?
In claim 1, lines 19-20, the recitation “corresponding changes in the position, orientation, or both of the platform” is indefinite because it is unclear relative to which element(s) are corresponding changes?
The recitation “the position, orientation, or both of the platform” also lacks sufficient antecedent basis in the claim because it is inconsistent with the previously defined antecedent basis “a position and orientation of the platform” (in lines 9-10).
Claim 2 recites “the revolute joint in question” (lines 3-4), which lacks sufficient antecedent basis in the claims. Note that claim 2 defines antecedent basis “a plurality of vertical axis revolute joints”.
Claims 4-5 each recites the limitation(s) “the plurality of vertical axis revolute joints” (lines 1-2), which lacks sufficient antecedent basis in the claims. Note that claims 4-5 depend on claim 1, all of which fail to define an antecedent basis for such limitation(s).
Claims 6-7 each recites “the first elevation joint”, which lacks sufficient antecedent basis in the claims. Note that claim 6 defines antecedent basis “at least a first elevation joint”.
All other dependent claims are rejected herein based on dependency of the rejected base claim(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Lim (KR 20180065790). Also refer to the machine English translation of Lim.
Regarding claim 1, Lim discloses a robotic dental system, comprising: a treatment system, which comprises:
a robotic arm 500/400, a distal end of which is configured to be coupled to an end effector 400; and
a platform 200, to which a proximal end of the robotic arm 500 is coupled, the platform 200 comprising a coupling portion 210 for rigidly coupling to a dental clamp 300, which is configured to be rigidly clamped to one or more teeth of a subject, the platform and coupling portion being configured such that, when the dental clamp is rigidly clamped to the one or more teeth and the dental clamp is rigidly coupled to the coupling portion, a position and orientation of the platform 200 remain fixed, relative to the one or more teeth ;
a base 100; and
a suspension system 110, comprising a proximal end, which is coupled to the base 100, and a distal end, which is coupled to the platform 200, wherein the suspension system supports a weight of the treatment system, and is configured such that, when the robotic dental system is operating in a treatment mode, with the dental clamp rigidly clamped to the one or more teeth and the dental clamp rigidly coupled to the coupling portion, the suspension system permits a the position and orientation of the platform to change, relative to the base, in response to forces applied by the one or more teeth to the dental clamp, thereby accommodating changes in a the position, orientation, and both of the one or more teeth by enabling corresponding changes in the position, orientation, or both of the platform,
wherein the suspension system 110 comprises a plurality of linkages, connected by a plurality of joints, the plurality of linkages and the plurality of joints together providing the platform 200 with freedom of movements (English translation: page 2 “multi-joint link 110 may have a structure in which a plurality of links are connected in series through joints… move the platform 200… without moving… frame 100”).
Regarding the amount of degrees of freedom, Lim discloses the linkages and joints 110 allows the platform 200 freedom of movements.
However, particularly to claim 1, Lim does not explicitly disclose three degrees of translational freedom and three degrees of rotational freedom.
Particularly to claims 2-4, Lim Fig. 1 discloses the plurality of joints 110 comprising three vertical axis revolute joints (ball-shaped joints), each of which is connected to one or more of the plurality of linkages (linking bars 110), wherein a proximal-most of the plurality of vertical axis revolute joints is located at the proximal end of the suspension system 110 (Fig. 1). However, Lim does not explicitly disclose the suspension system’s vertical axis revolute joints provide two degrees of translational freedom in a horizontal plane.
Nonetheless, Lim shows the coupling portion 210 having similar linkages and ball-shaped joints 210 providing six degrees of freedom, translationally and rotationally, and at least two degrees of freedom in a horizontal plane (Figs. 1 and 3; English translation: page 3 “multi-articulated link 210 may… be a six degree of freedom serial link structure).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lim by including in the suspension a similar linkages and joints of the coupling system in order to allow similar freedom of movements translationally and rotationally.
As to claims 5-6, Lim discloses the plurality of joints 110 comprising a plurality of vertical axis revolute joints which in turn comprising one or more elevation joints (Fig. 1 shows the ball-shaped joints 110 that allows for elevation/height adjustment). However Lim fails to disclose the joints 110 are coupled to at least one motor.
Nonetheless, note that Lim shows the X- and Y-adjustment units 510, 520 may be moved by motor (Figs. 1-3; English translation: page 3 “X-axis transfer unit 510 can be moved by a motor”, “Y-axis transfer unit can be moved by a motor”). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lim by coupling the revolute joints and the elevation joints to a motor for motorized movements of the joints similar to Lim’s teaching of motorized movements in adjustment units 510, 520, as suitable alternative mechanism yielding more effective and efficient adjustments of the joints by motors over manual adjustments.
As to claim 7-11, Lim discloses the joints 110 being elevation revolute joints 110, i.e. ball-shaped joints 110 that allows for elevation/height adjustment. Lim further discloses the elevation revolute joints 110 are coupled to at least one mechanical force-generating element, which applies forces that counteracts force applied thereon (see Lim English translation: page 2 “multi-joint link 110 may be provided with a first link fixation device to prevent it from moving”).
As to claims 12-18, Lim discloses the plurality of joints 110 comprising a plurality of vertical axis revolute joints which in turn comprising one or more elevation joints (Fig. 1 shows the ball-shaped joints 110 that allows for elevation/height adjustment). However Lim does not explicitly disclose the joints 110 comprising one or more non-vertical axis rotation joints.
Nonetheless, note that Lim discloses “the second articulated 210 may be configured to be rotatable about an axis in the longitudinal direction” (see Fig. 3, showing links 210 can be rotated about the longitudinal/horizonal axis of the link, not vertically). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lim’s first joints 110 by allowing the linkages to be rotatable about their lengths in order for the linkages to be adjusted angularly about the length, i.e. non-vertically.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Examiner HAO D. MAI whose telephone number is (571)270-3002. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri 8:00-4:30. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Eric Rosen can be reached on (571) 270-7855. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HAO D MAI/
Examiner, Art Unit 3772